DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the application filed on 11/27/2024.
Claims 1-20 are currently pending and have been examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/27/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-8, 10-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Neff (US 20070085677 A1), hereinafter Neff.
Regarding claim 1, Neff discloses
a transmitter configured to transmit a test signal, wherein the transmitter (See at least Fig. 1, Items 22, 25, [0016] “The Monitoring Unit 21 includes one or more sensors 22 and an RF Transmitter/Receiver 25”) is located on at least one of the following: the box, or in an area that is on a transport device of the box and that is relatively static with the box (See at least [0016] “Each Monitoring Unit 21 includes the capability of an active RFID tag in that it has memory for storing identification information associated with the Container to which it is attached.”);
a receiver configured to receive the test signal, wherein the receiver (See at least Fig. 1, Items 22, 25 ,[0016] “The Monitoring Unit 21 includes one or more sensors 22 and an RF Transmitter/Receiver 25”) is located on at least one of the following: the box, or in the area that is on the transport device, and that is relatively static with the box (See at least [0016] “Each Monitoring Unit 21 includes the capability of an active RFID tag in that it has memory for storing identification information associated with the Container to which it is attached.”); and
a processor module (See at least Figs. 1-2, [0018] “The microprocessor 48 executes a control program stored in memory 49”), configured to determine a channel characteristic based on an electrical signal corresponding to the test signal (See at least [0030] “the Monitoring Unit 21 initializes, calibrates itself and begins monitoring the sensor target: door, cargo, etc. The device will self-calibrate itself creating an average baseline value” ), and determine, based on the channel characteristic and an initial channel characteristic, whether a state of the box changes, wherein the initial channel characteristic represents a corresponding channel characteristic of the test signal transmitted by the transmitter to the receiver when the box is in an initial state (See at least [0030] “The device will self-calibrate itself creating an average baseline value and then monitor changes in that value which will indicate a fault. All values, or a fault (values that are not within set parameters) can optionally be recorded” Neff discloses a calibration procedure where a test signal is sent and received by a monitoring unit for the purpose of creating a baseline (initial) characteristic of a container box.).
Regarding claim 2, Neff, as shown above, discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Neff additionally discloses
the test signal comprises a mechanical wave signal, a direct current signal, or an electromagnetic wave signal (See at least [0032] “When an object 74 is placed into the container the proximity sensor 22 in the Monitoring Unit 21 would see the event via a reflected signal” See also [0008]).
Regarding claim 4, Neff, as shown above, discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Neff additionally discloses
the area that is on the transport device comprises at least one of a chassis, a frame, a rear suspension, a fuel tank, or a drive bridge of the transport device (See at least [0021] “The Monitoring Unit 21 can be mounted with screws, magnets, etc. preferably on the inside of the Container.” When a claim requires selection of an element from a list of alternatives, the prior art teaches the element if one of the alternatives is taught by the prior art. See, e.g., Fresenius USA, Inc. v. Baxter Int’l, Inc., 582 F.3d 1288, 1298, 92 USPQ2d 1163, 1171 (Fed. Cir. 2009). Neff discloses an alternative where the system is mounted on the box.).
Regarding claim 5, Neff, as shown above, discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Neff additionally discloses
the transmitter comprises M transmitter front-ends and P processing units, each of the P processing units corresponds to at least one of the M transmitter front-ends, and M and P are natural numbers; each processing unit is configured to generate one electrical signal, and send the electrical signal to at least one corresponding transmitter front-end; and each transmitter front-end is configured to transmit a signal, wherein the signal corresponds to the received electrical signal (See at least Fig. 2, [0032] “mobile unit would be equipped with one or more sensors 22”, [0032] “When an object 74 is placed into the container the proximity sensor 22 in the Monitoring Unit 21 would see the event via a reflected signal” See also [0008] Neff discloses one sensor and one processor where the sensor is a transmitter and receiver with corresponding front ends).
Regarding claim 6, Neff, as shown above, discloses all of the limitations of claims 1 and 5. Neff additionally discloses
wherein M=P, the P processing units are in one-to-one correspondence with the M transmitter front-ends, and each processing unit is configured to generate the electrical signal, and send the electrical signal to the corresponding transmitter front-end (See at least Fig. 2, [0032] “mobile unit would be equipped with one or more sensors 22”, [0032] “When an object 74 is placed into the container the proximity sensor 22 in the Monitoring Unit 21 would see the event via a reflected signal” See also [0008] Neff discloses one sensor and one processor where the sensor is a transmitter and receiver with corresponding front ends).
