Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3, 5-10, 12-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 5-10, and 12-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,184,013 in view of Linn et al. (2005/0146607).
Regarding claims 1, 8 and 13, patented claims 1, 8 and 13 respectively disclose all the features of the claimed invention except the picture-in-picture display mode as claimed. Linn, from the similar field of endeavor, teaches the well-known picture-in-picture display scheme (note Figs. 10b and 10c). That is, the captured rear view videos and the captured side view videos are being displayed on a single screen simultaneously. By using a single monitor to view plurality of captured videos from different cameras, the cost and size of the system can be reduced. Since the video captured by the camera in the claimed invention needs to be displayed to the driver, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include Linn into the claimed invention so that different videos captured by different cameras could be displayed on a single monitor simultaneously.
Regarding claims 2-3, and 5-7, see patented claims 2-3, and 5-7.
Regarding claims 9-10 and 12, see patented claims 9-10 and 12.
Regarding claims 14-20, see patent claims 14-20.
Claims 4 and 11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 4 and 11 of U.S. Patent No. 12,184,013 in view of Linn et al. (2005/0146607), further in view of Rodgers (4,846,697).
Regarding claim 4, patented claim 4 discloses all the features of the claimed invention except the brake signal conductor and the ground conductor as set forth in claim 4. Rodgers teaches the connections of brake light and ground in between tractor and trailer (col. 1, lines 16-25; col. 3, lines 41-44). Brake light and ground are essential connections in between a tractor and a trailer. Without the brake light connection, the trailer would be rendered unsafe. And without the ground connection, the whole trailer electrical system would not work. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include the brake light and ground connections into the patented claimed so that the trailer lights, including brake light, could function properly.
Regarding claims 11, see similar rejection to claim 4 as set forth above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1-5, 8-18 and 20 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Laufer et al. (2006/0066835) in view of Gutierrez et al. (6,007,346), further in view of Gallusser et al. (4,261,376), and further in view of Fudala et al. (2009/0072619).
Regarding claim 1, Laufer discloses a vehicle interface for transmitting power and signals between a vehicle and a trailer (note Figs. 2 and 3), comprising: a power conductor configured to provide power to one or more electrical components of the trailer (not shown, but inherently included), the one or more electrical components of the trailer comprising a trailer video camera (14, 16, 18); an original equipment manufacturer circuit (Fig. 1) comprising three or more video inputs (note camera inputs 01 to selection circuit 02), wherein a first (note front cameras 13, 15, 17) of the video inputs is coupled to the one or more video signal conductors (note all the video inputs 01 to selection circuit 02), a second of the video inputs is coupled to a vehicle video camera (note rear cameras 14, 16, 18), the vehicle video camera being a back-up camera located near a license plate of the vehicle for capturing an image behind a bumper of the vehicle (note rearview camera 14), and a third of the video inputs is coupled to a video source on board the vehicle (such as the navigation video as described in par. 18), wherein the original equipment manufacturer circuit is configured to electronically choose a video input, wherein the one or more video signals are provided to an in-vehicle dashboard display associated with a vehicle navigation system (note the navigation display device in par. 18), wherein the video source on board the vehicle is configured to provide vehicle navigation information for display on the in-vehicle dashboard display (note the navigation display device in par. 18), wherein an image from the first video signal is provided on the in-vehicle dashboard display using a picture in picture mode (note par. 17), the first video signal is provided from the trailer video camera (14, 16, 18).
However, Laufer does not disclose that wherein a first video signal is provided across an interface comprising more than 7 pins, wherein at least four pins are for providing signals for trailer lights and at least one pin is for the one or more video signals from the trailer, wherein the interface is configured for a pluggable connection, wherein the at least one pin is disposed outside of a circular pattern about a center point associated with the 7 pins, wherein the interface comprises a first side configured for the pluggable connection to the trailer and a second side opposite the first side configured to receive a pluggable connection from the vehicle,
Gutierrez, from the similar field of endeavor, discloses multiple pins (more than 7 pins) tractor to trailer electrical connector/adapter (note Figs. 7 and 8). Such connections are useful when a tractor vehicle configured for an eight way connection member tows a trailer vehicle set up with a seven way connection or vice versa (note col. 6, lines 14-17).
Therefore, in Laufer, if the tractor employs an 8 pins connector while the trailer employs a 7 pins connector, or vice versa, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time that the invention was made to utilize the adapter of Gutierrez so that the electrical systems between the tractor and trailer could be connected readily without complicated connectors modifications.
The combination of Laufer and Gutierrez still does not meet “the at least one pin is disposed outside of a circular pattern about a center point associated with the 7 pins” as claimed.
