DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the claims that are directed to the same invention so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claim 14 is provisionally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claim 10 of copending Application No. 18/963,504 (reference application). Every limitation of instant claim 14 is recited by claim 10 of copending ‘504. This is a provisional statutory double patenting rejection since the claims directed to the same invention have not in fact been patented.
Claims 13, 15-16, and 19-21 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 10-18 of copending Application No. 18/963,504 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Regarding instant claim 13, all of the limitations of claim 13 are recited by claim 10 of ‘504.
Regarding instant claim 15, claim 12 of ‘504 recites substantially identical subject matter.
Regarding instant claim 16, claim 13 of ‘504 recites substantially identical subject matter.
Regarding instant claim 19, claim 10 of ‘504 has the same structure as the claimed product and therefore can be considered a connecting arrangement.
Regarding instant claim 20, all of the limitations of claim 20 are recited by claim 14 of ‘504.
Regarding instant claim 21, claim 15 of ‘504 recites substantially identical subject matter.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 17-18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 10 of U.S. Patent No. 18/963,504, as applied to claim 13, further in view of Mueller et al. (WO 2024/94407).
Regarding claim 17, the limitations of claim 13 have been addressed above. The claims of ‘504 do not recite a wall thickness of the component body. Mueller teaches a press hardened steel sheet having a hole and an embossed region around the hole (¶ 4). The thickness of the steel sheet in Mueller is 0.6-3.0 mm (¶ 24). It would have been obvious at the effective time of filing for the claimed invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to use a steel sheet having the thickness disclosed in Mueller for the molded component of instant claim 17 because the prior art recognizes these steel sheets as suitable for press hardening.
Regarding claim 18, the limitations of claim 13 have been addressed above. The claims of ‘504 do not recite the component body consists of a boron-alloyed steel. Mueller teaches a press hardened steel sheet having a hole and an embossed region around the hole (¶ 4). The steel sheet is 22MnB5 (¶ 10). It would have been obvious at the effective time of filing for the claimed invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to use a steel sheet having the composition disclosed in Mueller for the molded component of instant claim 17 because the prior art recognizes these steel sheets as suitable for press hardening.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Objections
Claim 13 objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 13 recites “the component body consists of a hardenable steel” which should be “the composition of the component body consists of a hardenable steel”, as elements of the component body have been previously described: “component body with a mounting opening and a friction structure”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 13-19 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 13 recites: “the component body consists of a hardenable steel” and “the component body is press-hardened”. If the component body consists of a hardenable steel, it cannot be in a press-hardened state. These limitations are thus irreconcilable with each other. For purposes of examination, the claim will be interpreted as if it stated “the composition of the component body consists of a press-hardened steel”.
Claim 16 recites: “a hardness of 350 HV to 550 HV, in particular 400 HV to 500 HV”. A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). Claim 16 is considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claim 17 recites: “a wall thickness of between 1.0 mm and 3.5 mm in each case inclusive”. It is unclear what meaning “in each case inclusive” imparts to the claim, rendering the claim indefinite. For purposes of examination, the phrase has been ignored.
Claim 18 recites: “the component body consists of a boron-alloyed steel”. However, claim 13, from which claim 18 depends, recites “the component body consists of a hardenable steel”. Claim 18 thus improperly redefines the claimed “component body”. For purposes of examination, claim 18 will be interpreted as “the hardenable (or press-hardened) steel is a boron-alloyed steel”.
Dependent claims not addressed are indefinite by virtue of dependence from an indefinite claim.
Claim 24 recites: “to a temperature T above 750°C, in particular to a temperature above the Ac3 temperature”. A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). Claim 24 is considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 13-14, 17, 19-22 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Oelkers et al. (DE 10 2013 004034).
Regarding claims 13-14, Oelkers discloses a press hardened sheet metal material having a recess (corresponding to the claimed mounting opening) (¶ 1). A plate-shaped embossing of the sheet metal material surrounds the recess (corresponding to the claimed friction structure) (¶ 20). The sheet metal is a steel (see ¶ 4), and undergoes hot forming and press hardening to form the recess and embossing (¶ 25).
Regarding claim 17, Oelkers teaches a thickness of the sheet metal is 1-3 mm (¶ 16).
Regarding claim 19, as the press hardened sheet metal material of Oelkers has a recess which corresponds to the claimed mounting opening, it constitutes a connection arrangement.
Regarding claims 20-21, Oelkers discloses a press hardened sheet metal material having a recess (corresponding to the claimed mounting opening) (¶ 1). A plate-shaped embossing of the sheet metal material surrounds the recess (corresponding to the claimed friction structure) (¶ 20). The sheet metal is a steel (see ¶ 4), and is produced by hot forming and press hardening to form the recess and embossing (¶ 25). The embossing takes place in the hot molding tool (¶ 25).
