DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-9 are pending in the application. Claims 1-9 are rejected.
Priority
This application claims priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a-d) to KR10-2024-0041229, filed March 26th, 2024.
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Examiner has considered the Information Disclosure Statement(s) filed on November 27th, 2024.
Claim Objections
The word “to” in claim 8 should be deleted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for a method for treating endometriosis and a complication associated therewith, does not reasonably provide enablement for a method for preventing endometriosis and a complication associated therewith. The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and use the invention commensurate in scope with these claims.
There are many factors to be considered when determining whether there is sufficient evidence to support a determination that a disclosure does not satisfy the enablement requirement and whether any necessary experimentation is undue. These factors include, but are not limited to: (a) breadth of the claims; (b) nature of the invention; (c) state of the prior art; (d) level of one of ordinary skill in the art; (e) level of predictability in the art; (f) amount of direction provided by the inventor; (g) existence of working examples; and (h) quantity of experimentation needed to make or use the invention based on the content of the disclosure. (See Ex parte Forman 230 USPQ 546 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1986) and In re Wands, 8 USPQ2d 1400 (Fed. Cir. 1988).
The above factors, regarding the present invention, are summarized as follows:
Breadth of the claims - The breadth of the claims is drawn to methods for preventing or treating endometriosis and a complication associated therewith by administering fraxetin or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof. The instant specification contains the following definition of “prevention” on pages 10 and 11:
[0036] As used herein, the term “prevention” refers to all protective actions that inhibit or delay the onset of endometriosis, complications thereof, or at least one of its symptoms through the administration of the pharmaceutical composition of the present disclosure. It also includes treating individuals showing signs of improvement to prevent or inhibit recurrence of the disease.
Accordingly, the instant claims would include administration of fraxetin to subjects not having endometriosis to prevent the disease from occurring.
(b) Nature of the invention - The nature of the invention is drawn to pharmaceutical method for treating or preventing endometriosis.
(c,e) State of the prior art and predictability in the art - The state of the prior art is that the pharmacological art involves screening in vitro and in vivo to determine which compounds exhibit the desired pharmacological activities (i.e. what compounds can treat which specific disease by what mechanism). There is no absolute predictability even in view of the seemingly high level of skill in the art. The existence of these obstacles establishes that the contemporary knowledge in the art would prevent one of ordinary skill in the art from accepting any therapeutic regimen on its face. Regarding endometriosis specifically, the World Health Organization (Endometriosis, October 2025, obtained from https://www.who.int/news-room/fact-sheets/detail/endometriosis) states the following regarding the causes of endometriosis:
The causes of endometriosis are unknown.
Emerging research suggests that endometriosis is associated with immune system dysregulation. People with endometriosis have higher rates of other immune-mediated conditions, such as lupus, multiple sclerosis, and inflammatory bowel disease, and a family history of endometriosis.
Regarding prevention, the WHO states:
At present, there is no known way to prevent endometriosis. Enhanced awareness, early diagnosis and quality health care may slow or halt the progression of the disease and reduce long-term symptoms, including possibly the risk of central nervous system pain sensitization. Currently there is no cure.
Accordingly, even after Applicant’s disclosure, the underlying causes are not fully understood and no approach to prevention has been developed.
(d) Level of one of ordinary skill in the art - The artisans making and using applicant’s pharmaceutical compositions would be a collaborative team of medicinal chemists and/or health practitioners, possessing commensurate degree level and/or skill in the art, as well as several years of professional experience. The level of skill in the art is high; however, due to the unpredictability in the pharmaceutical art, it is noted that each embodiment of the invention is required to be individually assessed for physiological activity by in vitro or in vivo screening to determine which compounds exhibit the desired pharmacological activity and which diseases would benefit from this activity.
