DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-20 are currently pending in the present application, with claims 1 and 11 being independent.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/07/2025 have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“the control module determines…adjusts…sets…the control module drives…”” in claim 11.
“the control module receives…and corrects…” in claim 12.
“the control module downloads…and updates… the control module determines…the control module updates…the control module corrects…and adjusts…” in claim 14.
“the control module sets…” in claim 15.
“the control module sets…” in claim 16.
“the control module multiplies…” in claim 17.
“the control module allows…” in claim 18.
“the control module drives…and the control module drives…” in claim 19.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-4, 7, 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 3, claim 3 recites “setting each row…that overlaps with the first sub-light-emitting region and the last sub-light-emitting region…as the plurality of first sub-light-emitting regions”. It is unclear whether the entire row, only the first and last regions, or the intervening regions are designated as the first sub-light-emitting region, and whether the row itself or individual regions within the row must overlap the image boundary.
Additionally, claim 3 recites the limitation "last sub-light-emitting regions" in line 18. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
The examiner respectfully requests the applicant to clarify the scope of the claimed invention.
Claim 15 recites substantially similar subject matter as to that of claim 3 and is rejected using substantially similar rationale as to that which was set forth with respect to claim 3.
Regarding claim 4, claim 4 recites “continuously overlaps” does not clearly define the required spatial relationship between the rows of sub-light-emitting regions and the sections of the image boundary. Therefore, it is unclear whether continuity is measured along the row, along the boundary, between adjacent regions, or what is intended by continuously overlaps. Further, claim 4 recites “a plurality of sections of the image boundary”, but does not clearly define how the boundary is divided into “sections,” what defines the beginning and end of each section, or whether the sections must be separate, connected, curved, or associated with different rows.
Additionally, claim 4 recites the limitation "last sub-light-emitting regions" in line 23. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
The examiner respectfully requests the applicant to clarify the scope of the claimed invention.
Claim 16 recites substantially similar subject matter as to that of claim 4 and is rejected using substantially similar rationale as to that which was set forth with respect to claim 4.
Regarding claim 7, claim 7 recites “updating the projection surface distortion data” and subsequently recites” updating the projection surface distortion data when the plurality of first sub-light-emitting regions need to be adjusted”. It is unclear whether the projection surface distortion data is always updated, conditionally updated, or updated in two separate operations. Further, the claim does not clearly explain how determining that the first sub-light-emitting regions require adjustment results in updating projection-surface distortion data rather than updating the selected light-emitting regions or the light-emitting data. Accordingly, the sequence and scope of the claimed updating operations are unclear.
The examiner respectfully requests the applicant to clarify the scope of the claimed invention.
Claim 14 recites substantially similar subject matter as to that of claim 7 and is rejected using substantially similar rationale as to that which was set forth with respect to claim 7.
Claims 3-4, 7, 14-16 will be examined as best understood by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 6, 8, 11-13, and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Akiba (US 20230111544).
Regarding claim 1, Akiba discloses a display method for a head-up display (Fig. 1, Fig. 2; head-up display device 50), comprising:
receiving an original image (Fig. 2 and Par. 0033; input image);
correcting an image boundary of the original image based on projection surface distortion data (Par. 0033-0035; distortion correction circuit 110 perform distortion correction on input image data…the distortion correction is image correction for the HUD display with no or reduced distortion by performing, on an image, image distortion reverse to image distortion when the image displayed on the display panel 20 is projected. The image distortion due to projection includes image distortion due to a curved surface of a screen, image distortion due to a HUD optical system, or both… distortion correction circuit 110 includes a coordinate counter 112 that counts pixel coordinates GZB in the output image data IMB…distortion correction circuit 110 corresponds to a reverse warp engine, and the coordinate counter 112 is used for reverse warp…) to generate a corrected image (Fig. 6 and Par. 0033; outputs the image data IMB as image data after correction);
