DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: The claim recites “a control unit configure to,” which is grammatically incorrect. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim elements in this application that use the word “means” (or “step for”) are presumed to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Similarly, claim elements that do not use the word “means” (or “step for”) are presumed not to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) except as otherwise indicated in an Office action.
Claim 1-2 and 5-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “sensor unit” in claims 1 and 7, “control unit” in claims 1 and 5-12 as well as “display unit” in claims 1 and 10.
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. Therefore, these claim limitations are indefinite and are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph. The dependent claims inherit these deficiencies by virtue of their dependency.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim 13 recites the limitation “the first rear view image or the second rear view image” in the second to last paragraph. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The dependent claims inherit these deficiencies by virtue of their dependency.
Claims 1-2 and 5-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention because the specification fails to disclose the structure, material, or acts that correspond to the following elements: “sensor unit” in claims 1 and 7, “control unit” in claims 1 and 5-12 as well as “display unit” in claims 1 and 10. The dependent claims inherit these deficiencies by virtue of their dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-14 and 16-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mokashi et al. (US 2014/0071279).
Regarding claim 1,
Mokashi discloses:
A device for obtaining a rear view of a vehicle having a cargo compartment for storing cargo (Mokashi: Fig 1-2; video system 12 on vehicle 10 with cargo area 26; Fig 17-18; vehicle 10’ with cargo area 26’; [0075]-[0076]; Fig 19-20; vehicle 10'’ with cargo area 26; [0079]-[0080]), the device comprising:
a first rear camera installed on a rear side of the vehicle and configured to capture a first rear view image (Mokashi: Fig 1-2; [0041]; video image captured by rear camera 54; Fig 17-18; [0076]; Fig 19-20; [0080]);
a second rear camera installed on an inner edge portion of the vehicle that is exposed to the outside when a rear door is open, the second rear camera configured to capture a second rear view image (Mokashi: Fig 1-2; cargo camera 60 is on edge of roof inside the left and right vehicle sides that captures images inside the cargo area; [0042]; video images captured by cargo area camera 60; [0048]; cargo area camera 60 captures the cargo area 26 and areas rearward of the rear end 20 of the vehicle 10 when the tailgate 36 is in the down or open position; Fig 17-18; cargo camera 60 is on bottom edge of interior vehicle ceiling; [0077]; cargo area camera 60 captures video images of areas rearward of the vehicle 10' and images of the cargo area 26' when the rear cargo doors are open; Fig 19-20; cargo cameras 60” are inside the left and right vehicle sides that capture images inside the cargo area and areas rearward of the rear end of vehicle 10” when the tailgate is in the down or open position; [0080]);
a sensor unit configured to generate a first sensing signal indicative of a position according to shift of a gear of the vehicle (Mokashi: [0041]; transmission sensor provides image processor 50 with the status of the transmission of the vehicle 10, such as set in reverse; [0066]; Included in the processing at step S1 is also detection based on signals from the vehicle sensors 48, and a determination whether or not the transmission of the vehicle is set in reverse gear indicating that the driver is backing up the vehicle 10 by image processor 50) and a second sensing signal indicative of a state in which the rear door is open (Mokashi: [0041]; The tailgate position sensor provides an indication of the position of the tailgate 36, such as open, to image processor 50; [0069]; At step S6, the image processor 50 determines whether or not the rear camera 54 is operable or not, for example, by receiving a signal from the tailgate sensor of the vehicle sensors 48, such as whether the tailgate is open);
a control unit (Mokashi: Fig 2; image processor 50; [0033]) configure to
receive the first (Mokashi: [0041]; transmission sensor provides image processor 50 with the status of the transmission of the vehicle 10, such as set in reverse; [0066]; Included in the processing at step S1 is also detection based on signals from the vehicle sensors 48, and a determination whether or not the transmission of the vehicle is set in reverse gear indicating that the driver is backing up the vehicle 10 by image processor 50) and second sensing signals (Mokashi: [0041]; The tailgate position sensor provides an indication of the position of the tailgate 36, such as open, to image processor 50; [0069]; At step S6, the image processor 50 determines whether or not the rear camera 54 is operable or not, for example, by receiving a signal from the tailgate sensor of the vehicle sensors 48, such as whether the tailgate is open),
determine whether a state of the gear of the vehicle is in a reverse state (Mokashi: [0041]; transmission sensor provides image processor 50 with the status of the transmission of the vehicle 10, such as set in reverse; [0066]; Included in the processing at step S1 is also detection based on signals from the vehicle sensors 48, and a determination whether or not the transmission of the vehicle is set in reverse gear indicating that the driver is backing up the vehicle 10 by image processor 50) and whether the rear door is open or closed (Mokashi: [0041]; The tailgate position sensor provides an indication of the position of the tailgate 36, such as open, to image processor 50; [0069]; At step S6, the image processor 50 determines whether or not the rear camera 54 is operable or not, for example, by receiving a signal from the tailgate sensor of the vehicle sensors 48, such as whether the tailgate is open), and
