Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, a threaded peripheral wall extending downwardly from the pan of claims 1, 20, and 34 and the recess defining an annular seat configured to interface with the annular compressible seal of the inlet cap while the threaded peripheral wall extends downwardly from the pan of claim 41 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 20 is objected to because of the following informalities: “a liquid-collecting orientation” of line 9 should be corrected to “the liquid-collecting orientation”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 34 is objected to because of the following informalities: “through” of line 10 should be corrected to “trough”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 41 is objected to because of the following informalities: “in” of line 3 should be corrected to “an”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5, 9-13, 15-20, 34, and 41-42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The limitation of claims 1, 20, and 34 that a threaded peripheral wall extending downwardly from the pan fails to comply with the written description requirement. While the original disclosure provides that a recess 38 extends downwardly from the pan surface 34, that recess 38 may be partially defined by peripheral wall 43, and that inlet cap 24 may be threaded with peripheral wall 43 of recess 38 via screw thread 48, there is no disclosure that the threaded peripheral wall extends downwardly from the pan. From all of the figures the threaded peripheral wall extends downwardly from the annular seat as opposed to the pan.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 20 and 34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jean (DE 2351932) further in view of Schneider (5819822) and Smith (US 6923341).
Claim 20: Jean discloses a canister 1 (container) for collecting and containing a liquid drained from a vehicle, the canister 1 (container) comprising: a pan for collecting the liquid drained from the vehicle when the canister 1 (container) is in a liquid-collecting orientation; and a vessel for containing the liquid collected with the pan, the vessel including: an inlet opening 9 (inlet) operable to permit the liquid collected by the pan to be received into the vessel and including a peripheral wall integrally formed with the pan and extending downwardly from the pan; and an upper pouring opening 12 (outlet) operable to permit the liquid contained in the vessel to be removed from the vessel, and a plug 10 (inlet cap) to seal the inlet opening 9 (inlet) and operable to selectively occlude the inlet opening 9 (inlet) to prevent liquid flow out of the vessel via the inlet opening 9 (inlet) (see fig. 3 and annotated fig. 1 & 2 below).
Jean does not disclose a vented inlet including: a threaded peripheral wall integrally formed with the pan and extending downwardly from the pan toward a trough when the container is in the liquid-collecting orientation, the trough defining a liquid opening into the vessel; a protrusion surrounded by the trough and defining a vent opening for venting the vessel, the protrusion extending upwardly relative to the trough so that the vent opening is disposed higher than the liquid opening when the container is in the liquid-collecting orientation, the protrusion being integrally formed with the pan, or an inlet cap operable to selectively and simultaneously occlude the liquid opening and the vent opening to prevent liquid flow out of the vessel via the vented inlet, the inlet cap beinq configured to be threaded with the threaded peripheral wall, the inlet cap including a pocket accommodating the protrusion therein.
Schneider teaches a fluid filler tool 10 comprising an annular peripheral wall 21, an open end 22, a trough, a closed end 23 with openings 24, 24’, 24” (liquid openings) to allow fluid to flow therethrough and a centrally located venting means 30 which includes a tubular portion 32 (protrusion) extending upwardly and a vent opening 36 which is located above the open end 22 (see fig. 6 and annotated fig. 7 below).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the innermost portion of the inlet opening 9 (inlet) to have a closed end 23 with openings 24, 24’, 24” (liquid openings) and venting means 30, as taught by Schneider, in order to permit venting without having to open the upper pouring opening 12 (outlet) and risk spilling therefrom.
Smith teaches a drain back spout fitment 20 having an inner annular skirt 36 with internal threads 38 and extending downwardly toward a trough, the trough defining an opening 44, and a pour spout 42 surrounded by the trough and extending upwardly relative to the trough and a closure 30 operable to selectively and simultaneously occlude the opening 44 and pour spout 42, having external threads 60 configured to be threaded with the inner annular skirt 36, and including a pocket accommodating the pour spout 42 therein (see annotated fig. 4 below, fig. 1 & 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the peripheral wall to have internal threads 38 and to have modified the plug 10 (inlet cap) to have external threads 60 and to have modified the plug 10 (inlet cap) to have a pocket facing the vessel, as taught by Smith, in order to better restrain the plug 10 (inlet cap) and in order to seal the vented inlet while accommodating the tubular portion 32 (protrusion).
