DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, “the sheet bonding member (Ohata:37) is formed integrally with the regulation member” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
ABSTRACT - The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it merely consists of a single run-on sentence without regard for proper grammatical form. Correction is required. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
TITLE - The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
JUMBO CASE - The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Independent claims 1 and 11 recite inter alia, “a region below a contact position where the sheet is in contact with the photosensitive body in a gravity direction”. From this recitation it is unclear is the region is “below in a gravity direction” or if the sheet is “in contact with the photosensitive body in a gravity direction”, as alternatively interpreted. For the purpose of examination over prior art, this limitation is interpreted as “a region below, in a gravity direction, a contact position where the sheet is in contact with the photosensitive body”.
Claim 11 recites the limitations “an arrival position on most downstream of the contact position”. The phrase “on most downstream” is unclear. For the purpose of examination over prior art, this limitation is interpreted as best construe.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 8, and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 10,156,814 to Ohata in view of US 7,738,807 to Inada et al. and JP 09054494 A to Kitagawa.
Regarding claim 1, Ohata discloses an image forming apparatus (100), comprising:
a rotatable photosensitive body (1);
an exposure device (5) configured to expose the photosensitive body to form an electrostatic latent image on the photosensitive body (col. 4 lines 15-19);
a developing device (3) including a developing container (20) configured to house a developer containing toner and carriers, and a developer bearing member (31) configured to bear and convey the developer to a development position where the electrostatic latent image formed on the photosensitive body by the exposure device is developed (col. 5 lines 1-11);
a cleaning member (7) provided in contact with the photosensitive body and configured to clean the photosensitive body (col. 5 lines 59-62);
a driving unit (inherent) configured to rotate and drive the photosensitive body in a first rotation direction during development operation in which the developing device develops the electrostatic latent image formed on the photosensitive body (col. 5 lines 49-57);
a control unit (inherent, not shown) configured to control the driving unit; and
a sheet (39, Fig.3) provided in contact with the photosensitive body at a position on a downstream of a position where the cleaning member is in contact with the photosensitive body and on an upstream of the development position in the first rotation direction (col. 7 lines 15-24).
Ohata further teaches a mode in which the supply roller is rotated in a second rotation direction opposite to the first rotation direction, during non-development operation in which the development operation is not performed. In the second mode, floating toner particles accumulate around a regulation blade is collected and returned to the developing container. However, Ohata is silent about driving the photosensitive body in a second rotation direction opposite to the first rotation direction and does not explicitly recite a collection portion, as claimed.
Inada discloses an image forming apparatus (1, Fig.1), comprising: a rotatable photosensitive body (3); an exposure device (5) configured to expose the photosensitive body to form an electrostatic latent image on the photosensitive body; a developing device (6) including a developing container configured to house a developer and a developer bearing member configured to bear and convey the developer to a development position where the electrostatic latent image formed on the photosensitive body by the exposure device is developed; a cleaning member (81) provided in contact with the photosensitive body and configured to clean the photosensitive body; a driving unit (9) configured to rotate and drive the photosensitive body in a first rotation direction (i.e., positive rotation) during development operation in which the developing device develops the electrostatic latent image formed on the photosensitive body; and a control unit (100) configured to perform a mode for controlling the driving unit to rotate and drive the photosensitive body in a second rotation direction (i.e., reverse rotation) opposite to the first rotation direction, during non-development operation in which the development operation is not performed. The optimum values of a rotation amount of the photosensitive body are determined such that foreign objects as paper powder that remain under the cleaning blade edge can be removed effectively and the inverse warpage of the blade does not occur (col. 8 lines 28-38). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ohata and Inada such that in the image forming apparatus of Ohata the control unit is configured to perform a mode for controlling the driving unit to rotate and drive the photosensitive body in a second rotation direction opposite to the first rotation direction, during non-development operation in which the development operation is not performed; for at least the purpose of removing accumulated developer from the cleaning member thus ensuring cleaning performance.
