DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 15, and 20 is/are again rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Gruber (US 20210204239) for the record.
Regarding claim 15, (Currently Amended) A portable security system comprising: a sensor; and a processor configured to perform a method to secure an item by expanding a central security system, the method comprising: sending a request to a base station of the central security system to add the portable security system as a sensor of the central security system, the request comprising an identification code that identifies the portable security system; receiving, in response, from the base station, a confirmation indicating that the portable security system has been added to a list of sensors of the central security system; (“When wireless communication device 114 scans the code or near-field device on or within security sensor 118 using its native capabilities, wireless communication device 114 first determines that the hostname in the URL must be resolved into a local IP address before the URL can be sent to wireless router 120, using techniques such as multicast DNS (mDNS). Once the IP address of base station 116 is known, wireless communication device constructs a resource request message, comprising at least some of the attributes of security sensor 118 as provided by the scan, the resource request message asking base station 116 to enroll security sensor 118 using the attributes provided in the resource request message. Base station 116 receives the resource request message and adds security sensor 118 as device that is authorized to communicate with base station 116, i.e., enrolls security sensor 118. Base station 116 then notifies primary monitoring and/or control system 100 that security sensor 118 has been enrolled with base station 116. After confirmation from one or more devices in primary monitoring and/or control system 100 of the enrollment of security sensor 118, base station 116 transmits one or more resources to wireless communication device 114, typically resources that allow wireless communication device 114 to render a webpage in a browser displayed by wireless communication device 114. The webpage contains an indication of whether security sensor 118 was successfully enrolled with base station 116 and/or primary monitoring and/or control system 100 or not” Gruber: paragraph 26).
transitioning only the portable security system in protect-mode, in response to receiving an instruction from the base station, wherein the portable security system generates an alarm in response to the sensor indicating a security-breach; and in response to the security-breach, sending, by the portable security system, a notification to the base station to generate an alarm event of the central security system. (“Once base station 116 has been enrolled with primary monitoring and/or control system 100, the primary monitoring and/or control system app may provide an indication of the successful enrollment, such as an icon or a sound. After successful enrollment, security sensor 118 may then be enrolled with base station 116 and, in turn, one or more devices of primary monitoring and/or control system 100. Security sensor 118 generally must be “learned in”, “included”, “enrolled” or otherwise authorized to communicate with base station 116 before it can be used.” Gruber: paragraph 22, “Security sensor 118 may comprise a door or window sensor, used to determine when a door or a window is opened, a motion detector, used to detect when motion occurs in an area in proximity to security sensor 118, a garage door tilt sensor, to determine when a garage door is opened, a glass break sensor, used to detect a window being broken, or some other wireless sensing device typically used in security systems. Security sensor 118 is typically a battery-powered, wireless device, transmitting signals to base station 106 upon the occurrence of certain events, using one of a number of commercially-available communication technologies, such as Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, Zwave®, Zigbee®, or sub-gigahertz technologies generally used by professional security equipment providers such as Honeywell, DSC, Interlogix, etc. Base station 106 is generally capable of notifying a user when it receives a wireless communication from security sensor 118, and/or causing one or more actions to occur, such as sounding a local siren or notifying a remote monitoring company to dispatch police or fire authorities.” Gruber: paragraph 20)
Regarding claim 20, (Previously Presented) The portable security system of claim 15, wherein the sensor is one from a group of motion detector, light sensor, door sensor, noise sensor, humidity sensor, heat sensor, camera, window sensor, glass-breakage sensor, and infrared sensor. (“Security sensor 118 may comprise a door or window sensor, used to determine when a door or a window is opened, a motion detector, used to detect when motion occurs in an area in proximity to security sensor 118, a garage door tilt sensor, to determine when a garage door is opened, a glass break sensor, used to detect a window being broken, or some other wireless sensing device typically used in security systems” Gruber: paragraph 20).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 16 is/are again rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gruber US 20210204239-A1 in view of Applicant’s Admitted Prior Art (AAPA) for the record.