The combination discloses a vented inlet the vented inlet including: a threaded peripheral wall integrally formed with the pan and extending downwardly from the pan toward a trough when the container is in the liquid-collecting orientation, the trough defining openings 24, 24’, 24” (liquid openings) into the vessel; and a tubular portion 32 (protrusion) surrounded by the trough and defining a vent opening 36 for venting the vessel, the tubular portion 32 (protrusion) extending upwardly relative to the trough so that the vent opening 36 is disposed higher than the liquid openings 24, 24’, 24” (liquid openings) when the canister 1 (container) is in the liquid-collecting orientation, the tubular portion 32 (protrusion) being integrally formed with the pan, the plug 10 (inlet cap) being configured to be threaded with the threaded peripheral wall and including a pocket accommodating the tubular portion 32 (protrusion) therein.
Claim 34: Jean discloses a canister 1 (container) for collecting and containing a liquid drained from a vehicle, the canister 1 (container) comprising: a pan for collecting the liquid drained from the vehicle when the canister 1 (container) is in a liquid-collecting orientation; and a vessel for containing the liquid collected with the pan, the vessel including: an inlet opening 9 (inlet) operable to permit the liquid collected by the pan to be received into the vessel and including a peripheral wall integrally formed with the pan and extending downwardly from the pan; and a plug 10 (inlet cap) operable to selectively occlude the inlet opening 9 (inlet) to prevent liquid flow out of the vessel via the inlet opening 9 (inlet) (see fig. 3 and annotated fig. 1 & 2 above).
Jean does not disclose a vented inlet including: a threaded peripheral wall integrally formed with the pan and extending downwardly from the pan toward a perforated trough when the container is in the liquid-collecting orientation, the perforated trough defining a liquid opening into the vessel; and a protrusion surrounded by the trough and defining a vent opening for venting the vessel, the protrusion extending upwardly relative to the trough so that the vent opening is disposed higher than at least part of the pan when the container is in the liquid-collecting orientation, the protrusion being integrally formed with the pan; or an inlet cap operable to selectively occlude the vented inlet to prevent liquid flow out of the vessel via the vented inlet by simultaneously occluding the liquid opening and the vent opening, the inlet cap being shaped to accommodate the protrusion therein and configured to be threaded with the threaded peripheral wall.
Schneider teaches a fluid filler tool 10 comprising an annular peripheral wall 21, an open end 22, a trough, a closed end 23 with openings 24, 24’, 24” (liquid openings) to allow fluid to flow therethrough and a centrally located venting means 30 which includes a tubular portion 32 (protrusion) extending upwardly and a vent opening 36 which is located above the open end 22 (see fig. 6 and annotated fig. 7 above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the innermost portion of the inlet opening 9 (inlet) to have a closed end 23 with openings 24, 24’, 24” (liquid openings) and venting means 30, as taught by Schneider, in order to permit venting without having to open the upper pouring opening 12 (outlet) and risk spilling therefrom.
Smith teaches a drain back spout fitment 20 having an inner annular skirt 36 with internal threads 38 and extending downwardly toward a trough, the trough defining an opening 44, and a pour spout 42 surrounded by the trough and extending upwardly relative to the trough and a closure 30 operable to selectively and simultaneously occlude the opening 44 and pour spout 42, having external threads 60 configured to be threaded with the inner annular skirt 36, and including a pocket accommodating the pour spout 42 therein (see annotated fig. 4 above, fig. 1 & 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the peripheral wall to have internal threads 38 and to have modified the plug 10 (inlet cap) to have external threads 60 and to have modified the plug 10 (inlet cap) to have a pocket facing the vessel, as taught by Smith, in order to better restrain the plug 10 (inlet cap) and in order to seal the vented inlet while accommodating the tubular portion 32 (protrusion).