(f-g) Amount of direction provided by the inventor and existence of working examples - Test assays and procedures are provided in the specification on pages 23-41 for demonstrating fraxetin can be used to improve the disease state of endometriosis; however, the disclosure does not provide how the in vitro data or in vivo model system correlates to the prevention of endometriosis of the instant claims. For instance, the specification uses an animal model in paragraph [0097] to induce endometriosis followed by subsequent testing of fraxetin. Additional examples report the effects of fraxetin on cell proliferation, cell cycle and cell migration.
The instant specification provides no guidance or direction on how to determine which subjects not currently possessing endometriosis would otherwise develop the condition. The specification notes in paragraph [0007]:
Endometriosis is a chronic gynecological condition that affects 5-10% of women of reproductive age. […] Recently, the prevalence of endometriosis has been increasing among women of reproductive age, yet its exact pathogenesis remains unclear, making precise diagnosis challenging.
There is no guidance or direction on clarifying the disease pathogenesis and, by extension, determining which patients would be in need of prevention.
Pharmacological activity in general is a very unpredictable area. Note that in cases involving physiological activity such as the instant case, “the scope of enablement obviously varies inversely with the degree of unpredictability of the factors involved.” See In re Fisher, 427 F.2d 833, 839, 166 USPQ 18, 24 (CCPA 1970).
(h) Quantity of experimentation needed to make or use the invention based on the content of the disclosure - The quantity of experimentation needed is undue experimentation. One of skill in the art would first need to determine which subjects would otherwise develop endometriosis and therefore be in need of prevention. As discussed above, the factors leading to development of the condition are not well-understood even after Applicant’s disclosure. Making and using a method of actual prevention would therefore require solving a problem that has otherwise eluded an entire field of research. Even assuming a person having ordinary skill in the art could accomplish this task, said person would still need to determine whether fraxetin can actually prevent disease development on its own, which would require multiple long-term studies with no assurance of success.
A conclusion of lack of enablement means that, based on the evidence regarding each of the above factors, the specification, at the time the application was filed, would not have taught one skilled in the art how to make and/or use the full scope of the claimed invention without undue experimentation. {In re Wright, 999 F.2d 1557, 1562, 27 USPQ2d 1510, 1513 (Fed. Cir. 1993)}.
Genentech Inc. v. Novo Nordisk A/S (CA FC) 42 USPQ2d 1001, states that “a patent is not a hunting license. It is not a reward for search, but compensation for its successful conclusion” and “patent protection is granted in return for an enabling disclosure of an invention, not for vague intimations of general ideas that may or may not be workable”.
Therefore, in view of the Wands factors and In re Fisher (CCPA 1970) discussed above, to practice the claimed invention herein, a person of skill in the art would have to engage in undue experimentation to prevent endometriosis encompassed in the instant claims, with no assurance of success.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ham et al. Phytomedicine 2024, 123, 155187, which was published November 3rd, 2023.
Applicant cannot rely upon the certified copy of the foreign priority application to overcome this rejection because a translation of said application has not been made of record in accordance with 37 CFR 1.55. When an English language translation of a non-English language foreign application is required, the translation must be that of the certified copy (of the foreign application as filed) submitted together with a statement that the translation of the certified copy is accurate. See MPEP §§ 215 and 216.
Ham et al. teach generation of an animal having endometriosis on page 2 (Animal model) followed by administration of fraxetin for four weeks. Regarding instant claims 2-4, the prior art teaches that fraxetin suppresses endometriotic cell proliferation on page 4 (corresponding to instant claim 2), deteriorates mitochondrial health and homeostasis in endometriotic cells on page 4 (corresponding to instant claim 3) and triggers endoplasmic reticulum stress (Results, page 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ham et al. Phytomedicine 2024, 123, 155187, which was published November 3rd, 2023.
Applicant cannot rely upon the certified copy of the foreign priority application to overcome this rejection because a translation of said application has not been made of record in accordance with 37 CFR 1.55. When an English language translation of a non-English language foreign application is required, the translation must be that of the certified copy (of the foreign application as filed) submitted together with a statement that the translation of the certified copy is accurate. See MPEP §§ 215 and 216.
