Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 22, 23 and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rearick et al. (US 2016/0169993 A1), hereinafter referred to as Rearick, in view of Saha (US 2008/0315879 A1). With reference to claim 22, Rearick teaches an electromagnetic interference (EMI) mitigation system, comprising: a plurality of EMI detectors arranged in a spaced relationship sufficient to allow for positioning of a magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) system therebetween (¶0062-¶0064).
However, Rearick is silent with regards to at least some of the EMI detectors in the plurality of EMI detectors comprise coils with orthogonal directionality.
Saha teaches at least some of the EMI detectors in the plurality of EMI detectors comprise coils with orthogonal directionality (Fig. 3, ¶0016).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Saha with the system of Rearick so as to accurately detect electromagnetic noise from any direction (Saha, ¶0016).
With reference to claim 23, Rearick as combined above further teaches the plurality of EMI detectors comprises a combination of external coils, electrodes, and surface coils (¶0064).
With reference to claim 25, Rearick as combined above further teaches the plurality of EMI detectors is coupled to a stand (¶0065, coupling the sensors to a shield would be considered “a stand”).
With reference to claim 26, Rearick as combined above further teaches the stand is coupled to a cart (¶0030).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 24 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art does not disclose or suggest the claimed “plurality of EMI detectors comprises external coils arranged in the spaced relationship, wherein the spaced relationship comprises a 360 degree distribution about a central point configured for placement of an MRI system at the central point" in combination with the remaining claim elements as set forth in claim 24.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Biber et al. (US 2021/0325494 A1) teach a device and method for patient specific interference suppression.
/GREGORY H CURRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852