DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Examiner acknowledges the following data:
18963241 filed 11/27/2024 is a Continuation of 17574294, filed 01/12/2022, now U.S. Patent # 12200160 17574294 Claims Priority from Provisional Application 63255351 , filed 10/13/2021.
Information Disclosure statements
The information disclosure statements (IDS) were submitted and filed on 3/10/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chappidi et al (US 2020/0380963) in view of Lombardi et al (US 2015/0126246) and further in view of Davis (US 2005/0138177)
Regarding claim 1, Chappidi et al discloses electronic device (fig. 1 item 104, user device), comprising:
one or more processors (one or more processors 220, [0047], line 2);
a memory (non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of memory 202, [0046], lines 6-7); and
one or more programs, wherein the one or more programs are stored in the memory and configured to be executed by the one or more processors, the one or more programs including instructions for (non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of memory 202 is used to store instructions (e.g., for performing aspects of processes described below) for use by or in connection with an instruction execution system, apparatus, or device, such as a computer-based system, processor-containing system, or other system that can fetch the instructions from the instruction execution system, apparatus, or device and execute the instructions, [0046], lines 1-4):
receiving, from a user, a first input including a name reference (Digital assistant 902 receives the natural language speech input 906 “What is on the TV” (name reference) from a user and processes the request using the techniques described above with regard to FIGS. 7A-7C. For example, digital assistant 902 may perform automatic speech recognition on natural language speech input 906 to determine a plurality of candidate text representations, [0275], lines 1-4);
providing a response to the first input (Digital assistant 902 receives the natural language speech input 906 “What is on the TV” (name reference) from a user and processes the request (providing a response) using the techniques described above with regard to FIGS. 7A-7C. For example, digital assistant 902 may perform automatic speech recognition on natural language speech input 906 to determine a plurality of candidate text representations, [0275], lines 1-4);
receiving, from the user, a second input (digital assistant client module 229 is capable of accepting voice input (e.g., speech input) (first input), text input, touch input, and/or gestural input (second input) through various user interfaces (e.g., microphone 213, accelerometer(s) 268, touch-sensitive display system 212, optical sensor(s) 264, other input control devices 216, etc.), [0076], lines 2-4);
Chappidi et al does not specifically disclose concept of detecting, within a predetermined time from receiving the second input, an outgoing call event associated with a contact identifier;
However, Lombardi et al specifically teaches concept of detecting, within a predetermined time from receiving the second input, an outgoing call event associated with a contact identifier ((1) A touch on the touch sensor 106 alone causes the device 100 to react by announcing the caller (outgoing call) (e.g., the caller's name as indicated by caller ID and the device's stored contact list) (block 442); thus is seen as when there’s a touch (second input) on the touch sensor 106 of device 100, device 100 announces that there’s a call with a caller's name as indicated by caller ID and the device's stored contact list, [0027], lines 3-5);
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Chappidi et al with concept of detecting, within a predetermined time from receiving the second input, an outgoing call event associated with a contact identifier of Lombardi et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve functionality of devices, (Lombardi et al, [0002], lines 3-4).
Chappidi et al and Lombardi et al do not specifically disclose concept of in accordance with a determination that the outgoing call event satisfies a predetermined criterion: storing an association between the name reference and the contact identifier.
However, Davis specifically teaches concept of in accordance with a determination that the outgoing call event satisfies a predetermined criterion: storing an association between the name reference and the contact identifier (When the communication of an outgoing call is not stored within the contacts memory 155 in Step 315, the operation continues to Step 320 in which the communication contact is added to the contacts memory 155. For example, the contact identification and the displayed name for the communication contact can be stored, [0027], lines 5-12, [0028], lines 1-3).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Chappidi et al with concept of detecting, within a predetermined time from receiving the second input, an outgoing call event associated with a contact identifier of Lombardi et al and concept of in accordance with a determination that the outgoing call event satisfies a predetermined criterion: storing an association between the name reference and the contact identifier of Davis. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve management of the operation of the communication device with respect to one or more communication contacts, (Davis, [0002], lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 2, Chappidi et al discloses device (fig. 1 item 104, user device), the one or more programs including instructions for (non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of memory 202 is used to store instructions (e.g., for performing aspects of processes described below) for use by or in connection with an instruction execution system, apparatus, or device, such as a computer-based system, processor-containing system, or other system that can fetch the instructions from the instruction execution system, apparatus, or device and execute the instructions, [0046], lines 1-4):
determining a candidate contact identifier based on the name reference (if STT processing module 730 first identifies the sequence of phonemes /custom-character/ corresponding to a portion of the speech input, it can then determine, based on vocabulary index 744, that this sequence corresponds to the word “tomato.”, [0213], lines 3-5); and
Chappidi et al and Lombardi et al do not specifically disclose concept of initiating an outgoing call to the candidate contact identifier.
