DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Independent claim 1 requires “providing a parallel electrical circuit having a first battery unit and a first electrical contactor disposed in a first leg of the parallel electrical circuit, a second battery unit and a second electrical contactor disposed in a second leg of the parallel electrical circuit.” Requiring a parallel circuit can be interpreted in several different ways. It could mean that the circuit provided has “parallel” elements such as resistors and capacitors wired in the well-known “parallel” manner. It could also, as written, be interpreted to mean that the circuit provided must be wired into another circuit element in the well-known parallel fashion. Either interpretation of the claim as presented would be equally valid. Therefore, clarification is required. All subsequent dependent claims are also similarly rejected as being dependent upon a rejected base claim. Independent claims 13 & are similarly rejected along with any other dependent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 8-9, 11, 13, & 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) & (a)(2) as being anticipated by Klintberg et al (U.S. PGPub # 2024/0239238).
Regarding Independent claim 1, Klintberg teaches:
A method of monitoring a battery system utilized within an aircraft propulsion system (See paragraph 0002.), the method comprising:
providing a parallel electrical circuit having a first battery unit (Fig. 1 Elements 100 & 200. See paragraphs 0004, 0008, 0025, 0075, 0091, 0139, & elsewhere.) and a first electrical contactor disposed in a first leg of the parallel electrical circuit (See Fig. 1 Elements SW1-SW5. See Fig. 2A & 2B Elements SW1-SW5. See paragraphs 0137-0138 & 0177. See also Fig. 3.), a second battery unit (Fig. 1 Elements 100 & 200. See paragraphs 0004, 0008, 0025, 0075, 0091, 0139, & elsewhere.) and a second electrical contactor disposed in a second leg of the parallel electrical circuit (See Fig. 1 Elements SW1-SW5. See Fig. 2A & 2B Elements SW1-SW5. See paragraphs 0137-0138 & 0177.), a positive bus connector electrically connected to the first leg and the second leg (See Fig. 1, 2A, & 2B Element HV+.), a negative bus connector electrically connected to the first leg and the second leg (See Fig. 1, 2A, & 2B Element HV-.), and an electrical device electrically connected to the positive bus connector and the negative bus connector (Paragraphs 0166 & 0169.), and controllable to draw electrical current through the parallel electrical circuit (Paragraphs 0001, 0008, 0016-0017, 0021-0022, 0028, 0075,0166, 0169 and elsewhere wherein the entire disclosure discusses and describes “a control method and system for a battery pack.” Paragraph 0001.);
wherein the first electrical contactor (FEC) is controllable to be in an FEC closed configuration and an FEC open configuration (See Fig. 1 Elements SW1-SW5. See Fig. 2A & 2B Elements SW1-SW5. See paragraphs 0137-0138 & 0177.); and
wherein the second electrical contactor (SEC) is controllable to be in an SEC closed configuration and an SEC open configuration (See Fig. 1 Elements SW1-SW5. See Fig. 2A & 2B Elements SW1-SW5. See paragraphs 0137-0138 & 0177.); and
controlling the first electrical contactor to be in the FEC closed configuration (See Fig. 1 Elements SW1-SW5. See Fig. 2A & 2B Elements SW1-SW5. See paragraphs 0137-0138 & 0177.), and controlling the second electrical contactor to be in the SEC closed configuration (See Fig. 1 Elements SW1-SW5. See Fig. 2A & 2B Elements SW1-SW5. See paragraphs 0137-0138 & 0177.);
using a first voltage sensor to determine a first voltage across the first battery unit within the first leg when the first electrical contactor is in the FEC closed configuration (Paragraphs 0196-0200, 0217, 0252, 0255, 0267-0269, and elsewhere wherein the voltage sensors measure voltages at times when the switches are open or closed.);
using a second voltage sensor to determine a second voltage across the second battery unit within the second leg when the second electrical contactor is in the SEC closed configuration (Paragraphs 0196-0200, 0217, 0252, 0255, 0267-0269, and elsewhere wherein the voltage sensors measure voltages at times when the switches are open or closed.); and
monitoring the battery system by determining a difference between the first voltage and the second voltage, and producing a fault indicator if the first difference or the second difference exceeds a predetermined threshold (Paragraphs 0323-0329, 0331-0335, 0337-0354, and elsewhere wherein the voltage sensors measure various voltages that are compared to one another to determine various faults.).