generate a control signal for outputting at least one of the first rear view image or the second rear view image according to a result of the determination (Mokashi: Fig 10; [0066]; If the transmission is in reverse, the image processor 50 interprets that information as a request for an unaltered streaming of the area rearward of the vehicle 10 captured by the rear camera 54 (or captured by the cargo area camera 60 if the rear camera 54 is disabled). As a result, the image processor 50 streams to the left side of the display 44 unaltered video images captured by the rear camera 54 (or captured by the cargo area camera 60); [0070]; Once a determination has been made at step S6, if the rear camera 54 is operable, operation moves to step S7. If the rear camera 54 is not operable, operation moves to step S9; [0071]; At step S7, since the rear camera 54 is operable, the video images captured by the rear camera 54 are processed by the image processor 50; At step S8, the image processor 50 generates the simulated overhead views; [0072]; If at step S6, the image processor determines that the rear camera 54 is not operable, operation moves to step S9. At step S9, the video images captured by cargo area camera 60 are processed by image processor 50); and
a display unit installed inside the vehicle and configured to display at least one of the first rear view image or the second rear view image according to an input of the control signal (Mokashi: Fig 2; display 44; [0033]; [0066]; If the transmission is in reverse, the image processor 50 interprets that information as a request for an unaltered streaming of the area rearward of the vehicle 10 captured by the rear camera 54 (or captured by the cargo area camera 60 if the rear camera 54 is disabled). As a result, the image processor 50 streams to the left side of the display 44 unaltered video images captured by the rear camera 54 (or captured by the cargo area camera 60); [0071]; At step S7, since the rear camera 54 is operable, the video images captured by the rear camera 54 are processed by the image processor 50; [0072]; If at step S6, the image processor determines that the rear camera 54 is not operable, operation moves to step S9. At step S9, the video images captured by cargo area camera 60 are processed by image processor 50).
Regarding claim 2,
Mokashi discloses:
The device of claim 1, wherein the first rear camera is installed on the rear door of the vehicle (Mokashi: Fig 1-2; [0041]; video image captured by rear camera 54; Fig 17-18; [0076]; Fig 19-20; [0080]).
Regarding claim 3,
Mokashi discloses:
The device of claim 1, wherein the sensor unit includes:
a first detecting sensor configured to detect a position based on the shift of the gear of the vehicle (Mokashi: [0041]; transmission sensor provides image processor 50 with the status of the transmission of the vehicle 10, such as set in reverse; [0066]; Included in the processing at step S1 is also detection based on signals from the vehicle sensors 48, and a determination whether or not the transmission of the vehicle is set in reverse gear indicating that the driver is backing up the vehicle 10 by image processor 50); and
a second detecting sensor configured to detect an opening of the rear door (Mokashi: [0041]; The tailgate position sensor provides an indication of the position of the tailgate 36, such as open, to image processor 50; [0069]; At step S6, the image processor 50 determines whether or not the rear camera 54 is operable or not, for example, by receiving a signal from the tailgate sensor of the vehicle sensors 48, such as whether the tailgate is open).
Regarding claim 6,
Mokashi discloses:
The device of claim 1, wherein the control unit is configured to determine that the state of the gear of the vehicle is in a reverse state when the position of the gear indicated in the first sensing signal is in a reverse position (Mokashi: [0041]; transmission sensor provides image processor 50 with the status of the transmission of the vehicle 10, such as set in reverse; [0066]; Included in the processing at step S1 is also detection based on signals from the vehicle sensors 48, and a determination whether or not the transmission of the vehicle is set in reverse gear indicating that the driver is backing up the vehicle 10 by image processor 50).
Regarding claim 7,
Mokashi discloses:
The device of claim 1, wherein when the control unit receives the second sensing signal from the sensor unit, the control unit is configured to determine that the rear door is open (Mokashi: [0041]; The tailgate position sensor provides an indication of the position of the tailgate 36, such as open, to image processor 50; [0069]; At step S6, the image processor 50 determines whether or not the rear camera 54 is operable or not, for example, by receiving a signal from the tailgate sensor of the vehicle sensors 48, such as whether the tailgate is open).
Regarding claim 8,
Mokashi discloses:
The device of claim 1, wherein the control unit is configured to generate a control signal for outputting the first rear view image when it is determined that the state of the gear of the vehicle is in the reverse state and the rear door is in a closed state (Mokashi: [0041]; when the transmission is set in reverse such that the vehicle 10 is capable of moving rearward, the video image captured by the rear camera 54 can be automatically displayed on the display 44. The tailgate position sensor provides an indication of the position of the tailgate 36; [0066]; Included in the processing at step S1 is also detection based on signals from the vehicle sensors 48, and a determination whether or not the transmission of the vehicle is set in reverse gear indicating that the driver is backing up the vehicle 10. If the transmission is in reverse, the image processor 50 interprets that information as a request for an unaltered streaming of the area rearward of the vehicle 10 captured by the rear camera 54 (or captured by the cargo area camera 60 if the rear camera 54 is disabled); [0069]; At step S6, the image processor 50 determines whether or not the rear camera 54 is operable or not, for example, by receiving a signal from the tailgate sensor of the vehicle sensors 48. For example, if the tailgate 36 is in the closed position (FIG. 13), then the rear camera 54 is operable. If the tailgate 36 is down or in the open position (FIG. 14), then the rear camera 54 is not operable; [0070]; Once a determination has been made at step S6, if the rear camera 54 is operable, operation moves to step S7. If the rear camera 54 is not operable, operation moves to step S9; [0071]; At step S7, since the rear camera 54 is operable, the video images captured by the rear camera 54 are processed by the image processor 50; At step S8, the image processor 50 generates the simulated overhead views; [0072]; If at step S6, the image processor determines that the rear camera 54 is not operable, operation moves to step S9. At step S9, the video images captured by cargo area camera 60 are processed by image processor 50; Fig 10).
