DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kottig et al. (DE102023131700) in view of Monteuuis et al. (US 2022/0338012).
Regarding claim 1, Kottig teaches a communication apparatus for connected autonomous driving (control devices, for autonomous driving, in the electrical/electronic architecture in vehicle having a conversion module that comprises a first interface for transmitting or receiving V2X messages, a second interface for transmitting or receiving Ethernet messages [0002]-[0017]), comprising: an Ethernet communication module configured to perform communication through an Ethernet communication method (i.e., the conversion module 100 comprises a second interface 103-2 for transmitting or receiving Ethernet messages 107-2. The second interface 103-2 exchanges data with the other control devices 201 of the vehicle 200 via the Ethernet protocol [0015]-[0017]); a vehicle-to-everything (V2X) configured to perform communication through a V2X communication method (i.e., The conversion module 100 comprises a first interface 103-1 for transmitting or receiving V2X messages 107-1. The interface 103-1 exchanges data with the V2X software 203 of the V2X control device 200 [0015]-[0017]; a memory (typical feature of communication device [0016]); and a processor operatively coupled to the Ethernet communication module, the V2X communication module, and the memory (typical feature of communication device [0016]), wherein the processor processes a type of message of data received from the Ethernet communication module or the V2X communication module, decodes an overall package included in the extension message, and updates the overall package to transmit encoded data through the Ethernet communication module or the V2X communication module (i.e., the conversion device is designed to convert the V2X messages into gRPC messages. This allows distributed functions to be called… the conversion device is designed to embed the gRPC messages in Ethernet messages. This makes it possible for gRPC messages to be transmitted in a rapid manner… the conversion device is designed to encode the V2X messages into the ASN.1 format or to decode them from the ASN.1 format. This allows data types to be described platform-independent [0005]-[0006]… transmitting the Ethernet messages via a second interface. The method achieves the same technical advantages as the conversion module [0010]-[0011]).
Kottig does not specifically teach wherein the processor determines a type of message of data received from the Ethernet communication module or the V2X communication module, and when the type of message is an extension message, decodes an overall package included in the extension message, then attaches request information to the extension message as a unit package according to the overall package, and updates the overall package to transmit encoded data through the Ethernet communication module or the V2X communication module.
However, the preceding limitation is very well known in the art of communications. Monteuuis discloses C-V2X and 5G-based cellular communications to provide a 360° non-line-of-sight awareness and a higher level of predictability for enhanced road safety and autonomous driving ([0004]-[0005]). Determining a V2X message type of the first and second V2X messages, and retrieving a V2X message profile including the threshold time value based on the determined message type. Some aspects may further include determining a current geographic area, in which the V2X message profile is retrieved based on the determined geographic area and wherein the security credential parameters contained in the V2X message profile may include: a signature algorithm; signature algorithm parameters; an encryption algorithm; encryption algorithm parameters; a security credential certificate type ([0010], [0021]). In some standardized rules, there may be a mandate to include a certificate chain, which may include a large data size certificate that includes a set of certificates. In some standardized rules, the inclusion of security credentials or the type of security credential that is included may depend on the size of the V2X message ([0162]-[0164]). The V2X system processor of the receiving second V2X system participant may decode the first and second received V2X messages to obtain the sensor date included in each respective V2X message ([0196]-[0199]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique of Monteuuis within the system of Kottig in order to generate a misbehavior report based on the type of the message, and send it to a misbehavior managing authority.
Regarding claim 2, Kottig in view of Monteuuis teaches all the limitations above, Monteuuis further teaches the V2X communication method is a 5G-new-radio-vehicle-to-everything (5G-NR-V2X) communication method (i.e., the first ITS were based on narrowband dedicated short-range communications (DSRC), specifications have evolved and now follow 3GPP-defined standards, such as C-V2X and 5G-based cellular communications methods [0004]).
Regarding claim 3, Kottig in view of Monteuuis teaches all the limitations above, Monteuuis further teaches the request information is information that is set in or received by the communication apparatus (i.e., the V2X system processor may receive a request from an ITS application to generate a V2X message [0100], [0103]).