However, Davis specifically teaches concept of initiating an outgoing call to the candidate contact identifier (on outgoing telephone calls by names or numbers used, and analogously on incoming phone calls by making use of such information from Caller Identifications stored in the contacts memory 155, [0027], lines 5-7).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Chappidi et al with concept of detecting, within a predetermined time from receiving the second input, an outgoing call event associated with a contact identifier of Lombardi et al and concept of initiating an outgoing call to the candidate contact identifier of Davis. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve management of the operation of the communication device with respect to one or more communication contacts, (Davis, [0002], lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 3, Chappidi et al discloses device (fig. 1 item 104, user device), the one or more programs including instructions for (non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of memory 202 is used to store instructions (e.g., for performing aspects of processes described below) for use by or in connection with an instruction execution system, apparatus, or device, such as a computer-based system, processor-containing system, or other system that can fetch the instructions from the instruction execution system, apparatus, or device and execute the instructions, [0046], lines 1-4):
Chappidi et al and Lombardi et al do not specifically disclose concept of providing, as the response to the first input, an indication that an outbound call will be initiated, wherein the indication is provided from a digital assistant; and
receiving, as the second input, a dismissal of the digital assistant.
However, Davis specifically teaches concept of providing, as the response to the first input, an indication that an outbound call will be initiated, wherein the indication is provided from a digital assistant (The contact applications history 210 may include an invoice application with contact associated data 215 being the Latin American supplier's most recent invoice; and may include a translator application with contact associated data 215 being Spanish to English indication, [0021], lines 5-7); and
receiving, as the second input, a dismissal of the digital assistant (alert 125 similarly can be utilized for other alerting notifications such as an alarm clock, a calendar event alert, an alert notification that a communication call has been disconnected or has failed, [0022], lines 3-4).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Chappidi et al with concept of detecting, within a predetermined time from receiving the second input, an outgoing call event associated with a contact identifier of Lombardi et al and concept of providing, as the response to the first input, an indication that an outbound call will be initiated, wherein the indication is provided from a digital assistant; and receiving, as the second input, a dismissal of the digital assistant of Davis. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve management of the operation of the communication device with respect to one or more communication contacts, (Davis, [0002], lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 4, Chappidi et al discloses device (fig. 1 item 104, user device), the one or more programs including instructions for (non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of memory 202 is used to store instructions (e.g., for performing aspects of processes described below) for use by or in connection with an instruction execution system, apparatus, or device, such as a computer-based system, processor-containing system, or other system that can fetch the instructions from the instruction execution system, apparatus, or device and execute the instructions, [0046], lines 1-4):
Chappidi et al and Lombardi et al do not specifically disclose concept of providing, as the response to the first input, a prompt including a plurality of callee options, wherein the prompt is provided from a digital assistant.
However, Davis specifically teaches concept of providing, as the response to the first input, a prompt including a plurality of callee options, wherein the prompt is provided from a digital assistant (one or more applications 178, for example, can include communication functionality such as for messaging, voice calls, electronic mail and Internet browsing, [0019], lines 2-3, [0027], lines 5-7).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Chappidi et al with concept of detecting, within a predetermined time from receiving the second input, an outgoing call event associated with a contact identifier of Lombardi et al and concept of providing, as the response to the first input, a prompt including a plurality of callee options, wherein the prompt is provided from a digital assistant of Davis. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve management of the operation of the communication device with respect to one or more communication contacts, (Davis, [0002], lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 5, Chappidi et al discloses device (fig. 1 item 104, user device), wherein receiving, from the user, a second input comprises one of ((digital assistant client module 229 is capable of accepting voice input (e.g., speech input) (first input), text input, touch input, and/or gestural input (second input) through various user interfaces (e.g., microphone 213, accelerometer(s) 268, touch-sensitive display system 212, optical sensor(s) 264, other input control devices 216, etc.), [0076], lines 2-4):
Chappidi et al and Lombardi et al do not specifically disclose concept of dismissal of the digital assistant, or a rejection of the plurality of callee options.
However, Davis specifically teaches concept of dismissal of the digital assistant, or a rejection of the plurality of callee options (alert 125 similarly can be utilized for other alerting notifications such as an alarm clock, a calendar event alert, an alert notification that a communication call has been disconnected or has failed, [0022], lines 3-4).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Chappidi et al with concept of detecting, within a predetermined time from receiving the second input, an outgoing call event associated with a contact identifier of Lombardi et al and concept of dismissal of the digital assistant, or a rejection of the plurality of callee options of Davis. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve management of the operation of the communication device with respect to one or more communication contacts, (Davis, [0002], lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 6, Chappidi et al discloses device (fig. 1 item 104, user device), the one or more programs including instructions for (non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of memory 202 is used to store instructions (e.g., for performing aspects of processes described below) for use by or in connection with an instruction execution system, apparatus, or device, such as a computer-based system, processor-containing system, or other system that can fetch the instructions from the instruction execution system, apparatus, or device and execute the instructions, [0046], lines 1-4):
providing, as the response to the first input, an indication that a contact cannot be identified based on the name reference, wherein the indication is provided from a digital assistant; and
Chappidi et al and Lombardi et al do not specifically disclose concept of receiving, as the second input, a dismissal of the digital assistant.
