DETAILED ACTION
This communication is in response to Application No. 18/963706, filed on 11/28/2024. Claims 1-20 are currently pending and have been examined. Claims 1-20 have been rejected as follows.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
The claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1: The claims 1-17 are an apparatus and claims 18-20 are a method. Thus, each independent claim, on its face, is directed to one of the statutory categories of 35 U.S.C. §101.
Step 2A Prong 1: The independent claims (1 and 18, taking claim 1 as a representative claim) recite:
A scheduling apparatus, comprising:
a dispatcher, coupled to an execution apparatus, the dispatcher comprises a plurality of first buffers, each of the plurality of first buffers is configured to cache target tasks of one task type, the target tasks comprise a thread subtask and a cache management operation task, the thread subtask is obtained by segmenting a node subtask, the node subtask is obtained by segmenting a subgraph task, the subgraph task is obtained by compiling a subgraph, and the cache management operation task indicates to perform a cache management operation on input data or output data of the thread subtask;
and the dispatcher is configured to receive a plurality of first target tasks, and cache the plurality of first target tasks in the plurality of first buffers based on task types; and
dispatch a plurality of second target tasks to the execution apparatus, wherein any one of the plurality of second target tasks is a target task cached by the plurality of first buffers, and the plurality of second target tasks are separately cached by different first buffers.
These limitations, except for the italicized portions, under their broadest reasonable interpretations, recite a mental process. The claimed invention recites steps that a human would enter tasks into queues, correlate the tasks with nodes/graphs, and then process them as needed (dispatch). As per MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(C), a claim can still recite a mental process even if the claim is being performed on a computer.
Prong 2: This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claims recite the additional elements of
A scheduling apparatus, comprising:
a dispatcher, coupled to an execution apparatus, the dispatcher comprises a plurality of first buffers, each of the plurality of first buffers is configured to cache target tasks of one task type, the target tasks comprise a thread subtask and a cache management operation task, the thread subtask is obtained by segmenting a node subtask, the node subtask is obtained by segmenting a subgraph task, the subgraph task is obtained by compiling a subgraph, and the cache management operation task indicates to perform a cache management operation on input data or output data of the thread subtask;
and the dispatcher is configured to receive a plurality of first target tasks, and cache the plurality of first target tasks in the plurality of first buffers based on task types; and
dispatch a plurality of second target tasks to the execution apparatus, wherein any one of the plurality of second target tasks is a target task cached by the plurality of first buffers, and the plurality of second target tasks are separately cached by different first buffers.
The additional elements of emphasized above are recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic processor performing a generic computer function of processing data) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. The limitations do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea, and therefore do/does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application – MPEP 2106.05(f).
Claim 18 recites substantially parallel claim language and therefore is rejected for the same reasons.
Accordingly, these additional elements when considered individually or as a whole do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The independent claims are directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B: The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed with respect to Step 2A Prong two, the additional elements in the claims amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the judicial exception using a generic computer component.
Even when considered as an ordered combination, the additional elements of claim 1 and 18 do not add anything that is not already present when they are considered individually. Therefore, under Step 2B, there are no meaningful limitations in claims 1 and 18 that transform the judicial exception into a patent eligible application such that the claims amount to significantly more than the judicial exception itself (see MPEP 2106.05).
As such, independent claims 1 and 18 are ineligible.
Dependent claims 2-17 and 19-20 when analyzed as a whole, are held to be patent ineligible under 35 U.S.C. §101 because the additional recited limitations fail to establish that the claims are not directed to the same abstract idea of Independent Claims 1 and 18 without significantly more.
2. The scheduling apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the scheduling apparatus further comprises a scheduler, and the scheduler comprises a plurality of second buffers; and the scheduler is configured to: receive a plurality of third target tasks, and cache the plurality of third target tasks in the plurality of second buffers; and send the plurality of first target tasks to the dispatcher, wherein any one of the plurality of first target tasks is a target task cached by the plurality of second buffers. The limitations merely further limits that abstract idea and recites the additional elements at a high level of generality.
3. The scheduling apparatus according to claim 2, wherein each of the plurality of second buffers is configured to cache target tasks of one category, and target tasks of a same category have a same one of the following: a task type, a priority, and an execution unit. The limitations merely further limits that abstract idea and recites the additional elements at a high level of generality.