Regarding claim 9,
Mokashi discloses:
The device of claim 1, wherein the control unit is configured to generate a control signal for outputting the second rear view image when it is determined that the state of the gear of the vehicle is in the reverse state and the rear door is in an open state (Mokashi: [0041]; when the transmission is set in reverse such that the vehicle 10 is capable of moving rearward, the video image captured by the rear camera 54 can be automatically displayed on the display 44. The tailgate position sensor provides an indication of the position of the tailgate 36; when the tailgate 36 is in an open position, the performance of the rear camera 54 may be compromised; [0066]; Included in the processing at step S1 is also detection based on signals from the vehicle sensors 48, and a determination whether or not the transmission of the vehicle is set in reverse gear indicating that the driver is backing up the vehicle 10. If the transmission is in reverse, the image processor 50 interprets that information as a request for an unaltered streaming of the area rearward of the vehicle 10 captured by the rear camera 54 (or captured by the cargo area camera 60 if the rear camera 54 is disabled); [0069]; At step S6, the image processor 50 determines whether or not the rear camera 54 is operable or not, for example, by receiving a signal from the tailgate sensor of the vehicle sensors 48. For example, if the tailgate 36 is in the closed position (FIG. 13), then the rear camera 54 is operable. If the tailgate 36 is down or in the open position (FIG. 14), then the rear camera 54 is not operable; Fig 10; [0070]; Once a determination has been made at step S6, if the rear camera 54 is operable, operation moves to step S7. If the rear camera 54 is not operable, operation moves to step S9; [0071]; At step S7, since the rear camera 54 is operable, the video images captured by the rear camera 54 are processed by the image processor 50; At step S8, the image processor 50 generates the simulated overhead views; [0072]; If at step S6, the image processor determines that the rear camera 54 is not operable, operation moves to step S9. At step S9, the video images captured by cargo area camera 60 are processed by image processor 50 to generate simulated overhead views; Fig 10).
Regarding claim 10,
Mokashi discloses:
The device of claim 1, wherein the control unit is configured to generate a control signal for switching a rear view image output through the display unit according to a result of the determination of whether the state of the gear of the vehicle is in the reverse state and a result of the determination of whether the rear door is open or closed (Mokashi: [0041]; when the transmission is set in reverse such that the vehicle 10 is capable of moving rearward, the video image captured by the rear camera 54 can be automatically displayed on the display 44. The tailgate position sensor provides an indication of the position of the tailgate 36; when the tailgate 36 is in an open position, the performance of the rear camera 54 may be compromised; [0066]; Included in the processing at step S1 is also detection based on signals from the vehicle sensors 48, and a determination whether or not the transmission of the vehicle is set in reverse gear indicating that the driver is backing up the vehicle 10. If the transmission is in reverse, the image processor 50 interprets that information as a request for an unaltered streaming of the area rearward of the vehicle 10 captured by the rear camera 54 (or captured by the cargo area camera 60 if the rear camera 54 is disabled); [0069]; At step S6, the image processor 50 determines whether or not the rear camera 54 is operable or not, for example, by receiving a signal from the tailgate sensor of the vehicle sensors 48. For example, if the tailgate 36 is in the closed position (FIG. 13), then the rear camera 54 is operable. If the tailgate 36 is down or in the open position (FIG. 14), then the rear camera 54 is not operable; Fig 10; [0070]; Once a determination has been made at step S6, if the rear camera 54 is operable, operation moves to step S7. If the rear camera 54 is not operable, operation moves to step S9; [0071]; At step S7, since the rear camera 54 is operable, the video images captured by the rear camera 54 are processed by the image processor 50; At step S8, the image processor 50 generates the simulated overhead views; [0072]; If at step S6, the image processor determines that the rear camera 54 is not operable, operation moves to step S9. At step S9, the video images captured by cargo area camera 60 are processed by image processor 50 to generate simulated overhead views; Fig 10).