Regarding claim 16, (Previously Presented) The portable security system of claim 15, wherein the processor configures the portable security system into sleep-mode or protect-mode based on a received instruction is not specifically disclosed by Gruber. AAPA teaches electronic devices being placed into a sleep mode by authorized users. Modifying Gruber to include a sleep mode would increase the overall functionality of the system by providing means to save power when monitoring is not necessary. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Gruber according to AAPA.
Claim 17 is/are again rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gruber in view of Hillen (US 20060163227) for the record.
Regarding claim 17, (Previously Presented) The portable security system of claim 15, wherein the processor is further configured to send a request to the base station of the central security system to disassociate the portable security system from the central security system is not specifically disclosed by Gruber. Hillen discloses a security system that teaches allowing authorized users to add/remove sensors to the system (“The welding system 200 can also include a security component 216 that ensures that authorized users are adding/removing sensors from the local bus as well as ensuring that sensors are not added/removed without prior approval” Hillen: paragraph 32). Modifying Gruber to allow authorized users to remove sensors would increase the overall utility of the system by providing users with the means to alter their sensor setup. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Gruber according to Hillen.
Claim 19 is/are again rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gruber in view of Hillen and further in view of Hohndel (US 20110150266) for the record.
Regarding claim 19, (Previously Presented) The portable security system of claim 15, further comprising a machine-readable code that includes the identification code is not specifically disclosed by Gruber and Hillen. Hohndel discloses a security system that teaches using a QR code on the security device to be added that is used to identify that security device when adding (“Illustrative embodiments of the present invention include, but are not limited to, methods and apparatuses for performing automated security setup using entry of security information through a non-primary entry method, such as by scanning a multi-dimensional code to extract security information encoded therein.” Hohndel: paragraph 17 & figure 1). Modifying Gruber and Hillen to include a QR code for easy adding of new devices would increase the overall utility of the system by making it easier for the user to add devices. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Gruber and Hillen according to Hohndel.
Double Patenting
Claims 15-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 14-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,250,676. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they claim the same subject matter.
The claim correspondence is as follows:
Claim
Application
11,250,676
1
1. (Currently Amended) A computer-implemented method comprising: receiving, by a base station of a first security system, an identification of a portable security system; adding, by the base station, the portable security system as a sensor to a plurality of sensors monitored by the first security system; configuring, by the base station, the portable security system in protect-mode, wherein the portable security system sounds an alarm in response to a sensor from the portable security system indicating a security-breach, the configuring of the portable security system performed without affecting a mode of any of the plurality of sensors monitored by the first security system; and in response to the alarm from the portable security system, generating, by the base station, an alarm event of the first security system.
-
2
2. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising, reconfiguring, by the base station, the portable security system in sleep-mode in response to receiving an instruction from an authorized user.
-
3
3. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, removing, by the base station, the portable security system from the plurality of sensors of the first security system in response to receiving an instruction from an authorized user.
-
4
4. The computer-implemented method of claim 3, wherein the base station receives the identification of the portable security system to be removed.
-
5
5. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the identification of the portable security system is received by scanning an identifier associated with the portable security system via a sensor of the first security system.
-
6
6. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the identification of the portable security system is received by entering a code associated with the portable security system via a first security sensor of the first security system.
-
7
7. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising, in response to receiving the identification of the portable security system, verifying, by the base station, that the identification is associated with an account associated with an authorized user.
-
8
8. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the first security system is a stationary security system associated with a predetermined area, and the portable security system is associated with an item.
-
9
9. (Currently Amended) A security system comprising: a plurality of sensors; and a base station that is configured to monitor the plurality of sensors, and to perform a method comprising: receiving an identification of a portable security system; adding the portable security system as a sensor to the plurality of sensors monitored by the base station; configuring, by the base station, the portable security system in protect-mode, wherein the portable security system sounds an alarm in response to a sensor from the portable security system indicating a security-breach, the configuring of the portable security system performed without changing a mode of any of the plurality of sensors monitored by the base station; and in response to the alarm from the portable security system, generating, by the base station, an alarm event of the security system.