4. The scheduling apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the scheduling apparatus further comprises a microcontroller unit (MCU) and a third buffer, the third buffer caches a descriptor of a fourth target task, and the fourth target task is any one of the plurality of third target tasks; and the MCU is configured to: read the descriptor of the fourth target task from the third buffer, wherein the descriptor of the fourth target task comprises a first target count, the first target count indicates a quantity of fifth target tasks whose execution is uncompleted, and the fourth target task depends on the fifth target task; and if the first target count is zero, send the fourth target task to the scheduler. The limitations merely further limits that abstract idea and recites the additional elements at a high level of generality.
5. The scheduling apparatus according to claim 4, wherein the MCU is further configured to: notify the third buffer to obtain and cache the descriptor of the fourth target task. The limitations merely further limits that abstract idea and recites the additional elements at a high level of generality.
6. The scheduling apparatus according to claim 4, wherein the execution apparatus comprises a plurality of execution units, the plurality of first target tasks comprise the fourth target task, and the plurality of second target tasks comprise the fourth target task; and the dispatcher is specifically configured to: read the descriptor of the fourth target task from the third buffer; and if the descriptor of the fourth target task further comprises a first target quantity, segment the fourth target task into first block subtasks of the first target quantity, and dispatch the first block subtasks of the first target quantity to at least one of the plurality of execution units, wherein the first target quantity indicates a quantity of first block subtasks comprised in the fourth target task. The limitations merely further limits that abstract idea and recites the additional elements at a high level of generality.
7. The scheduling apparatus according to claim 6, wherein the dispatcher is further configured to: after receiving, from the at least one execution unit, a notification indicating that execution of the first block subtasks of the first target quantity is completed, send, to the MCU, a notification indicating that execution of the fourth target task is completed. The limitations merely further limits that abstract idea and recites the additional elements at a high level of generality.
8. The scheduling apparatus according to claim 4, wherein the scheduler is further configured to: read the descriptor of the fourth target task from the third buffer; and if the descriptor of the fourth target task further comprises a first target index number, notify the third buffer to obtain and cache a descriptor of first target data, wherein the first target index number is used to identify the first target data, and input data of the fourth target task comprises the first target data. The limitations merely further limits that abstract idea and recites the additional elements at a high level of generality.
9. The scheduling apparatus according to claim 8, wherein the plurality of first target tasks comprise the fourth target task; and the dispatcher is further configured to: read the descriptor of the first target data from the third buffer; and if the descriptor of the first target data comprises a second target index number, generate a first cache management operation task, and dispatch the first cache management operation task to the execution apparatus, wherein the second target index number is used to identify the fourth target task, and the first cache management operation task indicates to prefetch the first target data. The limitations merely further limits that abstract idea and recites the additional elements at a high level of generality.
10. The scheduling apparatus according to claim 8 or 9, wherein the plurality of second target tasks comprise the fourth target task, the descriptor of the first target data further comprises a second target count, the second target count indicates a quantity of sixth target tasks whose execution is uncompleted, input data of the sixth target task comprises the first target data, and the sixth target task comprises the fourth target task; and the MCU is further configured to: after receiving, from the dispatcher, the notification indicating that execution of the fourth target task is completed, notify the third buffer to subtract one from the second target count. The limitations merely further limits that abstract idea and recites the additional elements at a high level of generality.
11. The scheduling apparatus according to claim 10, wherein the MCU is further configured to: when the second target count is decreased to zero, send a second cache management operation task to the scheduler, wherein the second cache management operation task indicates to invalidate the first target data. The limitations merely further limits that abstract idea and recites the additional elements at a high level of generality.
12. The scheduling apparatus according to claim 4, wherein the plurality of first target tasks comprise the fourth target task; and the dispatcher is further configured to: read the descriptor of the fourth target task from the third buffer; and if the descriptor of the fourth target task further comprises a third target index number, notify the third buffer to obtain and cache a descriptor of second target data, wherein the third target index number is used to identify the second target data, and the second target data comprises a part or all of output data of the fourth target task. The limitations merely further limits that abstract idea and recites the additional elements at a high level of generality.
13. The scheduling apparatus according to claim 12, wherein the plurality of second target tasks comprise the fourth target task, the descriptor of the second target data comprises a third target count, the third target count indicates a quantity of seventh target tasks whose execution is uncompleted, the second target data comprises a part or all of output data of the seventh target task, and the seventh target task comprises the fourth target task; and the MCU is further configured to: after receiving, from the dispatcher, the notification indicating that execution of the fourth target task is completed, notify the third buffer to subtract one from the third target count. The limitations merely further limits that abstract idea and recites the additional elements at a high level of generality.