determining a plurality of first sub-light-emitting regions corresponding to an image boundary of the corrected image (Fig. 4, 8-9 and Par. 0039-0041; display area Ara on the display panel 20 corresponding to a light emitting element Lsa…an image displayed in the display area is projected by the light emitted from the light emitting element corresponding to the display area…image analysis circuit 120 determines a display area to which the pixel coordinates GZB output by the coordinate counter 112 belong, and determines whether the light emitting element corresponding to the display area…);
adjusting light emitting data based on the image boundary of the corrected image to increase brightness values corresponding to the plurality of first sub-light-emitting regions in the light emitting data (Par. 0038; The image analysis circuit 120 performs image analysis in parallel with the distortion correction to output a control signal CTL for independently controlling the light emitting elements LS of the backlight device 10 to be turned on or turned off. Specifically, the image analysis circuit 120 outputs the control signal CTL based on the pixel coordinates GZB output by the coordinate counter 112 and pixel data of the pixel coordinates GZB in the output image data IMB output by the distortion correction circuit 110), and setting brightness values corresponding to a plurality of second sub-light-emitting regions of a non-display region in the light emitting data as 0 (Fig. 5 and Par. 0041-0042; the light emitting element corresponding to the display area is to be turned off based on whether the pixel data of the pixel coordinates GZB is transparent in the HUD display…the light emitting element LSb corresponding to the display area Arb not overlapping with the display objects 2 is determined to be turned off. When the number of pieces of pixel data that is not transparent in the display area is equal to or less than a predetermined number, the image analysis circuit 120 may turn off the light emitting element corresponding to the display area. Par. 0048-0050; the light emitting element LS corresponding to the display area that becomes transparent when projected by the HUD is turned off…); and
driving a display module based on the corrected image and an adjusted light emitting data (Fig. 2 and Par. 0036; The output circuit 130 transmits the output image data IMB to the display device 30…Par. 0048; The distortion correction circuit 110 performs distortion correction on the input image data IMA and outputs the output image data IMB after the distortion correction. The image analysis circuit 120 analyzes the image data to be analyzed, which is the input image data IMA or the output image data IMB, and, based on an analysis result…).
Regarding claim 2, Akiba discloses the display method according to claim 1, and further discloses wherein a shape of the image boundary of the original image is different from a shape of the image boundary of the corrected image (Fig. 7 and Par. 0033-0035; The coordinate conversion is defined by warp parameters. The warp parameters is a table in which the pixel coordinates and the reference coordinates are associated with each other, a table indicating movement amounts between the pixel coordinates and the reference coordinates, or coefficients of polynomials in which the pixel coordinates and the reference coordinates are associated with each other. Examiner's note: coordinate conversion changes the spatial positions of image pixels to generate corrected output image data).
Regarding claim 6, Akiba discloses the display method according to claim 1, and further discloses wherein steps of setting the brightness values of the plurality of second sub-light-emitting regions corresponding to the non-display region other than a plurality of sub-light-emitting regions in the light emitting data as 0 comprise:
allowing light emitting units of the plurality of second sub-light-emitting regions to emit no light (Fig. 5 and Par. 0041-0042; the light emitting element corresponding to the display area is to be turned off based on whether the pixel data of the pixel coordinates GZB is transparent in the HUD display…the light emitting element LSb corresponding to the display area Arb not overlapping with the display objects 2 is determined to be turned off. When the number of pieces of pixel data that is not transparent in the display area is equal to or less than a predetermined number, the image analysis circuit 120 may turn off the light emitting element corresponding to the display area. Par. 0048-0050; the light emitting element LS corresponding to the display area that becomes transparent when projected by the HUD is turned off…).
Regarding claim 8, Akiba discloses the display method according to claim 1, and further discloses wherein steps of driving the display module comprise:
driving a display panel of the display module based on the corrected image (Par. 0028-0030; The display device 30 includes a backlight device 10 and a display panel 20. FIG. 3 is a planar view and a side view of the backlight device 10 and the display panel 20);
and driving a light emitting module of the display module based on the adjusted light emitting data (Par. 0036-0038; The output circuit 130 transmits the output image data IMB to the display device 30…The image analysis circuit 120 performs image analysis in parallel with the distortion correction to output a control signal CTL for independently controlling the light emitting elements LS of the backlight device 10…).