-
10
10. The security system of claim 9, wherein the base station reconfigures the portable security system into sleep-mode in response to receiving an instruction from an authorized user.
-
11
11. The security system of claim 9, wherein the base station is further configured to remove the portable security system from the plurality of sensors in response to receiving an instruction from an authorized user.
-
12
12. The security system of claim 11, wherein the base station receives the identification of the portable security system to be removed.
-
13
13. The security system of claim 11, wherein the identification of the portable security system is received by the base station via a sensor of the security system.
-
14
14. The security system of claim 11, wherein the identification of the portable security system is received by entering a code associated with the portable security system.
-
15
15. (Currently Amended) A portable security system comprising: a sensor; and a processor configured to perform a method to secure an item by expanding a central security system, the method comprising: sending a request to a base station of the central security system to add the portable security system as a sensor of the central security system, the request comprising an identification code that identifies the portable security system; receiving, in response, from the base station, a confirmation indicating that the portable security system has been added to a list of sensors of the central security system; transitioning only the portable security system in protect-mode, in response to receiving an instruction from the base station, wherein the portable security system generates an alarm in response to the sensor indicating a security-breach; and in response to the security-breach, sending, by the portable security system, a notification to the base station to generate an alarm event of the central security system.
14. A portable security system comprising: a sensor; and a processor configured to perform a method to secure an item by expanding a central security system that comprises a base station and one or more existing sensors, the method comprising: sending, via a first existing sensor from the one or more existing sensors, a request to the base station of the central security system to add the portable security system as a sensor of the central security system, the request comprising an identification code that identifies the portable security system; receiving, in response, from the base station, a confirmation indicating that the portable security system has been added to the one or more existing sensors of the central security system; transitioning the portable security system in protect-mode, in response to receiving an instruction from the base station, wherein the portable security system generates an alarm in response to the sensor indicating a security-breach; and in response to the security-breach, sending, by the portable security system, a notification to the base station to generate an alarm event of the central security system.
16
16. The portable security system of claim 15, wherein the processor configures the portable security system into sleep-mode or protect-mode based on a received instruction.
15. The portable security system of claim 14, wherein the processor configures the portable security system into sleep-mode or protect-mode based on a received instruction.
17
17. The portable security system of claim 15, wherein the processor is further configured to send a request to the base station of the central security system to disassociate the portable security system from the central security system.
16. The portable security system of claim 14, wherein the processor is further configured to send a request to the base station of the central security system to disassociate the portable security system from the central security system.
18
18. The portable security system of claim 15, wherein the identification code is sent via a sensor of the central security system.
19. The portable security system of claim 17, wherein sending the request to the base station of the central security system comprises scanning, by the first the machine-readable code.
19
19. The portable security system of claim 15, further comprising a machine-readable code that includes the identification code.
17. The portable security system of claim 14, further comprising a machine-readable code that includes the identification code.
20
20. The portable security system of claim 15, wherein the sensor is one from a group of motion detector, light sensor, door sensor, noise sensor, humidity sensor, heat sensor, camera, window sensor, glass-breakage sensor, and infrared sensor.
18. The portable security system of claim 14, wherein the sensor is one from a group of motion detector, light sensor, door sensor, noise sensor, humidity sensor, heat sensor, camera, window sensor, glass-breakage sensor, and infrared sensor.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see amendment filed 5/22/2026, with respect to claims 1 and 9 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The art rejections of claims 1, 2, 3, 4, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, and 14 have been withdrawn.
Applicant has failed to rebut Examiner’s assertion of Official Notice in the Office Action dated 1/22/2026, therefore those assertions will now be considered Applicant’s Admitted Prior Art.
Applicant has failed to make any argument’s regarding the previous rejections of claims 15-17, 19, and 20.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-14 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art does not disclose nor suggest a base station of a security system that allows for adding of a portable security system to the base station and configuring it in a protect mode without affecting any of the plurality of sensors monitored by the base station in the first security system.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TRAVIS R HUNNINGS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2689