Regarding claim 11,
Mokashi discloses:
The device of claim 1, wherein the control unit is configured to generate a control signal for storing the first rear view image when it is determined that the state of the gear of the vehicle is in the reverse state and the rear door is in a closed state (Mokashi: [0041]; when the transmission is set in reverse such that the vehicle 10 is capable of moving rearward, the video image captured by the rear camera 54 can be automatically displayed on the display 44. The tailgate position sensor provides an indication of the position of the tailgate 36; [0066]; Included in the processing at step S1 is also detection based on signals from the vehicle sensors 48, and a determination whether or not the transmission of the vehicle is set in reverse gear indicating that the driver is backing up the vehicle 10. If the transmission is in reverse, the image processor 50 interprets that information as a request for an unaltered streaming of the area rearward of the vehicle 10 captured by the rear camera 54 (or captured by the cargo area camera 60 if the rear camera 54 is disabled); [0069]; At step S6, the image processor 50 determines whether or not the rear camera 54 is operable or not, for example, by receiving a signal from the tailgate sensor of the vehicle sensors 48. For example, if the tailgate 36 is in the closed position (FIG. 13), then the rear camera 54 is operable. If the tailgate 36 is down or in the open position (FIG. 14), then the rear camera 54 is not operable; [0070]; Once a determination has been made at step S6, if the rear camera 54 is operable, operation moves to step S7. If the rear camera 54 is not operable, operation moves to step S9; [0071]; At step S7, since the rear camera 54 is operable, the video images captured by the rear camera 54 are processed by the image processor 50; At step S8, the image processor 50 generates the simulated overhead views; [0072]; If at step S6, the image processor determines that the rear camera 54 is not operable, operation moves to step S9. At step S9, the video images captured by cargo area camera 60 are processed by image processor 50; Fig 10; [0038]; The terms "stream", "streaming", "streaming video", or other similar forms as used herein include storing the video image in a storage device (e.g. RAM, hard drive, FLASH memory, etc.,) prior to displaying; [0042]).
Regarding claim 12,
Mokashi discloses:
The device of claim 1, wherein the control unit is configured to generate a control signal for storing the second rear view image when it is determined that the state of the gear of the vehicle is in the reverse state and the rear door is in an open state (Mokashi: [0041]; when the transmission is set in reverse such that the vehicle 10 is capable of moving rearward, the video image captured by the rear camera 54 can be automatically displayed on the display 44. The tailgate position sensor provides an indication of the position of the tailgate 36; [0066]; Included in the processing at step S1 is also detection based on signals from the vehicle sensors 48, and a determination whether or not the transmission of the vehicle is set in reverse gear indicating that the driver is backing up the vehicle 10. If the transmission is in reverse, the image processor 50 interprets that information as a request for an unaltered streaming of the area rearward of the vehicle 10 captured by the rear camera 54 (or captured by the cargo area camera 60 if the rear camera 54 is disabled); [0069]; At step S6, the image processor 50 determines whether or not the rear camera 54 is operable or not, for example, by receiving a signal from the tailgate sensor of the vehicle sensors 48. For example, if the tailgate 36 is in the closed position (FIG. 13), then the rear camera 54 is operable. If the tailgate 36 is down or in the open position (FIG. 14), then the rear camera 54 is not operable; [0070]; Once a determination has been made at step S6, if the rear camera 54 is operable, operation moves to step S7. If the rear camera 54 is not operable, operation moves to step S9; [0071]; At step S7, since the rear camera 54 is operable, the video images captured by the rear camera 54 are processed by the image processor 50; At step S8, the image processor 50 generates the simulated overhead views; [0072]; If at step S6, the image processor determines that the rear camera 54 is not operable, operation moves to step S9. At step S9, the video images captured by cargo area camera 60 are processed by image processor 50; Fig 10; [0038]; The terms "stream", "streaming", "streaming video", or other similar forms as used herein include storing the video image in a storage device (e.g. RAM, hard drive, FLASH memory, etc.,) prior to displaying; [0042]).
Regarding claim 13,
Mokashi discloses:
A method for obtaining a rear view of a vehicle having a cargo compartment for storing cargo (Mokashi: Fig 1-2; video system 12 on vehicle 10 with cargo area 26; Fig 17-18; vehicle 10’ with cargo area 26’; [0075]-[0076]; Fig 19-20; vehicle 10'’ with cargo area 26; [0079]-[0080]), the method comprising:
generating, by a sensor unit, a first sensing signal indicative of a position according to shift of a gear of the vehicle (Mokashi: [0041]; transmission sensor provides image processor 50 with the status of the transmission of the vehicle 10, such as set in reverse; [0066]; Included in the processing at step S1 is also detection based on signals from the vehicle sensors 48, and a determination whether or not the transmission of the vehicle is set in reverse gear indicating that the driver is backing up the vehicle 10 by image processor 50) and a second sensing signal indicative of a state in which a rear door installed at a rear side of the vehicle is open (Mokashi: [0041]; The tailgate position sensor provides an indication of the position of the tailgate 36, such as open, to image processor 50; [0069]; At step S6, the image processor 50 determines whether or not the rear camera 54 is operable or not, for example, by receiving a signal from the tailgate sensor of the vehicle sensors 48, such as whether the tailgate is open);
receiving, by a control unit, the first (Mokashi: [0041]; transmission sensor provides image processor 50 with the status of the transmission of the vehicle 10, such as set in reverse; [0066]; Included in the processing at step S1 is also detection based on signals from the vehicle sensors 48, and a determination whether or not the transmission of the vehicle is set in reverse gear indicating that the driver is backing up the vehicle 10 by image processor 50) and second sensing signals (Mokashi: [0041]; The tailgate position sensor provides an indication of the position of the tailgate 36, such as open, to image processor 50; [0069]; At step S6, the image processor 50 determines whether or not the rear camera 54 is operable or not, for example, by receiving a signal from the tailgate sensor of the vehicle sensors 48, such as whether the tailgate is open);