The combination discloses a vented inlet the vented inlet including: a perforated trough defining openings 24, 24’, 24” (liquid openings) into the vessel; and a tubular portion 32 (protrusion) surrounded by the trough and defining a vent opening 36 for venting the vessel, the tubular portion 32 (protrusion) extending upwardly relative to the trough so that the vent opening 36 is disposed higher than at least part of the pan when the canister 1 (container) is in the liquid-collecting orientation; and the plug 10 (inlet cap) operable to selectively occlude the vented inlet to prevent liquid flow out of the vessel via the vented inlet, the plug 10 (inlet cap) being shaped to accommodate the tubular portion 32 (protrusion) therein.
The combination discloses a vented inlet the vented inlet including: a threaded peripheral wall integrally formed with the pan and extending downwardly from the pan toward a perforated trough when the container is in the liquid-collecting orientation, the perforated trough defining openings 24, 24’, 24” (liquid openings) into the vessel; and a tubular portion 32 (protrusion) surrounded by the trough and defining a vent opening 36 for venting the vessel, the tubular portion 32 (protrusion) extending upwardly relative to the trough so that the vent opening 36 is disposed higher than the liquid openings 24, 24’, 24” (liquid openings) when the canister 1 (container) is in the liquid-collecting orientation, the tubular portion 32 (protrusion) being integrally formed with the pan, the plug 10 (inlet cap) being configured to be threaded with the threaded peripheral wall and shaped to accommodate the tubular portion 32 (protrusion) therein.
Claim(s) 1-5, 9-13 and 41-42 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jean (DE 2351932) further in view of Schneider (5819822), Smith (US 6923341) and Gardner (US 11034487).
Claim 1: Jean discloses a canister 1 (container) for collecting and containing a liquid drained from a vehicle, the canister 1 (container) comprising: a pan for collecting the liquid drained from the vehicle; a vessel for containing the liquid collected with the pan, the vessel including: an inlet opening 9 (inlet) integrally formed with the pan and operable to permit the liquid collected by the pan to be received into the vessel; the inlet opening 9 (inlet) including a recess extending downwardly from the pan when the canister 1 (container) is in a liquid-collecting orientation, the recess including a peripheral wall extending downwardly from the pan; and an upper pouring opening 12 (outlet) operable to permit the liquid contained in the vessel to be poured out of the vessel, the upper pouring opening 12 (outlet) including an outlet liquid passage; a plug 10 (inlet cap) operable to selectively occlude the inlet opening 9 (inlet) to prevent liquid flow out of the vessel via the inlet opening 9 (inlet); and a closure 13 (outlet cap) operable to selectively occlude the upper pouring opening 12 (outlet) to prevent liquid flow out of the vessel via the upper pouring opening 12 (outlet) (see fig. 3 and annotated fig. 1 above).
Jean does not disclose a vented inlet operable to permit the liquid collected by the pan to be received into the vessel, the vented inlet including an inlet liquid passage and an inlet vent; and a vented outlet operable to permit the liquid contained in the vessel to be poured out of the vessel, the vented outlet including an outlet liquid passage and an outlet vent; an inlet cap operable to selectively occlude the vented inlet to prevent liquid flow out of the vessel via the vented inlet; and an outlet cap operable to selectively occlude the vented outlet to prevent liquid flow out of the vessel via the vented outlet.
Gardner teaches a reservoir 100 having a container 200, stopper 400 having an inlet aperture 450 (outlet liquid passage), outlet aperture 460, and cylindrical wall 495 extending downwardly to accommodate a dip tube 700 (outlet vent), wherein the dip tube 700 facilitates venting (see fig. 11).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the upper pouring opening 12 (outlet) to have a stopper 400 with inlet aperture 450 (outlet liquid passage) and cylindrical wall 495 accommodating a dip tube 700 (outlet vent), as taught by Gardner, in order to permit the canister 1 (container) to vent without having to open the inlet opening 9 (inlet) and risk spilling therefrom.
