Detailed Action
Current Status of Claims
This action is issued in response to communication of April 21, 2026. By amendment of April 21, 2026, the Applicant amended claims 1, 4, 5, 9, 10, 16, 19, 20. Claims 3, 8, 18, and 23-30 has been canceled. Therefore, claims 1-2, 4-7, 9-17, and 19-22 are currently active in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed April 21, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Specifically, the Applicant amended claims to enter the limitation “the M regions in each column are grouped into 1 zone” and argues that the embodiment illustrated in Figure 2A is now reflected by claim language. Examiner respectfully disagrees, since the term “zone” is not illustrated and not clear from the disclosure, as well as “1 zone”. The original specification refers only to so called “triggered zone” indicated with numeral (404) in Figure 3, but no of originally disclosed illustrations shows the touch panel with M regions grouped in 1 zone. In the Remark section, page 11 the Applicant shaded first and last columns of the touch panel (300), which assumingly means 1 zone, but it is not clear from the original disclosure. Therefore, the claimed subject matter is not clear and requires further amendment and explanation. Consequently, Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “the M regions in each column are grouped into 1 zone” (claim 1, line 9; claim 16, lines 5-6) and “the M regions in each column being grouped into M zones” (claim 9, lines 3-4) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-2, 4-7, 9-17, and 19-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as failing to set forth the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant regards as the invention. Specifically, the limitation “the M regions in each column are grouped into 1 zone” is not clearly disclosed and need further clarification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-7, 9-17, and 19-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) to the best examiner’s understanding as being anticipated by Shahparnia et al. (US Patent Publication Application 2019/0095006 A1).
In regard of claim 1, Shahparnia et al. disclose a touch controller for controlling a touch panel, the touch panel comprising an array of sensor cells divided into N columns, each column comprising M regions, the M regions in each column being grouped into P zones, N and M being integers exceeding 1, P being a positive integer less than M+1 (See at least Figures 2, 7 and 14A of Shahparnia et al. illustrates a touch controller (206) for the touch panel (220) which includes M regions grouped into P (16) zones as shown in Figure 7 and discussed in paragraph [0071] and sensor cells (S1-S16) comprising N (4) columns with M (4) regions), the touch controller comprising: a switch circuit coupled to the touch panel (See Figure 2 of Shahparnia et al. illustrating a switch circuit (210) coupled to the touch panel (220) as discussed in paragraph [0048]); and a sensing circuit coupled to the switch circuit (See Figure 2 of Shahparnia et al. illustrating a sensing circuit (208) coupled to the switch circuit (210) as discussed in paragraph [0048]); wherein: the M regions in each column are grouped into 1 zone (See Figures 2, 5B and 19D of Shahparnia et al. illustrating the touch controller (206) has M (S1-S16) regions and in column 1 grouped in 1 zone (S1, S5), (S2, S6) and in the performing coarse scan in each column and the sensing scans of the triggered zone (S1, S2, S5, S6) without scanning untriggered zones (S3, S4, S7, S8) as shown also as (1935) wherein the untriggered area scan is aborted “X” and for fine scan scheduled to be performed in the 16 regions, but is performed only in triggered zones as discussed in paragraphs [0111-0112]); in a coarse scan period, the switch circuit shorts the sensor cells in each zone of each column, and the sensing circuit scans N columns zones of the N columns to generate N zone signals (See Figures 2 and 5B of Shahparnia et al. illustrating coarse scan period (520) when the switch circuit (210) shorts sensor cells (226, 227) in each zone and sensing circuit scans all zones to generate zone signals (217) as discussed in paragraphs [0053; 0066]); and in M fine scan periods, the switch circuit decouples the sensor cells in a triggered zone of the PxN zones, and the sensing circuit scans a region of the triggered zone without scanning untriggered zones of the PxN zones to generate cell signals of the sensor cells in the M regions of the triggered zone (See Figure 5B of Shahparnia et al. illustrating fine scanning (530, 540) period after detecting triggered zone (525) as discussed in paragraph [0066]).
In regard of claim 2, Shahparnia et al. further disclose the touch controller of Claim 1, wherein the coarse scan period and the M fine scan periods form a touch frame period (See Figure 5B of Shahparnia et al. illustrating the coarse scan period (520) and number of fine scan periods (530, 540) forming touch frame period).