Kitagawa discloses an image forming apparatus (Fig.1), comprising: a rotatable photosensitive body (1); a developing device (40) including a developer bearing member; the lower portion of the housing of the developing device is extended to form a collection portion (490, Fig.9) that captures leaked toner and is provided to face the photosensitive body in a non-contact manner in a region below a position at which a seal member (500) faces the photosensitive body, in a gravity direction. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the apparatus of Ohata such that the sleeve cover 37 is configured as a collection portion provided to face the photosensitive body in a non-contact manner in a region below a contact position where the sheet is in contact with the photosensitive body in a gravity direction and between the contact position and an arrival position when the photosensitive body is rotated and driven in the second rotation direction with the contact position as a starting point in the mode in a horizontal direction, for at least the purpose of collecting toner separated at the contact position and falling down, to prevent deterioration of image quality.
The combination above further renders obvious:
(claim 8) The image forming apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the collection portion is provided over a substantially entire region of a maximum image region where an image is formable on the photosensitive body, in a rotation axis direction of the photosensitive body (Ohata #37 and Kitagawa #490 extend in the axial direction).
(claim 10) The image forming apparatus according to claim 1, wherein, in the mode, the control unit controls the driving unit to rotate and drive the photosensitive body by a first moving distance in the second rotation direction, and then to rotate and drive the photosensitive body by a second moving distance shorter than the first moving distance in the first rotation direction (Inada: col. 8 lines 52-56).
Claim(s) 2-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 10,156,814 to Ohata in view of US 7,738,807 to Inada et al. and JP 09054494 A to Kitagawa, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 2014/0286673 to Ota.
Regarding claim 2, the modification in view of Kitagawa does not explicitly suggest a collection sheet, including a free end and a fixed end. Ota discloses a collection portion (70, Figs. 3 & 4) to capture scattered toner, including a capture sheet (74) that captures a toner that leaks from an abutting part (A1), one end is fixed to a mounting surface of a developer container, wherein a free end of the collection sheet is positioned above a fixed end of the collection sheet in the gravity direction. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a collection sheet on the sleeve cover 37 such that the image forming apparatus of claim 1 further comprises a collection sheet provided to face the photosensitive body in a non-contact manner at a position on a downstream of an exposure position where the photosensitive body is exposed by the exposure device and on an upstream of the contact position in the first rotation direction, wherein the collection portion includes the collection sheet, wherein a free end of the collection sheet is positioned above a fixed end of the collection sheet in the gravity direction, for at least the purpose of preventing toner scattering in the apparatus. In particular, “a free end of the collection sheet is positioned above a fixed end of the collection sheet in the gravity direction”, as shown in Ota, would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to ensure toner can be effectively contained within the collection portion.
Since Inada discloses an amount of reverse rotation as a result effective variable, the features wherein the free end of the collection sheet is positioned between the exposure position and the arrival position when the photosensitive body is rotated and driven in the second rotation direction with the contact position as the starting point in the mode in the horizontal direction, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to discover the optimum or workable range of the arrival position when the photosensitive body is rotated and driven in the second rotation direction, as a recognized result-effective variable, by routine experimentation (MPEP 2144.05).
The modification above further renders obvious:
(claim 3) The image forming apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the exposure device includes a light emitting element configured to emit light, and an irradiation unit configured to perform irradiation with the light emitted from the light emitting element (see Ohata: Fig.1), wherein the free end of the collection sheet is positioned above the irradiation unit in the gravity direction, and wherein the free end of the collection sheet is positioned between the irradiation unit and the arrival position when the photosensitive body is rotated and driven in the second rotation direction with the contact position as the starting point in the mode in the horizontal direction.
(claim 4) The image forming apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the developing device further includes a sheet bonding member (Ohata: 37, per the modification) to which the collection sheet is bonded, and wherein the collection portion includes the collection sheet and the sheet bonding member.