However, Davis specifically teaches concept of receiving, as the second input, a dismissal of the digital assistant (alert 125 similarly can be utilized for other alerting notifications such as an alarm clock, a calendar event alert, an alert notification that a communication call has been disconnected or has failed, [0022], lines 3-4).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Chappidi et al with concept of detecting, within a predetermined time from receiving the second input, an outgoing call event associated with a contact identifier of Lombardi et al and concept of receiving, as the second input, a dismissal of the digital assistant of Davis. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve management of the operation of the communication device with respect to one or more communication contacts, (Davis, [0002], lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 7, Chappidi et al discloses device (fig. 1 item 104, user device),
Chappidi et al and Lombardi et al do not specifically disclose concept of wherein the first input is received as a first input type, the outgoing call event is initiated by a second input type different from the first input type.
However, Davis specifically teaches concept of wherein the first input is received as a first input type, the outgoing call event is initiated by a second input type different from the first input type (on outgoing telephone calls by names or numbers used, and analogously on incoming phone calls by making use of such information from Caller Identifications stored in the contacts memory 155, [0027], lines 5-7).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Chappidi et al with concept of detecting, within a predetermined time from receiving the second input, an outgoing call event associated with a contact identifier of Lombardi et al and concept of wherein the first input is received as a first input type, the outgoing call event is initiated by a second input type different from the first input type of Davis. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve management of the operation of the communication device with respect to one or more communication contacts, (Davis, [0002], lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 8, Chappidi et al discloses device, wherein the first input type includes a telephone call type, and the second input type includes a video call type (There are numerous other ways of interacting with a digital assistant to request information or performance of various tasks. In addition to providing verbal responses and taking programmed actions, the digital assistant also provides responses in other visual or audio forms, e.g., as text, alerts, music, videos, animations, etc, [0032], lines 11-13).
Regarding claim 9, Chappidi et al discloses device (fig. 1 item 104, user device),
Chappidi et al does not specifically disclose concept of wherein detecting, within a predetermined time from receiving the second input, an outgoing call event associated with a contact identifier.
However, Lombardi et al specifically teaches concept of wherein detecting, within a predetermined time from receiving the second input, an outgoing call event associated with a contact identifier ((1) A touch on the touch sensor 106 alone causes the device 100 to react by announcing the caller (outgoing call) (e.g., the caller's name as indicated by caller ID and the device's stored contact list) (block 442); thus is seen as when there’s a touch (second input) on the touch sensor 106 of device 100, device 100 announces that there’s a call with a caller's name as indicated by caller ID and the device's stored contact list, [0027], lines 3-5).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Chappidi et al with concept of wherein detecting, within a predetermined time from receiving the second input, an outgoing call event associated with a contact identifier of Lombardi et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve functionality of devices, (Lombardi et al, [0002], lines 3-4).
Chappidi et al and Lombardi et al do not specifically disclose concept of detecting, at the electronic device, a user input including selection of a displayed outbound call affordance, wherein the displayed outbound call affordance is associated with the contact identifier.
However, Davis specifically teaches concept of detecting, at the electronic device, a user input including selection of a displayed outbound call affordance, wherein the displayed outbound call affordance is associated with the contact identifier (contact identification 200 can be a telephone number, a unique selective call address assigned within a wireless communication system, an electronic mail address, an IP (internet protocol) address or any other similar identification. The displayed name 205 can be a caller identification including written text, graphical images, which can be displayed on the display 130 to identify the communication contact, [0020], lines 5-8, [0030], lines 1-7).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Chappidi et al with concept of wherein detecting, within a predetermined time from receiving the second input, an outgoing call event associated with a contact identifier of Lombardi et al and concept of detecting, at the electronic device, a user input including selection of a displayed outbound call affordance, wherein the displayed outbound call affordance is associated with the contact identifier of Davis. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve management of the operation of the communication device with respect to one or more communication contacts, (Davis, [0002], lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 10, Chappidi et al discloses device (fig. 1 item 104, user device),
Chappidi et al does not specifically disclose concept of detecting, within a predetermined time from receiving the second input, an outgoing call event associated with a contact identifier;
However, Lombardi et al specifically teaches concept of detecting, within a predetermined time from receiving the second input, an outgoing call event associated with a contact identifier ((1) A touch on the touch sensor 106 alone causes the device 100 to react by announcing the caller (outgoing call) (e.g., the caller's name as indicated by caller ID and the device's stored contact list) (block 442); thus is seen as when there’s a touch (second input) on the touch sensor 106 of device 100, device 100 announces that there’s a call with a caller's name as indicated by caller ID and the device's stored contact list, [0027], lines 3-5);
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Chappidi et al with concept of detecting, within a predetermined time from receiving the second input, an outgoing call event associated with a contact identifier of Lombardi et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve functionality of devices, (Lombardi et al, [0002], lines 3-4).