In regard of claim 4, Shahparnia et al. further disclose the touch controller of Claim 1, wherein: in an m-th period of the M fine scan periods, the sensing circuit
scans an m-th region of the M regions of the triggered zone to generate the cell signals of the sensor cells in the m-th region of the M regions of the triggered zone, m being an
integer ranging between 1 and M (See at least Figure 19D illustrating M fine scan periods (1935) generated only in the regions of the triggered zone (1931, 1936; 1937, 1933) as discussed in paragraphs [0111-0112]).
In regard of claim 5, Shahparnia et al. further disclose the touch controller of Claim 1, wherein: the sensing circuit is further coupled to a processor; and in the coarse scan period, the processor identifies the triggered zone and the untriggered zones of the N columns according to the N zone signals (See Figures 2 and 19D illustrating a processor (202) connected to the sensing circuit (208) identifies the triggered zone and the untriggered zones of the columns (according to zone signals (217) as discussed in paragraph [0053]).
In regard of claim 6, Shahparnia et al. further disclose the touch controller of Claim 5, wherein: in the coarse scan period, the processor further identifies another triggered zone of the N columns according to the N zones signals; and in the M fine scan periods, the switch circuit further decouples the sensor cells in M regions of the another triggered zone of the N columns and the sensing circuit further scans the
M regions of the another triggered zone of the N columns to generate the cell signals of the sensor cells in the M regions of the another triggered zone (See Figures 5B and 19D of Shahparnia et al. illustrating the coarse scan (520) identifies another triggered zone (525, 1932, 1933) is identifyed and the switch circuit decouples the sensor cells and generate the cell signals of the sensor cells (217) of the another triggered zone as discussed in paragraph [0066]).
In regard of claim 7, Shahparnia et al. further disclose the touch controller of Claim 6, wherein: in an m-th period of the M fine scan periods, the sensing circuit
scans an m-th region of the M regions of the triggered zone and an m-th region of the M regions of the another triggered zone to generate the cell signals of the sensor cells in the m-th region of the M regions of the triggered zone and the cell signals of the sensor cells in the m-th region of the M regions of the another triggered zone, m being an integer ranging between 1 and M (See Figure 19D of Shahparnia et al. illustrating m-th period of the M fine periods in another triggered zone (1935, S10) as discussed in paragraphs [0110-0111]).
In regard of claim 9, Shahparnia et al. further disclose a touch controller for controlling a touch panel, the touch panel comprising an array of sensor cells divided into N column being grouped into M zones, N and M being integers exceeding 1, M being a positive integer less than M+1, the touch controller comprising: a switch controller comprising: a switch circuit coupled to the touch panel; and a sensing circuit coupled to the switch circuit; wherein: in a coarse scan period, the switch circuit shorts the sensor cells in each zone of each column, and the sensing circuit scans MxN zones of the N columns to generate MxN zone signals; in M fine scan periods, the switch circuit decouples the sensor cells in a triggered zone of the MxN zones, and the sensing ciicuit scans a region of the triggered zone without scanning untriggered zones of the MxN zones to generate cell signals of the sensor cells in the triggered zone; the triggered zone is in an m-th region of a column of the N columns, m being an integer ranging between 1 and M; and in an m-th fine scan period of the M fine scan periods, the switch circuit decouples the sensor cells in the m-th region of the
column of the N columns, and the sensing circuit scans the m-th region of the column of the N columns without scanning the untriggered zones of the MxN regions (See rejection of claim 1 provided above).
In regard of claim 10, Shahparnia et al. further disclose the touch controller of Claim 9, wherein: the sensing circuit is further coupled to a processor; and in the coarse scan period, the processor identifies the triggered zone and the untriggered zones of the MxN regions according to the MxN zone signals (See Figures 2, 5B and 19D of Shahparnia et al. illustrating sensing circuit (208) coupled to a processor (202) performing coarse scanning (520) the processor identifies triggered zone during coarse scanning (525) and untriggered zone zones (535)).
In regard of claim 11, Shahparnia et al. further disclose the touch controller of Claim 10, wherein in the M fine scan periods, the processor identifies a triggered cell in the triggered zone according to the cell signals (See Figure 19D of Shahparnia et al. illustrating fine scanning (1935) as discussed in paragraph [0111]).