14. The scheduling apparatus according to claim 13, wherein the MCU is further configured to: when the third target count is decreased to zero, send a third cache management operation task to the scheduler, wherein the third cache management operation task indicates to write the second target data to a host, and the scheduling apparatus is coupled to the host. The limitations merely further limits that abstract idea and recites the additional elements at a high level of generality.
15. The scheduling apparatus according to claim 4, wherein the plurality of first target tasks comprise the fourth target task, and the plurality of second target tasks comprise the fourth target task; and the dispatcher is further configured to: read the descriptor of the fourth target task from the third buffer; and if the descriptor of the fourth target task further comprises a fourth target index number, notify the third buffer to obtain and cache a descriptor of an eighth target task, wherein the fourth index number is used to identify the eighth target task, and the eighth target task depends on the fourth target task. The limitations merely further limits that abstract idea and recites the additional elements at a high level of generality.
16. The scheduling apparatus according to claim 15, wherein the descriptor of the eighth target task comprises a fourth target count, the fourth target count indicates a quantity of ninth target tasks whose execution is uncompleted, the eighth target task depends on the ninth target task, and the ninth target task comprises the fourth target task; and the MCU is further configured to: after receiving, from the dispatcher, the notification indicating that execution of the fourth target task is completed, notify the third buffer to subtract one from the fourth target count. The limitations merely further limits that abstract idea and recites the additional elements at a high level of generality.
17. The scheduling apparatus according to claim 16, wherein the MCU is further configured to: when the fourth target count is decreased to zero, send the eighth target task to the scheduler. The limitations merely further limits that abstract idea and recites the additional elements at a high level of generality.
Claims 19-20 recite substantially parallel claim language and therefore are also rejected for these reasons.
Therefore claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 USC 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tovey (US20210373957) in view of Ozgur (US20070143759).
Regarding claims 1 and 18, Tovey discloses:
A scheduling apparatus, comprising: (claim 1)
A scheduling method, applied to a scheduling apparatus, (claim 18)
a dispatcher, coupled to an execution apparatus, the dispatcher comprises a plurality of first buffers (Buffer A and B and C in element 504, Figure 5; [0055] With the pass blocks 710 identified, the task graph specification processor 702 generates a task graph 500 as follows. Each pass block 710 includes definitions of one or more import resources and one or more output resources. These resources constitute the buffers 504 of the task graph. The resource reads and writes constitute the directed edges of the task graph. An edge directed to a pass 502 from a buffer 504 is a resource read and an edge directed from a pass 502 to a buffer 504 is a resource write.), each of the plurality of first buffers (504 in Figure 5) is configured to cache target tasks of one task type, [0079] At step 1004, the command scheduler 404 identifies independent and dependent passes of the task graph. Techniques for identifying such passes are described elsewhere herein. At step 1006, the command scheduler 404 determines how to schedule passes for execution on the processing device, based on performance criteria. A number of techniques and considerations for scheduling the passes are described elsewhere herein, such as before the description of FIG. 9, and including descriptions related to FIGS. 8A and 8B. The scheduling step 1006 involves performing any one or more of those techniques. In general, the command scheduler 404 schedules independent passes to provide what is deemed to be a best utilization of certain resources (e.g., memory, registers, processing time, etc.) and/or other factors (e.g., hardware units) of the processing device. In addition, for passes that must occur serially due to dependencies, the command scheduler 404 causes such passes to occur serially. In some examples, the command scheduler 404 causes such passes to occur serially via a barrier command that causes all operations of one pass to complete before a dependent pass can begin completion. At step 1008, the command scheduler 404 transmits scheduled commands to the processing device for execution as scheduled.
