DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
The following is a Final Office Action in response to Applicant’s amendment received 09/04/2026.
In accordance with Applicant’s amendment, claims 1 and 2 are amended claims 6-8 are added as new claims. Claims 1-2 and 6-8 are currently pending.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection set forth in this Office Action.
The 35 U.S.C. §112(b) rejection of claims 1-2 is withdrawn in response to applicant’s amendment. However, a new ground of rejected is applied to these claims under §112(b) below, which was necessitated by the amendment.
The 35 U.S.C. §103 rejection of claim 2 is withdrawn in response to applicant’s amendment.
The proposed amendment to par. [0024] of the Specification has not been entered. In response to the objection to the Specification, the proposed amendment appears to delete and re-insert the same or substantially the same browser-executable segment that necessitated the objection. Accordingly, the objection to the Specification is maintained because the proposed amendment does not resolve the identified deficiency.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to the §103 rejection of independent claim 1 have been considered, but are primarily raised in support of the amendment to independent claim 1 and are therefore believed to be addressed in the new ground of rejection applied to claim 1 under §103 below. Applicant’s arguments concerning the §103 rejection of claim 2 have been considered, but are moot because the §103 rejection of claim 2 is withdrawn in response to the amendment.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to for the following reason:
The Specification contains embedded hyperlinks and/or other forms of browser-executable code (Spec. at paragraph [0024]). Applicant is required to delete the embedded hyperlinks and/or other forms of browser-executable code. See 37 CFR 1.57(e) and MPEP § 608.01 (VII).
Claim Objection
Claim 1 is objected to for the following reasons: In the phrase “Method 4) managing the user level of the customer,” the limitation of “the user level” lacks antecedent basis and should be introduced as “a user level.” Similarly, the limitation of “the current user level” lacks antecedent basis and should be introduced as “a current user level.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-2 and 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the phrase “Method 6) …viewing time for videos related to past accesses the user terminal and selecting,” which is ambiguous and appears to lack essential grammar necessary to clearly convey the relationship between “past accesses” and “the user terminal.” In particular, a logically necessary preposition appears to be missing between the terms “past accesses” and “the user terminal.” For purposes of examination, the phrase “past accesses the user terminal” will be interpreted as “past accesses on the user terminal.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 2 and 6-8 depend from claim 1 and fail to cure the deficiency noted above, and therefore inherit the indefiniteness of base claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as unpatentable over Kandregula (US 2014/0110468) in view of Ghavami (US 2022/0038757).
Claim 1: Kandregula teaches a product description support system executed by a computer system comprising a management server including one or more processors and a memory unit (pars. 17-19, 100, and Fig. 10: FIG. 10 is a block diagram of an example processor platform 1000 capable of executing the instructions of FIGS. 6, 7, 8, and/or 9 to implement the example on-device meter 132 of FIGS. 1 and/or 2; processor platform 1000 can be, for example, a server; some examples, QR codes are used in advertising. Using QR code in advertising enables a user to gather additional information about the product(s) and/or advertisement(s) that they are looking at. For example, a QR code may comprise a link to a website where a user can navigate to purchase the product associated with the QR code), wherein the one or more processors being configured to:
receive access performed using an access identifier included in a code pre-associated with a product when read by a user terminal of a customer (pars. 17-20, 33, 38-39, and 46: e.g., Using QR code in advertising enables a user to gather additional information about the product(s); For example, a QR code may comprise a link to a website where a user can navigate to purchase the product associated with the QR code; QR code may be used on a food product to enable a user to lookup nutritional information related to that food product; Users typically use smartphones with QR reader and/or scanner applications to read and/or scan QR codes. The QR reader application uses a camera of the smartphone to take an image of the QR code, decode the QR code, and perform an action based on the decoded QR code. For example, the action might be displaying a website retrieved from an address (e.g., a universal resource locator (URL)) encoded by the QR code in a browser of the smartphone; See also, par. 77: describing that the disclosed functions may be embodied as hardware or software);