In regard of claim 12, Shahparnia et al. further disclose the touch controller of claim 10, wherein: in the coarse scan period, the processor further identifies another triggered zone of the MxN regions according to the MxN zone signals; and in the M fine scan periods, the switch circuit further decouples the sensor cells in the another triggered zone of the MxN regions, and the sensing circuit further scans the another
triggered zone of the MxN regions to generate the cell signals of the sensor cells in the another triggered zone (See Figures 19A-19E of Shahparnia et al. illustrating fine scanning of the triggered zone (MxN, S1-S11, Fig. 19B) based on the results of a coarse scan as illustrated in (1915) showing generation of signals only in the triggered zones).
In regard of claim 13, Shahparnia et al. further disclose the touch controller of claim 12, wherein: the triggered zone and the another triggered zone are respectively an (m1) th region and an (m2) -th region of a column of the N columns, m1 and m2 being different integers ranging between 1 and M; in an (m1) th fine scan period of the M fine scan periods, the switch circuit decouples the sensor cells in the (m1) th region of the column of the N columns, and the sensing circuit scans the (m1) -th region of the column of the N columns without scanning the untriggered zones of the MxN regions to
generate the cell signals of the sensor cells in the (m1) -th region of the column of the N columns (See at least Figure 19A of Shahparnia et al. illustrating two triggered zones (S1) and (S10, S14) having different M regions and wherein fine scanning of untriggered zones (S2-S8, S9, S12, S13, S15-S16) is not performed (1905) as discussed in paragraph [0108]); and in an (m2) -th fine scan period of the M fine scan periods, the switch circuit decouples the sensor cells in the (m2) – th region of the column of the N columns, and the sensing circuit scans the (m2) -th region of the column of the N columns without scanning the untriggered zones of the MxN regions to generate the cell signals of the sensor cells in the (m2) -th region of the column of the N columns (See Figures 2 and 19A of Shahparnia et al. illustrating decoupling (X) of the sensor cells (S9, S12, S13, S15-S16) in the untriggered zones of the column (S11) as discussed in paragraphs {0108-0109]).
In regard of claim 14, Shahparnia et al. further disclose the touch controller of claim 12, wherein: the triggered zone is an (m1) th region of an (n1) th column of the N columns, and the another triggered zone is an (m2) -th region of an (n2) -th column of the N columns, m1 and m2 being different integers ranging between 1 and M, n1 and n2 being different integers ranging between 1 and N; in an (m1) -th fine scan period of the M fine scan periods, the switch circuit decouples the sensor cells in the (m1) -th
region of the (n1) -th column of the N columns, and the sensing circuit scans the (m1) -th region of the (n1) - th column of the N columns without scanning the untriggered zones of the MxN regions to generate the cell signals of the sensor cells in the (m1) th region of the (n1) -th column of the N columns (See Figures 19A, 19C or 19D of Shahparnia et al. illustrating the touch surface with triggered zones with different number of M and N in them wherein only triggered zones are scanned (1905, 1925, 1935)); and in an (m2) th fine scan period of the M fine scan periods, the switch circuit decouples the sensor cells in the (m2) -th region of the (n2) -th column of the N columns, and the sensing circuit scans the (m2) th region of the (n2) th column of the N columns without scanning the untriggered zones of the MxN regions to generate the cell signals of the sensor cells in the (m2) -th region of the (n2) -th column of the N columns (See Figures 19A, 19C or 19D of Shahparnia et al. illustrating the touch surface with triggered zones with different number of M and N in them wherein only triggered zones are scanned (1905, 1925, 1935)).
In regard of claim 15, Shahparnia et al. further disclose the touch controller of claim 12, wherein: the triggered zone is an (m1) th region of an (n1) -th column of the N columns, and the another triggered zone is an (m1) th region of an (n2) th column of the N columns, m1 being an integer ranging between 1 and M, n1 and n2 being different
integers ranging between 1 and N (See Figure 19D of Shahparnia et al. illustrating the triggered zone in (S1, S5) region and another triggered zone in (S10, S14) region); and in an (m1) -th fine scan period of the M fine scan periods, the switch circuit decouples the sensor cells in the (m1) th region of the (n1) -th column of the N columns and the sensor cells in the (m1) -th region of the (n2) th column of the N columns, and the sensing circuit scans the (m1) - th region of the (n1) -th column of the N columns and the (m1) - th region of the (n2) th column of the N columns without scanning the untriggered zones of the MxN regions to generate the cell signals of the sensor cells in the (m1) -th region of the (n1) -th column of the N columns and the cell signals of the sensor cells in the (m1) -th region of the (n2) -th column of the N columns (See Figure 19D of Shahparnia et al. illustrating fine scan periods (1935) of the M fine scan period (16) wherein only triggered zones are scanned and the regions without triggering are avoided as discussed in paragraph [0111]).
