DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
(B) CONCLUSION. — The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 16, calls for the limitation of "a temperature sensor and/or a flow sensor connected to the main cooling circuit" in lines 5-6. It is unclear which of these limitations is the Applicant claiming; a temperature sensor and a flow sensor connected to the main cooling circuit; or a temperature sensor or a flow sensor connected to the main cooling circuit. As best understood, for the purposes of examination, the limitation “and/or” has been interpreted as “or”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 7, 9-11 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BELLINO et al (U.S. PG Pub No.: 2021/0023908 A1), hereinafter referred to as BELLINO et al ‘908, in view of Lo et al (U.S. PG Pub No.: 2022/0007550 A1), hereinafter referred to as Lo et al ‘550.
Regarding claim 1, BELLINO et al ‘908 disclose a cooling system (100) for cooling a vehicle component (106), wherein the cooling system comprises a main cooling circuit (32) connected to the vehicle component and a temporary cooling circuit (30) connected to the vehicle component, wherein the cooling system is configured for being operated in a normal operational state (206) by means of the main cooling circuit, or in a redundant operational state (214) by means of the temporary cooling circuit, wherein the cooling system comprises a valve unit (160), wherein the main cooling circuit is connected to the vehicle component via the valve unit in the normal operational state, and wherein the temporary cooling circuit is connected to the vehicle component via the valve unit in the redundant operational state, wherein the cooling system is configured for activating the temporary cooling circuit for cooling the vehicle component in the redundant operational state wherein the valve unit comprises a first outlet flow port (166) and a first inlet flow port (150a) connected to the vehicle component, wherein the valve unit comprises a second inlet flow port (166a) and a second outlet flow port (170) connected to the main cooling circuit {as shown in annotated Figs. 2 and 3: ¶¶ [0016-0017], [0032-0035], [0037-0038], [0041], [0047-0049], [0051], [0054] and [0056-0057]}.
However, BELLINO et al ‘908 fail to explicitly disclose the limitations of malfunction of the main cooling circuit; and wherein the valve unit comprises a third inlet flow port and a third outlet flow port connected to the temporary cooling circuit.
Lo et al ‘550 teach: the concept of malfunction of the main cooling circuit {see ¶¶ [0060], wherein a leak or blockage constitute malfunction}; and wherein the valve unit (232) comprises a third inlet flow port (228) and a third outlet flow port (234) connected to the temporary cooling circuit (408) {as shown in Fig. 4: ¶ [0045]}.
Since all claimed elements were known in the art at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify BELLINO et al ‘908 valve unit by the valve unit of Lo et al ‘550 wherein the valve unit comprises a third inlet flow port and a third outlet flow port connected to the temporary cooling circuit, in order to facilitate mitigation of an emergency response control and the possibility of adding additional temporary cooling circuits for cooling more vehicle components.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the BELLINO et al ‘908 in view of Lo et al ‘550 to obtain the invention as specified in claim 1.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of BELLINO et al ‘908 and Lo et al ‘550 disclose and teach the cooling system according to claim 1, BELLINO et al ‘908 disclose wherein the valve unit is adapted to disconnect the temporary cooling circuit from fluid communication with the vehicle component in the normal operational state, and wherein the valve unit is adapted to disconnect the main cooling circuit from fluid communication with the vehicle component in the redundant operational state {see Fig. 3: ¶¶ [0047-0057]}.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of BELLINO et al ‘908 and Lo et al ‘550 disclose and teach the cooling system according to claim 1, BELLINO et al ‘908 disclose wherein the cooling system comprises a further cooling circuit (31) connected to the vehicle component and to the valve unit, wherein each one of the main cooling circuit and the temporary cooling circuit is connectable to the vehicle component via the valve unit and the further cooling circuit {as shown in annotated Fig. 2: ¶¶ [0024-0025]}.
Regarding claim 7, the combination of BELLINO et al ‘908 and Lo et al ‘550 disclose and teach the cooling system according to claim 1, BELLINO et al ‘908 disclose wherein the cooling system comprises at least one sensor (130) configured for detecting the malfunction of the main cooling circuit {see Fig. 2: ¶¶ [0003], [0027], [0038] and [0042]}.