determining, by the control unit, whether a state of the gear of the vehicle is in a reverse state (Mokashi: [0041]; transmission sensor provides image processor 50 with the status of the transmission of the vehicle 10, such as set in reverse; [0066]; Included in the processing at step S1 is also detection based on signals from the vehicle sensors 48, and a determination whether or not the transmission of the vehicle is set in reverse gear indicating that the driver is backing up the vehicle 10 by image processor 50) and whether the rear door is open or closed (Mokashi: [0041]; The tailgate position sensor provides an indication of the position of the tailgate 36, such as open, to image processor 50; [0069]; At step S6, the image processor 50 determines whether or not the rear camera 54 is operable or not, for example, by receiving a signal from the tailgate sensor of the vehicle sensors 48, such as whether the tailgate is open);
generating, by the control unit, a control signal for outputting at least one of the first rear view image or the second rear view image according to a result of the determination (Mokashi: Fig 10; [0066]; If the transmission is in reverse, the image processor 50 interprets that information as a request for an unaltered streaming of the area rearward of the vehicle 10 captured by the rear camera 54 (or captured by the cargo area camera 60 if the rear camera 54 is disabled). As a result, the image processor 50 streams to the left side of the display 44 unaltered video images captured by the rear camera 54 (or captured by the cargo area camera 60); [0070]; Once a determination has been made at step S6, if the rear camera 54 is operable, operation moves to step S7. If the rear camera 54 is not operable, operation moves to step S9; [0071]; At step S7, since the rear camera 54 is operable, the video images captured by the rear camera 54 are processed by the image processor 50; At step S8, the image processor 50 generates the simulated overhead views; [0072]; If at step S6, the image processor determines that the rear camera 54 is not operable, operation moves to step S9. At step S9, the video images captured by cargo area camera 60 are processed by image processor 50); and
outputting, by a display unit, at least one of the first rear view image or the second rear view image according to an input of the generated control signal (Mokashi: Fig 2; display 44; [0033]; [0066]; If the transmission is in reverse, the image processor 50 interprets that information as a request for an unaltered streaming of the area rearward of the vehicle 10 captured by the rear camera 54 (or captured by the cargo area camera 60 if the rear camera 54 is disabled). As a result, the image processor 50 streams to the left side of the display 44 unaltered video images captured by the rear camera 54 (or captured by the cargo area camera 60); [0071]; At step S7, since the rear camera 54 is operable, the video images captured by the rear camera 54 are processed by the image processor 50; [0072]; If at step S6, the image processor determines that the rear camera 54 is not operable, operation moves to step S9. At step S9, the video images captured by cargo area camera 60 are processed by image processor 50).
Regarding claim 14,
Mokashi discloses:
The method of claim 13, wherein generating the second sensing signal includes:
detecting, by a first detecting sensor, a position according to the shift of the gear of the vehicle (Mokashi: [0041]; transmission sensor provides image processor 50 with the status of the transmission of the vehicle 10, such as set in reverse; [0066]; Included in the processing at step S1 is also detection based on signals from the vehicle sensors 48, and a determination whether or not the transmission of the vehicle is set in reverse gear indicating that the driver is backing up the vehicle 10 by image processor 50);
generating, by the first detecting sensor, the first sensing signal (Mokashi: [0041]; transmission sensor provides image processor 50 with the status of the transmission of the vehicle 10, such as set in reverse; [0066]; Included in the processing at step S1 is also detection based on signals from the vehicle sensors 48, and a determination whether or not the transmission of the vehicle is set in reverse gear indicating that the driver is backing up the vehicle 10 by image processor 50);
detecting, by a second detecting sensor, an opening of the rear door (Mokashi: [0041]; The tailgate position sensor provides an indication of the position of the tailgate 36, such as open, to image processor 50; [0069]; At step S6, the image processor 50 determines whether or not the rear camera 54 is operable or not, for example, by receiving a signal from the tailgate sensor of the vehicle sensors 48, such as whether the tailgate is open); and
generating, by the second detecting sensor, the second sensing signal (Mokashi: [0041]; The tailgate position sensor provides an indication of the position of the tailgate 36, such as open, to image processor 50; [0069]; At step S6, the image processor 50 determines whether or not the rear camera 54 is operable or not, for example, by receiving a signal from the tailgate sensor of the vehicle sensors 48, such as whether the tailgate is open).
Regarding claim 16,
Mokashi discloses:
The method of claim 13, wherein generating the control signal includes:
determining that the state of the gear of the vehicle is in a reverse state when a position of the gear indicated in the first sensing signal is in a reverse position (Mokashi: [0041]; transmission sensor provides image processor 50 with the status of the transmission of the vehicle 10, such as set in reverse; [0066]; Included in the processing at step S1 is also detection based on signals from the vehicle sensors 48, and a determination whether or not the transmission of the vehicle is set in reverse gear indicating that the driver is backing up the vehicle 10 by image processor 50); and
when the second sensing signal is received from the sensor unit, determining that the rear door is open (Mokashi: [0041]; The tailgate position sensor provides an indication of the position of the tailgate 36, such as open, to image processor 50; [0069]; At step S6, the image processor 50 determines whether or not the rear camera 54 is operable or not, for example, by receiving a signal from the tailgate sensor of the vehicle sensors 48, such as whether the tailgate is open).