Regarding claim 22, the recess is punched out during hot forming (¶ 25).
Regarding claim 24, Oelkers teaches heating the sheet metal to a temperature of more than 900°C for hot molding (¶ 10).
Claims 13-15, 18-21 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Mueller et al. (WO 2024/94407).
Regarding claims 13-15 and 18, Mueller teaches a press hardened sheet metal (¶ 3). The sheet metal includes a pre-made hole at a fastening point for a fastener (¶ 4) (corresponding to the claimed mounting opening). Anti-rotation features are provided concentrically around the hole and can be considered waves since they are recessed (¶ 31) (corresponding to the claimed friction structure). These features are embossed (¶ 15). Mueller teaches the sheet metal is hot formed (¶ 13) and press-hardened (¶ 1). The sheet metal is 22MnB5 steel (¶ 10).
Regarding claim 19, the press hardened sheet metal connects and therefore forms a connecting arrangement (¶ 32).
Regarding claims 20-21, Mueller teaches making a press hardened sheet metal part by heating a sheet metal blank (¶ 12), stamping locking recesses (corresponding to the friction structure), hot forming, and press hardening (¶ 13), and making a hole (corresponding to the mounting opening) in the sheet metal part such that the recesses are next to the hole (¶ 14). Mueller teaches the stamping of the locking recesses can be performed simultaneously with the hot forming (¶ 26). The sheet metal is a steel (¶ 10).
Regarding claim 24, Mueller teaches the blank is heated to an austenitizing temperature (¶ 12). For 22MnB5, this temperature is above 750°C.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 18 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oelkers et al. (DE 10 2013 004034), as applied to claims 13 and 20, further in view of Mueller et al. (WO 2024/94407).
Regarding claim 18, the limitations of claim 1 have been addressed above. Oelkers does not expressly teach the sheet material is a boron-alloyed steel. Mueller teaches 22MnB5 is known press-hardenable steel (¶ 10). It would have been obvious at the effective time of filing for the claimed invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to use a boron-alloyed steel such as 22MnB5, as taught by Mueller, for the press-hardened sheet material of Oelkers because the prior art recognizes this type of steel as suitable for the process disclosed in Oelkers.
Regarding claim 23, the limitations of claim 20 have been addressed above. Oelkers teaches performing embossing and then punch cutting (¶ 25), and does not teach these steps are performed simultaneously. Mueller teaches a process of press hardening a steel sheet, punching a hole, and embossing a pattern around the hole (¶ 51). Mueller teaches these steps can be performed in different sequence, or simultaneously (¶ 51). It would have been obvious at the effective time of filing for the claimed invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to perform the embossing and punch cutting steps simultaneously, as suggested by Mueller, because a person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize combining steps together reduces processing time.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mueller et al. (WO 2024/94407), as applied to claim 13, as evidenced by Okayasu et al. (“Influence of microstructure on the mechanical properties and hydrogen embrittlement characteristics of 1800 MPa grade hot-stamped 22MnB5 steel”).
Regarding claim 16, the limitations of claim 13 have been addressed above. Mueller does not expressly disclose a hardness of the locking recesses. However, the press hardened steel of Mueller is 22MnB5 (¶ 10) that is austenitized prior to press hardening (¶ 12). Okayasu evidences that press hardened 22MnB5 steel that undergoes austenitization achieves a hardness of about 450-500 HV (p. 5065). Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would expect the locking recesses of Mueller to have a hardness of about 450-500 HV, absent objective evidence to the contrary. See MPEP 2112.
Claims 17 and 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mueller et al. (WO 2024/94407), as applied to claims 13 and 20.
Regarding claim 17, the limitations of claim 13 have been addressed above. Mueller teaches the thickness of the sheet metal is 0.6-3.0 mm (¶ 24). This overlaps the claimed range, creating a prima facie case of obviousness. See MPEP 2144.05 I.
Regarding claims 22-23, the limitations of claim 20 have been addressed above. Mueller does not expressly teach producing the mounting opening during hot molding, or the friction structure in parallel with the mounting opening. However, Mueller teaches the process steps for making the press hardened sheet metal can be combined or performed simultaneously (¶ 51). Accordingly, it would have been obvious at the effective time of invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to perform any combination of the process steps in Mueller at the same time in accordance with the suggestions of the prior art, because a person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize that combining steps together reduces processing time.
Conclusion
/XIAOBEI WANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1784