DETAILED ACTION
2. This office action is a response to an application filed on 11/27/2024 where claims 1-20 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/06/2024 has been considered by the examiner. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37CFR 1.97.
Drawings
4. The drawings were received on 11/27/2024. These drawing are acceptable.
Claim Objections
5. Claims objected because of the following informalities:
Claim 14 recites in line 2 “TRB”.
Claim 15 recites in line 2, “TRB”.
Claim 16 recites in line 3 & 4 multiple “TRB”s.
It is suggested to correct “TRB” to “TRP”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s)1, 7-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Nilsson et al. (WO 2025057102 A1 ) hereinafter Nilsson, priority 63/548,028 date 11/10/2023
As to claim 1. Nilsson teaches A user device (UE), comprising: a memory; and one or more processors configured to, when executing instructions stored in the memory, cause the UE to: ([0163] [0164]Fig. 12, a UE including a processor coupled to a , memory with stored instructions, executed by processor)
receive, from a main transmission and reception point (TRP), configuration information for a random access (RA) procedure toward an uplink (UL) only (UL-only) TRP; ([0074][0075][0081]Fig. 4, Fig. 5, the UE 404 can provide to a network node (e.g., the gNB 408), capability information for supporting PRACH transmission to UL-only network nodes; receiving a message comprising a PRACH configuration, wherein the message is associated with a layer higher than a physical layer; wireless communication device is aware the PRACH transmission is to an UL-only network node.)
perform the RA procedure toward the UL-only TRP; ([0129] Fig. 6, wireless communication device is aware the PRACH transmission is to an UL-only network node. )
and
communicate with the main TRP by: receiving downlink (DL) communications from the main TRP; ([0132][0134] Fig. 10, receive a message from the network node including configuration information for PRACH transmissions configurations, PDCCH order; transmitted by the communication device; determining to target the UL-only node with the PRACH transmission includes determining to target the UL-only node with the PRACH transmission based on a PDCCH order (that requests the PRACH transmission).)
transmitting UL communications to the UL-only TRP. ([0147] Fig. 10, transmitting the PRACH transmission includes transmitting a first PRACH transmission targeting the UL-only node.)
As to claim 7. Nilsson teaches wherein the configuration information comprises: a RACH configuration index associated with the UL-only TRP; ([0093] when the network indicates the use case for “UL-only node”, SS/PBCH index field may still indicate the time and frequency resource to perform PRACH transmission)
a target transmission power for communicating a RA preamble to the UL-only TRP ([0052] [0055] measurement result is lower than or no higher than the measurement threshold, the UE 104/204 selects the first RACH mode (e.g., selecting the first node 102/202 as the uplink receiving node and preamble transmission power reaches a maximum value)
; and a maximum transmission power for communicating the RA preamble to the UL-only TRP. ([0052] [0055] measurement result is lower than or no higher than the measurement threshold, the UE 104/204 selects the first RACH mode (e.g., selecting the first node 102/202 as the uplink receiving node and preamble transmission power reaches a maximum value)
As to claim 8. Nilsson teaches wherein the RA procedure may be a contention-based RA (CBRA) procedure or a contention free RA procedure (CFRA) procedure. ([0011] For Type-1 random access procedure, a UE is provided with a total number, ^preamble’ °f PRACH preambles for both Contention-based Random Access (CBRA) and Contention Free Random Access (CFRA), in each PRACH occasion.)
As to claim 9. Nilsson teaches , wherein the configuration information comprises at least one RA preamble associated with the UL-only TRP. ([0112] Especially in FR2, the UE is typically equipped with multiple UE panels and should transmit the PRACH preamble in multiple different UE panels and/or UE beams, to make sure that the UL-only node can receive the PRACH. )
As to claim 10. Nilsson teaches , wherein the configuration information comprises at least one reserved bit in downlink control information (DCI) indicating a RA procedure toward the UL-only TRP. ([0093] [0097] PDCCH order, legacy, or reserved fields in PDCCH order indicate the use case e.g., UL-only node; A bit in the PDCCH order is introduced such that when that bit is set a first value (e.g., set to enable or a value of 1) when PRACH is triggered via PDCCH order)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 , 4 , 11, 12, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nilsson et al. (WO 2025057102 A1 )hereinafter Nilsson, priority 63/548,028 date11/10/2023 and further in view of Liu et al. (US 20250267723 A1)hereinafter Liu
As to claim 3. Nilsson does not teach , wherein: the configuration information comprises a system information block type 1 (SIB1) that includes a reference signal received power (RSRP) threshold; and the UE is configured to determine to perform the RA procedure based on a comparison of a measured RSRP and the RSRP threshold.