Regarding claim 17,
Mokashi discloses:
The method of claim 13, wherein generating the control signal includes:
generating a control signal for outputting the first rear view image when it is determined that the state of the gear of the vehicle is in the reverse state and the rear door is in a closed state (Mokashi: [0041]; when the transmission is set in reverse such that the vehicle 10 is capable of moving rearward, the video image captured by the rear camera 54 can be automatically displayed on the display 44. The tailgate position sensor provides an indication of the position of the tailgate 36; [0066]; Included in the processing at step S1 is also detection based on signals from the vehicle sensors 48, and a determination whether or not the transmission of the vehicle is set in reverse gear indicating that the driver is backing up the vehicle 10. If the transmission is in reverse, the image processor 50 interprets that information as a request for an unaltered streaming of the area rearward of the vehicle 10 captured by the rear camera 54 (or captured by the cargo area camera 60 if the rear camera 54 is disabled); [0069]; At step S6, the image processor 50 determines whether or not the rear camera 54 is operable or not, for example, by receiving a signal from the tailgate sensor of the vehicle sensors 48. For example, if the tailgate 36 is in the closed position (FIG. 13), then the rear camera 54 is operable. If the tailgate 36 is down or in the open position (FIG. 14), then the rear camera 54 is not operable; [0070]; Once a determination has been made at step S6, if the rear camera 54 is operable, operation moves to step S7. If the rear camera 54 is not operable, operation moves to step S9; [0071]; At step S7, since the rear camera 54 is operable, the video images captured by the rear camera 54 are processed by the image processor 50; At step S8, the image processor 50 generates the simulated overhead views; [0072]; If at step S6, the image processor determines that the rear camera 54 is not operable, operation moves to step S9. At step S9, the video images captured by cargo area camera 60 are processed by image processor 50; Fig 10); and
generating a control signal for outputting the second rear view image when it is determined that the state of the gear of the vehicle is in the reverse state and the rear door is in an open state (Mokashi: [0041]; when the transmission is set in reverse such that the vehicle 10 is capable of moving rearward, the video image captured by the rear camera 54 can be automatically displayed on the display 44. The tailgate position sensor provides an indication of the position of the tailgate 36; [0066]; Included in the processing at step S1 is also detection based on signals from the vehicle sensors 48, and a determination whether or not the transmission of the vehicle is set in reverse gear indicating that the driver is backing up the vehicle 10. If the transmission is in reverse, the image processor 50 interprets that information as a request for an unaltered streaming of the area rearward of the vehicle 10 captured by the rear camera 54 (or captured by the cargo area camera 60 if the rear camera 54 is disabled); [0069]; At step S6, the image processor 50 determines whether or not the rear camera 54 is operable or not, for example, by receiving a signal from the tailgate sensor of the vehicle sensors 48. For example, if the tailgate 36 is in the closed position (FIG. 13), then the rear camera 54 is operable. If the tailgate 36 is down or in the open position (FIG. 14), then the rear camera 54 is not operable; [0070]; Once a determination has been made at step S6, if the rear camera 54 is operable, operation moves to step S7. If the rear camera 54 is not operable, operation moves to step S9; [0071]; At step S7, since the rear camera 54 is operable, the video images captured by the rear camera 54 are processed by the image processor 50; At step S8, the image processor 50 generates the simulated overhead views; [0072]; If at step S6, the image processor determines that the rear camera 54 is not operable, operation moves to step S9. At step S9, the video images captured by cargo area camera 60 are processed by image processor 50; Fig 10).
Regarding claim 18,
Mokashi discloses:
The method of claim 13, wherein generating the control signal includes:
generating a control signal for storing the first rear view image when it is determined that the state of the gear of the vehicle is in the reverse state and the rear door is in a closed state (Mokashi: [0041]; when the transmission is set in reverse such that the vehicle 10 is capable of moving rearward, the video image captured by the rear camera 54 can be automatically displayed on the display 44. The tailgate position sensor provides an indication of the position of the tailgate 36; [0066]; Included in the processing at step S1 is also detection based on signals from the vehicle sensors 48, and a determination whether or not the transmission of the vehicle is set in reverse gear indicating that the driver is backing up the vehicle 10. If the transmission is in reverse, the image processor 50 interprets that information as a request for an unaltered streaming of the area rearward of the vehicle 10 captured by the rear camera 54 (or captured by the cargo area camera 60 if the rear camera 54 is disabled); [0069]; At step S6, the image processor 50 determines whether or not the rear camera 54 is operable or not, for example, by receiving a signal from the tailgate sensor of the vehicle sensors 48. For example, if the tailgate 36 is in the closed position (FIG. 13), then the rear camera 54 is operable. If the tailgate 36 is down or in the open position (FIG. 14), then the rear camera 54 is not operable; [0070]; Once a determination has been made at step S6, if the rear camera 54 is operable, operation moves to step S7. If the rear camera 54 is not operable, operation moves to step S9; [0071]; At step S7, since the rear camera 54 is operable, the video images captured by the rear camera 54 are processed by the image processor 50; At step S8, the image processor 50 generates the simulated overhead views; [0072]; If at step S6, the image processor determines that the rear camera 54 is not operable, operation moves to step S9. At step S9, the video images captured by cargo area camera 60 are processed by image processor 50; Fig 10; [0038]; The terms "stream", "streaming", "streaming video", or other similar forms as used herein include storing the video image in a storage device (e.g. RAM, hard drive, FLASH memory, etc.,) prior to displaying; [0042]); and
