DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (hereinafter “Lee” US 2016 / 0098063).
As pertaining to Claim 1, Lee discloses (see Fig. 8 and Fig. 9A) an electronic device (100), comprising:
a first body (220) including an input assembly (i.e., a keyboard (820)), an input surface (i.e., a front surface (220)) of the input assembly (i.e., the keyboard (820)) being used as a first functional surface (i.e., a touch surface) of the first body (220);
a second body (210), a first side (i.e., a front side) of the second body (210) being rotatably connected to the first body (220);
a third body (230) rotatably connected to a second side (i.e., a rear side) of the second body (210);
a display assembly (i.e., a display screen) including a first surface (i.e., a front surface) and a second surface (i.e., a back surface) arranged opposite the first surface (i.e., the front surface), the first surface (i.e., the front surface) being a display output surface (see Fig. 8 and Fig. 9A) of the display assembly (i.e., the display screen), and the second surface (i.e., the rear surface) being connected to the second body (210) and the third body (230), and the display output surface (i.e., the front surface of (210, 230)) not overlapping with the input surface (i.e., the front surface of (220));
wherein:
in response to the third body (230) rotating relative to the second body (210) to form a first device form (see Fig. 9A), then the display assembly (i.e., the display screen) is in a first deformed state (see Fig. 9A), and in the first deformed state (again, see Fig. 9A), the input surface (i.e., the front surface of (220)) and the display output surface (i.e., the front surface of (210, 230)) of the display assembly (i.e., the display screen) are on a same side relative to the electronic device (100); and
in response to the third body (230) rotating relative to the second body (210) and the second body (210) rotating relative to the first body (220), to form a second device form (see Fig. 8), the display assembly (i.e., the display screen) is in a flat state (again, see (210, 230) in Fig. 8), and the input surface (i.e., the front surface of (220)) and the display output surface (i.e., the front surface of (210, 230)) of the display assembly (i.e., the display screen) that is in the flat state are on a same side relative to the electronic device (100; see Page 6 through Page 7, Para. [0070]-[0073]); and
the electronic device (100) has a closed form (see Fig. 2), in which the first body (220) and the second body (210) are arranged at an angle of 180 degrees relative to each other and extend in a common plane (i.e., are in the same plane and stacked in a direction orthogonal to the plane), and an orthogonal projection of the third body (230) in a thickness direction (i.e., a direction orthogonal to the plane) fully covers the first body (220) and the second body (210; see Fig. 2 and Page 4, Para. [0049]-[0050]).
As pertaining to Claim 2, Lee discloses (see Fig. 8 and Fig. 9A) that the first body (220) has a second functional surface (i.e., a rear surface), and the second functional surface (i.e., the rear surface) is configured to abut against a supporting surface (see Fig. 8) to support the third body (230) connected to the second body (210; again, see Page 6 through Page 7, Para. [0070]-[0073]).
As pertaining to Claim 3, Lee discloses (see Fig. 8 and Fig. 9A) that in the first device form (see Fig. 9A), the first body (220) and the second body (210) satisfy a coplanar condition (i.e., are in a same plane), and the second body (210) and the third body (230) form a first angle (i.e., a 180 degree angle); and
in the second device form (see Fig. 8), the second body (210) and the third body (230) form the first angle (i.e., the 180 degree angle) or satisfy the coplanar condition (i.e., are in the same plane), and the second body (210) and the first body (220) form a second angle (i.e., an arbitrary angle less than 180 degrees; again, see Page 6 through Page 7, Para. [0070]-[0073]).
As pertaining to Claim 4, Lee discloses (see Fig. 8 and Fig. 9A) that:
in the closed form (again, see Fig. 2), the first functional surface (i.e., a touch surface) is on a side of the display output surface (i.e., the front surface of (210, 230)) of the display assembly (i.e., the display screen) and satisfies the coplanar (i.e., are in the same plane and stacked in a direction orthogonal to the plane) condition with at least a part of the display output surface (i.e., the front surface of (210, 230); see Page 4, Para. [0049]-[0050]).