Chappidi et al and Lombardi et al do not specifically disclose concept of receiving, from a secondary device, a respective user input; and
determining that the respective user input includes a selection of a displayed outbound call affordance, wherein the displayed outbound call affordance is associated with the contact identifier.
However, Davis specifically teaches concept of receiving, from a secondary device, a respective user input (user interface 135 can also include a voice response system or other similar method of receiving a manual input initiated by the device user. The processor 115, in response to receiving a user input via the user interface 135 performs commands as required, [0024], lines 2-4); and
determining that the respective user input includes a selection of a displayed outbound call affordance, wherein the displayed outbound call affordance is associated with the contact identifier (contact identification 200 can be a telephone number, a unique selective call address assigned within a wireless communication system, an electronic mail address, an IP (internet protocol) address or any other similar identification. The displayed name 205 can be a caller identification including written text, graphical images, which can be displayed on the display 130 to identify the communication contact, [0020], lines 5-8, [0030], lines 1-7).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Chappidi et al with concept of detecting, within a predetermined time from receiving the second input, an outgoing call event associated with a contact identifier of Lombardi et al and concept of receiving, from a secondary device, a respective user input; and determining that the respective user input includes a selection of a displayed outbound call affordance, wherein the displayed outbound call affordance is associated with the contact identifier of Davis. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve management of the operation of the communication device with respect to one or more communication contacts, (Davis, [0002], lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 11, Chappidi et al discloses device (fig. 1 item 104, user device), wherein a name field of the contact identifier includes at least one of an emoji representation and a special character representation (applications that provide location-based services such as weather widgets, local yellow page widgets, and map/navigation widgets), [0075], lines 2-3).
Regarding claim 12, Chappidi et al discloses device (fig. 1 item 104, user device),
Chappidi et al and Lombardi et al do not specifically disclose concept of wherein determining that the outgoing call event satisfies a predetermined criterion comprises:
identifying a first time associated with an initiation of the outgoing call event;
determining a time difference between the first time and a current time; and
in accordance with a determination that the time difference is greater than a threshold time, determining that the outgoing call event satisfies the predetermined criterion.
However, Davis specifically teaches concept of wherein determining that the outgoing call event satisfies a predetermined criterion comprises (When the communication of an outgoing call is not stored within the contacts memory 155 in Step 315, the operation continues to Step 320 in which the communication contact is added to the contacts memory 155. For example, the contact identification and the displayed name for the communication contact can be stored, [0027], lines 5-12, [0028], lines 1-3):
identifying a first time associated with an initiation of the outgoing call event (Users of communication devices often use the same secondary applications and previously stored data each time they interact with a communication contact, [0012], lines 1-2);
determining a time difference between the first time and a current time (contact applications history 210 stores one or more applications historically utilized by the user of the communication device 100 when communicating with the contact. Alternatively, the contact applications history 210 stores a link, a pointer, an identification, or other equivalent identifier to each of the one or more applications. The utilization can be frequency of use, timeframe of use, and the like, [0020], lines 8-11); and
in accordance with a determination that the time difference is greater than a threshold time, determining that the outgoing call event satisfies the predetermined criterion (When the communication contact is stored within the contacts memory 155 in Step 315, the operation next continues to Step 330 in which the one or more applications stored or recorded or otherwise identified within the contact applications history 210 and associated contact data 215 are identified, readied, and typically launched. In other words, in Step 330, the applications previously used when interacting with the communications contact can be automatically invoked the next time the device user and the communications contact interact, [0029], lines 1-5).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Chappidi et al with concept of detecting, within a predetermined time from receiving the second input, an outgoing call event associated with a contact identifier of Lombardi et al and concept of wherein determining that the outgoing call event satisfies a predetermined criterion comprises: identifying a first time associated with an initiation of the outgoing call event; determining a time difference between the first time and a current time; and in accordance with a determination that the time difference is greater than a threshold time, determining that the outgoing call event satisfies the predetermined criterion of Davis. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve management of the operation of the communication device with respect to one or more communication contacts, (Davis, [0002], lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 13, Chappidi et al discloses device (fig. 1 item 104, user device),
Chappidi et al and Lombardi et al do not specifically disclose concept of wherein determining that the outgoing call event satisfies a predetermined criterion comprises:
determining an occurrence value associated with a combination of the first input, the second input, and the outgoing call event associated with the contact identifier; and
in accordance with a determination that the occurrence value satisfies a threshold occurrence value, determining that the outgoing call event satisfies a predetermined criterion.
