This is the first Office Action for the serial number 18/963,580, HEAVY LOADED POWERED CHAIR, filed on 11/28/24.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4, line 3, “at least one connecting plate pivotally connected to the at least one frame connecting plate” is indefinite because they are the both same elements.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "support structure" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 9 is rejected as depending on rejected claim 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by US Patent Application Publication # 2016/0273632 to Lawson et al.
Lawson et al. teaches base (102,104, 106), a seat assembly (100) operatively connected to the base, a backrest assembly including at least one backrest mounting bracket (208) for mounting a backrest thereon, operatively connected to the seat assembly, a footrest assembly including at least one footrest mounting bracket (164) upon which a footrest can be mounted and a plurality of linkage members (160, 168, 172, 156, etc) operatively connected the at least one footrest mounting bracket of the footrest assembly to the seat assembly and a single actuator (112) operatively connected to both the footrest assembly and the backrest assembly for moving the footrest assembly, having the at least one footrest mounting bracket for mounting a footrest thereon, between extended and retracted positions, and for moving the backrest assembly, having the at least one backrest mounting bracket for mounting a backrest thereon, between upright and reclined positions. Wherein the single actuator is operatively connected to both the footrest assembly and the backrest assembly for moving the footrest assembly, having the at least one footrest mounting bracket for mounting a footrest thereon between extended and retracted positions, and for moving the backrest assembly, having the at least one backrest mounting bracket for mounting backrest thereon, between upright and reclined positions in a sequential manner. Wherein single actuator is operatively connected to both the footrest assembly and the backrest assembly so as to move the footrest assembly and the backrest assembly in the sequential manner wherein the at least one backrest mounting bracket will only be moved from the upright position to the reclined position after the footrest assembly has been moved from the retracted position to the extended position. The single actuator comprises a linear actuator (section 0023).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lawson et al. in view of US Patent Application Publication # 2012/0248831 to Garland.
Lawson et al. teaches the seat assembly comprising at least one seat frame connecting plate (176), at least one limit link pivotally (196) connected to the base but fails to teach a spring operatively connected to the at least one connecting plate and to the least one limit link. Garland teaches the spring (122). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added spring to Lawson et al.’s connecting plate and limit link as taught by Garland to “provides additional resistance against the reclining action of the backrest” (section 0055 in Garland’s invention).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 9 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: Regarding claim 6, the prior arts fail to teach all of the limitations from claims 1, 5 and 6 especially with “a power driving tube mounted within said at least one seat frame connecting plate”. Regarding claim 9, the prior arts fail to teach the limitations from all of claims 1-4 and 9 especially with “a rear end portion of said at least one L-shaped link being connected to said at least one ear swing link and said at least one connecting plate.”
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US Patent Application Publication # 2016/0106215 to Crum
US Patent Application Publication # 2023/0072756 to Liu et al.
US Patent Application Publication # 2025/0248521 to Jiang et al.
US Patent Application Publication # 2020/0163458 to Murphy
US Patent Application Publication # 2024/0032693 to Liu et al.
US Patent Application Publication # 2025/0338963 to Li et al.
The cited references above teach the chair with footrest structure.
ALFRED J. WUJCIAK III
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3632
/ALFRED J WUJCIAK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3636 6/18/26