Liu teaches wherein: the configuration information comprises a system information block type 1 (SIB1) that includes a reference signal received power (RSRP) threshold; ([0083] the UE 104/204 receives from the second node a power offset (e.g., P_offset) in a SIB. In some examples, the PRACH transmission power can be determined based on the measurement threshold (e.g., RSRP threshold). e.g., , the RSRP threshold )
and the UE is configured to determine to perform the RA procedure based on a comparison of a measured RSRP and the RSRP threshold. ([0052] [0054]UE 104/204 performs the measurement and compares the measurement result with the measurement threshold; UE perform random access using default RACH mode, e.g., RSRP threshold,)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Liu with the teaching of Nilsson because Liu teaches that comparing measurement result with the measurement threshold of UL only TRP and the forwarding-based network deployments would improve the initial access procedure of UL only TRP and the forwarding-based network deployments. (Liu [0027])
As to claim 4. Nilsson does not teach , wherein the configuration information comprises: at least one system information block (SIB) that is associated with at least one radio access channel (RACH) occasion (RO) and at least one RA preamble for UL communications toward the main TRP;
and at least one SIB that is associated with at least one other RO and at least one other RA preamble for UL communications toward the UL-only TRP.
Liu teaches wherein the configuration information comprises: at least one system information block (SIB) that is associated with at least one radio access channel (RACH) occasion (RO) and at least one RA preamble for UL communications toward the main TRP; ([0041] Fig. 3, the UE transmits a preamble in RO)
and at least one SIB that is associated with at least one other RO and at least one other RA preamble for UL communications toward the UL-only TRP. )
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Liu with the teaching of Nilsson because Liu teaches that comparing measurement result with the measurement threshold of UL only TRP and the forwarding-based network deployments would improve the initial access procedure of UL only TRP and the forwarding-based network deployments. (Liu [0027])
As to claim 11. Nilsson does not teach, wherein the UE is configured to: initiate the RA procedure toward the UL-only TRP in response to determining that a measured RSRP, corresponding to a downlink (DL) beam from the main TRP, is below an RSRP threshold.
Liu teaches wherein the UE is configured to: initiate the RA procedure toward the UL-only TRP in response to determining that a measured RSRP, corresponding to a downlink (DL) beam from the main TRP, is below an RSRP threshold.
([0049][0052] Fig. 2, Fig. 3, downlink transmission node (e.g., second node 106/206) resulting in the downlink beam measurement being inapplicable for usage as a reference for the uplink transmission, such as power information, measurement includes SS-RSRP measurement, determining that the measurement result is lower than or no higher than the measurement threshold, the UE 104/204 selects the first RACH mode (e.g., selecting the first node 102/202 as the uplink receiving node/UL-only)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Liu with the teaching of Nilsson because Liu teaches that comparing measurement result with the measurement threshold of UL only TRP and the forwarding-based network deployments would improve the initial access procedure of UL only TRP and the forwarding-based network deployments. (Liu [0027])
As to claim 12. Nilsson does not teach , wherein the UE is configured to: initiate an RA procedure toward the main TRP in response to determining that a measured RSRP, corresponding to a downlink (DL) beam from the main TRP, is above an RSRP threshold.
Liu teaches wherein the UE is configured to: initiate an RA procedure toward the main TRP in response to determining that a measured RSRP, corresponding to a downlink (DL) beam from the main TRP, is above an RSRP threshold. ([0049][0052] Fig. 2, Fig. 3, the downlink beam measurement from second node/ main node, determining that the measurement result is no lower than or higher than the measurement threshold, the UE 104/204 selects the second RACH mode (e.g., selecting the second node 106/206 i.e., main node, as the uplink receiving node (the uplink receiving node is the node which transmits the SSB)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Liu with the teaching of Nilsson because Liu teaches that comparing measurement result with the measurement threshold of UL only TRP and the forwarding-based network deployments would improve the initial access procedure of UL only TRP and the forwarding-based network deployments. (Liu [0027])
As to claim 16. Nilsson does not teach wherein the UE is configured to: determine a transmission power for MSG 3 transmissions based on a power offset for UL transmissions toward the UL-only TRB, the power off set for UL transmissions toward the UL-only TRB being different than a power off set for UL transmissions toward the main TRB.