Schneider teaches a fluid filler tool 10 comprising an annular peripheral wall 21, an open end 22, an annular trough, a closed end 23 with openings 24, 24’, 24” (inlet liquid passage) to allow fluid to flow therethrough and a tubular portion 32 (protrusion) surrounded by the annular trough and defining a vent opening 36 (inlet vent), the tubular portion 32 (protrusion) extending upwardly relative to the annular trough so that the tubular portion 32 (protrusion) extends above the annular peripheral wall 21 and the vent opening 36 (inlet vent) is disposed higher than the annular peripheral wall 21 (see fig. 6 and annotated fig. 7 above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the innermost portion of the inlet opening 9 (inlet) to have a closed end 23 with openings 24, 24’, 24” (inlet liquid passage) and tubular portion 32 (protrusion) defining a vent opening 36 (inlet vent), as taught by Schneider, in order to permit venting without having to open the upper pouring opening 12 (outlet) and risk spilling therefrom.
Smith teaches a drain back spout fitment 20 having an outer annular skirt 32, a horizontal upper flange 34 extending inwardly from the outer annular skirt 32 and recessed below the top of the outer annular skirt 32, an inner annular skirt 36 with internal threads 38 and extending downwardly from the horizontal upper flange 34 toward a trough, the trough defining an opening 44, and a pour spout 42 surrounded by the trough and extending upwardly relative to the trough and a closure 30 operable to selectively and simultaneously occlude the opening 44 and pour spout 42, having external threads 60 configured to be threaded with the inner annular skirt 36, including a pocket accommodating the pour spout 42 therein, and a plug seal 56 engaging the flange 34 when in a closed position and an outer flange 58 above the plug seal 56 (see annotated fig. 4 below, fig. 1 & 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the canister 1 (container) to have a horizontal upper flange 34 below the flange of the plug 10 (inlet cap) and leading into the peripheral wall, to have modified the plug 10 (inlet cap) to have external threads 60, a plug seal 56 below its flange and engageable with the flange 34, and a pocket facing the vessel, and to have modified the peripheral wall to have internal threads 38, as taught by Smith, in order to better restrain and seal the plug 10 (inlet cap) and in order to seal the vented inlet while accommodating the tubular portion 32 (protrusion).
The combination discloses a vented inlet and the recess including: a threaded peripheral wall extending downwardly from the pan (in as much as the invention does) toward the annular trough defining openings 24, 24’, 24” (inlet liquid passage) into the vessel, the openings 24, 24’, 24” (inlet liquid passage) being below a portion of the pan adjacent the vented inlet; and the tubular portion 32 (protrusion) surrounded by the annular trough and defining a vent opening 36 (inlet vent) for venting the vessel, the tubular portion 32 (protrusion) extending upwardly relative to the annular trough so that the tubular portion 32 (protrusion) extends above the portion of the pan and the vent opening 36 (inlet vent) is disposed higher than the portion of the pan when the canister 1 (container) is in the liquid-collecting orientation, the plug 10 (inlet cap) being configured to be threaded with the threaded peripheral wall and including a pocket accommodating the tubular portion 32 (protrusion) therein.
Claim 2: The combination discloses wherein the vessel is devoid of a manually actuatable vent outside of the vented outlet and outside of the vented inlet (see annotated fig. 1 above).
Claim 3: The combination discloses wherein the vessel is devoid of an additional vent outside of the vented outlet and outside of the vented inlet (see annotated fig. 1 above).
Claim 4: The combination discloses wherein the canister 1 (container) is devoid of an additional cap other than the plug 10 (inlet cap) and the closure 13 (outlet cap) (see annotated fig. 1 above).
Claim 5: The combination discloses wherein, when the canister 1 (container) is in the liquid-collecting orientation: the pan includes a pan surface downwardly sloped toward the vented inlet (see annotated fig. 1 above)
Claim 9: The combination discloses wherein the vent opening 36 (inlet vent) is located centrally of the vented inlet (see fig. 1 & 7 ‘822).
Claim 10: The combination discloses wherein: the openings 24, 24’, 24” (inlet liquid passage) is one of a plurality of openings 24, 24’, 24” (inlet liquid passages) of the vented inlet; and the vent opening 36 (inlet vent) is located centrally of the plurality of openings 24, 24’, 24” (inlet liquid passages) (see fig. 1 & 7 ‘822).