However, Davis specifically teaches concept of wherein determining that the outgoing call event satisfies a predetermined criterion comprises (When the communication of an outgoing call is not stored within the contacts memory 155 in Step 315, the operation continues to Step 320 in which the communication contact is added to the contacts memory 155. For example, the contact identification and the displayed name for the communication contact can be stored, [0027], lines 5-12, [0028], lines 1-3).:
determining an occurrence value associated with a combination of the first input, the second input, and the outgoing call event associated with the contact identifier (The contact applications history 210 may include an invoice application with contact associated data 215 being the Latin American supplier's most recent invoice; and may include a translator application with contact associated data 215 being Spanish to English indication, [0021], lines 5-7); and
in accordance with a determination that the occurrence value satisfies a threshold occurrence value, determining that the outgoing call event satisfies a predetermined criterion (When the communication of an outgoing call is not stored within the contacts memory 155 in Step 315, the operation continues to Step 320 in which the communication contact is added to the contacts memory 155. For example, the contact identification and the displayed name for the communication contact can be stored, [0027], lines 5-12, [0028], lines 1-3).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Chappidi et al with concept of detecting, within a predetermined time from receiving the second input, an outgoing call event associated with a contact identifier of Lombardi et al and concept of wherein determining that the outgoing call event satisfies a predetermined criterion comprises: determining an occurrence value associated with a combination of the first input, the second input, and the outgoing call event associated with the contact identifier; and in accordance with a determination that the occurrence value satisfies a threshold occurrence value, determining that the outgoing call event satisfies a predetermined criterion of Davis. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve management of the operation of the communication device with respect to one or more communication contacts, (Davis, [0002], lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 14, Chappidi et al discloses device (fig. 1 item 104, user device),
Chappidi et al and Lombardi et al do not specifically disclose concept of wherein determining an occurrence value associated with a combination of the first input, the second input, and the outgoing call event associated with the contact identifier comprises:
identifying, within a predetermined time range from a current time:
a first number of times the user has provided an input consistent with the first input, a second number of times the user has provided an input consistent with the second input, and a third number of times the outgoing call event associated with the contact identifier has been detected.
However, Davis specifically teaches concept of wherein determining an occurrence value associated with a combination of the first input, the second input, and the outgoing call event associated with the contact identifier comprises (The contact applications history 210 may include an invoice application with contact associated data 215 being the Latin American supplier's most recent invoice; and may include a translator application with contact associated data 215 being Spanish to English indication, [0021], lines 5-7):
identifying, within a predetermined time range from a current time (Users of communication devices often use the same secondary applications and previously stored data each time they interact with a communication contact, [0012], lines 1-2):
a first number of times the user has provided an input consistent with the first input, a second number of times the user has provided an input consistent with the second input, and a third number of times the outgoing call event associated with the contact identifier has been detected (contact applications history 210 stores one or more applications historically utilized by the user of the communication device 100 when communicating with the contact. Alternatively, the contact applications history 210 stores a link, a pointer, an identification, or other equivalent identifier to each of the one or more applications. The utilization can be frequency of use, timeframe of use, and the like, [0020], lines 8-11).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Chappidi et al with concept of detecting, within a predetermined time from receiving the second input, an outgoing call event associated with a contact identifier of Lombardi et al and concept of wherein determining an occurrence value associated with a combination of the first input, the second input, and the outgoing call event associated with the contact identifier comprises: identifying, within a predetermined time range from a current time: a first number of times the user has provided an input consistent with the first input, a second number of times the user has provided an input consistent with the second input, and a third number of times the outgoing call event associated with the contact identifier has been detected of Davis. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve management of the operation of the communication device with respect to one or more communication contacts, (Davis, [0002], lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 15, Chappidi et al discloses device (fig. 1 item 104, user device),
Chappidi et al and Lombardi et al do not specifically disclose concept of wherein determining an occurrence value associated with a combination of the first input, the second input, and the outgoing call event associated with the contact identifier comprises:
identifying, within a predetermined time range from a current time:
whether the user has provided an input consistent with the first input preceding reception of an input consistent with the second input, whether the user has provided an input consistent with the second input following reception of an input consistent with the first input and preceding detection of the outgoing call event associated with the contact identifier, and whether the outgoing call event associated with the contact identifier has been detected following reception of an input consistent with the second input.