Regarding claim 2, Klintberg teaches all elements of claim 1, upon which this claim depends.
Klintberg teaches the first electrical contactor is disposed in the first leg between the first battery unit and the positive bus connector (See Fig. 1 Elements SW1-SW2. See Fig. 2A & 2B Elements SW1-SW2 wherein these contactors are in a first leg. See paragraphs 0137-0138 & 0177.), and the second electrical contactor is disposed in the second leg between the second battery unit and the positive bus connector (See Fig. 1 Elements SW3-SW4. See Fig. 2A & 2B Elements SW3-SW4 wherein these contactors are in a second leg. See paragraphs 0137-0138 & 0177.).
Regarding claim 8, Klintberg teaches all elements of claim 1, upon which this claim depends.
Klintberg teaches the first electrical contactor is disposed in the first leg between the first electrical contactor and the positive bus connector or between the first battery unit and the negative bus connector (See Fig. 1 Elements SW1-SW2. See Fig. 2A & 2B Elements SW1-SW2 wherein these contactors are in a first leg. See paragraphs 0137-0138 & 0177.), and the second electrical contactor is disposed in the second leg between the second battery unit and the positive bus connector or between the second battery unit and the negative bus connector (See Fig. 1 Elements SW3-SW4. See Fig. 2A & 2B Elements SW3-SW4 wherein these contactors are in a second leg. See paragraphs 0137-0138 & 0177.).
Regarding claim 9, Klintberg teaches all elements of claim 1, upon which this claim depends.
Klintberg teaches the first electrical contactor is disposed in the first leg between the first battery unit and the negative bus connector (See Fig. 1 Elements SW1-SW2. See Fig. 2A & 2B Elements SW1-SW2 wherein these contactors are in a first leg. See paragraphs 0137-0138 & 0177.), and the second electrical contactor is disposed in the second leg between the second battery unit and the negative bus connector (See Fig. 1 Elements SW3-SW4. See Fig. 2A & 2B Elements SW3-SW4 wherein these contactors are in a second leg. See paragraphs 0137-0138 & 0177.).
Regarding claim 11, Klintberg teaches all elements of claim 1, upon which this claim depends.
Klintberg teaches controlling the electrical device to draw electrical current through the parallel electrical circuit (See paragraphs 0166-0171 wherein the batteries have electrical current drawn from them to drive EV motors.); and wherein a bus voltage sensor is used to determine a bus voltage when the electrical device is drawing electrical current through the parallel electrical circuit (Paragraphs 0196-0200, 0217, 0252, 0255, 0267-0269, and elsewhere wherein the voltage sensors measure voltages at times when the switches are open or closed.).
Regarding Independent claim 13, Klintberg teaches:
A method of inspecting electrical contactors in a battery system utilized within an aircraft propulsion system (See paragraph 0002.), the method comprising:
wherein the battery system includes a parallel electrical circuit having a first battery unit (Fig. 1 Elements 100 & 200. See paragraphs 0004, 0008, 0025, 0075, 0091, 0139, & elsewhere.) and a first electrical contactor disposed in a first leg of the parallel electrical circuit (See Fig. 1 Elements SW1-SW5. See Fig. 2A & 2B Elements SW1-SW5. See paragraphs 0137-0138 & 0177. See also Fig. 3.), a second battery unit (Fig. 1 Elements 100 & 200. See paragraphs 0004, 0008, 0025, 0075, 0091, 0139, & elsewhere.) and a second electrical contactor disposed in a second leg of the parallel electrical circuit (See Fig. 1 Elements SW1-SW5. See Fig. 2A & 2B Elements SW1-SW5. See paragraphs 0137-0138 & 0177.), a positive bus connector electrically connected to the first leg and the second leg (See Fig. 1, 2A, & 2B Element HV+.), a negative bus connector electrically connected to the first leg and the second leg (See Fig. 1, 2A, & 2B Element HV-.), and an electrical device electrically connected to the positive bus connector and the negative bus connector (Paragraphs 0166 & 0169.), and controllable to draw electrical current through the parallel electrical circuit (Paragraphs 0001, 0008, 0016-0017, 0021-0022, 0028, 0075,0166, 0169 and elsewhere wherein the entire disclosure discusses and describes “a control method and system for a battery pack.” Paragraph 0001.);
controlling the first electrical contactor (FEC) to be in an FEC closed configuration (See Fig. 1 Elements SW1-SW5. See Fig. 2A & 2B Elements SW1-SW5. See paragraphs 0137-0138 & 0177.), and controlling the second electrical contactor (SEC) to be in an SEC closed configuration (See Fig. 1 Elements SW1-SW5. See Fig. 2A & 2B Elements SW1-SW5. See paragraphs 0137-0138 & 0177.);
using a first voltage sensor to determine a first voltage across the first battery unit within the first leg when the electrical device is drawing electrical current through the parallel electrical circuit (Paragraphs 0196-0200, 0217, 0252, 0255, 0267-0269, and elsewhere wherein the voltage sensors measure voltages at times when the switches are open or closed.);