Regarding claim 11, Akiba discloses A head-up display (Fig. 1, Fig. 2; head-up display device 50), comprising:
a display module (Par. 0028; The display device 30 includes a backlight device 10 and a display panel 20); and
a control module, coupled to the display module (Par. 0032; The circuit device 100 shown in FIG. 2 includes a distortion correction circuit 110, an image analysis circuit 120, and an output circuit 130),
wherein the control module determines a plurality of first sub-light-emitting regions corresponding to an image boundary of a corrected image (Fig. 4, 8-9 and Par. 0039-0041; display area Ara on the display panel 20 corresponding to a light emitting element Lsa…an image displayed in the display area is projected by the light emitted from the light emitting element corresponding to the display area…image analysis circuit 120 determines a display area to which the pixel coordinates GZB output by the coordinate counter 112 belong, and determines whether the light emitting element corresponding to the display area…), and adjusts light emitting data based on the image boundary of the corrected image to increase brightness values corresponding to the plurality of first sub-light-emitting regions in the light emitting data (Par. 0038; The image analysis circuit 120 performs image analysis in parallel with the distortion correction to output a control signal CTL for independently controlling the light emitting elements LS of the backlight device 10 to be turned on or turned off. Specifically, the image analysis circuit 120 outputs the control signal CTL based on the pixel coordinates GZB output by the coordinate counter 112 and pixel data of the pixel coordinates GZB in the output image data IMB output by the distortion correction circuit 110), and sets brightness values corresponding to a plurality of second sub-light-emitting regions of a non-display region in the light emitting data as 0 (Fig. 5 and Par. 0041-0042; the light emitting element corresponding to the display area is to be turned off based on whether the pixel data of the pixel coordinates GZB is transparent in the HUD display…the light emitting element LSb corresponding to the display area Arb not overlapping with the display objects 2 is determined to be turned off. When the number of pieces of pixel data that is not transparent in the display area is equal to or less than a predetermined number, the image analysis circuit 120 may turn off the light emitting element corresponding to the display area. Par. 0048-0050; the light emitting element LS corresponding to the display area that becomes transparent when projected by the HUD is turned off…),
wherein the control module drives the display module based on the corrected image and an adjusted light emitting data (Fig. 2 and Par. 0036; The output circuit 130 transmits the output image data IMB to the display device 30…Par. 0048; The distortion correction circuit 110 performs distortion correction on the input image data IMA and outputs the output image data IMB after the distortion correction. The image analysis circuit 120 analyzes the image data to be analyzed, which is the input image data IMA or the output image data IMB, and, based on an analysis result…).
Regarding claim 12, Akiba discloses the head-up display according to claim 11, and further discloses wherein the control module receives an original image (Fig. 2 and Par. 0033; input image) and corrects an image boundary of the original image based on projection surface distortion data (Par. 0033-0035; distortion correction circuit 110 perform distortion correction on input image data…the distortion correction is image correction for the HUD display with no or reduced distortion by performing, on an image, image distortion reverse to image distortion when the image displayed on the display panel 20 is projected. The image distortion due to projection includes image distortion due to a curved surface of a screen, image distortion due to a HUD optical system, or both… distortion correction circuit 110 includes a coordinate counter 112 that counts pixel coordinates GZB in the output image data IMB…distortion correction circuit 110 corresponds to a reverse warp engine, and the coordinate counter 112 is used for reverse warp…) to generate the corrected image (Fig. 6 and Par. 0033; outputs the image data IMB as image data after correction).
Regarding claim 13, Akiba discloses the head-up display according to claim 12, and further discloses wherein a shape of the image boundary of the original image is different from a shape of the image boundary of the corrected image (Fig. 7 and Par. 0033-0035; The coordinate conversion is defined by warp parameters. The warp parameters is a table in which the pixel coordinates and the reference coordinates are associated with each other, a table indicating movement amounts between the pixel coordinates and the reference coordinates, or coefficients of polynomials in which the pixel coordinates and the reference coordinates are associated with each other. Examiner's note: coordinate conversion changes the spatial positions of image pixels to generate corrected output image data).
Regarding claim 18, Akiba discloses the head-up display according to claim 11, and further discloses wherein the control module allows light emitting units of the plurality of second sub-light-emitting regions to emit no light (Fig. 5 and Par. 0041-0042; the light emitting element corresponding to the display area is to be turned off based on whether the pixel data of the pixel coordinates GZB is transparent in the HUD display…the light emitting element LSb corresponding to the display area Arb not overlapping with the display objects 2 is determined to be turned off. When the number of pieces of pixel data that is not transparent in the display area is equal to or less than a predetermined number, the image analysis circuit 120 may turn off the light emitting element corresponding to the display area. Par. 0048-0050; the light emitting element LS corresponding to the display area that becomes transparent when projected by the HUD is turned off…).
Regarding claim 19, Akiba discloses the head-up display according to claim 11, and further discloses wherein the control module drives a display panel of the display module based on the corrected image (Par. 0028-0030; The display device 30 includes a backlight device 10 and a display panel 20. FIG. 3 is a planar view and a side view of the backlight device 10 and the display panel 20), and the control module drives a light emitting module of the display module based on the adjusted light emitting data (Par. 0036-0038; The output circuit 130 transmits the output image data IMB to the display device 30…The image analysis circuit 120 performs image analysis in parallel with the distortion correction to output a control signal CTL for independently controlling the light emitting elements LS of the backlight device 10…).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-4, and 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akiba (US 20230111544), in view of Harrington (US 5043711).