However, Davis specifically teaches concept of wherein determining an occurrence value associated with a combination of the first input, the second input, and the outgoing call event associated with the contact identifier comprises (When the communication of an outgoing call is not stored within the contacts memory 155 in Step 315, the operation continues to Step 320 in which the communication contact is added to the contacts memory 155. For example, the contact identification and the displayed name for the communication contact can be stored, [0027], lines 5-12, [0028], lines 1-3).:
identifying, within a predetermined time range from a current time (Users of communication devices often use the same secondary applications and previously stored data each time they interact with a communication contact, [0012], lines 1-2):
whether the user has provided an input consistent with the first input preceding reception of an input consistent with the second input, whether the user has provided an input consistent with the second input following reception of an input consistent with the first input and preceding detection of the outgoing call event associated with the contact identifier, and whether the outgoing call event associated with the contact identifier has been detected following reception of an input consistent with the second input (contact applications history 210 stores one or more applications historically utilized by the user of the communication device 100 when communicating with the contact. Alternatively, the contact applications history 210 stores a link, a pointer, an identification, or other equivalent identifier to each of the one or more applications. The utilization can be frequency of use, timeframe of use, and the like, [0020], lines 8-11)..
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Chappidi et al with concept of detecting, within a predetermined time from receiving the second input, an outgoing call event associated with a contact identifier of Lombardi et al and concept of wherein determining an occurrence value associated with a combination of the first input, the second input, and the outgoing call event associated with the contact identifier comprises: identifying, within a predetermined time range from a current time: whether the user has provided an input consistent with the first input preceding reception of an input consistent with the second input, whether the user has provided an input consistent with the second input following reception of an input consistent with the first input and preceding detection of the outgoing call event associated with the contact identifier, and whether the outgoing call event associated with the contact identifier has been detected following reception of an input consistent with the second input of Davis. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve management of the operation of the communication device with respect to one or more communication contacts, (Davis, [0002], lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 16, Chappidi et al discloses device (fig. 1 item 104, user device),
Chappidi et al and Lombardi et al do not specifically disclose concept of wherein storing an association between the name reference and the contact identifier comprises:
including the name reference within a data field of the contact identifier.
However, Davis specifically teaches concept of wherein storing an association between the name reference and the contact identifier comprises (When the communication of an outgoing call is not stored within the contacts memory 155 in Step 315, the operation continues to Step 320 in which the communication contact is added to the contacts memory 155. For example, the contact identification and the displayed name for the communication contact can be stored, [0027], lines 5-12, [0028], lines 1-3):
including the name reference within a data field of the contact identifier (When the communication of an outgoing call is not stored within the contacts memory 155 in Step 315, the operation continues to Step 320 in which the communication contact is added to the contacts memory 155. For example, the contact identification and the displayed name for the communication contact can be stored, [0027], lines 5-12, [0028], lines 1-3).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Chappidi et al with concept of detecting, within a predetermined time from receiving the second input, an outgoing call event associated with a contact identifier of Lombardi et al and concept of wherein storing an association between the name reference and the contact identifier comprises: including the name reference within a data field of the contact identifier of Davis. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve management of the operation of the communication device with respect to one or more communication contacts, (Davis, [0002], lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 17, Chappidi et al discloses device (fig. 1 item 104, user device), the one or more programs including instructions for (non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of memory 202 is used to store instructions (e.g., for performing aspects of processes described below) for use by or in connection with an instruction execution system, apparatus, or device, such as a computer-based system, processor-containing system, or other system that can fetch the instructions from the instruction execution system, apparatus, or device and execute the instructions, [0046], lines 1-4):
Chappidi et al and Lombardi et al do not specifically disclose concept of after storing the association between the name reference and the contact identifier:
identifying a most recent time associated with a usage of the name reference followed by a detection of an outgoing call event associated with the contact identifier; and
in accordance with a determination that the most recent time is not within a first threshold period of time:
reducing a weight associated with the association between the name reference and the contact identifier.
However, Davis specifically teaches concept of after storing the association between the name reference and the contact identifier (When the communication of an outgoing call is not stored within the contacts memory 155 in Step 315, the operation continues to Step 320 in which the communication contact is added to the contacts memory 155. For example, the contact identification and the displayed name for the communication contact can be stored, [0027], lines 5-12, [0028], lines 1-3):
identifying a most recent time associated with a usage of the name reference followed by a detection of an outgoing call event associated with the contact identifier (Users of communication devices often use the same secondary applications and previously stored data each time they interact with a communication contact, [0012], lines 1-2); and
in accordance with a determination that the most recent time is not within a first threshold period of time (When the communication contact is stored within the contacts memory 155 in Step 315, the operation next continues to Step 330 in which the one or more applications stored or recorded or otherwise identified within the contact applications history 210 and associated contact data 215 are identified, readied, and typically launched. In other words, in Step 330, the applications previously used when interacting with the communications contact can be automatically invoked the next time the device user and the communications contact interact, [0029], lines 1-5):
reducing a weight associated with the association between the name reference and the contact identifier (When the communication of an outgoing call is not stored within the contacts memory 155 in Step 315, the operation continues to Step 320 in which the communication contact is added to the contacts memory 155. For example, the contact identification and the displayed name for the communication contact can be stored, [0027], lines 5-12, [0028], lines 1-3).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Chappidi et al with concept of detecting, within a predetermined time from receiving the second input, an outgoing call event associated with a contact identifier of Lombardi et al and concept of after storing the association between the name reference and the contact identifier: identifying a most recent time associated with a usage of the name reference followed by a detection of an outgoing call event associated with the contact identifier; and in accordance with a determination that the most recent time is not within a first threshold period of time: reducing a weight associated with the association between the name reference and the contact identifier of Davis. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve management of the operation of the communication device with respect to one or more communication contacts, (Davis, [0002], lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 18, Chappidi et al discloses device (fig. 1 item 104, user device), the one or more programs including instructions for (non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of memory 202 is used to store instructions (e.g., for performing aspects of processes described below) for use by or in connection with an instruction execution system, apparatus, or device, such as a computer-based system, processor-containing system, or other system that can fetch the instructions from the instruction execution system, apparatus, or device and execute the instructions, [0046], lines 1-4):
Chappidi et al and Lombardi et al do not specifically disclose concept of after storing the association between the name reference and the contact identifier:
identifying a most recent time associated with a usage of the name reference followed by a detection of an outgoing call event associated with the contact identifier; and
in accordance with a determination that the most recent time is not within a second threshold period of time:
removing, from memory, the association between the name reference and the contact identifier.