As pertaining to Claim 5, Lee discloses (see Fig. 8 and Fig. 9A) that a first side (i.e., a left side) and a second side (i.e., a right side) are two opposite sides of the second body (210);
the first side (i.e., the left side) of the second body (210) is connected to the first body (220) via a first connection apparatus (i.e., a hinge) to form and maintain the first device form (see Fig. 9A);
the second side (i.e., the right side) of the second body (210) is connected to the third body (230) via a second connection apparatus (i.e., a hinge) to form and maintain the second device form (see Fig. 8; and see Page 3, Para. [0043] and Page 8, Para. [0084]).
As pertaining to Claim 6, Lee discloses (see Fig. 8 and Fig. 9A) that the first connection apparatus (i.e., the hinge) is configured to provide a first force (i.e., any arbitrary rotational force that is a product of force applied by a user) when the second body (210) rotates relative to the first body (220);
the second connection apparatus (i.e., the hinge) is configured to provide a second force (i.e., any arbitrary rotational force that is a product of force applied by a user) when the third body (230) rotates relative to the second body (210); and
the first force (i.e., any arbitrary rotational force that is a product of force applied by a user) is greater than (i.e., arbitrarily) the second force (i.e., any arbitrary rotational force that is a product of force applied by a user) to allow the first device form (see Fig. 9A) to be switched to the second device form (see Fig. 8; again, see Page 3, Para. [0043] and Page 6 through Page 7, Para. [0070]-[0073]; and note that the forces applied to the hinges connecting (210, 220, 230) are generated as a product of the arbitrary forces applied by a user in rotating the bodies (210, 220, 230) relative to each other).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Endo et al. (hereinafter “Endo” US 2022 / 0181222).
As pertaining to Claim 7, Lee does not explicitly provide a structural description of the first connection apparatus (i.e., the hinge) and/or the second connection apparatus (i.e., the hinge). In this regard, Lee does not explicitly disclose that the first connection apparatus includes a first rotation shaft, a first connection member, and a second connection member; one of the first connection member and the second connection member is rotatably connected to the first rotation shaft, and the other one is fixedly connected to the first rotation shaft; the first connection member is fixedly connected to the first side of the second body, and the second connection member is fixedly connected to the first body to rotatably connect the first side of the second body to the first body.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Endo discloses (see Figs. 11A-11C in combination with Figs. 15A-15C and Figs. 16A-16C) an electronic device comprising a first body (102a), a second body (102b), and a third body (102c), wherein the first body (102a) and the second body (102b) are rotatably connected to each other, and the second body (102b) and the third body (102c) are rotatably connected to each other (see Page 6 through Page 7, Para. [0110]-[0111]; and Page 8, Para. [0131] and Para. [0134]-[0136]). In this regard, Endo discloses (see Fig. 1A) a connection apparatus (10), operable to rotatably connect the first body (102a) to the second body (102b) and/or to rotatably connect the second body (102b) to the third body (102c), wherein the connection apparatus (10) includes a first rotation shaft (12a, 13a), a first connection member (11b), and a second connection member (11a); one of the first connection member (11b) and the second connection member (11a) is rotatably connected to the first rotation shaft (12a, 13a), and the other one (11b, 11a) is fixedly connected to the first rotation shaft (12a, 13a); the first connection member (11b) is fixedly connected to the first side of the second body (102b), and the second connection member (11a) is fixedly connected to the first body (102a) to rotatably connect the first side of the second body (102b) to the first body (102a; see Page 3 through Page 4, Para. [0061]-[0062], [0065]-[0066], and [0069]-[0070]). It is a goal of Endo to provide a connection apparatus for rotatably connecting any of first, second, and third bodies of an electronic device using a structure that is known to increase reliability and portability while allowing for improved flexibility (see Page 1, Para. [0006]-[0008]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lee with the teachings of Endo, such that the first connection apparatus of Lee is implemented using the connection apparatus structure suggested by Endo that is known to increase reliability and portability while allowing for improved flexibility.
