DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “30” has been used to designate both a balance cavity and a different structure as is illustrated in Figure 7. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 8-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Peng (Pub. No. US 2022/0090698).
Regarding claim 1, Peng discloses a combined valve core (Figs. 1-8) with a changeable function (paragraph 38), comprising a valve core body (100), wherein the valve core body (100) comprises an outer housing (10), a base (30), a first operating portion (assembly of 70) and a second operating portion (assembly of 20); wherein the base (30) is detachably provided at a bottom of the outer housing (10); a first water inlet (33) for receiving hot water, a second water inlet (34) for receiving cold water, and a water outlet (32) are arranged on the base (30); and a water flow channel (Fig. 5) communicating with the first water inlet (33), the second water inlet (34) and the water outlet (32) is formed in the valve core body (100); and the first operating portion (assembly of 70) is configured to switch the water flow channel (Fig. 5) in a first switching manner (paragraph 38); and the second operating portion (assembly of 20) is configured to adjust, in a second switching manner (paragraph 38), a flow rate of the hot water and a flow rate of the cold water converged (paragraph 38) into the water flow channel (Fig. 5) to adjust a temperature of a water flow leaving from the water outlet (32).
Regarding claim 2, Peng discloses the combined valve core (Figs. 1-8) with the changeable function, wherein the first operating portion (assembly of 70) and the second operating portion (assembly of 20) are coaxial (Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 3, Peng discloses the combined valve core (Figs. 1-8) with the changeable function, wherein the first switching manner is pressing (paragraph 38); and the second switching manner is rotating (paragraph 38).
Regarding claim 4, Peng discloses the combined valve core (Figs. 1-8) with the changeable function, wherein an output end (743) of the first operating portion (assembly of 70) is located in (Fig. 5) the outer housing (10) and configured to switch the water flow channel (Figs. 5-6), and an input end (72) of the first operating portion (assembly of 70) extends out (Fig. 5) of the outer housing (10); and an output end (50) of the second operating portion (assembly of 20) is located in (Fig. 5) the outer housing (10) and configured to adjust the temperature of the water flow (paragraph 38), and an input end (22) of the second operating portion extends out (paragraph 37) of the outer housing (10).
Regarding claim 8, Peng discloses a water outlet device (Figs. 1-8, valve core 100 is considered “a water outlet device”), comprising the combined valve core (100) with the changeable function (paragraph 38).
Regarding claim 9, Peng discloses the water outlet device (Figs. 1-8), wherein in the combined valve core (100) with the changeable function, the first operating portion (assembly of 70) and the second operating portion (assembly of 20) are coaxial (Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 10, Peng discloses the water outlet device (Figs. 1-8), wherein in the combined valve core (100) with the changeable function, the first switching manner is pressing (paragraph 38); and the second switching manner is rotating (paragraph 38).
Regarding claim 11, Peng discloses the water outlet device (Figs. 1-8), wherein in the combined valve core (100) with the changeable function, an output end (743) of the first operating portion (assembly of 70) is located in (Fig. 5) the outer housing (10) and configured to switch the water flow channel (paragraph 38), and an input end (72) of the first operating portion (assembly of 70) extends out (Fig. 5) of the outer housing (10); and an output end (50) of the second operating portion (assembly of 20) is located in (Fig. 5) the outer housing (10) and configured to adjust the temperature of the water flow (paragraph 38), and an input end (22) of the second operating portion (assembly of 20) extends out (paragraph 37) of the outer housing (10).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-7 and 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peng (Pub. No. US 2022/0090698) in view of Chang (Pub. No. US 2012/0152390).
Regarding claims 5 and 12, Peng discloses the essential features of the claimed invention but lacks disclosure further comprising a pressure balancing module, wherein a connecting cavity communicating with the first water inlet and the second water inlet is further provided in the base; and the pressure balancing module is provided in the connecting cavity.
Chang teaches a valve core (10) comprising a housing (11) having a connecting cavity (13) for receiving a pressure balancing module (20) that is communicating with a first and second water inlet (paragraph 19).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the valve core of Peng, with a balancing module as taught by Chang for the advantage of achieving a water pressure balance and to stabilize the temperature of the mixed water in the valve core (paragraph 24).
Regarding claims 6 and 13, Chang (modified above) teach wherein the pressure balancing module (20) comprises a balancing core (22) and two symmetrical mounting valve seats (21); two balancing cavities (212) are respectively provided (Fig. 3) in the two symmetrical mounting valve seats (21); the two balancing cavities (212) are correspondingly connected (Fig. 4); the balancing core (22) is provided between the two balancing cavities (212), to separate the two balancing cavities (212) apart; a first balancing cavity (212) of the two balancing cavities (Fig. 3) is configured for the hot water to pass through (paragraph 24); and a second balancing cavity (212) of the two balancing cavities is configured for the cold water to pass through (paragraph 24).
Regarding claim 7 and 14, Chang (modified above) teach wherein two ends (Figs. 3-6) of the balancing core (22) are open (Figs. 3-6); a middle (Fig. 4) of the balancing core is provided with a diaphragm (232), and a circumference of the balancing core (22) is symmetrically provided with two through hole portions (221); and the two through hole portions (221) are respectively provided at two sides (Fig. 4) of the diaphragm (232).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Bolgar et al. (U.S. 5,927,597) disclose a similar combined valve core having a first and second operating mechanism.
Pavics et al. (Pub. No. US 2022/0146015) disclose a combined valve core having a similar push button mechanism and a separate temperature control mechanism.
/REINALDO SANCHEZ-MEDINA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753