Regarding claim 3, Akiba discloses the display method according to claim 1, and further discloses the plurality of sub-light-emitting regions (Fig. 4, 8-9 and Par. 0039-0041; display area Ara on the display panel 20 corresponding to a light emitting element Lsa…an image displayed in the display area is projected by the light emitted from the light emitting element corresponding to the display area…image analysis circuit 120 determines a display area to which the pixel coordinates GZB output by the coordinate counter 112 belong, and determines whether the light emitting element corresponding to the display area…). However, Akiba does not disclose wherein steps of determining the plurality of first sub-light-emitting regions corresponding to the image boundary of the corrected image comprise: setting each row of a plurality of sub-light-emitting regions that overlaps with the first sub-light-emitting region and the last sub-light-emitting region of the image boundary of the corrected image as the plurality of first sub-light-emitting regions
Harrington discloses wherein steps of determining the plurality of
setting each row of a plurality of (Fig. 2a-2c, 3a-3c and Column 1, lines 39-68; If the raster is scanned from left to right, a polygon can be constructed by drawing its left and right boundaries (the leftmost and rightmost points filled regions on each scan line)…handling multiple overlapping polygons…for each scan line the intersections with the edges are calculated and sorted into their order within the scan. These points are then used as the boundary for the interior pixels for that scan line. Column 5, lines 20-29; For each scan line…step through the pixels on the scan line…if the winding number is positive, display the pixel as shaded…).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to apply Harrington’s scan-line boundary determination technique to Akiba’s circuit device. Akiba analyzes a distortion-corrected image and maps image areas to corresponding light-emitting elements arranged in rows and columns (Akiba Par. 0030-0033), while Harrington discloses identifying, for each scan line, the leftmost and rightmost boundary points, and using those points to define the interior pixels of that scan line. Therefore, the motivation to combine lies in the advantage of using a known raster boundary-filling technique to provide an efficient way to determine, for each row, the first and last sub-light-emitting regions, accurately align the illuminated backlight area with the corrected displayed image, reduce unnecessary illumination outside the intended image boundary, and improve image contrast.
Regarding claim 4, Akiba discloses the display method according to claim 1, and further discloses the plurality of sub-light-emitting regions (Fig. 4, 8-9 and Par. 0039-0041; display area Ara on the display panel 20 corresponding to a light emitting element Lsa…an image displayed in the display area is projected by the light emitted from the light emitting element corresponding to the display area…image analysis circuit 120 determines a display area to which the pixel coordinates GZB output by the coordinate counter 112 belong, and determines whether the light emitting element corresponding to the display area…). However, Akiba does not disclose wherein steps of determining the plurality of first sub-light-emitting regions corresponding to the image boundary of the corrected image comprise:
setting each row of a plurality of sub-light-emitting regions that continuously overlaps with each of the first sub-light-emitting regions and each of the last sub-light-emitting regions of a plurality of sections of the image boundary of the corrected image as the plurality of first sub-light-emitting regions.
Harrington discloses wherein steps of determining the plurality of first
setting each row of a plurality of (Fig. 3b, 4a-b, 5 and Column 1, lines 66-68 and Column 2, lines 1-4; for each scan line the intersections with the edges are calculated and sorted into their order within the scan. These points are then used as the boundary for the interior pixels for that scan line…a pixel on the scan line is considered interior if an odd number of boundary points are crossed to reach it as shown in FIG. 3. Column 3, lines 1-4; if polygons are defined by positive winding numbers, the boundaries for several of them can be collected and their interiors filled in a single sweep through the scan lines…).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to apply Harrington’s multiple-intersection scan line processing to the circuit device of Akiba. Corrected HUD images may have irregular or overlapping display sections within the same row, therefore Harrington’s known technique of sorting multiple boundary intersections and identifying the continuous interior spans between corresponding intersections would allow Akiba’s backlight controller to illuminate each its intended displayed section. Therefore, the motivation to combine lies in the advantage of more accurately setting the backlight pattern to the corrected image, reduce unnecessary illumination outside the intended image boundary, improved contrast and transparency of HUD, and reduce power consumption on light-emitting elements that do not contribute to the displayed content.
Regarding claim 15, claim 15 has similar limitations as of claim 3, except it is a system claim (Fig. 1-2) therefore it is rejected under the same rationale as claim 3.