using a second voltage sensor to determine a second voltage across the second battery unit within the second leg (Paragraphs 0196-0200, 0217, 0252, 0255, 0267-0269, and elsewhere wherein the voltage sensors measure voltages at times when the switches are open or closed.);
using a bus voltage sensor to determine a bus voltage between the positive bus connector and the negative bus connector (Paragraphs 0323-0329, 0331-0335, 0337-0354, and elsewhere wherein the voltage sensors measure various voltages that are compared to one another to determine various faults.);
determining a first contactor voltage using the first voltage and the bus voltage (Paragraphs 0323-0329, 0331-0335, 0337-0354, and elsewhere wherein the voltage sensors measure various voltages that are compared to one another to determine various faults.); and
determining a second contactor voltage using the second voltage and the bus voltage (Paragraphs 0323-0329, 0331-0335, 0337-0354, and elsewhere wherein the voltage sensors measure various voltages that are compared to one another to determine various faults.).
Regarding Independent claim 20, Klintberg teaches:
A method of inspecting contactor position in a battery system utilized within an aircraft propulsion system (See paragraph 0002.), the method comprising:
wherein the battery system includes a parallel electrical circuit having a first battery unit (Fig. 1 Elements 100 & 200. See paragraphs 0004, 0008, 0025, 0075, 0091, 0139, & elsewhere.) and a first electrical contactor disposed in a first leg of the parallel electrical circuit, a second battery unit (Fig. 1 Elements 100 & 200. See paragraphs 0004, 0008, 0025, 0075, 0091, 0139, & elsewhere.) and a second electrical contactor disposed in a second leg of the parallel electrical circuit (See Fig. 1 Elements SW1-SW5. See Fig. 2A & 2B Elements SW1-SW5. See paragraphs 0137-0138 & 0177. See also Fig. 3.), a positive bus connector electrically connected to the first leg and the second leg (See Fig. 1, 2A, & 2B Element HV+.), a negative bus connector electrically connected to the first leg and the second leg (See Fig. 1, 2A, & 2B Element HV-.), and an electrical device electrically connected to the positive bus connector and the negative bus connector (Paragraphs 0166 & 0169.), and controllable to draw electrical current through the parallel electrical circuit (Paragraphs 0001, 0008, 0016-0017, 0021-0022, 0028, 0075,0166, 0169 and elsewhere wherein the entire disclosure discusses and describes “a control method and system for a battery pack.” Paragraph 0001.);
using a first voltage sensor to determine a first closed contactor voltage across the first battery unit within the first leg when the first electrical contactor (FEC) is in an FEC closed configuration (See Fig. 1 Elements SW1-SW5. See Fig. 2A & 2B Elements SW1-SW5. See paragraphs 0137-0138 & 0177.);
using a second voltage sensor to determine a second closed contactor voltage across the second battery unit within the second leg when the second electrical contactor (SEC) is in an FEC closed configuration (See Fig. 1 Elements SW1-SW5. See Fig. 2A & 2B Elements SW1-SW5. See paragraphs 0137-0138 & 0177.);
using the first voltage sensor to determine a first open contactor voltage across the first battery unit within the first leg when the first electrical contactor is in an FEC open configuration (Paragraphs 0196-0200, 0217, 0252, 0255, 0267-0269, and elsewhere wherein the voltage sensors measure voltages at times when the switches are open or closed.);
using the second voltage sensor to determine a second open contactor voltage across the second battery unit within the second leg when the second electrical contactor is in an SEC open configuration (Paragraphs 0196-0200, 0217, 0252, 0255, 0267-0269, and elsewhere wherein the voltage sensors measure voltages at times when the switches are open or closed.);
using a bus voltage sensor to determine a bus voltage between the positive bus connector and the negative bus connector (Paragraphs 0196-0200, 0217, 0252, 0255, 0267-0269, and elsewhere wherein the voltage sensors measure voltages at various locations.);
inspecting a first contactor position by comparing the first closed contactor voltage and the first open contactor voltage to the bus voltage (Paragraphs 0323-0329, 0331-0335, 0337-0354, and elsewhere wherein the voltage sensors measure various voltages that are compared to one another to determine various faults.); and
inspecting a second contactor position by comparing the second closed contactor voltage and the second open contactor voltage to the bus voltage (Paragraphs 0323-0329, 0331-0335, 0337-0354, and elsewhere wherein the voltage sensors measure various voltages that are compared to one another to determine various faults.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 10, & 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Klintberg et al (U.S. PGPub # 2024/0239238)
Regarding claim 3, Klintberg teaches all elements of claim 2, upon which this claim depends.