However, Davis specifically teaches concept of after storing the association between the name reference and the contact identifier (When the communication of an outgoing call is not stored within the contacts memory 155 in Step 315, the operation continues to Step 320 in which the communication contact is added to the contacts memory 155. For example, the contact identification and the displayed name for the communication contact can be stored, [0027], lines 5-12, [0028], lines 1-3):
identifying a most recent time associated with a usage of the name reference followed by a detection of an outgoing call event associated with the contact identifier (Users of communication devices often use the same secondary applications and previously stored data each time they interact with a communication contact, [0012], lines 1-2); and
in accordance with a determination that the most recent time is not within a second threshold period of time (When the communication contact is stored within the contacts memory 155 in Step 315, the operation next continues to Step 330 in which the one or more applications stored or recorded or otherwise identified within the contact applications history 210 and associated contact data 215 are identified, readied, and typically launched. In other words, in Step 330, the applications previously used when interacting with the communications contact can be automatically invoked the next time the device user and the communications contact interact, [0029], lines 1-5):
removing, from memory, the association between the name reference and the contact identifier (When the communication of an outgoing call is not stored within the contacts memory 155 in Step 315, the operation continues to Step 320 in which the communication contact is added to the contacts memory 155. For example, the contact identification and the displayed name for the communication contact can be stored, [0027], lines 5-12, [0028], lines 1-3).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Chappidi et al with concept of detecting, within a predetermined time from receiving the second input, an outgoing call event associated with a contact identifier of Lombardi et al and concept of after storing the association between the name reference and the contact identifier: identifying a most recent time associated with a usage of the name reference followed by a detection of an outgoing call event associated with the contact identifier; and in accordance with a determination that the most recent time is not within a second threshold period of time: removing, from memory, the association between the name reference and the contact identifier of Davis. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve management of the operation of the communication device with respect to one or more communication contacts, (Davis, [0002], lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 19, Chappidi et al discloses computer-implemented method (fig. 1, method, [0031], line 7), comprising:
at an electronic device (fig. 1 item 104, user device) with one or more processors (one or more processors 220, [0047], line 2) and memory (non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of memory 202, [0046], lines 6-7):
receiving, from a user, a first input including a name reference (Digital assistant 902 receives the natural language speech input 906 “What is on the TV” (name reference) from a user and processes the request using the techniques described above with regard to FIGS. 7A-7C. For example, digital assistant 902 may perform automatic speech recognition on natural language speech input 906 to determine a plurality of candidate text representations, [0275], lines 1-4);
providing a response to the first input (Digital assistant 902 receives the natural language speech input 906 “What is on the TV” (name reference) from a user and processes the request (providing a response) using the techniques described above with regard to FIGS. 7A-7C. For example, digital assistant 902 may perform automatic speech recognition on natural language speech input 906 to determine a plurality of candidate text representations, [0275], lines 1-4);
receiving, from the user, a second input (digital assistant client module 229 is capable of accepting voice input (e.g., speech input) (first input), text input, touch input, and/or gestural input (second input) through various user interfaces (e.g., microphone 213, accelerometer(s) 268, touch-sensitive display system 212, optical sensor(s) 264, other input control devices 216, etc.), [0076], lines 2-4);
Chappidi et al does not specifically disclose concept of detecting, within a predetermined time from receiving the second input, an outgoing call event associated with a contact identifier;
However, Lombardi et al specifically teaches concept of detecting, within a predetermined time from receiving the second input, an outgoing call event associated with a contact identifier ((1) A touch on the touch sensor 106 alone causes the device 100 to react by announcing the caller (outgoing call) (e.g., the caller's name as indicated by caller ID and the device's stored contact list) (block 442); thus is seen as when there’s a touch (second input) on the touch sensor 106 of device 100, device 100 announces that there’s a call with a caller's name as indicated by caller ID and the device's stored contact list, [0027], lines 3-5);
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Chappidi et al with concept of detecting, within a predetermined time from receiving the second input, an outgoing call event associated with a contact identifier of Lombardi et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve functionality of devices, (Lombardi et al, [0002], lines 3-4).