Regarding claim 16, claim 16 has similar limitations as of claim 4, except it is a system claim (Fig. 1-2) therefore it is rejected under the same rationale as claim 4.
Claim(s) 5 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akiba (US 20230111544), in view of Li et al. (US 20170053604), hereinafter referred to as “Li”.
Regarding claim 5, Akiba discloses the display method according to claim 1, but does not disclose wherein steps of increasing the brightness values corresponding to the plurality of first sub-light-emitting regions in the light emitting data comprise:
multiplying the brightness values corresponding to the plurality of first sub-light-emitting regions by a preset value to generate adjusted brightness values, wherein the preset value is greater than 1.
Li discloses wherein steps of increasing the brightness values corresponding to the plurality of first sub-light-emitting regions in the light emitting data comprise:
multiplying the brightness values corresponding to the plurality of first sub-light-emitting regions by a preset value to generate adjusted brightness values,
wherein the preset value is greater than 1 (Par. 0045-0047; …the electronic device may obtain the corrected backlight brightness level by adding to the reference backlight brightness level with a preset value, or by multiplying the reference backlight brightness level by a preset ratio. For example, the electronic device may set the preset ratio to a value in a range of, e.g., 1.05 to 1.1…).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate Li’s preset-ratio brightness adjustment into Akiba’s independently controlled backlight regions. Multiplying an existing brightness value by a preset factor provides a simple and conventional way to increase the light output of selected regions, and therefore, the modification would yield predictable results of improved visibility and contrast of the displayed HUD information while also allowing consistently controlled brightness enhancement without changing Akiba’s underlying backlight architecture and display.
Regarding claim 17, claim 17 has similar limitations as of claim 5, except it is a system claim (Fig. 1-2) therefore it is rejected under the same rationale as claim 5.
Claim(s) 7 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akiba (US 20230111544), in view of Takahashi et al. (US 2017127032 A1), hereinafter referred to as “Takahashi”.
Regarding claim 7, Akiba discloses the display method according to claim 1, and further discloses determining whether the plurality of first sub-light-emitting regions need to be adjusted
(Par. 0038; The image analysis circuit 120 performs image analysis in parallel with the distortion correction to output a control signal CTL for independently controlling the light emitting elements LS of the backlight device 10 to be turned on or turned off. Specifically, the image analysis circuit 120 outputs the control signal CTL based on the pixel coordinates GZB output by the coordinate counter 112 and pixel data of the pixel coordinates GZB in the output image data IMB output by the distortion correction circuit 110);
(Par. 0038; The image analysis circuit 120 performs image analysis in parallel with the distortion correction to output a control signal CTL for independently controlling the light emitting elements LS of the backlight device 10 to be turned on or turned off. Specifically, the image analysis circuit 120 outputs the control signal CTL based on the pixel coordinates GZB output by the coordinate counter 112 and pixel data of the pixel coordinates GZB in the output image data IMB output by the distortion correction circuit 110); and
correcting the original image (Fig. 6 and Para. 0033; The distortion correction circuit 110 performs distortion correction on input image data IMA by using coordinate conversion between pixel coordinates in the input image data IMA and pixel coordinates in output image data IMB, and outputs the output image data IMB as image data after correction) and adjusting the light emitting data when the plurality of first sub-light-emitting regions do not need to be adjusted (Par. 0038; The image analysis circuit 120 performs image analysis in parallel with the distortion correction to output a control signal CTL for independently controlling the light emitting elements LS of the backlight device 10 to be turned on or turned off. Specifically, the image analysis circuit 120 outputs the control signal CTL based on the pixel coordinates GZB output by the coordinate counter 112 and pixel data of the pixel coordinates GZB in the output image data IMB output by the distortion correction circuit 110)
Takahashi discloses downloading the projection surface distortion data (Fig. 1, 12 and Par. 0089-0092; providing the contents data can be arbitrarily set and may be streaming delivery or downloading…the contents data include one or more image data, audio data, metadata including control information, and the like…the group information management server 106 provides the requested group information out of the managed group information to the client as a requester. Par. 0150-0151; the group information management server 106 provides past group information…to the projection imaging apparatuses 101-1 to 101-4…correction information held by the apparatuses (apparatus and correction information), information indicative of the type of the contents projected by the group (content type), information indicative of the layout of the projection screen for the projection of the contents (projection screen layout), information on the projection plane (screen or the like) onto which the contents are projected (projection plane));
updating the projection surface distortion data (Fig. 10, 12 and Par. 0130; The correction information updating unit 224 performs a process for updating the correction information. Par. 0156; the correction information updating units 224 of the projection imaging apparatuses 101 update the correction information such that the projection imaging apparatuses 101 can project properly projection images in cooperation on the basis of the group information, the projection positions, the correction information…);
updating the projection surface distortion data when the (Fig. 10, 12 and Par. 0130; The correction information updating unit 224 performs a process for updating the correction information. Par. 0156; the correction information updating units 224 of the projection imaging apparatuses 101 update the correction information such that the projection imaging apparatuses 101 can project properly projection images in cooperation on the basis of the group information, the projection positions, the correction information…).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate Takahashi’s network-based download and update of projection-surface correction information into Akiba’s distortion correction and backlight control system. Doing so would allow the corrected image and its corresponding light-emitting regions to remain aligned when the projection-surface geometry, position, or condition changes. The combination yields predictable results of improved geometric correction accuracy, maintain proper illumination of intended image regions, and allow stored correction information to be reused/updated to reduce recalibration for every projection.
