Claim Interpretation
During patent examination, pending claims must be “given their broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification.” MPEP 2111; See also, MPEP 2173.02. Limitations appearing in the specification but not recited in the claim are not read into the claim. In re Prater, 415 F.2d 1393, 1404-05, 162 USPQ 541, 550-551 (CCPA 1969). See also, In re Zletz, 893 F.2d 319, 321-22, 13 USPQ2d 1320, 1322 (Fed. Cir. 1989) (“During patent examination the pending claims must be interpreted as broadly as their terms reasonably allow”). The reason is simply that during patent prosecution when claims can be amended, ambiguities should be recognized, scope and breadth of language explored, and clarification imposed. An essential purpose of patent examination is to fashion claims that are precise, clear, correct, and unambiguous. Only in this way can uncertainties of claim scope be removed, as much as possible, during the administrative process.
The Examiner respectfully requests of the Applicant in preparing responses, to consider fully the entirety of the reference(s) as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention. It is noted, REFERENCES ARE RELEVANT AS PRIOR ART FOR ALL THEY CONTAIN.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0406774 A1 to Browne et al. (hereinafter Browne).
With regards to claim 1, Browne discloses:
1. A method of generating a user interface in response to a user query, (see, detailed description, including, interfaces scripted to interact with external blocks of code foreign to the AI engine and an already trained AI model coded in the native language used by the AI engine, para. 0099) comprising,
creating or accessing a predefined list of generic user interface elements in Java Script Object Notation (JSON) format (see, detailed description, including, The config file (a Json file) will be extensible to the deployment information requirements of the different IFE's that the AI engine support., para. 0088),
creating or accessing a predefined list of one or more encoder prompts that can be passed to a computer system capable of comparing data strings representing natural language, (see, detailed description, including, convolutional deep belief networks; multi-layer perceptions; decision trees; self-organizing maps; deep Boltzmann machines; and Stacked de-noising auto-encoders, para. 0034) wherein the language of the encoder prompts determines the content of relevance in a user query, (see, detailed description, including, each trained AI model itself can be a collection of trained AI objects corresponding to a complex task, that is attempted to be analyzed and solved by the AI model, para. 0035),
receiving a user query (see, Fig. 5, and detailed description, including, AI engine using an interface infrastructure to allow uploading of user code and data from their local development environment, para. 0022),
decomposing the user query into component variables (see, Fig. 1B, and detailed description, including, the AI engine decomposing a complex task into smaller, individual concepts into a graph of nodes that includes both i) one or more concepts corresponding to external entities of code and ii) one or more concepts coded in a software language natively used by AI engine and coded by the architect module in accordance with an embodiment, para. 0048),
generating source nodes and destination nodes for a factor graph document database out of the component variables, or indexing source nodes or destination nodes matching the component variables if the factor graph document database already contains source nodes and destination nodes that match the component variables (see, detailed description, including, An AI engine may extend functionality of one or more trained machine-learning models. The AI engine includes one or more modules including an architect module, an instructor module, a management module, and a learner module. The management module is configured for managing, deploying, and scaling the one or more trained machine-learning models, para. 0039),
using the factor graph document database to infer new query component variables that relate to the user query variables according to rules of probability (see, Fig. 1C, and detailed description, including, illustrates a block diagram of an embodiment of a complex main task and its graph of i) a concept node corresponding to an integrator concept, and ii) two or more levels of concepts corresponding to the individual concepts that hierarchically stem forth from the integrator concept in the graph of the AI model in accordance with an embodiment, para. 0013),
creating or accessing a predefined list of one or more decoder prompts, (see Fig. 1D, and detailed description including, a block diagram of an embodiment of a graph of the training of two or more different sub concepts corresponding to the individual concepts in the complex task, in parallel, as well as re-use of the external entities of code in order to lessen the training cycles in accordance with an embodiment, para. 0014),
composing a user interface by combining the decoder prompts, the generic list of user interface elements, the user query variables, and the inferred query component variables (see, Fig. 1C and 1D, and detailed description, including, 5) combining existing perception and prediction models with state-of-the art reinforcement learning technology, para. 0045).