Liu teaches wherein the UE is configured to: determine a transmission power for MSG 3 transmissions based on a power offset for UL transmissions toward the UL-only TRB, the power off set for UL transmissions toward the UL-only TRB being different than a power off set for UL transmissions toward the main TRB.
([0085][0089] Fig. 2, Fig. 3, UE 104/204 determines the transmission power using the delta value and transmits to the first node/UL only, the Msg.3 uplink transmission using the transmission power.; in response to the UE 104/204 sending the preamble to the first node using the transmission power, the UE 104/204 determines the transmission power using the power offset (e.g., P_offset), and in response to the UE 104/204 sending the preamble to the second node using the transmission power, the UE 104/204 determines the transmission power without using the power offset (e.g., P_offset=0).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Liu with the teaching of Nilsson because Liu teaches that comparing measurement result with the measurement threshold of UL only TRP and the forwarding-based network deployments would improve the initial access procedure of UL only TRP and the forwarding-based network deployments. (Liu [0027])
Claim(s) 5, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nilsson, Liu and further in view of Alfarhan et al. (US 20250142624 A1)hereinafter Alfarhan
As to claim 5. Nilsson does not teach the at least one SIB for UL communications toward the UL-only TRP.
Liu teaches the at least one SIB for UL communications toward the UL-only TRP.
([0074][0075]Fig. 2, a TA offset (TA_offset) is configured in the System Information Block1 SIB1, UE 104/204 transmitting the PRACH to the first node 204, UL only TRP)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Liu with the teaching of Nilsson because Liu teaches that comparing measurement result with the measurement threshold of UL only TRP and the forwarding-based network deployments would improve the initial access procedure of UL only TRP and the forwarding-based network deployments. (Liu [0027])
The combination of Nilsson and Liu does not teach wherein the UE is configured to send multiple MSG 3 transmission with a UL beam over different ROs associated with
Alfarhan teaches herein the UE is configured to send multiple MSG 3 transmission with a UL beam over different ROs associated with ([0215] Fig. 6, UE transmits msg3, RO2-1, in UL beam and msg3, RO2-2 in UL beams),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Alfarhan with the teaching of Nilsson and Liu because Alfarhan teaches that msg3 repetition would allow WTRU if the WTRU is signaled, to switch to another BWP on which msg3 repetition is configured. (Alfarhan [0166])
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nilsson, and further in view of Alfarhan et al. (US 20250142624 A1)hereinafter Alfarhan
As to claim 6. Nilsson teaches , wherein the UE is configured to perform beam sweeping to perform the RA procedure toward the UL-only TRP. ([0117] [0119] the UE can map beams from a different antenna panel to the same FDMed PRACH occasion group, i.e., to sweep beams from a different UE panel at the same time to perform with specific PRACH UL-only node operation)
Nilson does not teach beam refinement
Alfarhan teaches beam refinement ([0168] he WTRU may be configured with a “local beam set” for the purpose of selecting DL beams, corresponding UL beams, sweeping uplink transmit beam; the WTRU may select the strongest SSB and/or the strongest CSI-RS as according to the strongest measured channel quality (e.g. RSRP or SINR).)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Alfarhanwith the teaching of Nilsson because Alfarhan teaches that msg3 repetition would allow WTRU if the WTRU is signaled, to switch to another BWP on which msg3 repetition is configured. (Alfarhan [0166])
Claim(s) 14, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nilsson, and further in view of WAKABAYASHI; Hideji et al. (US 20250192867 A1) hereinafter Waka
As to claim 14. Nilsson does not teach wherein the UE is configured to: determine a transmission power for UL transmissions toward the UL-only TRB based on a measure RSRP being below a threshold RSRP.
Waka teaches wherein the UE is configured to: determine a transmission power for UL transmissions toward the UL-only TRP based on a measure RSRP being below a threshold RSRP. ([0146] [0161]Fig. 11, Fig. 12 the DU 908 and/or CU 910 may select one of the plurality of directional uplink beams based on the measurements received from the uplink-only TRP 904, where the received signal strength, RSRP of all of the directional uplink beams is below the pre-defined threshold, the gNB 924 may not select a beam)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Waka with the teaching of Nilsson because Waka teaches that receiving measurement of uplink beam signal strength would allow to select directional uplink beam with the highest received signal strength. (Waka [0161])
As to claim 15. Nilsson teaches based on DCI received from the main TRP ([0126] UE receives DCI from anchor node and measure quality of RSRP), .