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. (See MPEP § 2141.01)
Ham et al. teach generation of an animal having endometriosis on page 2 (Animal model) followed by administration of fraxetin for four weeks. Regarding instant claims 2-4, the prior art teaches that fraxetin suppresses endometriotic cell proliferation on page 4 (corresponding to instant claim 2), deteriorates mitochondrial health and homeostasis in endometriotic cells on page 4 (corresponding to instant claim 3) and triggers endoplasmic reticulum stress (Results, page 1).
Ascertainment of the differences between the prior art and the claims. (See MPEP § 2141.02)
The prior art anticipates instant claims 1-4 where anticipation is the epitome of obviousness. The prior art does not teach treatment of a subject having a complication recited in instant claim 5.
Finding of prima facie obviousness --- rationale and motivation (See MPEP § 2142-2143)
Ham et al. teach on page 13: “Collectively, we suggest that fraxetin is a novel therapeutic agent for endometriosis that targets mitochondrial function in a non-hormonal manner and regulates tiRNAHisGTG.” At least in the interest of expanding the study of Ham et al., a person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to administer fraxetin to human subjects. Ham et al. teach on page 2: “half of the patients with endometriosis are at risk of infertility.” Accordingly, a person having ordinary skill in the art in expanding the subjects of the prior art to include humans would have expected a significant portion to be in need of treating infertility as embraced by instant claim 5.
Claim(s) 1-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ham et al. Phytomedicine 2024, 123, 155187, which was published November 3rd, 2023, in view of Kalaitzopoulous et al. BMC Women’s Health 2021, 21, 397.
Applicant cannot rely upon the certified copy of the foreign priority application to overcome this rejection because a translation of said application has not been made of record in accordance with 37 CFR 1.55. When an English language translation of a non-English language foreign application is required, the translation must be that of the certified copy (of the foreign application as filed) submitted together with a statement that the translation of the certified copy is accurate. See MPEP §§ 215 and 216.
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. (See MPEP § 2141.01)
Ham et al. teach generation of an animal having endometriosis on page 2 (Animal model) followed by administration of fraxetin for four weeks. Regarding instant claims 2-4, the prior art teaches that fraxetin suppresses endometriotic cell proliferation on page 4 (corresponding to instant claim 2), deteriorates mitochondrial health and homeostasis in endometriotic cells on page 4 (corresponding to instant claim 3) and triggers endoplasmic reticulum stress (Results, page 1).
Ascertainment of the differences between the prior art and the claims. (See MPEP § 2141.02)
The prior art anticipates instant claims 1-4 where anticipation is the epitome of obviousness. The prior art does not teach treatment of a subject having a complication recited in instant claim 5. Furthermore, the prior art does not teach administration using an agent embraced by instant claims 6-9.
Finding of prima facie obviousness --- rationale and motivation (See MPEP § 2142-2143)
Ham et al. teach on page 13: “Collectively, we suggest that fraxetin is a novel therapeutic agent for endometriosis that targets mitochondrial function in a non-hormonal manner and regulates tiRNAHisGTG.” At least in the interest of expanding the study of Ham et al., a person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to administer fraxetin to human subjects. Ham et al. teach on page 2: “half of the patients with endometriosis are at risk of infertility.” Accordingly, a person having ordinary skill in the art in expanding the subjects of the prior art to include humans would have expected a significant portion to be in need of treating infertility as embraced by instant claim 5.
Regarding instant claims 6-9, Kalaitzopoulous et al. review treatment options for endometriosis and teach dienogest on pages 4 and 5 (recited in instant claim 9). It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to combine two compounds known in the prior art which are taught to be useful for the same purpose. "It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose ....[T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art." In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980). Thus, the skilled artisan would reasonably expect success in this combination. Regarding instant claims 7 and 8, these claims limit the scope of options besides the GnRH agonist but do not exclude the use of a GnRH agonist.
Conclusion
/MATTHEW P COUGHLIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1626