generating a control signal for storing the second rear view image when it is determined that the state of the gear of the vehicle is in the reverse state and the rear door is in an open state (Mokashi: [0041]; when the transmission is set in reverse such that the vehicle 10 is capable of moving rearward, the video image captured by the rear camera 54 can be automatically displayed on the display 44. The tailgate position sensor provides an indication of the position of the tailgate 36; [0066]; Included in the processing at step S1 is also detection based on signals from the vehicle sensors 48, and a determination whether or not the transmission of the vehicle is set in reverse gear indicating that the driver is backing up the vehicle 10. If the transmission is in reverse, the image processor 50 interprets that information as a request for an unaltered streaming of the area rearward of the vehicle 10 captured by the rear camera 54 (or captured by the cargo area camera 60 if the rear camera 54 is disabled); [0069]; At step S6, the image processor 50 determines whether or not the rear camera 54 is operable or not, for example, by receiving a signal from the tailgate sensor of the vehicle sensors 48. For example, if the tailgate 36 is in the closed position (FIG. 13), then the rear camera 54 is operable. If the tailgate 36 is down or in the open position (FIG. 14), then the rear camera 54 is not operable; [0070]; Once a determination has been made at step S6, if the rear camera 54 is operable, operation moves to step S7. If the rear camera 54 is not operable, operation moves to step S9; [0071]; At step S7, since the rear camera 54 is operable, the video images captured by the rear camera 54 are processed by the image processor 50; At step S8, the image processor 50 generates the simulated overhead views; [0072]; If at step S6, the image processor determines that the rear camera 54 is not operable, operation moves to step S9. At step S9, the video images captured by cargo area camera 60 are processed by image processor 50; Fig 10; [0038]; The terms "stream", "streaming", "streaming video", or other similar forms as used herein include storing the video image in a storage device (e.g. RAM, hard drive, FLASH memory, etc.,) prior to displaying; [0042]).
Regarding claim 19,
Mokashi discloses:
The method of claim 13, further comprising:
determining, by the control unit, whether opening and closing of the rear door of the vehicle of which the state of the gear is in the reverse state has changed (Mokashi: [0041]; when the transmission is set in reverse such that the vehicle 10 is capable of moving rearward, the video image captured by the rear camera 54 can be automatically displayed on the display 44. The tailgate position sensor provides an indication of the position of the tailgate 36; when the tailgate 36 is in an open position, the performance of the rear camera 54 may be compromised; [0066]; Included in the processing at step S1 is also detection based on signals from the vehicle sensors 48, and a determination whether or not the transmission of the vehicle is set in reverse gear indicating that the driver is backing up the vehicle 10. If the transmission is in reverse, the image processor 50 interprets that information as a request for an unaltered streaming of the area rearward of the vehicle 10 captured by the rear camera 54 (or captured by the cargo area camera 60 if the rear camera 54 is disabled); [0069]; At step S6, the image processor 50 determines whether or not the rear camera 54 is operable or not, for example, by receiving a signal from the tailgate sensor of the vehicle sensors 48. For example, if the tailgate 36 is in the closed position (FIG. 13), then the rear camera 54 is operable. If the tailgate 36 is down or in the open position (FIG. 14), then the rear camera 54 is not operable; Fig 10; [0070]; Once a determination has been made at step S6, if the rear camera 54 is operable, operation moves to step S7. If the rear camera 54 is not operable, operation moves to step S9; [0071]; At step S7, since the rear camera 54 is operable, the video images captured by the rear camera 54 are processed by the image processor 50; At step S8, the image processor 50 generates the simulated overhead views; [0072]; If at step S6, the image processor determines that the rear camera 54 is not operable, operation moves to step S9. At step S9, the video images captured by cargo area camera 60 are processed by image processor 50 to generate simulated overhead views; Fig 10 with return); and
generating a control signal for switching a rear view image output through the display unit according to a result of determining whether the opening and closing of the rear door has changed (Mokashi: [0041]; when the transmission is set in reverse such that the vehicle 10 is capable of moving rearward, the video image captured by the rear camera 54 can be automatically displayed on the display 44. The tailgate position sensor provides an indication of the position of the tailgate 36; when the tailgate 36 is in an open position, the performance of the rear camera 54 may be compromised; [0066]; Included in the processing at step S1 is also detection based on signals from the vehicle sensors 48, and a determination whether or not the transmission of the vehicle is set in reverse gear indicating that the driver is backing up the vehicle 10. If the transmission is in reverse, the image processor 50 interprets that information as a request for an unaltered streaming of the area rearward of the vehicle 10 captured by the rear camera 54 (or captured by the cargo area camera 60 if the rear camera 54 is disabled); [0069]; At step S6, the image processor 50 determines whether or not the rear camera 54 is operable or not, for example, by receiving a signal from the tailgate sensor of the vehicle sensors 48. For example, if the tailgate 36 is in the closed position (FIG. 13), then the rear camera 54 is operable. If the tailgate 36 is down or in the open position (FIG. 14), then the rear camera 54 is not operable; Fig 10; [0070]; Once a determination has been made at step S6, if the rear camera 54 is operable, operation moves to step S7. If the rear camera 54 is not operable, operation moves to step S9; [0071]; At step S7, since the rear camera 54 is operable, the video images captured by the rear camera 54 are processed by the image processor 50; At step S8, the image processor 50 generates the simulated overhead views; [0072]; If at step S6, the image processor determines that the rear camera 54 is not operable, operation moves to step S9. At step S9, the video images captured by cargo area camera 60 are processed by image processor 50 to generate simulated overhead views; Fig 10 with return).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-5 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mokashi et al. (US 2014/0071279) in view of Yasui (US 2022/0292686).