Regarding claim 7, Neff, as shown above, discloses all of the limitations of claim 1 and 5. Neff additionally discloses
the receiver comprises N receiver front-ends and Q second processing units, each of the Q second processing units corresponds to at least one of the N receiver front-ends, and N and Q are natural numbers; each receiver front-end is configured to receive M signals from the M transmitter front-ends, and send the M signals to a corresponding second processing unit; and each second processing unit is configured to send electrical signals corresponding to the received M test signals to the processor (See at least Fig. 2, [0032] “mobile unit would be equipped with one or more sensors 22”, [0032] “When an object 74 is placed into the container the proximity sensor 22 in the Monitoring Unit 21 would see the event via a reflected signal” See also [0008] Neff discloses one sensor and one processor where the sensor is a transmitter and receiver with corresponding front ends paired to a single processor. The Examiner additionally notes that as claimed the second processing units may be the same processing units as the claimed processing units).
Regarding claim 8, Neff, as shown above, discloses all of the limitations of claims 1, 5, and 7. Neff additionally discloses
wherein N=Q, the Q second processing units are in one-to-one correspondence with the N receiver front-ends, and each receiver front-end is configured to send the received M signals to the corresponding processing unit (See at least Fig. 2, [0032] “mobile unit would be equipped with one or more sensors 22”, [0032] “When an object 74 is placed into the container the proximity sensor 22 in the Monitoring Unit 21 would see the event via a reflected signal” See also [0008] Neff discloses one sensor and one processor where the sensor is a transmitter and receiver with corresponding front ends paired to a single processor. The Examiner additionally notes that as claimed the second processing units may be the same processing units as the claimed processing units).
Regarding claim 10, Neff, as shown above, discloses all of the limitations of claim 1, 5, and 7. Neff additionally discloses
the signal is a mechanical wave signal obtained by converting the electrical signal, and the M transmitter front- ends and the N receiver front-ends are transducers; or the signal is an electromagnetic wave signal obtained by converting the electrical signal, and the M transmitter front-ends and the N receiver front-ends are antennas (See at least Fig. 2, [0032] “mobile unit would be equipped with one or more sensors 22”, [0032] “When an object 74 is placed into the container the proximity sensor 22 in the Monitoring Unit 21 would see the event via a reflected signal” See also [0008]).
Regarding claim 11, Neff, as shown above, discloses all of the limitations of claims 1, 5, and 7. Neff additionally discloses
the M transmitter front-ends are centrally distributed or discretely distributed, and the N receiver front-ends are centrally distributed or discretely distributed (See at least Figs. 1-2, [0016] “The Monitoring Unit 21 includes one or more sensors 22” Neff discloses the sensor system centrally distributed on a single unit ).
Regarding claim 12, Neff, as shown above, discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Neff additionally discloses
the initial channel characteristic is obtained through training in the initial state (See at least [0030] “The device will self-calibrate itself creating an average baseline value and then monitor changes in that value which will indicate a fault. All values, or a fault (values that are not within set parameters) can optionally be recorded” Neff discloses a calibration procedure where a test signal is sent and received by a monitoring unit for the purpose of creating a baseline (initial) characteristic of a container box.).
Regarding claim 13, Neff, as shown above, discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Neff additionally discloses
the receiver and the processor are integrated (See at least Figs. 1-2, Items 21, 22, 48, [0016] “The Monitoring Unit 21 includes one or more sensors 22”, [0018] “The microprocessor 48 executes a control program stored in memory 49.”).
Regarding claim 14, Neff, as shown above, discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Neff additionally discloses
the device further comprises an alarm device; the processor is further configured to send an alarm instruction to the alarm device when determining that the state of the box changes; and the alarm device is configured to issue an alarm based on the alarm instruction (See at least [0028] “the Monitoring Unit 21 contains data that is logged from the sensor(s), such as the state of the container door (security alerts)”, [0030] “Faults will sound an alert”).
Regarding claim 15, applicant recites limitations of the same or substantially the same scope as claim 1. Accordingly, claim 15 is rejected in the same or substantially the same manner as claim 1, shown above.
Regarding claim 16, applicant recites limitations of the same or substantially the same scope as claim 12. Accordingly, claim 16 is rejected in the same or substantially the same manner as claim 12, shown above.
Regarding claim 17, applicant recites limitations of the same or substantially the same scope as claim 2. Accordingly, claim 17 is rejected in the same or substantially the same manner as claim 2, shown above.