select content data corresponding to the access identifier from among multiple pieces of pre-stored content data according to predetermined provision conditions, thereby changing the content data associated with the access identifier (pars. 30, 68, and Fig. 4: In some other examples, QR codes, when scanned, direct the mobile device to the monitoring data collection site rather than to a third party system. The monitoring data collection site then records the access based on the QR code and redirects the mobile device to the third-party site. The third-party site then provides information to the mobile device associated with the QR code that was scanned. In some examples, redirecting the mobile device is implemented by transmitting a redirect message to the mobile device; when any of the QR codes associated with the first advertisement are scanned, the information at the redirect URL is displayed. However, any other redirect URL may alternatively be used to, for example, display different information based on the scanned QR code (e.g., a webpage displayed when a QR code on a billboard is scanned may be different from a webpage displayed when a QR code in a magazine is scanned); redirect URLs may be used for different advertisements. For example, advertisement 2 (e.g., the fourth example row 465) is associated with a redirect URL that is different from the redirect URL associated with the first advertisement; See also, par. 77: describing that the disclosed functions may be embodied as hardware or software);
transmit the changed content data to the user terminal for display, allowing it to be viewed on the user terminal (pars. 45-46, 56-57, and 88-90: the network communicator 210 may be implemented by any other type of network interface; Internet request handler 320 then transmits a redirect instruction including the redirect URL to the mobile device 130, thereby instructing the mobile device 130 to request a resource located at the redirect URL. (block 740). In the illustrated example, the redirect URL is transmitted using a HyperText Transfer Protocol (HTTP) redirect instruction; browser 215 of the mobile device 130 then receives the redirect instruction from the Internet request handler 320. (block 745). Based on the received redirect instruction, the browser 215 navigates to and/or transmits a request to the redirect URL specified by the redirect instruction. The browser 215 then displays information received in response to the redirected request; implemented by a browser capable of displaying websites and/or other Internet media (e.g., product information, advertisements, videos, images, etc.) via the mobile device; See also, par. 77: describing that the disclosed functions may be embodied as hardware or software); and
record a provision history of each content data (pars. 32, 55, 70-74, 88, 92, 94, 98 and Fig. 5: monitoring data collection site 110 of the illustrated example is a server and/or database that collects and/or receives information related to the usage of QR codes; FIG. 5 is an example data table 500 representing QR code exposures and/or impressions that may be stored by the example monitoring data collection site; data table 500 identifies…timestamp of the request; timestamp column 510 of the illustrated example of FIG. 5 represents a time when information associated with the QR code (e.g., a website) was presented; timestamp column 510 may alternatively represent a time when the QR code was scanned by the mobile device 130. Storing a timestamp (e.g., date and/or time) enables analysis of when users scanned a particular QR code; See also, par. 77: describing that the disclosed functions may be embodied as hardware or software).
Kandregula does not teach wherein the one or more processors select content data by adopting at least one of the following methods: Method 4) managing the user level of the customer, increasing the user level as the number of accesses to the access identifier used by the user terminal increases, and, if the customer requests to view content data at a level lower than the current user level, adjusting the user level to the requested content level, and selecting content data from among the multiple pieces of content data according to the user level; Method 6) identifying the average viewing time or the ratio of viewing time for videos related to past accesses the user terminal and selecting video content data with a playback time corresponding to the average viewing time or the ratio of viewing time from among the multiple pieces of content data; Method 8) storing, in the memory unit of the management server, information associating each product with a sales region and information associating each piece of content data with a provision region and time period, identifying the product associated with the access identifier used in the access, specifying the sales region of the identified product, and selecting content data from among the multiple pieces of content data where the sales region of the identified product corresponds to the provision region and the current time corresponds to the time period (Examiner’s Note: The preceding limitation, as recited, requires the one or more processors to select content data using any one of the 3 different options/methods, such that the limitation is met by a prior art reference teaching at least one of the listed methods).
