DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 9 is objected to since the word weight is misspelled as weigh. Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the concave surface, concave surface (claim 8); first end portion, second end portion (claim 9); circumferential end portion (claim 10); circumferential end portion (claims 13-14) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tanaka et al. (herein Tanaka) (JP 2002317775, English translation previously appended).Regarding Claim 1:In Figures 4-5B and 8, Tanaka discloses a compressor (11) comprising: a casing (2); a compression mechanism unit (3) provided in the casing; and a motor (6) provided in the casing (2) to drive the compression mechanism unit (see paragraph [0003] of the translation), the motor (6) including a rotor (61) having a cylindrical shape (as mentioned in paragraph [0014], the rotor has a diameter indicating it is cylindrical in shape as also seen in Figure 4), and a balance weight (8) provided on an end surface (top end surface of rotor seen in Figure 8) of the rotor (61) in an axial direction (as seen in Figure 4) and having an annular outer peripheral surface (AS, see annotated Figure A below), and the balance weight (8) including an end surface (ES, see Figure A) facing the rotor (as seen in Figure 4), a recessed portion (83) provided on the end surface (as seen in Figure 4), a wall portion (WP, see Figure A) provided between the recessed portion (83) and the outer peripheral surface (as seen in Figure A), and a communication path (84 and 812) provided on the wall portion and allowing a space of the recessed portion (denoted as 83 in Figure 5A) and a space on an outer side of the wall portion (space outside WP) in a radial direction to communicate with each other through the communication path (oil enters the communication path 812 and is radially directed to the outside space as mentioned in paragraph [0043]), the communication path (84 and 812) being provided at an upper end (upper end surface 81, see paragraph [0043]) of the wall portion (as seen in Figure 5B, the communication path 812 is provided on the upper end 81 of WP).
Regarding Claim 2:In Figures 4-5B and 8, Tanaka discloses the compressor (11), wherein the communication path (84 and 812) includes a plurality of paths (84, 812) formed on the wall portion (WP) of the balance weight radially around a center axis of the rotor (as seen in Figure 5A and 5B, the wall portion has 3 holes 84 and also includes the outer portions of the grooves 812 forming communication paths).Regarding Claim 3:In Figures 4-5B and 8, Tanaka discloses the compressor (11), wherein the communication path includes a groove (812, see Figure 5B) provided at an upper end (81) of the wall portion (WP) of the balance weight (as seen in Figure A above, at least a portion of each groove 812 is formed in the wall).Regarding Claim 4:In Figures 4-5B and 8, Tanaka discloses the compressor (11), wherein the communication path (84 and 812) includes a through hole (84) provided in the wall portion (WP) of the balance weight (as seen in Figure A).Regarding Claim 5:In Figures 4-5B and 8, Tanaka discloses the compressor (11), wherein a drain hole (any one of the holes 84 can act as a drain hole) is provided in a bottom of the recessed portion of the balance weight (as seen in Figure 5A, 84 is at the bottom of the recessed portion 83).Note: The wall portion (WP) forms the boundary of the recessed portion as seen in Figure 5A and so the bottom of the wall portion is considered the bottom of the recessed portion as well. Regarding Claim 6:In Figure 8, Tanaka discloses a refrigeration apparatus (refrigeration cycle unit, see paragraph [0055]) including a refrigerant circuit (refrigerant circuit shown in Figure 8 and described in paragraph [0055]) using a compressor (11) according to claim 1 (as evident from Figures 4 and 8 and see rejection of claim 1 above).Regarding Claim 11:In Figures 4-5B and 8, Tanaka discloses the compressor (11), wherein the groove (812) includes a lower end (bottom of any groove 812) located above a bottom of the recessed portion of the balance weight (groove 812 is located in the upper surface 81 and so would be above the bottom of the recessed portion 83).Regarding Claim 12:In Figures 4-5B and 8, Tanaka discloses the compressor (11), wherein the drain hole (any one of the holes 84 can act as a drain hole) is adjacent to the communication path in the radial direction (the communication path could include all the surfaces of the recessed portion 83 since oil could flow across these surfaces and so this drain hole 84 would be connected to and adjacent to these surfaces).Regarding Claims 13-14:In Figures 4-5B and 8, Tanaka discloses the compressor (11), wherein the recessed portion has an arc shape in a plan view (as seen in Figure 5A, the recessed portion 83 has an outer arc shape in plan view), and the drain hole (any one of the holes 84 can act as a drain hole) is provided at a circumferential end portion of the bottom (as seen in Figure 5A, 84 is located at the circumferential end portion of the bottom of the recess).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka et al. (herein Tanaka) (JP 2002317775, English translation previously appended).
Regarding Claim 7:In Figures 4-5B and 8, Tanaka discloses the compressor (11), including a balance weight (63) disposed below the rotor (see Figure 8). Tanaka fails to disclose that this balance weight is the same as the balance weight mentioned in claim 1. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have rearranged the balance weights attached to the rotor such that that the first balance weight (8) was disposed below the rotor and the second balance weight (63) was disposed above the rotor, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.Regarding Claim 8:In Figures 4-5B and 8, Tanaka discloses the compressor (11), wherein the recessed portion (83) includes a radially outward surface (curved inner surface of recess 83). This radially curved surface forms only one concave surface and does not include a convex surface. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to change the shape of the radially outward surface to include a convex surface and a concave surface being adjacent to the convex surface in a circumferential direction, the concave surface being located radially outward relative to the convex surface, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the shape of a component. A change in form or shape [JSH1] is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, absent any showing of unexpected results. In re Dailey et al., 149 USPQ 47. A change in aesthetic (ornamental) design generally will not support patentability. In re Seid, 73 USPQ 431.Regarding Claim 9:Tanaka as modified discloses the compressor (11), wherein the communication path (84 and 812) includes a first end portion (84) connected with the concave surface (as seen in Figure 5A, 84 connects to the concave portion and this connection could be maintained even after the shape modification) and a second end portion (812) connected with the annular outer peripheral surface of the balance weight (as seen in Figure A above, 812 connects to AS).Regarding Claim 10:Tanaka as modified discloses the compressor (11), wherein the concave surface could be provided at a circumferential end portion (end of curved portion of recessed portion 83) of the radially outward surface (based on the change of shape modification discussed above).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/26/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Firstly, applicant argues that the grooves (812) do not appear to be communicating with the recess (83). However, this is not true. As one of ordinary skill knows, viscous oil entering the grooves (812) flows outwards (as mentioned in Tanaka’s paragraph [0043]) and would flow down the outer wall of the recess (82) towards the holes (84) such that the space within the recess and a space on an outer side of the wall portion (WP) would communicate with each other (i.e. oil from 84 flowing outwards would connect to the oil flowing from 812 at the outer surface of the wall portion). In other words, the communication path (84 and 812) includes portions that are located on the upper end (81) of the wall portion that allow for oil communication as claimed. The rejection of claim 1 has been amended to address these amendments but otherwise remains unchanged. Hence these arguments are not persuasive and this rejection is not being withdrawn.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DOMINICK L PLAKKOOTTAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746