Regarding claim 4,
Mokashi teaches:
The device of claim 1, wherein the sensor unit includes a third detecting sensor (Mokashi: [0041])
Mokashi fails to teach:
configured to detect an impact occurring to the vehicle and generate a third sensing signal indicating that the impact has occurred to the vehicle.
Yasui teaches:
wherein the sensor unit includes a third detecting sensor configured to detect an impact occurring to the vehicle and generate a third sensing signal indicating that the impact has occurred to the vehicle (Yasui: [0046]; the drive recorder 218 stores moving image data captured by a camera 221 in a storage unit 223 with an impact equal to or greater than a threshold value on the vehicle 1 as a trigger by a sensor 222).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Yasui with Mokashi. Using an impact sensor and correspondingly storing images would benefit the Mokashi teaching by increasing sensing abilities and assist with insurance and/or police claims. Additionally, this is the application of a known technique, using an impact sensor and correspondingly storing images, to a known device ready for improvement, the Mokashi device, to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 5,
Mokashi in view of Yasui teaches:
The device of claim 4, wherein, when the control unit receives the third sensing signal from the third detecting sensor, the control unit is configured to determine that the impact has occurred to the vehicle and generate a control signal for storing at least one of the first rear view image or the second rear view image in a storage unit (Mokashi: [0038]; The terms "stream", "streaming", "streaming video", or other similar forms as used herein include storing the video image in a storage device (e.g. RAM, hard drive, FLASH memory, etc.,) prior to displaying; [0042]; Yasui: [0046]; the drive recorder 218 stores moving image data captured by a camera 221 in a storage unit 223 with an impact equal to or greater than a threshold value on the vehicle 1 as a trigger by a sensor 222).
Regarding claim 15,
Mokashi teaches:
The method of claim 13, wherein generating the second sensing signal further includes:
detecting, by a third detecting sensor (Mokashi: [0041]);
generating, by the third detecting sensor, a third sensing signal (Mokashi: [0041]; Fig 10; [0066]);
receiving, by the control unit, the third sensing signal (Mokashi: [0041]; Fig 10; [0066]);
generating, by the control unit, a control signal for storing at least one of the first rear view image or the second rear view image in a storage unit according to a result of the determination (Mokashi: [0038]; The terms "stream", "streaming", "streaming video", or other similar forms as used herein include storing the video image in a storage device (e.g. RAM, hard drive, FLASH memory, etc.,) prior to displaying; [0041]-[0042]; Fig 10; [0066]).
Mokashi fails to teach:
an impact occurring to the vehicle;
to determine whether the impact has occurred to the vehicle; and
according to a result of the determination of whether the impact has occurred to the vehicle.
Yasui teaches:
detecting, by a third detecting sensor, an impact occurring to the vehicle (Yasui: [0046]; the drive recorder 218 stores moving image data captured by a camera 221 in a storage unit 223 with an impact equal to or greater than a threshold value on the vehicle 1 as a trigger by a sensor 222);
generating, by the third detecting sensor, a third sensing signal (Yasui: [0046]; the drive recorder 218 stores moving image data captured by a camera 221 in a storage unit 223 with an impact equal to or greater than a threshold value on the vehicle 1 as a trigger by a sensor 222);
receiving, by the control unit, the third sensing signal to determine whether the impact has occurred to the vehicle (Yasui: [0046]; the drive recorder 218 stores moving image data captured by a camera 221 in a storage unit 223 with an impact equal to or greater than a threshold value on the vehicle 1 as a trigger by a sensor 222); and
generating, by the control unit, a control signal for storing at least one of the first rear view image or the second rear view image in a storage unit according to a result of the determination of whether the impact has occurred to the vehicle (Yasui: [0046]; the drive recorder 218 stores moving image data captured by a camera 221 in a storage unit 223 with an impact equal to or greater than a threshold value on the vehicle 1 as a trigger by a sensor 222).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Yasui with Mokashi. Using an impact sensor and correspondingly storing images would benefit the Mokashi teaching by increasing sensing abilities and assist with insurance and/or police claims. Additionally, this is the application of a known technique, using an impact sensor and correspondingly storing images, to a known device ready for improvement, the Mokashi device, to yield predictable results.
Conclusion
/JAMES M PONTIUS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2488