and the dispatcher is configured to receive a plurality of first target tasks, and cache the plurality of first target tasks in the plurality of first buffers based on task types; and [0079] At step 1004, the command scheduler 404 identifies independent and dependent passes of the task graph. Techniques for identifying such passes are described elsewhere herein. At step 1006, the command scheduler 404 determines how to schedule passes for execution on the processing device, based on performance criteria. A number of techniques and considerations for scheduling the passes are described elsewhere herein, such as before the description of FIG. 9, and including descriptions related to FIGS. 8A and 8B. The scheduling step 1006 involves performing any one or more of those techniques. In general, the command scheduler 404 schedules independent passes to provide what is deemed to be a best utilization of certain resources (e.g., memory, registers, processing time, etc.) and/or other factors (e.g., hardware units) of the processing device. In addition, for passes that must occur serially due to dependencies, the command scheduler 404 causes such passes to occur serially. In some examples, the command scheduler 404 causes such passes to occur serially via a barrier command that causes all operations of one pass to complete before a dependent pass can begin completion. At step 1008, the command scheduler 404 transmits scheduled commands to the processing device for execution as scheduled. And see [0041-43]
dispatch a plurality of second target tasks to the execution apparatus, wherein any one of the plurality of second target tasks is a target task cached by the plurality of first buffers, and the plurality of second target tasks are separately cached by different first buffers. (shown in Figure 5 Buffer A and B then pass A/pass B)
Tovey does not disclose:
the target tasks comprise a thread subtask and a cache management operation task, the thread subtask is obtained by segmenting a node subtask, the node subtask is obtained by segmenting a subgraph task, the subgraph task is obtained by compiling a subgraph, and the cache management operation task indicates to perform a cache management operation on input data or output data of the thread subtask;
However Ozgur teaches:
the target tasks comprise a thread subtask and a cache management operation task, the thread subtask is obtained by segmenting a node subtask, the node subtask is obtained by segmenting a subgraph task, the subgraph task is obtained by compiling a subgraph, and the cache management operation task indicates to perform a cache management operation on input data or output data of the thread subtask; [0056] Referring now to FIG. 7, shown is an example of a search space for a depth-first graph mining algorithm in accordance with one embodiment. Each node in graph 670 is a potentially independent task. If the task is mined on the same processor (i.e, the shaded nodes in FIG. 7), the parent's state can be leveraged to improve cache performance and lower execution time. In addition, tasks can be partitioned to other cores (i.e., the white nodes in FIG. 7) to increase parallelism and to maintain load balance. Because these tasks would not make good use of cache locality and would increase the memory footprint if parent state is maintained, such state is not reused. Such reuse would also either create a dependency or complicate bookkeeping. For example, either the parent waits for the mining to occur before freeing the memory, or counters are implemented to determine when to free the memory.
[0057] Thus as shown in FIG. 7, graph 670 includes multiple levels of tasks to be performed in a depth-first manner. Accordingly, node X is mined into three different nodes, namely nodes A, B and C, each to be performed on a different processor. As further shown in FIG. 7, each of nodes A-C may further be mined into multiple subtasks. As shown in FIG. 7, node A may be mined into a first subnode A-B, a second subnode A-C and a third subnode A-D. Node B is mined into a first subnode B-C and a second subnode B-D. Node C is mined into a first subnode C-C and a second subnode C-D. Note that with regard to subnode A-D, it is to be performed on the same processor as node A. Accordingly, the state present in the processor executing node A may be saved for performance of subnode A-D. In contrast, the processors to perform subnodes A-B and A-C do not reuse the state, and accordingly, the state is not maintained or provided to the processors. With respect to node B, because subnode B-C is performed on the same processor as node B, the state is maintained for this subnode, while the state is not maintained for subnode B-D. As to node C, because neither of its subnodes is performed on the same processor, no state is saved for either of the subnodes.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the command scheduler of Tovey to include the target tasks comprise a thread subtask and a cache management operation task, the thread subtask is obtained by segmenting a node subtask, the node subtask is obtained by segmenting a subgraph task, the subgraph task is obtained by compiling a subgraph, and the cache management operation task indicates to perform a cache management operation on input data or output data of the thread subtask, as taught in Ozgur, in order to improve scheduling and application performance can be achieved by better utilizing system resources (see abstract).