With regards to claim 2, Browne discloses:
2. A method of claim 1, wherein the user query is a natural language query presented to a Large Language Model (LLM), which decomposes the user query into component variables in natural language (see, detailed description, including, The architect module can be configured to create a first concept node by wrapping an external entity of code into a software container with an interface configured to exchange information in a protocol of a software language used by the external entity of code. One or more external entities of code can consist of i) an external AI model coded in different software language natively used by a resulting AI model, ii) an external function having some defined input and output that is coded in different software language natively used by a resulting AI model, iii) a block of code using a ReST API, iv) an already trained AI model coded in the software language natively used by the resulting AI model, and v) any combination of these, para. 0032).
With regards to claim 3, Browne discloses:
3. The method of claim 1, wherein the factor graph document database is structured using a modelling language that enables computation over the stored entities (see, detailed description, including, claim 2, and iii) a block of code using a ReST API, iv) an already trained AI model coded in the software language natively used by the resulting AI model, para. 0032).
With regards to claim 4, Browne discloses:
4. The method of claim 3, wherein the modeling language defines a Unique IDentifier (UID) tag field for each entity (see, detailed description, including, address unique and emerging application requirements, para. 0044).
With regards to claim 5, Browne discloses:
5. The method of claim 4, wherein the entities include source entities and destination entities stored as source nodes and destination nodes in the factor graph document database, a schema, normal links that relate at least some of the source entities with at least some of the destination entities according to their causal or parent-children relationships, and data links capable of computation over source and destination entities (see, detailed description, including, Customers using Gears functionality will benefit from: 1) Compatibility with popular machine-learning frameworks including TensorFlow, Torch, CNTK, scikit learn, and OpenCV; 2) ease of integration of Python libraries and custom code into Bonsai's runtime environment; 3) simplified AI model development and collaboration across teams; 4) a single platform to develop, deploy, and manage all AI models; and 5) combining existing perception and prediction models with state-of-the art reinforcement learning technology, para. 0045).
With regards to claim 6, Browne discloses:
6. The method of claim 4, wherein the data links relate at least some source entities with at least some destination entities according to their causal or parent-children relationships and perform computations over the related entities, (see, claim 5, and With regards to claim 5, detailed description, including, Customers using Gears functionality will benefit from: 1) Compatibility with popular machine-learning frameworks including TensorFlow, Torch, CNTK, scikit learn, and OpenCV; 2) ease of integration of Python libraries and custom code into Bonsai's runtime environment; 3) simplified AI model development and collaboration across teams; 4) a single platform to develop, deploy, and manage all AI models; and 5) combining existing perception and prediction models with state-of-the art reinforcement learning technology, para. 0045).
With regards to claim 7, Browne discloses:
7. The method of claim 1, wherein the predefined list of decoder prompts is passed to a large language model (LLM) (see, detailed description, including, The architect module can be configured to create a first concept node by wrapping an external entity of code into a software container with an interface configured to exchange information in a protocol of a software language used by the external entity of code. One or more external entities of code can consist of i) an external AI model coded in different software language natively used by a resulting AI model, ii) an external function having some defined input and output that is coded in different software language natively used by a resulting AI model, iii) a block of code using a ReST API, iv) an already trained AI model coded in the software language natively used by the resulting AI model, and v) any combination of these, para. 0032).
With regards to claim 8, Browne discloses:
8. The method of claim 7, wherein the language of the decoder prompt asks the computer system to compose a user interface out of the generic list of user interface elements (see, Fig. 1C and 1D, and detailed description, including, 5) combining existing perception and prediction models with state-of-the art reinforcement learning technology, para. 0045).
A sampling of the prior art made of record and not relied upon and considered
pertinent to Applicants’ disclosure includes: U.S. Patent No.12,626,698 B1 to Kachuee et al. that discusses: Techniques for identifying components (e.g., application program interfaces (APIs)) relevant for a large language model (LLM) prompt are described. The shortlister includes one or more proposers that each select n components for performing an instant task. The n components from each proposer may be merged and reranked to produce a ranked list of K components for inclusion in the LLM prompt. The shortlister proposers can include, among others, a request-based proposer, query-based proposer, and/or rule-based proposer. In particular, the query-based proposer may utilize an LLM to generate a query to search component descriptions to identify n components the proposer determines are usable to perform the instant task.
Conclusion
WILLIAM D. TITCOMB
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2178
/WILLIAM D TITCOMB/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2178 9-1-2026