DETAILED ACTION
This is a non-final First Office Action on the Merits in application 18/963,393, filed 11/27/2024, which is a continuing application as disclosed.
Claims 1-26 are pending and examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/27/2024 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 9-15, 20-24 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shearer(U.S. Pat. Appl. Publ. 2017/0238392; cited on IDs filed).
Shearer discloses a method of controlling color temperature in a space(see Fig. 8), the method comprising:
controlling a position of a window treatment fabric of a motorized window treatment based on a control mode or user preference(see para. [0096]);
determining a color temperature of outside light entering the space(see para. [0097]); and
adjusting the color temperature of light emitted by one or more lighting fixtures based on the color temperature of the outside light entering the space(see para. [0097]).
Regarding claim 2, Shearer discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the position of the window treatment fabric of the motorized window treatment is further controlled based on a color temperature threshold (such as 7,000 K, see para. [0105], line 21) and a color temperature of outside light outside of the space (the controller control the window/shade based on the ambient temperature, see para. [0105).
Regarding claims 3 and 20, Shearer discloses the method of claims 2 and 15, wherein the color temperature of the outside light outside of the space is measured by an outside color temperature sensor (the sensor is measured the light from outside through the window, see para. [0097], lines 9-12).
Regarding claim 4, Shearer discloses the method of claim 2, wherein the color temperature threshold corresponds to the control mode or the user preference (user preference, see para. [0111]).
Regarding claim 9, Shearer discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the color temperature of the outside light entering the space is determined based on the position(close or open) of the window treatment fabric of the motorized window treatment and at least one characteristic of window treatment fabric (the different kind of shades, see para. [0088]) associated with the motorized window treatment (see para. [0088]).
Regarding claim 10, Shearer discloses the method of claim 9, wherein the at least one characteristic comprises an openness factor or a color (openness of the window, sections 0088, 0105).
Regarding claim 11, Shearer discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the color temperature of the light emitted by the one or more lighting fixtures is decreased when the color temperature of the outside light entering the space is greater than a setpoint color (TABLE 1, section 0044) control temperature (see para. [0105]).
Regarding claim 12, Shearer discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the color temperature of the light emitted by the one or more lighting fixtures is increased when the color temperature of the outside light entering the space is less than a setpoint color (TABLE 1, see para. [0044]) control temperature (see para. [0105]).
Regarding claim 13, Shearer discloses the method of claim 1, wherein at least one of the color temperature of the outside light entering the space or the light emitted by the one or more lighting fixtures is measured by an interior color temperature sensor in the space (each of the light sources may be installed with the light sources, see para. [0107], lines 11-15).
Regarding claim 14, Shearer discloses the method of claim 12, wherein the interior color temperature sensor is located on the lighting fixture (each of the light sources may be installed with the light sources, see para. [0107], lines 11-15).
Regarding claim 15, Shearer discloses a method of controlling color temperature in a space(see Fig. 8), the method comprising:
determining a color temperature of light outside of the space(see para. [0097); and
controlling a position of a window treatment fabric of a motorized window treatment based on the color temperature of the light outside of the space(see paras. [0096] and [0097]).
Regarding claim 21, Shearer discloses a system controller(see para. [0096]) comprising:
a control circuit configured to:
determine a color temperature of light outside of the space;
determine a color temperature of outside light entering the space based on the color temperature of the light outside of the space; and adjust the color temperature of light emitted by one or more lighting fixtures based on the color temperature of the outside light entering the space(see paras. [0096], [0097] and [0105] and rejection of claims 1-3 above).
Regarding claim 22, Shearer discloses the system controller of claim 21, wherein the control circuit is further configured to: determine a setpoint color temperature for the space; and adjust the color temperature of the light emitted by the one or more lighting fixtures based on the setpoint color temperature(TABLE 1, see para. [0044]) control temperature (see para. [0105], and rejection of claims 11-12 above).
Regarding 23, Shearer discloses he system controller of claim 22, wherein the setpoint color temperature is determined based on a control mode or user preference(the para. [0111] and rejection of claim 4 above).
Regarding claim 24, Shearer discloses the system controller of claim 21, wherein the control circuit is configured to determine the color temperature of the outside light entering the space based on the position of the window treatment fabric of the motorized window treatment(opened or closed) and at least one characteristic of window treatment fabric associated with the motorized window treatment(the different kind of shades, see para. [0088]).
Regarding claim 26, Shearer discloses the system controller of claim 21, the system controller further comprising a communication circuit(see para. [0105]), wherein the control circuit is configured to determine the color temperature of the outside light outside of the space by receiving, via the communication circuit, a signal from an outside color temperature sensor(see para. [0105]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-8, 16-19 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shearer.