(claim 5) The image forming apparatus according to claim 4, wherein the developing device further includes a regulation member (Ohata: sleeve cover 37) configured to regulate an amount of developer born on the developer bearing member, and wherein the sheet bonding member (37) is formed integrally with the regulation member.
(claim 6) The image forming apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the developing device further includes a sheet bonding member (Ohata: sleeve cover 37) to which the sheet (Ohata:39) and the collection sheet (per the modification) are bonded, and wherein the collection portion includes the sheet, the collection sheet, and the sheet bonding member .
(claim 7) The image forming apparatus according to claim 6, wherein the developing device further includes a regulation member (Ohata:33) configured to regulate an amount of developer born on the developer bearing member. Wherein the sheet bonding member is formed integrally with the regulation member would be merely a matter of obvious engineering choice for at least the purpose of reducing the number of parts in the apparatus, absent persuasive evidence showing that the claimed configuration possesses unexpected results.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 10,156,814 to Ohata in view of US 7,738,807 to Inada et al. and JP 09054494 A to Kitagawa, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 2021/0373456 to Iwata.
Regarding claim 9, Ohata in view of Inada and Kitagawa teaches the image forming apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the developer bearing member is rotatable, and wherein the developing device further includes a regulation member (Ohata: 33) configured to regulate an amount of developer born on the developer bearing member but appears silent about another sheet as claimed. Iwata discloses an image forming apparatus including a layer regulating member 104 for shaping the developer adsorbed onto the developer roller 121 into a thin layer of developer, a protective cover 108 for protecting the layer regulating member 104, a seal member 109 disposed on the protective cover 108 adjacent to or in contact with the developer on the developer roller 121, a seal member 110 disposed in the developer container 107 adjacent to or in contact with the developer on the developer roller 121 (Fig.3). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the image forming apparatus of claim 1 to include a seal member (like 109 of Iwata) such that it comprises another sheet provided in contact with the developer bearing member at a position on a downstream of a position where the regulation member comes closest to the developer bearing member and on an upstream of the development position in a rotation direction of the developer bearing member, for at least the purpose of preventing toner scattering outside the developing device.
Claim(s) 11, 18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 10,156,814 to Ohata in view of US 7,738,807 to Inada et al. and JP 09054494 A to Kitagawa.
Regarding claim 11, Ohata discloses an image forming apparatus (100), comprising:
a rotatable photosensitive body (1);
an exposure device (5) configured to expose the photosensitive body to form an electrostatic latent image on the photosensitive body (col. 4 lines 15-19);
a developing device (3) including a developing container (20) configured to house a developer containing toner and carriers, and a developer bearing member (31) configured to bear and convey the developer to a development position where the electrostatic latent image formed on the photosensitive body by the exposure device is developed (col. 5 lines 1-11);
a cleaning member (7) provided in contact with the photosensitive body and configured to clean the photosensitive body (col. 5 lines 59-62);
a driving unit (inherent) configured to rotate and drive the photosensitive body in a first rotation direction during development operation in which the developing device develops the electrostatic latent image formed on the photosensitive body (col. 5 lines 49-57);
a control unit (inherent, not shown) configured to control the driving unit; and
a sheet (39, Fig.3) provided in contact with the photosensitive body at a position on a downstream of a position where the cleaning member is in contact with the photosensitive body and on an upstream of the development position in the first rotation direction (col. 7 lines 15-24).
Ohata further teaches a mode in which the supply roller is rotated in a second rotation direction opposite to the first rotation direction, during non-development operation in which the development operation is not performed. In the second mode, floating toner particles accumulate around a regulation blade is collected and returned to the developing container. However, Ohata is silent about driving the photosensitive body in a second rotation direction opposite to the first rotation direction and does not explicitly recite a collection portion, as claimed.