Regarding claim 18, applicant recites limitations of the same or substantially the same scope as claim 14. Accordingly, claim 18 is rejected in the same or substantially the same manner as claim 14, shown above.
Regarding claim 20, applicant recites limitations of the same or substantially the same scope as claim 1. Accordingly, claim 20 is rejected in the same or substantially the same manner as claim 1, shown above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Neff, in view of Zhou (CN 205826015 U), hereinafter Zhou.
Regarding claim 3, Neff, as shown above, discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Neff does not explicitly disclose when the transmitter and the receiver are located on the box, the transmitter and the receive are located on at least one of an outer wall, a corner, an edge, a door, or an air vent of a housing of the box. However, Zhou, in the same or in a similar field of endeavor, discloses
when the transmitter and the receiver are located on the box, the transmitter and the receive are located on at least one of an outer wall, a corner, an edge, a door, or an air vent of a housing of the box (See at least Fig. 2. “the container status monitoring terminal 1 by a conventional manner such as rivets, magnetic, stuck and fixed on the door.”).
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the monitoring system disclosed by Neff with the mounting system disclosed by Zhou. One would have been motivated to do so in order to advantageously reduce mounting complexity (See at least “a container state monitoring terminal and mounting position of the sensor design, effectively solves the problem that the container state monitoring terminal and sensor mounting is complex”).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Neff, in view of Schulz (DE 102019101380 B4), hereinafter Schulz.
Regarding claim 9, Neff, as shown above, discloses all the limitations of claims 1, 5, and 7. Neff does not explicitly disclose the signal is the electrical signal, and the M transmitter front-ends and the N receiver front-ends are electrodes. However, Schulz, in the same or in a similar field of endeavor, discloses
the signal is the electrical signal, and the M transmitter front-ends and the N receiver front-ends are electrodes (See at least “Capacitive door handle sensor with at least one transmitting electrode (SE1 or SE2) and one receiving electrode (EE)”).
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the monitoring system disclosed by Neff with the electrode system disclosed by Schulz. One would have been motivated to do so in order to advantageously handle difficult environmental influences (See at least “The object of the invention is to provide a capacitive sensor circuit which has a low energy requirement, is largely insensitive to typical environmental influences such as moisture and dirt and, moreover, can withstand the installation conditions mentioned” ).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Neff, in view of Huang (CN 113022440 A), hereinafter Huang.
Regarding claim 19, Neff, as shown above, discloses all the limitations of claims 15 and 18. Neff does not explicitly disclose the issuing the alarm based on the alarm instruction comprises issuing a voice alarm message or emitting a light. However, Huang, in the same or in a similar field of endeavor, discloses
the issuing the alarm based on the alarm instruction comprises issuing a voice alarm message or emitting a light (See at least “the voice alarm prompts the user to adjust the placing position” ).
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the monitoring system disclosed by Neff with the alarm system disclosed by Huang. One would have been motivated to do so in order to advantageously improve safety (See at least “the voice alarm prompts the user to adjust the placing position of the warning board 100, so as to improve the field safety and warning effect”).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lipfert (US 10951444 B2) - A receiver arrangement for receiving a wirelessly transmitted HF transmission signal includes a first conversion unit for converting the HF transmission signal into a baseband information signal. Furthermore, an extraction unit is provided for extracting IQ data from the baseband information signal. A second conversion unit converts the IQ data into a further transmission signal. Additionally, a transmitter is provided for wirelessly transmitting the further transmission signal to a consumer electronics receiver unit. For normal reception of the HF transmission signal, the consumer electronics receiver unit is provided with a first antenna arrangement for receiving the HF transmission signal, and further includes a first signal processing stage for converting the HF transmission signal into IQ data, which are comprised in the HF transmission signal, and a second signal conversion stage for processing the IQ data into an output information signal of the consumer electronics receiver unit.
Rong (US 20070040675 A1) - The device has sensing units distributed in an internal surface of the container, where each sensing unit corresponds to an identification code. The sensing unit has an induction board with mesh electrical circuits embedded in an insulated baseboard. The sensing unit generates an inductive signal and transmits the signal to a CPU via an interface circuit and a receiver module, where the CPU analyzes and processes the signal. An output signal from the CPU is transmitted to an alarm unit. The alarm unit includes a warning device for generating a visible alarm signal.
/KENNETH W GOOD/
Examiner, Art Unit 3648