Nilsson does not teach , wherein the UE is configured to: determine a transmission power for UL transmissions toward the UL-only TRB
Waka teaches , wherein the UE is configured to: determine a transmission power for UL transmissions toward the UL-only TRB ([0146] [0161]Fig. 11, Fig. 12 the DU 908 and/or CU 910 may select one of the plurality of directional uplink beams based on the measurements received from the uplink-only TRP 904, where the received signal strength, RSRP of all of the directional uplink beams is below the pre-defined threshold, the gNB 924 may not select a beam)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Waka with the teaching of Nilsson because Waka teaches that receiving measurement of uplink beam signal strength would allow to select directional uplink beam with the highest received signal strength. (Waka [0161])
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nilsson, Liu and further in view of Zhu et al. (US 20230309171 A1) hereinafter Zhu
As to claim 17 Nilsson does not teaches wherein the UE is configured to: determine a transmission power for a MSG 3 transmissions based on a power transmission modifier received from the main TRP in an RRC connected mode.
Liu teaches wherein the UE is configured to: determine a transmission power for a MSG 3 transmissions ([0085][0089] Fig. 2, Fig. 3, UE 104/204 determines the transmission power using the delta value and transmits to the first node/UL only, the Msg.3 uplink transmission using the transmission power)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Liu with the teaching of Nilsson because Liu teaches that comparing measurement result with the measurement threshold of UL only TRP and the forwarding-based network deployments would improve the initial access procedure of UL only TRP and the forwarding-based network deployments. (Liu [0027])
The combination of Nilsson and Liu does not teach based on a power transmission modifier received from the main TRP in an RRC connected mode.
Zhu teaches based on a power transmission modifier received from the main TRP ([0345]the base station may send/transmit (e.g., at least a time period of the transmission periodicity (e.g., 160 ms) after sending/transmitting a first SIB (e.g., SIB 1)) a second SIB (e.g., SIB1) indicating a change of SSB transmission power, SSB transmission periodicity, and/or SSB locations in a SSB burst)
in an RRC connected mode. ([0179] Fig. 13, wireless devices may determine, based on the one or more RACH parameters, a time-frequency resource and/or an uplink transmit power for transmission of the first message (e.g., Msg 1 1311) and/or the third message (e.g., Msg 3 1313)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Zhu with the teaching of Nilsson and Liu because Zhu teaches that that changing transmission power would improve data transmission latency and/or power consumption of the wireless device may be reduced. (Zhu [0420])
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nilsson, and further in view of Zhu et al. (US 20230309171 A1) hereinafter Zhu
As to claim 18. Nilsson does not teach , wherein the UE is configured to: receive, from the main TRP, a path loss (PL) for UL communications toward the UL-only TRP.
Zhu teaches wherein the UE is configured to: receive, from the main TRP, a path loss (PL) for UL communications toward the UL-only TRP. ([0183] Fig. 13, wireless device may determine the preamble, for example, based on a pathloss measurement, an RSRP measurement, and/or a size of the third message (e.g., Msg 3 1313).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Zhu with the teaching of Nilsson because Zhu teaches that that changing transmission power would improve data transmission latency and/or power consumption of the wireless device may be reduced. (Zhu [0420])
Claim(s)19, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Cao et al. (US 20260190058 A1 ) hereinafter Cao
As to claim 19. Cao teaches A base station, comprising: a memory; and one or more processors configured to, when executing instructions stored in the memory, cause the base station to: (0340] [0358]Fig. 13,Fig. 14, network node includes processing ckt. couple to memory with stored I program code, executed by processor),
send a user equipment (UE) configuration information for a random access (RA) procedure toward an uplink (UL) only TRP; ([0259] [0271][0275] terminal receives enhanced PDCCH order from regular TRP, multiple RACH occasions may be indicated by the enhanced PDCCH order in S1; terminal device performs the PRACH uplink transmit beam sweeping using different spatial transmission filters in different RACH occasions, the UL-only TRP may receive the PRACH using the same spatial reception filter.)