Regarding claim 2 and 19, Tovey in view of Ozgur teaches the limitations set forth above. Tovey further discloses:
wherein the scheduling apparatus further comprises a scheduler, and the scheduler comprises a plurality of second buffers; and the scheduler is configured to: receive a plurality of third target tasks, and cache the plurality of third target tasks in the plurality of second buffers; and send the plurality of first target tasks to the dispatcher, wherein any one of the plurality of first target tasks is a target task cached by the plurality of second buffers. [0079] At step 1004, the command scheduler 404 identifies independent and dependent passes of the task graph. Techniques for identifying such passes are described elsewhere herein. At step 1006, the command scheduler 404 determines how to schedule passes for execution on the processing device, based on performance criteria. A number of techniques and considerations for scheduling the passes are described elsewhere herein, such as before the description of FIG. 9, and including descriptions related to FIGS. 8A and 8B. The scheduling step 1006 involves performing any one or more of those techniques. In general, the command scheduler 404 schedules independent passes to provide what is deemed to be a best utilization of certain resources (e.g., memory, registers, processing time, etc.) and/or other factors (e.g., hardware units) of the processing device. In addition, for passes that must occur serially due to dependencies, the command scheduler 404 causes such passes to occur serially. In some examples, the command scheduler 404 causes such passes to occur serially via a barrier command that causes all operations of one pass to complete before a dependent pass can begin completion. At step 1008, the command scheduler 404 transmits scheduled commands to the processing device for execution as scheduled. And see [0041-43]
Regarding claim 3 and 20, Tovey in view of Ozgur teaches the limitations set forth above. Tovey further discloses:
wherein each of the plurality of second buffers is configured to cache target tasks of one category, and target tasks of a same category have a same one of the following: a task type, a priority, and an execution unit. [0079] In general, the command scheduler 404 schedules independent passes to provide what is deemed to be a best utilization of certain resources (e.g., memory, registers, processing time, etc.) and/or other factors (e.g., hardware units) of the processing device. In addition, for passes that must occur serially due to dependencies, the command scheduler 404 causes such passes to occur serially.
Subject Matter Free of Prior Art
Claims 4-17 are determined to be free of prior art. However, the claims are objected to for depending on rejected independent claims 1 and 18. Further, claims 4-17 are also rejected under 35 USC 101.
The closest art of record to claims 4-17 was found to be as follows:
Shorb (US 10459849) which discloses in Col. 39 lines 9-40, memory structure 1800 includes a free buffer count 1806. In a case where a second memory region is created that comprises a copy of data of the first memory region, the first memory region can be described as transitioning from an active state to a quiescing state. In this quiescing state, the computing device does not permit scheduling of read or write requests received after the copying has been completed, but allows completion of already scheduled access to the first memory region. After completion of scheduled access, the first memory region can then move to a freed state in which the first memory region will no longer be used for data storage. In one or more embodiments, the visibility count 1802 is copied to a free buffer count 1806 for decrementing as threads complete their operations in the first memory region. Thus, the free buffer count 1806 can also be considered a form of a visibility counter. In one or more embodiments, the computing device checks, after the copying of the data of the first memory region, a visibility counter indicating whether threads are accessing the first memory region. When a visibility counter is zero (e.g. free buffer count 1806), the computing device deallocates the first memory region such that memory locations of the first memory region are no longer associated with storing data of the first memory region. In one or more embodiments, the computing device deregisters the first memory region from scheduling operations on the first memory region before deallocating the first memory region (e.g., responsive to data of the second memory region comprising a copy of data of the first memory region). While the reference discloses the concept of free buffer count and deallocating memory in locations, the reference does not disclose the particulars of claim 4 including wherein the scheduling apparatus further comprises a microcontroller unit (MCU) and a third buffer, the third buffer caches a descriptor of a fourth target task, and the fourth target task is any one of the plurality of third target tasks; and the MCU is configured to: read the descriptor of the fourth target task from the third buffer, wherein the descriptor of the fourth target task comprises a first target count, the first target count indicates a quantity of fifth target tasks whose execution is uncompleted, and the fourth target task depends on the fifth target task; and if the first target count is zero, send the fourth target task to the scheduler.
Provably Efficient Scheduling of Dynamically Allocating Programs on Parallel Cache Hierarchies discloses A smart thread scheduler should enable such an allocation scheme that minimizes the memory footprint and uses the reduced footprint to minimize cache misses. Namely, once a subcomputation fits into a cache at a given level of the multicore cache hierarchy, it should be executed by the subset of the cores that share the cache incurring misses at this cache only for the initial load. For example, if 15 cores shared a 30MB L3 cache in Fig. 3c as in an Intel Xeon E7 8870, the scheduler could map a subtask of quicksort with 1.5M integers — which requires two 6GB chunks for the data, and three 6GB chunks for auxiliary index structures.
As claims 5-17 depend on claim 4, they are also found to be free of prior art.
However, no claims are allowed as they depend from rejected claims 1 and 18 and claims 4-17 are rejected under 35 USC 101.
Conclusion
VICTORIA E. FRUNZI
Primary Examiner
Art Unit TC 3689
/VICTORIA E. FRUNZI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3689 11/4/2026