Regarding claim 14, claim 14 has similar limitations as of claim 7, except it is a system claim (Fig. 1-2) therefore it is rejected under the same rationale as claim 7.
Claim(s) 9 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akiba (US 20230111544), in view of Thomson (US 20140204083).
Regarding claim 9, Akiba discloses the display method according to claim 1, but does not disclose sensing a projection surface through a sensor to generate the projection surface distortion data.
In the same art of geometric correction, Thomson discloses sensing a projection surface through a sensor to generate the projection surface distortion data (Par. 0048-0049; The distortion modeling data 621 may comprise image data obtained from the projection surface 603…The distortion modeling module 122 may configure the pattern imaging module 612 to project pattern image data onto the projection surface 603 (by use of the pattern projection module 614) and to acquire distortion modeling data 621 therefrom (e.g., distorted pattern image data captured by the pattern image sensor 616)).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate Thomson’s sensor-based projection surface measurement into Akiba’s distortion correction system. Doing so provides measured distortion information specific to the actual surface being used, rather than relying solely on predetermined correction parameters, yielding predictable results of using a known sensor-based calibration technique to improve accuracy in image correction that accounts for surface curvature, tracking changes in optical paths, and improving alignment of the corrected HUD image with the intended display region.
Regarding claim 20, Akiba discloses the head-up display according to claim 11, but does not disclose a sensor, coupled to the control module and sensing a projection surface to generate the projection surface distortion data.
In the same art of geometric correction, Thomson discloses a sensor, coupled to the control module and sensing a projection surface to generate the projection surface distortion data (Par. 0049-0051; The distortion modeling module 122 may configure the pattern imaging module 612 to project pattern image data onto the projection surface 603 (by use of the pattern projection module 614) and to acquire distortion modeling data 621 therefrom (e.g., distorted pattern image data captured by the pattern image sensor 616)…).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate Thomson’s sensor-based projection surface measurement and distortion modeling module into Akiba’s control circuitry. Doing so would allow the sensor-generated distortion data to determine correction parameters from the actual projection surface, rather than relying solely on predetermined correction parameters, yielding predictable results of using a known sensor-based calibration technique to improve accuracy and reliable geometric correction of the HUD image, tracking changes in optical paths, and improving alignment of the corrected HUD image with the intended display region.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akiba (US 20230111544), in view of Zhang et al. (US 20210096362), hereinafter referred to as “Zhang”.
Regarding claim 10, Akiba discloses the display method according to claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the head-up display comprises a self-light-emitting display panel.
In the same art of head-up display systems, Zhang discloses wherein the head-up display comprises a self-light-emitting display panel (Par. 0094; for active type (self-luminous type) light emitting display panels such as an OLED (organic light emitting diode display panel), a QLED (quantum dot light emitting diode display panel), a Mini LED (submillimeter light emitting diode), a Micro LED (micro light emitting diode) or the like, a region, which contains semantics (such as texts, icons, charts, etc.), of an input image may be selected as the information zone at least, for controlling brightness of pixels in the information zone and non-information zone when the display module performs display function).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to implement Akiba’s HUD using Zhang’s self-light-emitting display panel. Doing so allows self-light-emitting panels to provide pixel-level light generation without requiring a separate backlight assembly. Therefore, the substitution provides a thinner and simpler display structure, yielding predictable results in improving local brightness and contrast control, and reduce unwanted light emission from non-display regions
Conclusion
/JENNY N TRAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2615 /ALICIA M HARRINGTON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2615