Ghavami teaches wherein the one or more processors select content data by adopting at least one of the following methods: Method 6) identifying the average viewing time or the ratio of viewing time for videos related to past accesses the user terminal and selecting video content data with a playback time corresponding to the average viewing time or the ratio of viewing time from among the multiple pieces of content data (par. 29: By way of example, when selecting commercials of various lengths (for example, 15 and 30 seconds) or type (for example, video or image) a dynamic selection can be made based on expected length of a content viewer's app visit calculated based on average time spent during previous visits), but does not teach the alternatively recited limitations of: Method 4) managing the user level of the customer, increasing the user level as the number of accesses to the access identifier used by the user terminal increases, and, if the customer requests to view content data at a level lower than the current user level, adjusting the user level to the requested content level, and selecting content data from among the multiple pieces of content data according to the user level; Method 8) storing, in the memory unit of the management server, information associating each product with a sales region and information associating each piece of content data with a provision region and time period, identifying the product associated with the access identifier used in the access, specifying the sales region of the identified product, and selecting content data from among the multiple pieces of content data where the sales region of the identified product corresponds to the provision region and the current time corresponds to the time period (Examiner’s Note: The preceding claim language referring to methods 4 and 8 is noted as not being taught by Ghavami, but are not required to be performed because the claim scope covers “one of [methods 4, 6, 8],” which is taught by Ghavami’s teaching of method 6 among the alternatively claimed 3 different methods).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Kandregula with Ghavami because the references are analogous since they are each include computer-implemented features for using Quick Response (QR) codes to track user behavior related to products, which is within Applicant’s field of endeavor of distributing content to a consumer based on an code associated with a product, and because modifying Kandregula with Ghavami’s feature for selecting content data based on past viewing time, as claimed, would serve the motivation to optimize ad frequency and format exposure of content to a user (Ghavami at par. 29), or to help a company understand usage of QR codes (e.g., trends related to how users interact) and make business decisions based thereon, e.g., marketing campaign decisions (Kandregula at par. 19); and further obvious because the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Allowable over the prior art
Claims 2 and 6-8 are allowable over the prior art, but are not allowed, however, because they stand rejected under 35 USC §112(b), as discussed above. In addition, even if the §112(b) rejection of these claims is overcome, claims 2 and 6-8 are dependent claims and would therefore be objected to as dependent upon a rejected base claim and would be allowable only if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of their base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
O’Connor (US 2013/0193200): discloses features for tracking items and providing information using QR codes, including selecting content data corresponding to the access identifier from among multiple pieces of pre-stored content data according to predetermined provision conditions, thus changing the content data associated with the access identifier (pars. 21-22: e.g., user scans QR code 112, in this scenario, located on product 110, using mobile communications device 102 (also referred to as user device 102). QR code 112 encodes product identification information. In one embodiment, QR code 112 encodes product information including the make and model of the particular product. In another embodiment, QR code 112 encodes product information identifying the particular product with which QR code 112 is associated (e.g., a unique serial number associated with the particular product). In another embodiment, QR code 112 encodes information concerning variations of a product such as release version, configuration version, etc.).
Burkhart et al. (US 2015/0041530): discloses features for creating and managing dynamic QR codes, including tracking a number of detected scans by different consumer devices (at least pars. 12 and 62).
Ionescu et al. (US 2013/0018726): discloses features for communicating personalized messages using Quick Response (QR) codes, including tracking the number of times a QR code is accessed or generated for a particular merchant (at least pars. 41 and 54).
Stancioff et al. (US 2014/0108104): discloses features for performance tracking for motivating individuals to capture consumer data via mobile devices, including tracking the number of successful interactions, e.g. QR codes scanned by a consumer on an individual and product or service basis (at least par. 27).
M. N. Riaz, "Smartphones usage in information retrieval under multichannel settings: An assessment of technological triggers," 2017 International Conference on Information and Communication Technologies (ICICT), Karachi, Pakistan, 2017, pp. 185-189: discloses commercial tagging practices, such as the use of QR codes and NFC does to provide additional information specific to a product.
K. Kaarthik, T. Manibharathi and D. Rakshith, "QR Code based Shopping System," 2022 International Conference on Applied Artificial Intelligence and Computing (ICAAIC), Salem, India, 2022, pp. 1005-1010: discloses the generation of Quick Response (QR) codes for products to improve a customer’s shopping experience.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or concerning this communication or earlier communications from the Examiner should be directed to Timothy A. Padot whose telephone number is 571.270.1252. The Examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday, 8:30 - 5:30. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Brian Epstein can be reached at 571.270.5389. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571- 273-8300.
/TIMOTHY PADOT/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3625
10/26/2026