Chappidi et al and Lombardi et al do not specifically disclose concept of in accordance with a determination that the outgoing call event satisfies a predetermined criterion: storing an association between the name reference and the contact identifier.
However, Davis specifically teaches concept of in accordance with a determination that the outgoing call event satisfies a predetermined criterion: storing an association between the name reference and the contact identifier (When the communication of an outgoing call is not stored within the contacts memory 155 in Step 315, the operation continues to Step 320 in which the communication contact is added to the contacts memory 155. For example, the contact identification and the displayed name for the communication contact can be stored, [0027], lines 5-12, [0028], lines 1-3).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Chappidi et al with concept of detecting, within a predetermined time from receiving the second input, an outgoing call event associated with a contact identifier of Lombardi et al and concept of in accordance with a determination that the outgoing call event satisfies a predetermined criterion: storing an association between the name reference and the contact identifier of Davis. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve management of the operation of the communication device with respect to one or more communication contacts, (Davis, [0002], lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 20, Chappidi et al discloses non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing one or more programs, the one or more programs comprising instructions, which when executed by one or more processors of a first electronic device (fig. 1 item 104, user device), cause the first electronic device to (non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of memory 202 is used to store instructions (e.g., for performing aspects of processes described below) for use by or in connection with an instruction execution system, apparatus, or device, such as a computer-based system, processor-containing system, or other system that can fetch the instructions from the instruction execution system, apparatus, or device and execute the instructions, [0046], lines 1-4):
receive, from a user, a first input including a name reference (Digital assistant 902 receives the natural language speech input 906 “What is on the TV” (name reference) from a user and processes the request using the techniques described above with regard to FIGS. 7A-7C. For example, digital assistant 902 may perform automatic speech recognition on natural language speech input 906 to determine a plurality of candidate text representations, [0275], lines 1-4);
provide a response to the first input (Digital assistant 902 receives the natural language speech input 906 “What is on the TV” (name reference) from a user and processes the request (providing a response) using the techniques described above with regard to FIGS. 7A-7C. For example, digital assistant 902 may perform automatic speech recognition on natural language speech input 906 to determine a plurality of candidate text representations, [0275], lines 1-4);
receive, from the user, a second input (digital assistant client module 229 is capable of accepting voice input (e.g., speech input) (first input), text input, touch input, and/or gestural input (second input) through various user interfaces (e.g., microphone 213, accelerometer(s) 268, touch-sensitive display system 212, optical sensor(s) 264, other input control devices 216, etc.), [0076], lines 2-4);
Chappidi et al does not specifically disclose concept of detect, within a predetermined time from receiving the second input, an outgoing call event associated with a contact identifier;
However, Lombardi et al specifically teaches concept of detect, within a predetermined time from receiving the second input, an outgoing call event associated with a contact identifier ((1) A touch on the touch sensor 106 alone causes the device 100 to react by announcing the caller (outgoing call) (e.g., the caller's name as indicated by caller ID and the device's stored contact list) (block 442); thus is seen as when there’s a touch (second input) on the touch sensor 106 of device 100, device 100 announces that there’s a call with a caller's name as indicated by caller ID and the device's stored contact list, [0027], lines 3-5);
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Chappidi et al with concept of detect, within a predetermined time from receiving the second input, an outgoing call event associated with a contact identifier of Lombardi et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve functionality of devices, (Lombardi et al, [0002], lines 3-4).
Chappidi et al and Lombardi et al do not specifically disclose concept of in accordance with a determination that the outgoing call event satisfies a predetermined criterion: store an association between the name reference and the contact identifier.
However, Davis specifically teaches concept of in accordance with a determination that the outgoing call event satisfies a predetermined criterion: store an association between the name reference and the contact identifier (When the communication of an outgoing call is not stored within the contacts memory 155 in Step 315, the operation continues to Step 320 in which the communication contact is added to the contacts memory 155. For example, the contact identification and the displayed name for the communication contact can be stored, [0027], lines 5-12, [0028], lines 1-3).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Chappidi et al with concept of detect, within a predetermined time from receiving the second input, an outgoing call event associated with a contact identifier of Lombardi et al and concept of in accordance with a determination that the outgoing call event satisfies a predetermined criterion: store an association between the name reference and the contact identifier of Davis. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve management of the operation of the communication device with respect to one or more communication contacts, (Davis, [0002], lines 1-2).
Conclusion
/FRANTZ BATAILLE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2681