Regarding claim 9, the combination of BELLINO et al ‘908 and Lo et al ‘550 disclose and teach the cooling system according to claim 1, BELLINO et al ‘908 as modified by Lo et al ‘550 further teach the limitation of wherein the temporary cooling circuit comprises a storage unit (218) configured for holding a volume of heat transfer fluid, wherein the volume of heat transfer fluid is arranged as a thermal buffer for cooling the vehicle component in the redundant operational state {see Abstract and ¶¶ [0024], [0048]}.
Regarding claim 10, the combination of BELLINO et al ‘908 and Lo et al ‘550 disclose and teach the cooling system according to claim 9, BELLINO et al ‘908 disclose wherein the temporary cooling circuit comprises a pump (102) {see Fig. 2: ¶ [0018]}; and BELLINO et al ‘908 as modified by Lo et al ‘550 further teach the limitation of the pump (210) for circulating heat transfer fluid in the temporary cooling circuit (410) to the vehicle component and through the storage unit (218) in the redundant operational state, wherein the cooling system is configured for activating the pump upon detection of the malfunction of the main cooling circuit {as shown in Figs. 2A and 3-4: ¶¶ [0043], [0048], [0054] and [0060]}.
Regarding claim 11, the combination of BELLINO et al ‘908 and Lo et al ‘550 disclose and teach the cooling system according to claim 1, BELLINO et al ‘908 disclose wherein in the normal operational state the main cooling circuit is fully separated from the temporary cooling circuit by the valve unit, and wherein in the redundant operational state the temporary cooling circuit is fully separated from the main cooling circuit by the valve unit {as shown in Fig. 2: ¶ [0017]}.
Regarding claim 20, the combination of BELLINO et al ‘908 and Lo et al ‘550 disclose and teach a vehicle (10) comprising the cooling system (100) for cooling the vehicle component according to claim 1 {see BELLINO et al ‘908 – Figs. 1-2: ¶¶ [0011] and [0015]}.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BELLINO et al ‘908 and Lo et al ‘550 as applied to claim 7 above, further in view of HOSONO et al (English Translated Japanese Publication No.: JP2017141776 A), hereinafter referred to as HOSONO et al ‘776.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of BELLINO et al ‘908 and Lo et al ‘550 disclose and teach the cooling system according to claim 7, BELLINO et al ‘908 as modified by Lo et al ‘550 further teach the limitations of wherein the malfunction of the main cooling circuit is a leakage of heat transfer fluid from the main cooling circuit {see ¶¶ [0020], [0058] and [0060]}’
However, the combination of BELLINO et al ‘908 and Lo et al ‘550 fail to disclose the limitations of wherein the at least one sensor is a pressure sensor, a flow sensor connected to the main cooling circuit, wherein the at least one sensor is configured for detecting the leakage or blockage of the main cooling circuit.
HOSONO et al ‘776 teach: the concept of the at least one sensor is a pressure sensor (31/32), a flow sensor (34) connected to the main cooling circuit, wherein the at least one sensor is configured for detecting the leakage or blockage of the main cooling circuit {see Abstract}.
Since all claimed elements were known in the art at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify BELLINO et al ‘908 as modified by Lo et al ‘550 sensors in view of HOSONO et al ‘776 to include the use of at least one sensor is a pressure sensor, a flow sensor connected to the main cooling circuit, wherein the at least one sensor is configured for detecting the leakage or blockage of the main cooling circuit, in order to accurately detect an abnormality in the system regardless of an operating state of the vehicle the cooling system {HOSONO et al ‘776 – Abstract}.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the BELLINO et al ‘908 as modified by Lo et al ‘550 in view of HOSONO et al ‘776 to obtain the invention as specified in claim 8.
Allowable Subject Matter
3 Claims 13-15 and 17-19 are allowed.
Claims 4-6 and 12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
4. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US-20150258875-A1 to Enomoto; Norihiko.
US-20150217622-A1 to Enomoto; Norihiko
US-20050000473-A1 to Ap, Ngy Srun.
/EMMANUEL E DUKE/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763
07/04/2026