As pertaining to Claim 8, Lee does not explicitly provide a structural description of the first connection apparatus (i.e., the hinge) and/or the second connection apparatus (i.e., the hinge). In this regard, Lee does not explicitly disclose that the second connection apparatus includes a third connection member, a fourth connection member, and an intermediate connection member; the third connection member and the fourth connection member are connected to the intermediate connection member via a transmission assembly to allow the third connection member and the fourth connection member to rotate relative to the intermediate connection member; and the third connection member is fixedly connected to the second side of the second body, and the fourth connection member is fixedly connected to the third body to rotatably connect the third body to the second side of the second body.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Endo discloses (see Figs. 11A-11C in combination with Figs. 15A-15C and Figs. 16A-16C) an electronic device comprising a first body (102c), a second body (102b), and a third body (102a), wherein the first body (102c) and the second body (102b) are rotatably connected to each other, and the second body (102b) and the third body (102a) are rotatably connected to each other (see Page 6 through Page 7, Para. [0110]-[0111]; and Page 8, Para. [0131] and Para. [0134]-[0136]). In this regard, Endo discloses (see Fig. 1A) a connection apparatus (10), operable to rotatably connect the first body (102c) to the second body (102b) and/or to rotatably connect the second body (102b) to the third body (102a), wherein the connection apparatus (10) includes a third connection member (11b), a fourth connection member (11a), and an intermediate connection member (12a, 13a); the third connection member (11b) and the fourth connection member (11a) are connected to the intermediate connection member (12a, 13a) via a transmission assembly (14, 15) to allow the third connection member (11b) and the fourth connection member (11a) to rotate relative to the intermediate connection member (12a 13a); and the third connection member (11b) is fixedly connected to the second side of the second body (102b), and the fourth connection member (11a) is fixedly connected to the third body (102a) to rotatably connect the third body (102a) to the second side of the second body (102b; see Page 3 through Page 4, Para. [0061]-[0062], [0065]-[0066], and [0069]-[0070]). It is a goal of Endo to provide a connection apparatus for rotatably connecting any of first, second, and third bodies of an electronic device using a structure that is known to increase reliability and portability while allowing for improved flexibility (see Page 1, Para. [0006]-[0008]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lee with the teachings of Endo, such that the second connection apparatus of Lee is implemented using the connection apparatus structure suggested by Endo that is known to increase reliability and portability while allowing for improved flexibility.
As pertaining to Claim 9, Lee does not explicitly provide a structural description of the first connection apparatus (i.e., the hinge) and/or the second connection apparatus (i.e., the hinge). In this regard, Lee does not explicitly disclose that the first connection apparatus includes a first locking assembly configured to limit a rotation angle of the second body relative to the first body; and/or the second connection apparatus includes a second locking assembly configured to limit the rotation angle of the third body relative to the second body.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Endo discloses (see Figs. 11A-11C in combination with Figs. 15A-15C and Figs. 16A-16C) an electronic device comprising a first body (102a), a second body (102b), and a third body (102c), wherein the first body (102a) and the second body (102b) are rotatably connected to each other, and the second body (102b) and the third body (102c) are rotatably connected to each other (see Page 6 through Page 7, Para. [0110]-[0111]; and Page 8, Para. [0131] and Para. [0134]-[0136]). In this regard, Endo discloses (see Fig. 1A in combination with Figs. 6A-6B) a connection apparatus (10), operable to rotatably connect the first body (102a) to the second body (102b) and/or to rotatably connect the second body (102b) to the third body (102c; see Page 3 through Page 4, Para. [0061]-[0062], [0065]-[0066], and [0069]-[0070]), wherein the connection apparatus (10) includes a locking assembly (see (29) in Figs. 6A-6B) configured to limit a rotation angle of the second body (102b) relative to the first body (102a) and/or to limit the rotation angle of the third body (102c) relative to the second body (102b; see Page 5, Para. [0091]-[0093]). It is a goal of Endo to provide a connection apparatus for rotatably connecting any of first, second, and third bodies of an electronic device using a structure that is known to increase reliability and portability while allowing for improved flexibility (see Page 1, Para. [0006]-[0008]). Further, Endo explicitly suggests that the implementation of a locking assembly associated with the connection apparatus can prevent unintended transformation of the electronic apparatus during use (again, see Page 5, Para. [0093]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lee with the teachings of Endo, such that the first connection apparatus and/or the second connection apparatus of Lee is implemented using the connection apparatus structure and locking assembly suggested by Endo that is known to increase reliability and portability while allowing for improved flexibility, and to prevent unintended transformation of the electronic apparatus during use.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Perelli et al. (hereinafter “Perelli” US 2023 / 0195176).