Inada discloses an image forming apparatus (1, Fig.1), comprising: a rotatable photosensitive body (3); an exposure device (5) configured to expose the photosensitive body to form an electrostatic latent image on the photosensitive body; a developing device (6) including a developing container configured to house a developer and a developer bearing member configured to bear and convey the developer to a development position where the electrostatic latent image formed on the photosensitive body by the exposure device is developed; a cleaning member (81) provided in contact with the photosensitive body and configured to clean the photosensitive body; a driving unit (9) configured to rotate and drive the photosensitive body in a first rotation direction (i.e., positive rotation) during development operation in which the developing device develops the electrostatic latent image formed on the photosensitive body; and a control unit (100) configured to perform a mode (Fig.5) for controlling the driving unit to perform a set of rotating and driving the photosensitive body in a second rotation direction (i.e., reverse rotation) opposite to the first rotation direction (S142) and then rotating and driving the photosensitive body in the first rotation direction a plurality of times (S144), during non-development operation in which the development operation is not performed. The optimum values of a rotation amount of the photosensitive body are determined such that foreign objects as paper powder that remain under the cleaning blade edge can be removed effectively and the inverse warpage of the blade does not occur (col. 8 lines 28-38).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ohata and Inada such that in the image forming apparatus of Ohata the control unit is configured to perform a mode for controlling the driving unit to perform a set of rotating and driving the photosensitive body in a second rotation direction opposite to the first rotation direction and then rotating and driving the photosensitive body in the first rotation direction a plurality of times during non-development operation in which the development operation is not performed; for at least the purpose of removing accumulated developer from the cleaning member thus ensuring cleaning performance.
Kitagawa discloses an image forming apparatus (Fig.1), comprising: a rotatable photosensitive body (1); a developing device (40) including a developer bearing member; the lower portion of the housing of the developing device is extended to form a collection portion (490, Fig.9) that captures leaked toner and is provided to face the photosensitive body in a non-contact manner in a region below a position at which a seal member (500) faces the photosensitive body, in a gravity direction. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the apparatus of Ohata such that the sleeve cover 37 is configured as a collection portion provided to face the photosensitive body in a non-contact manner in a region below a contact position where the sheet is in contact with the photosensitive body in a gravity direction and between the contact position and an arrival position on most downstream of the contact position in the second rotation direction when the photosensitive body is rotated and driven in the second rotation direction with the contact position as a starting point in the mode in a horizontal direction, for at least the purpose of collecting toner separated at the contact position and falling down to deteriorate image quality.
The combination above further renders obvious:
(claim 18) The image forming apparatus according to claim 11, wherein the collection portion is provided over a substantially entire region of a maximum image region where an image is formable on the photosensitive body, in a rotation axis direction of the photosensitive body (Ohata #37 and Kitagawa #490 extend in the axial direction).
(claim 20) The image forming apparatus according to claim 11, wherein, in a final set of the plurality of sets in the mode, the control unit controls the driving unit to rotate and drive the photosensitive body by a first moving distance in the second rotation direction, and then to rotate and drive the photosensitive body by a second moving distance shorter than the first moving distance in the first rotation direction (Inada: col. 8 lines 52-56).
Claim(s) 12-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 10,156,814 to Ohata in view of US 7,738,807 to Inada et al. and JP 09054494 A to Kitagawa, as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of US 2014/0286673 to Ota.
Regarding claim 12, the modification in view of Kitagawa does not explicitly suggest a collection sheet, including a free end and a fixed end. Ota discloses a collection portion (70, Fig.4) to capture scattered toner, including a capture sheet (74) that captures a toner that leaks from an abutting part (A1), one end is fixed to a mounting surface of a developer container, wherein a free end of the collection sheet is positioned above a fixed end of the collection sheet in the gravity direction. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a collection sheet on the sleeve cover 37 such that the image forming apparatus of claim 11 further comprises a collection sheet provided to face the photosensitive body in a non-contact manner at a position on a downstream of an exposure position where the photosensitive body is exposed by the exposure device and on an upstream of the contact position in the first rotation direction, wherein the collection portion includes the collection sheet, wherein a free end of the collection sheet is positioned above a fixed end of the collection sheet in the gravity direction, for at least the purpose of preventing toner scattering in the apparatus. In particular, “a free end of the collection sheet is positioned above a fixed end of the collection sheet in the gravity direction”, as shown in Ota, would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to ensure toner can be effectively contained within the collection portion.