Gallusser, from the similar field of endeavor, teaches at least one pin is disposed outside of a circular pattern about a center point associated with the 7 pins. That is, as shown in Fig. 2 and Fig. 3, Gallusser shows three rings of bores (25) for receiving contact pins 30. The most outer ring of the pins 30 meets the at least one pin as claimed, the middle pins 30 meet the circular pattern associated with the 7 pins as claimed, and the center pin 30 meets the center point pin as claimed. The pins and bores arrangement in Galusser suggests the electrical connectors connecting in between a vehicle and a trailer is not limited to conventional arrangements, such as the well-known 7 pins connector. By using more than one bores and pins rings, more electrical connections can be established in between the vehicle and the trailer, which enhances the convenience of the electrical connectivity. Thus, in view of Gallusser, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time that the claimed invention was made to include more bores and pins rings into Gutierrez so that more electrical connections could be made in between the vehicle and the trailer.
Lastly, Gutierrez does not disclose that the adapter pins can be used to transmit video signals.
Fudala, from the similar field of endeavor, teaches that the vehicle tow connectors’ pins can be used to transmit video signals (note par. 12, 17, 22, 39). In paragraph 39, Fudala also teaches that the use of connector pins to transmit video signal is obvious: Beyond standard plug and receptacle combinations, a connecting unit 30 could also be modified for application to custom signal transmission needs, such as may be the case where a video camera, reverse lights, proximity detectors, or other specialized electronic equipment is provided in connection with the trailer hitch 30.
Therefore, in view of Fudala, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time that the invention was made to utilize the connector pins in Gutierrez to transmit the camera video signals in Laufer so that the captured video signals by the trailer cameras could viewed on the display 10 of Laufer.
With respect to the new limitation as claimed, the vehicle video camera being a back-up camera located near a license plate of the vehicle for capturing an image behind a bumper of the vehicle, the rearview camera 14 in Laufer can be interpreted as located near the license plate since it is above the license plate of the vehicle. Alternatively, as stated in paragraphs 25-27, Laufer further teaches that the rearview camera 14 can be adaptively located at the rear of the vehicle. Therefore, in view of such teaching statements, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time that the invention was made to rearrange the rearview camera 14 so that it could be located near the license plate.
Regarding claim 2, Gutierrez and Fudala together disclose an adapter configured to utilize a plug with a video conductor (see the rejection above).
Regarding claim 3, Gutierrez and Fudala together discloses the adapter is configured to connect the vehicle plug with a trailer plug (see rejection above).
Regarding claim 4, Gutierrez discloses the trailer light connectors comprise a light conductor, a brake signal conductor, a ground conductor, a right turn conductor, and a left turn conductor arranged in a circular fashion about a center point (note col. 4, lines 19-39). That is, the connectors in Gutierrez (along with all other patented connectors mentioned in col.1) are intended to connect different vehicle lights and grounds, including light conductor, a brake signal conductor, a ground conductor, a right turn conductor, and a left turn conductor as claimed.
Regarding claim 5, Laufer, Gutierrez and Fudala together meets the one or more video signal conductors configured to allow image captured by the one or more cameras of the trailer to be transmitted to the vehicle as set forth above.
Regarding claims 8-18 and 20, see similar rejections as set forth above. In addition, Gutierrez discloses that the retrofitting of a connector assembly is intended to retrofit at a location near a bumper of the vehicle (note Fig. 1). Gallusser teaches that the electronical connector removes a receptor for seven pins with a receptor for more than eight pins as aforementioned earlier.
Claims 6, 7 and 19 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Laufer et al. (2006/0066835) in view of Gutierrez et al. (6,007,346), further in view of Gallusser et al. (4,261,376), further in view of further in view of Fudala et al. (2009/0072619), and further in view of Teskey (4,831,122).
Regarding claims 6, 7 and 19, combination of Laufer, Gutierrez, Gallusser and Fudala does not disclose the video enable signal (VES) circuit configured to detect connection between the vehicle plug and a trailer plug and to detect video signals from the one or more video cameras of the trailer. Teskey, from the similar field of endeavor, teaches a video enable signal detection circuit (note controller 30 and switch 18 in Fig. 1). The controller detects the video signals being connected to the input terminals s2 and s3. By using the detection circuit, the video signal can be correctly detected and selected. Therefore, the system increases convenience to the user. Thus, in order to enhance connection convenience in the combination of above, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to include Teskey into the above combination to perform the well-known functions as claimed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/28/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With regard to applicant’s argument that the previous office rejection does not meet the placements of the video cameras as claimed, the examiner disagrees. But to clarify the examiner’s position, the office rejection has been revised. The first input is now the front camera, and the second input is the rearview camera instead of the opposite as previously stated. By rearranging the correspondence of the cameras and the inputs, the claimed invention is met by Laufer. As a result, the prior art rejection is still maintained.
/MICHAEL LEE/ Primary Examiner,
Art Unit 2422