Klintberg may not explicitly teach the first voltage sensor is in electrical communication with the first leg between a pole of the first battery and the first electrical contactor, and the second voltage sensor is in electrical communication with the second leg between a pole of the second battery and the second electrical contactor.
But it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to have the first voltage sensor is in electrical communication with the first leg between a pole of the first battery and the first electrical contactor, and the second voltage sensor is in electrical communication with the second leg between a pole of the second battery and the second electrical contactor because all of the measurements made by the plurality of voltage sensors disclosed in paragraphs 0016, 0030, 0102-0136, and multiple places elsewhere in Klintberg would necessarily require that they all be connected to the listed elements and other circuit elements so that the measurements listed could be made.
Regarding claim 10, Klintberg teaches all elements of claim 1, upon which this claim depends.
Klintberg may not explicitly teach the first voltage sensor is in electrical communication with the first leg between a pole of the first battery and the first electrical contactor, and the second voltage sensor is in electrical communication with the second leg between a pole of the second battery and the second electrical contactor.
But it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to have the first voltage sensor is in electrical communication with the first leg between a pole of the first battery and the first electrical contactor, and the second voltage sensor is in electrical communication with the second leg between a pole of the second battery and the second electrical contactor because all of the measurements made by the plurality of voltage sensors disclosed in paragraphs 0016, 0030, 0102-0136, and multiple places elsewhere in Klintberg would necessarily require that they all be connected to the listed elements and other circuit elements so that the measurements listed could be made.
Regarding claim 15, Klintberg teaches all elements of claim 13, upon which this claim depends.
Klintberg may not explicitly teach the first voltage sensor is in electrical communication with the first leg between a pole of the first battery and the first electrical contactor, and the second voltage sensor is in electrical communication with the second leg between a pole of the second battery and the second electrical contactor.
But it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to have the the first voltage sensor be in electrical communication with the first leg between a pole of the first battery and the first electrical contactor, and the second voltage sensor be in electrical communication with the second leg between a pole of the second battery and the second electrical contactor because all of the measurements made by the plurality of voltage sensors disclosed in paragraphs 0016, 0030, 0102-0136, and multiple places elsewhere in Klintberg would necessarily require that they all be connected to the listed elements and other circuit elements so that the measurements listed could be made.
Claims 4, 6, 12, 14, & 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Klintberg et al (U.S. PGPub # 2024/0239238) in view of Wang et al (U.S. PGPub # 2021/0170899).
Regarding claim 4, Klintberg teaches or makes obvious all elements of claim 3, upon which this claim depends.
Klintberg teaches and determining a first contactor voltage by subtracting the first voltage from the bus voltage (See paragraphs 0221-0228 0261wherein the differences in voltages are disclosed as being indications of open or closed switching elements and switching elements in the battery pack that are at fault.).
Klintberg does not explicitly teach using a bus voltage sensor to determine a bus voltage between the positive bus connector and the negative bus connector.
Wang teaches using a bus voltage sensor to determine a bus voltage between the positive bus connector and the negative bus connector (Paragraphs 0027 & 0032.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to apply the teachings of Wang to the teachings of Klintberg such that one would use a bus voltage sensor to determine a bus voltage between the positive bus connector and the negative bus connector because a voltage sensor is a common, well-known, reliable tool used in measuring voltages at any points in a given circuit.
Regarding claim 6, Klintberg teaches all elements of claim 2, upon which this claim depends.