Since Inada discloses an amount of reverse rotation as a result effective variable, the features wherein the free end of the collection sheet is positioned between the exposure position and the arrival position when the photosensitive body is rotated and driven in the second rotation direction with the contact position as the starting point in the mode in the horizontal direction, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to discover the optimum or workable range of the arrival position on the most downstream of the contact position in the second rotation direction when the photosensitive body is rotated and driven in the second rotation direction, as a recognized result-effective variable, by routine experimentation (MPEP 2144.05).
The modification above further renders obvious:
(claim 13) The image forming apparatus according to claim 12, wherein the exposure device includes a light emitting element configured to emit light, and an irradiation unit configured to perform irradiation with the light emitted from the light emitting element (see Ohata: Fig.1), wherein the free end of the collection sheet is positioned above the irradiation unit in the gravity direction, and wherein the free end of the collection sheet is positioned between the irradiation unit and the arrival position on the most downstream of the contact position in the second rotation direction when the photosensitive body is rotated and driven in the second rotation direction with the contact position as the starting point in the mode in the horizontal direction.
(claim 14) The image forming apparatus according to claim 12, wherein the developing device further includes a sheet bonding member (Ohata: 37, per the modification) to which the collection sheet is bonded, and wherein the collection portion includes the collection sheet and the sheet bonding member.
(claim 15) The image forming apparatus according to claim 14, wherein the developing device further includes a regulation member (Ohata: sleeve cover 37) configured to regulate an amount of developer born on the developer bearing member, and wherein the sheet bonding member (37) is formed integrally with the regulation member.
(claim 16) The image forming apparatus according to claim 12, wherein the developing device further includes a sheet bonding member (Ohata: sleeve cover 37) to which the sheet (Ohata:39) and the collection sheet (per the modification) are bonded, and wherein the collection portion includes the sheet, the collection sheet, and the sheet bonding member .
(claim 17) The image forming apparatus according to claim 16, wherein the developing device further includes a regulation member (Ohata:33) configured to regulate an amount of developer born on the developer bearing member. Wherein the sheet bonding member is formed integrally with the regulation member would be merely a matter of obvious engineering choice for at least the purpose of reducing the number of parts in the apparatus, absent persuasive evidence showing that the claimed configuration possesses unexpected results.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 10,156,814 to Ohata in view of US 7,738,807 to Inada et al. and JP 09054494 A to Kitagawa, as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of US 2021/0373456 to Iwata.
Regarding claim 19, Ohata in view of Inada and Kitagawa teaches the image forming apparatus according to claim 11, wherein the developer bearing member is rotatable, and wherein the developing device further includes a regulation member (Ohata: 33) configured to regulate an amount of developer born on the developer bearing member but appears silent about another sheet as claimed. Iwata discloses an image forming apparatus including a layer regulating member 104 for shaping the developer adsorbed onto the developer roller 121 into a thin layer of developer, a protective cover 108 for protecting the layer regulating member 104, a seal member 109 disposed on the protective cover 108 adjacent to or in contact with the developer on the developer roller 121, a seal member 110 disposed in the developer container 107 adjacent to or in contact with the developer on the developer roller 121 (Fig.3). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the image forming apparatus of claim 11 to include a seal member (like 109 of Iwata) such that it comprises another sheet provided in contact with the developer bearing member at a position on a downstream of a position where the regulation member comes closest to the developer bearing member and on an upstream of the development position in a rotation direction of the developer bearing member, for at least the purpose of preventing toner scattering outside the developing device.
Conclusion
/Arlene Heredia Ocasio/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852