In regard of claim 16, Shahparnia et al. further disclose a method for use in a touch controller to control a touch panel, the touch panel comprising an array of sensor cells divided into N columns, each column comprising M regions, the M regions in each
column being grouped in to P zones, N and M being integers exceeding 1, the M regions in each column being grouped into 1 zone, the touch controller comprising a switch circuit and a sensing circuit, the method comprising: in a coarse scan period, the switch circuit shorting the sensor cells in each column, and the sensing circuit scanning the N columns to generate N zone signals; and in M fine scan periods, the switch circuit decoupling the sensor cells in M regions of a triggered zone of the N columns, and the sensing circuit scanning a region of the triggered zone without scanning untriggered zones of the N columns to generate cell signals of the sensor cells in the M regions of the triggered zone (See rejection of claim 1 provided above).
In regard of claim 17, Shahparnia et al. further disclose the method of Claim 16, wherein the coarse scan period and the M fine scan periods form a touch frame period (See rejection of claim 2 provided above).
In regard of claim 19, Shahparnia et al. further disclose the method of Claim 16, wherein in the M fine scan periods, the switch circuit decoupling the sensor cells in M regions of the triggered zone of the N columns, and the sensing circuit scanning the M regions of the triggered zone without scanning the untriggered zones of the N columns to generate the cell signals of the sensor cells in the M regions of the triggered zone
comprises: in an m-th period of the M fine scan periods, the sensing circuit scanning an m-th region of the M regions of the triggered zone to generate the cell signals of the sensor cells in the m-th region of the M regions of the triggered zone, m being an
integer ranging between 1 and M (See rejection of claim 4 provided above).
In regard of claim 20, Shahparnia et al. further disclose the method of Claim 16, wherein the sensing circuit is coupled to a processor, and the method further comprises:
in the coarse scan period, the processor identifying the triggered zone and the untriggered zones of the N columns according to the N zone signals (See rejection of claim 5 provided above).
In regard of claim 21, Shahparnia et al. further disclose the method of Claim 20, further comprises: in the coarse scan period, the processor further identifying another triggered zone of the N columns according to the N zones signals; and in the M fine scan periods, the switch circuit further decoupling the sensor cells in M regions of the another triggered zone of the N columns and the sensing circuit further scanning the another triggered zone of the N columns to generate the cell signals of the sensor cells in the M regions of the another triggered zone (See rejection of claim 6).
In regard of claim 22, Shahparnia et al. further disclose the method of Claim 21, wherein: in the M fine scan periods, the switch circuit decoupling the sensor cells in the M regions of a triggered zone of the N columns, and the sensing circuit scanning the M regions of the triggered zone without scanning the untriggered zones of the N columns to generate the cell signals of the sensor cells in the M regions of the triggered zone comprises: in an m-th period of the M fine scan periods, the sensing circuit scanning an m-th region of the M regions of the triggered zone to generate the cell signals of the sensor cells in the m-th region of the M regions of the triggered zone, m being an integer ranging between 1 and M; and in the M fine scan periods, the switch circuit further decoupling the sensor cells in the M regions of the another triggered zone of the N columns and the sensing circuit further scanning the M regions of the another triggered zone of the N columns to generate the cell signals of the sensor cells in the M
regions of the another triggered zone comprises: in the m-th period of the M fine scan periods, the sensing circuit scanning an m-th region of the M regions of the another triggered zone to generate the cell signals of the sensor cells in the m-th region of the M regions of the another triggered zone (See rejection of claim 7 provided above).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's Supervisor, Benjamin C. Lee can be reached on (571) 272-2963. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 703-872-9306. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
/OLGA V MERKOULOVA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2629