Klintberg teaches and determining a second contactor voltage by subtracting the second voltage from the bus voltage (See paragraphs 0221-0228 0261wherein the differences in voltages are disclosed as being indications of open or closed switching elements and switching elements in the battery pack that are at fault.).
Klintberg does not explicitly teach using a bus voltage sensor to determine a bus voltage between the positive bus connector and the negative bus connector.
Wang teaches using a bus voltage sensor to determine a bus voltage between the positive bus connector and the negative bus connector (Paragraphs 0027 & 0032.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to apply the teachings of Wang to the teachings of Klintberg such that one would use a bus voltage sensor to determine a bus voltage between the positive bus connector and the negative bus connector because a voltage sensor is a common, well-known, reliable tool used in measuring voltages at any points in a given circuit.
Regarding claim 12, Klintberg teaches all elements of claim 1, upon which this claim depends.
Klintberg teaches wherein the step of monitoring the battery system includes determining a first difference between the first voltage and the bus voltage, and determining a difference between the second voltage and the bus voltage, and producing a fault indicator if the first difference or the second difference exceeds a predetermined threshold (See paragraphs 0221-0228 0261wherein the differences in voltages are disclosed as being indications of open or closed switching elements and switching elements in the battery pack that are at fault.).
Klintberg does not explicitly teach using a bus voltage sensor to determine a bus voltage between the positive bus connector and the negative bus connector; and
Wang teaches using a bus voltage sensor to determine a bus voltage between the positive bus connector and the negative bus connector (Paragraphs 0027 & 0032.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to apply the teachings of Wang to the teachings of Klintberg such that one would use a bus voltage sensor to determine a bus voltage between the positive bus connector and the negative bus connector because a voltage sensor is a common, well-known, reliable tool used in measuring voltages at any points in a given circuit.
Regarding claim 14, Klintberg & Wang teach all elements of claim 12, upon which this claim depends.
Klintberg teaches the first electrical contactor is disposed in the first leg between the first battery unit and the positive bus connector (See Fig. 1 Elements SW1-SW2. See Fig. 2A & 2B Elements SW1-SW2 wherein these contactors are in a first leg. See paragraphs 0137-0138 & 0177.), and the second electrical contactor is disposed in the second leg between the second battery unit and the positive bus connector (See Fig. 1 Elements SW1-SW2. See Fig. 2A & 2B Elements SW1-SW2 wherein these contactors are in a first leg. See paragraphs 0137-0138 & 0177.).
Regarding claim 16, Klintberg & Wang teach all elements of claim 12, upon which this claim depends.
Klintberg teaches determining a first contactor voltage by subtracting the first voltage from the bus voltage (See paragraphs 0043, 0218-0224, & elsewhere.).
Regarding claim 18, Klintberg & Wang teach all elements of claim 12, upon which this claim depends.
Klintberg teaches determining a second contactor voltage by subtracting the second voltage from the bus voltage (See paragraphs 0043, 0218-0224, & elsewhere.).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 7, 17, & 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art listed does not anticipate alone or combine in an obvious manner to teach the invention claimed by applicant.
Regarding claim 5,
The method of claim 4, wherein the method further comprises determining a first contactor resistance by sensing a first leg current using a first leg current sensor, and dividing the first contactor voltage by the first leg current.
Regarding claim 7,
The method of claim 6, wherein the method further comprises determining a second contactor resistance by sensing a second leg current using a second leg current sensor, and dividing the second contactor voltage by the second leg current.
Regarding claim 17, Klintberg & Wang teach all elements of claim 16, upon which this claim depends.
Klintberg does not explicitly teach determining a first contactor resistance by sensing a first leg current using a first leg current sensor in line within the first leg, and dividing the first contactor voltage by the first leg current.
Regarding claim 19,
The method of claim 18, wherein the method further comprises determining a second contactor resistance by sensing a second leg current using a second leg current sensor in line within the second leg, and dividing the second contactor voltage by the second leg current.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The prior art listed but not cited represents the previous state of the art and analogous art that teaches some of the limitations claimed by applicant. Specifically, U.S. PGPub # 2020/0271728 teaches, as he title indicates, measuring voltage differences between battery cells and obtaining battery cell voltages which mimics applicants claimed invention but not as precisely as Klintberg. Also, U.S. PGPub # 2016/0197499 teaches a similar set of voltage sensors in use of monitoring battery devices.
/CHRISTOPHER P MCANDREW/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858