Regarding claim 5, Shearer discloses the position of the window treatment fabric of the motorized window treatment is closed ("The motorized window treatment 716 may be opened to allow more daylight to enter the building and may be closed to allow less daylight to enter the building" [0088]) when light outside of the space is greater than the color temperature threshold ("allow less daylight to enter the building" involves an upper light/daylight threshold). Shearer further discloses light outside being related to a color temperature ("color temperature sensor may measure the color temperature of the window light to be approximately 5,000 K (e.g., noon daylight)" [0097]).
Shearer lacks the position of the window treatment fabric of the motorized window treatment is closed when the color temperature of the outside light outside of the space is greater than the color temperature threshold as claimed. However, Shearer discloses that the window fabric can be controlled by automated blinds or shaded based on color temperature to achieve certain desired color temperature such as 7,000 K or 5,000 K (sections 0096-0097). The window controller system can communicate with the other devices other than the lighting sources such as window treatment based on the sensor signal to get a desired color temperature (sections 0086, 0088).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable degree of success, to close the motorized window treatment when light outside of the space is greater than the color temperature threshold, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value (closing the window when the outside color temperature is much greater than an indoor color temperature) of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. Further, such implementation would allow to improve the controllable color temperature range of the system of Shearer by closing the window to reduce/block influence of the window's light/color-temperature when a desired indoor color temperature is lower than the outdoor color temperature.
Regarding claims 6 and 16-17, Shearer discloses the position of the window treatment fabric of the motorized window treatment is closed ("The motorized window treatment 716 may be opened to allow more daylight to enter the building and may be closed to allow less daylight to enter the building" [0088]) when light outside of the space is greater than the color temperature threshold ("allow less daylight to enter the building" involves an upper light/daylight threshold). Shearer further discloses light outside being related to a color temperature ("color temperature sensor may measure the color temperature of the window light to be approximately 5,000 K (e.g., noon daylight)" [0097]).
Shearer lacks the color temperature threshold is a high color temperature threshold, and wherein the position of the window treatment fabric of the motorized window treatment is closed when the color temperature of the outside light outside of the space is less than a low color temperature threshold as claimed. However, Shearer discloses that the window fabric can be controlled automated blinds or shaded based on color temperature to achieve certain desired color temperature such as 7,000 K or 5,000 K (sections 0096-0097). The window controller system can communicates with the other devices other than the lighting sources such as window treatment based on the sensor signal to get a desired color temperature (sections 0086, 0088).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable degree of success, to close the motorized window treatment when light outside of the space is greater than the color temperature threshold, and controlling the shade based on thresholds since it has been held that discovering an optimum value (closing the window when the outside color temperature is much greater than an indoor color temperature) of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. Further, such implementation would allow to improve the controllable color temperature range of the system of Shearer by closing the window to reduce/block influence of the window's light/color-temperature when a desired indoor color temperature is lower than the outdoor color temperature.
Regarding claims 7-8, 18-19 and 25, Shearer discloses a lighting system comprising a color temperature sensor, motorized window treatment and a controller system and wherein the window treatment fabric comprises a blackout fabric (such as drapery, section 0088) and wherein the window treatment fabric comprises a warm sheer fabric (such as drapery, section 0088). But does not specifically disclose the controlling the position of the window fabric based on the temperature threshold as claimed. However, Shearer discloses that the window fabric can be controlled automated blinds or shades based on color temperature to achieve certain desired color temperature such as 7,000 K or 5,000 K (sections 0096-0097). The window controller system can communicate with the other devices other than the lighting sources such as window treatment based on the sensor signal to get a desired color temperature (sections 0086, 0088).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable degree of success, to close the motorized window treatment when light outside of the space is greater than the color temperature threshold, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value (closing the window when the outside color temperature is much greater than an indoor color temperature) of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. Further, such implementation would allow to improve the controllable color temperature range of the system of Shearer by closing the window to reduce/block influence of the window's light/color-temperature when a desired indoor color temperature is lower than the outdoor color temperature.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-26 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-29 of U.S. Patent No. 11,041,762. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims set forth a method and system of controlling light with a window treatment with the method(claims 1-20 of application and claims 1-14 of patent) and system controller(claims 21-26 of application and claims 15-29 of patent) determining the light inside, outside and entering a room, and controlling the light with the specifics of the amount of lighting considered best determined by a skilled artisan/user, the fabric of differing characteristics, and a sensor.
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
BETH A. AUBREY
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3633
/Beth A Aubrey/