DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 10 of U.S. Patent No. 12,193,849. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims are arguably broader than claims 1, 10 of U.S. Patent No. 12,193,849 which encompasses the same metes, bounds and limitations. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was first filed to eliminate the limitations of the narrower claims, since it has been held that omission of an element and its function and a combination where the remaining elements perform the same functions as before involves only routine skill in the art. See in re Karlson, 136 USPQ 184.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 9, of U.S. Patent No. 11,844,634. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims are arguably broader than claims 1, 9 of U.S. Patent No. 11,844,634 which encompasses the same metes, bounds and limitations. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was first filed to eliminate the limitations of the narrower claims, since it has been held that omission of an element and its function and a combination where the remaining elements perform the same functions as before involves only routine skill in the art. See in re Karlson, 136 USPQ 184.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 11, of U.S. Patent No. 11,109,818. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims are arguably broader than claims 1, 11 of U.S. Patent No. 11,109,818 which encompasses the same metes, bounds and limitations. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was first filed to eliminate the limitations of the narrower claims, since it has been held that omission of an element and its function and a combination where the remaining elements perform the same functions as before involves only routine skill in the art. See in re Karlson, 136 USPQ 184.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 27, of U.S. Patent No. 10,667,764. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims are arguably broader than claims 1, 27 of U.S. Patent No. 10,667,764 which encompasses the same metes, bounds and limitations. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was first filed to eliminate the limitations of the narrower claims, since it has been held that omission of an element and its function and a combination where the remaining elements perform the same functions as before involves only routine skill in the art. See in re Karlson, 136 USPQ 184.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 10-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saleh et al. (US 2016/0210430) in view of Nakamura (US 2018/0314922).
Regarding claims 1, 12, Saleh discloses a system for managing patient alarms (abstract), the system comprising: a first clinician device (patient) comprising a first hardware processor (computer program) configured to execute instructions (page 1, [0001-0008]) to: cause presentation, in a display of the first clinician device, of a user interface (page 1, [0013-0014]) comprising: a plurality of tiles (fig. 1; page 3, [0043]), wherein each tile corresponds to a different one of a plurality of patients (page 3, [0040-0048]); measured physiological parameter values for each of the plurality of patients, each tile comprising a measured physiological parameter value corresponding to the different one of the plurality of patients (page 3, [0040-0048]), at least one of a patient identifier or a room identifier associated
with a patient (individual with a tag in page 1, [0010]).
Saleh discloses all the limitations set forth above but fails to explicitly disclose wherein each tile comprises a plurality of arrows, each of the plurality of arrows being colored or greyed out, wherein a different number of the plurality of arrows being colored corresponds to a different alarm notification state.
However, Nakamura discloses wherein each tile comprises a plurality of arrows, each of the plurality of arrows being colored or greyed out, wherein a different number of the plurality of arrows being colored corresponds to a different alarm notification state (fig. 1; page 3, [0030-0031])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was first filed to incorporate the feature of Nakamura within the system of Saleh in order to support health control thereby increasing the reliability of the system.
Regarding claims 2, 13, Saleh discloses wherein only one of the plurality of arrows being colored
corresponds to an initial alarm (fig. 1; page 3, [0042-0053]).
Regarding claims 3, 14, Saleh discloses wherein only two of the plurality of arrows being colored
corresponds to an alarm having been escalated (fig. 1; page 3, [0042-0053]).
Regarding claims 4, 15, Saleh discloses wherein more than two of the plurality of arrows being
colored corresponds to an alarm having been re-escalated (fig. 1; page 3, [0042-0053).
Regarding claim 10, Saleh discloses wherein the first clinician device comprises a mobile
computing device (Bluetooth in page 6, [0111]).
Regarding claim 11, Saleh discloses wherein the plurality of arrows comprise three arrows (fig. 1-fig. 2).
Claims 5-9, 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saleh et al. (US 2016/0210430) in view of Nakamura (US 2018/0314922) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hastings (US 2005/0151640).
Regarding claims 5, 16, Saleh and Nakamura disclose all the limitations set forth in claim 1 but fail to explicitly disclose wherein the user interface further comprises an option to accept and an option to forward an alarm notification regarding one of the plurality of patients, wherein a user selection of the option to accept causes the first clinician device to transmit an indication of acceptance to a server, and wherein a user selection of the option to forward causes the first clinician device to transmit an indication of forwarding to the server.
However, Hastings discloses wherein the user interface further comprises an option to accept and an option to forward an alarm notification regarding one of the plurality of patients, wherein a user selection of the option to accept causes the first clinician device to transmit an indication of acceptance to a server, and wherein a user selection of the option to forward causes the first clinician device to transmit an indication of forwarding to the server (page 12, [0142-0143]; page 19, [0222]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was first filed to incorporate the feature of Hastings within the system of Saleh and Nakamura in order to support health control thereby increasing the reliability of the system.
Regarding claims 6, 17, Saleh, Nakamura and Hastings disclose all the limitations set forth in claim 1 and Hastings further discloses wherein each of the plurality of tiles is user-selectable by swiping a portion of the display corresponding to the respective tile to display the option (page 12, [0142]; page 19, [0222])..
Regarding claims 7, 18, Saleh, Nakamura and Hastings disclose all the limitations set forth in claim 1 and Hastings further discloses wherein the server comprises a second hardware processor, the second hardware processor configured to execute further instructions to: receive, from the first clinician device, the indication of forwarding; identify a second clinician device to notify of the alarm; and transmit a notification of the alarm to the second clinician device indicating a responsibility for one or more of the plurality of patients (page 8, [0100]).
Regarding claims 8, 19, Saleh, Nakamura and Hastings disclose all the limitations set forth in claim 1 and Hastings further discloses wherein the second hardware processor is configured to execute further instructions to: determine that, after a period of time, a response to the notification has not been
received from the second clinician device; identify a third clinician device to notify; and
transmit the notification to the third clinician device (page 8, [0100-0102]).
Regarding claims 9, 20, Saleh, Nakamura and Hastings disclose all the limitations set forth in claim 1 and Hastings further discloses wherein the server receives the alarm notification from a patient monitoring device (page 8, [0093]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Vann et al. (US 2013/0268283) discloses process……patient.
Hausman et al. (US 7,685,048) discloses electronic….trades.
Cselle et al. (US 8,587,550) discloses method…….virtual space.
DP
February 7, 2026
/DANIEL PREVIL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2685