receive, from the UL-only TRP, uplink (UL) communications originating from the UE; ([0274] [0275]Fig. 9, If the terminal device performs the PRACH uplink transmit beam sweeping using different spatial transmission filters in different RACH occasions, the UL-only TRP may receive the PRACH using the same spatial reception filter; In S3, the UL-only TRP selects a RACH occasion, determines a corresponding TA value, and transmits the selected RACH occasion and the corresponding TA value to the regular TRP.)
and send downlink (DL) communications directly to the UE. ([0277] regular TRP transmits indication information (corresponding to the second information in the above embodiments) to the terminal device, indicating the RACH occasion selected by the UL-only TRP and the corresponding TA value.)
As to claim 20. A base station, comprising: a memory; and one or more processors configured to, when executing instructions stored in the memory, cause the base station to: [0353] [0358],Fig. 14, first network device includes processing ckt. couple to memory with stored program code, executed by processor),
receive, from a user equipment (UE), uplink (UL) transmissions associated with a random access (RA) channel procedure between the UE and a main transmission and reception point (TRP); ([0259][0271] [0274] regular TRP transmits to the terminal device in S1 an enhanced PDCCH order, RACH occasions indicated by the enhanced PDCCH order in S1; the UL-only TRP may receive the PRACH transmitted by the terminal device in multiple RACH occasions)
. and
communicate, to the main TRP, the UL transmissions, ([0274] [0275] In S3, the UL-only TRP selects a RACH occasion, determines a corresponding TA value, and transmits the selected RACH occasion and the corresponding TA value to the regular TRP.)
wherein downlink (DL) transmissions associated with the RA channel procedure are communicated directly from the main TRP and the UE. ([0277] regular TRP transmits indication information to the terminal device, indicating the RACH occasion selected by the UL-only TRP and the corresponding TA value.)
Allowable Subject Matter
8. Claims 2, 13 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Regarding claims 2 and 13 prior art Zhang et al. [US 20230164723 A1] teaches in para 0237] In an LTE communication process, the terminal device may obtain a corresponding TA value through random access, or on a carrier with downlink transmission being performed, the terminal device in a timing advance group (TAG) may obtain a corresponding TA value by using RRC signaling. Random access is performed by the terminal device by sending a preamble on a physical random access channel (PRACH).
And in para [0238] In the following embodiments, it is considered that both an uplink signal for obtaining the TA and a signal for uplink measurement are sent, to implement effective resource utilization and reduce uplink signaling overheads. Further in para [0353] Optionally, a time delay obtained by detecting the downlink reference signal by the terminal device may be used as an initial uplink TA reference value on the frequency band, to implement initial alignment with the first network device.
And prior art Speight et al. [US 20140161024 A1] disclose in para [0128] The RA-RNTI, based on the first subframe of the PRACH index within the subframe (in other words the time/frequency resources used to transmit the RACH preamble); [0129] The RAPID, i.e. the RACH preamble ID; [0130] The required timing advance for the terminal device so that it can correctly align transmission of the subsequent Message 3 which will be sent on UL-SCH (this can be determined at the relay device from the propagation time delay of the RACH preamble transmission from the terminal device to the relay device); and optionally
However, combination or prior arts records Zhang and Speight does not teach
For claim 2
wherein the configuration information comprises a system information block type 1 (SIB1) that includes a RxOnlyTrpConfigCommom information element (IE) for UL communication to the UL-only TRP.
For claim 13
receive an effective timing advance (TA) from the UL-only TRP,
wherein the effective TA is based on subtracting a propagation delay between the UL-only TRP and
the main TRP from a calculated TA at the UL-only TRP; and
apply the effective TA to UL communications toward the UL-only TRP.
Therefore, claims 2 and 13 would be independently allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the objections set forth in this office action and in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
9. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
SPEIGHT; Timothy James et al. [US 20170055252 A1] WIRELESS COMMUNICATIONS SYSTEM AND METHOD
JI; Liuliu et al. [US 20210392635 A1] SIGNAL TRANSMISSION METHOD AND APPARATUS
Huang; Chun-Wei et al. [US 20250119955 A1] METHOD AND APPARATUS FOR UPLINK TRANSMISSION TO TRANSMISSION AND RECEPTION POINT WITH REDUCED FUNCTIONALITY IN A WIRELESS COMMUNICATION SYSTEM
/ATIQUE AHMED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2413