As pertaining to Claim 10, Lee does not explicitly disclose that the second body includes a support assembly; one end of the support assembly is movably connected to the surface of the second body opposite the display assembly; and in the second device form, the support assembly and the second body have an angle, and the other end of the support assembly abuts against a carrier surface to support the second body and the third body.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Perelli discloses (see Fig. 5) an electronic device (400) comprising a first body (410), a second body (360-2), and a third body (360-12) rotatably connected to each other, wherein the second body (360-2) includes a support assembly (354-2, 358-2); one end of the support assembly (354-2, 358-2) is movably connected to the surface of the second body (360-2) opposite a display assembly; and in a second device form, the support assembly (354-2, 358-2) and the second body (360-2) have an angle, and the other end of the support assembly (354-2, 358-2) abuts against a carrier surface to support the second body (360-2) and the third body (360-1; see Page 4, Para. [0053]-[0054] and [0056]). It is a goal of Perelli to implement a support assembly in an electronic device comprising first, second, and third adjustable bodies such that the first, second, and third bodies can effectively be configured in a variety of positions and angles relative to each other while being supported on a work surface (see Page 6 through Page 7, Para. [0086]; also see Page 3, Para. [0043]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lee with the teachings of Perelli, such that the second body of Lee includes the support assembly suggested by Perelli, in order to provide an effective support structure such that the first, second, and third bodies of Lee can be configured in a variety of positions and angles relative to each other while being supported on a work surface.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 14 July 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant has argued that none of the references relied upon by the examiner in the prior Office Action, particularly Lee, teach or fairly suggest that the electronic device has a closed form, in which the first body and the second body are arranged at an angle of 180 degrees relative to each other and extend in a common plane, and an orthogonal projection of the third body in a thickness direction fully covers the first body and the second body (see Remarks at Pages 8 through 10). The examiner respectfully disagrees. In fact, Lee plainly discloses at Figure 2 that the electronic device (100) has an open form, shown at the top of Figure 2, in which the first body (220) and the second body (210) are arranged at an angle of 0 degrees relative to each other and extend in a common plane, namely a plane corresponding to a resting surface upon which the electronic device (100) is placed, and the electronic device (100) further has a closed form, shown at the bottom of Figure 2, in which the first body (220) and the second body (210) are arranged at an angle of 180 degrees relative to each other, namely by rotating the first body (220) through an angle of 180 degrees relative to the second body (210), and extend in the same common plane, namely the plane corresponding to a resting surface upon which the electronic device (100) is placed, and an orthogonal projection of the third body (230) in a thickness direction, namely a direction orthogonal to the plane, fully covers the first body (220) and the second body (210) as shown at the bottom of Figure 2 (see Fig. 2 and Page 4, Para. [0049][0050]).
For at least these reasons, the rejection of Claims 1-10 is maintained.
The applicant has referenced Figure 1 of the originally filed disclosure as providing support for the features of at least independent Claim 1 (see Remarks at Page 7). In order to further prosecution in the application, the examiner respectfully directs attention to at least the teachings of Buuck et al. (US 8,295,037) at Figures 14A through 14D. Buuck et al. discloses that it was well-known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement a hinged electronic device having a folding structure with a first body, a second body, and a third body, corresponding to Figure 1 of the instant application, in order to safely transport the electronic device and to minimize damage to components on the interior surfaces of the electronic device (see Col. 9, Ln. 28-67). Though not relied upon in the above rejections, the teachings of Buuck et al. are pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Chen et al. (US 2025 / 0208661), commonly owned with the instant application, discloses an electronic device having similar structural features with the instant application.
Lee et al. (US 11,281,254), Moser (US 2020 / 0033911), and Dahl et al. (US 2011 / 0216064) all disclose foldable electronic devices having first, second, and third rotatable bodies.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JASON M MANDEVILLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2623