Claim 11: The combination discloses wherein the vent opening 36 (inlet vent) extends through a top of the tubular portion 32 (protrusion) (see fig. 7 ‘822).
Claim 12: The combination discloses wherein the tubular portion 32 (protrusion) has a frustoconical shape (see fig. 1 & 7 ‘822).
Claim 13: The combination discloses wherein the tubular portion 32 (protrusion) is integrally formed with the pan of the canister 1 (container) (see fig. 7 ‘822).
Claim 41: The combination discloses wherein the plug 10 (inlet cap) includes a plug seal 56 (annular compressible seal); and the recess defines a horizontal upper flange 34 (annular seat) configured to interface with the plug seal 56 (annular compressible seal) of the plug 10 (inlet cap) (see fig. 1 & 7 ‘341).
Claim 42: The combination discloses wherein a bottom of the annular trough is rounded (see fillet at the intersection of the tubular portion 32 and closed end 23 in fig. 7).
Claim(s) 15-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jean (DE 2351932), Schneider (5819822), Smith (US 6923341), and Gardner (US 11034487) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Forbis (US D683777).
Claim 15: The combination discloses wherein: the outlet liquid passage extends along an outlet axis; the canister 1 (container) has an upright axis that is: horizontal when the canister 1 (container) is disposed on a horizontal surface in a liquid-collecting orientation; and vertical when the canister 1 (container) is disposed on the horizontal surface in an upright orientation; the vented outlet is in an upper portion of the canister 1 (container) when the canister 1 (container) is in the upright orientation; wherein the outlet axis is at an angle from the upright axis (see fig. 3).
The combination does not disclose wherein the outlet axis is between 25° and 65° from the upright axis.
Forbis teaches a container having an upright axis and an outlet liquid passage along an outlet axis, where the outlet axis is at an angle of approximately 30° from the upright axis that falls within the range of between 25° and 65° (see annotated fig. 2 below).
It would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the outlet axis to be at an angle of approximately 30° from the upright axis, as taught by Forbis, in order to permit pouring to begin with less of a tilt of the canister 1 (container).
Examiner notes that no criticality appears to have been established for the claimed range.
Claim 16: The combination discloses wherein the upright axis and the outlet axis are coplanar (see fig. 1 and 3).
Claim 17: The combination discloses wherein: the outlet vent is defined by a dip tube 700 (straw) that extends into the vessel; and the dip tube 700 (straw) is longer than the liquid outlet passage (see fig. 11 ‘487).
Claim 18: The combination discloses wherein an entirety of the dip tube 700 (straw) is parallel to the outlet axis (see fig. 11 ‘487).
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jean (DE 2351932), Schneider (5819822), Smith (US 6923341), and Gardner (US 11034487) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Bierce (US 5002199).
Claim 19: The combination discloses the canister 1 (container) including running beads 14, 15 (bottom pad) for engaging a support surface when the canister 1 (container) is in the liquid-collecting orientation (see fig. 2 and 4).
The combination does not explicitly disclose wherein the bottom pad is sized to fit in a mouth of a pan of another identical container and permit the bottom pad to be received in the mouth of the other container when the container and the other container are stacked.
Frahm discloses a bottle having a mating receptacle 150 on one side and mating projections 140 on an opposite side, where the mating projections 140 is sized to fit in a mouth of the mating receptacle 150 of another identical bottle and permit the mating projections 140 to be received in the mouth of the another identical bottle when the bottle and the another identical bottle are stacked (see fig. 1-3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the running beads 14, 15 (bottom pad) to be sized to fit and be received in the mouth of the pan of another identical canister 1 (container), as taught by Frahm, in order to permit stable stacking of identical canisters 1 (containers).
Response to Arguments
The drawing objections in paragraph 3 of office action dated 16 April 2026 are withdrawn in light of the amended disclosure filed 22 June 2026.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 8-9, filed 22 June 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 20, and 34 under 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of the teachings of Smith (US 6923341).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 5431306, US 20090045224, and US 20060131330.
/ALLAN D STEVENS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3736