Regarding claim 4, Kottig in view of Monteuuis teaches all the limitations above. “the processor performs a cyclic redundancy check (CRC) test on the overall package while decoding the overall package and calculates a CRC for the overall package while encoding the updated overall package” could have been derived by one of ordinary skill in the art from Monteuuis’s reference, which discloses checking misbehavior condition in the misbehavior report (corresponding to CRC test): In determination block 545, the V2X system processor may determine whether the security credential that is applied to a V2X message in block 519 uses the security credential header fields and checks contained in the retrieved V2X message profile. In response to determining that the security credential header fields and checks of the applied security credential do not match the security credential header fields and checks contained in the retrieved V2X message profile (i.e., determination block 545=No), the V2X system processor may generate a misbehavior report (MBR) in block 525. In determination block 547, the V2X system processor may determine whether the security credential type that is applied to a V2X message in block 519 is the security credential type identified in the retrieved V2X message profile ([0171]-[0175]). Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art, could have easily conceived the invention in claim 4 from a combination of Kottig and Monteuuis.
Regarding claim 7, Kottig teaches a communication method for connected autonomous driving (control devices, for autonomous driving, in the electrical/electronic architecture in vehicle having a conversion module that comprises a first interface for transmitting or receiving V2X messages, a second interface for transmitting or receiving Ethernet messages [0002]-[0017]), comprising: receiving, by a processor, data from an Ethernet communication module or a vehicle-to-everything (V2X) communication module (i.e., the conversion module 100 comprises a second interface 103-2 for transmitting or receiving Ethernet messages 107-2. The second interface 103-2 exchanges data with the other control devices 201 of the vehicle 200 via the Ethernet protocol [0015]-[0017]); determining, by the processor, a type of message of the received data (i.e., the conversion device is designed to convert the V2X messages into gRPC messages. This allows distributed functions to be called… the conversion device is designed to embed the gRPC messages in Ethernet messages. This makes it possible for gRPC messages to be transmitted in a rapid manner… the conversion device is designed to encode the V2X messages into the ASN.1 format or to decode them from the ASN.1 format. This allows data types to be described platform-independent [0005]-[0006]); decoding, by the processor, an overall package included in an extension message when it is determined that the type of message is the extension message the conversion device is designed to embed the gRPC messages in Ethernet messages. This makes it possible for gRPC messages to be transmitted in a rapid manner… the conversion device is designed to encode the V2X messages into the ASN.1 format or to decode them from the ASN.1 format. This allows data types to be described platform-independent ([0005]-[0006]); and and transmitting, by the processor, encoded data through the Ethernet communication module or the V2X communication module (i.e., the conversion device is designed to encode the V2X messages into the ASN.1 format or to decode them from the ASN.1 format. This allows data types to be described platform-independent [0005]-[0006]… transmitting the Ethernet messages via a second interface. The method achieves the same technical advantages as the conversion module [0010]-[0011]).
Kottig does not specifically teach attaching, by the processor, request information to the extension package as a unit package according to the overall package; updating, by the processor, the overall package and then encoding the overall package.
However, the preceding limitation is very well known in the art of communications. Monteuuis discloses C-V2X and 5G-based cellular communications to provide a 360° non-line-of-sight awareness and a higher level of predictability for enhanced road safety and autonomous driving ([0004]-[0005]). Determining a V2X message type of the first and second V2X messages, and retrieving a V2X message profile including the threshold time value based on the determined message type. Some aspects may further include determining a current geographic area, in which the V2X message profile is retrieved based on the determined geographic area and wherein the security credential parameters contained in the V2X message profile may include: a signature algorithm; signature algorithm parameters; an encryption algorithm; encryption algorithm parameters; a security credential certificate type ([0010], [0021]). In some standardized rules, there may be a mandate to include a certificate chain, which may include a large data size certificate that includes a set of certificates. In some standardized rules, the inclusion of security credentials or the type of security credential that is included may depend on the size of the V2X message ([0162]-[0164]). The V2X system processor of the receiving second V2X system participant may decode the first and second received V2X messages to obtain the sensor date included in each respective V2X message ([0196]-[0199]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique of Monteuuis within the system of Kottig in order to generate a misbehavior report based on the type of the message, and send it to a misbehavior managing authority.
Regarding claim 8, Kottig in view of Monteuuis teaches all the limitations above, Monteuuis further teaches the V2X communication method is a 5G-new-radio-vehicle-to-everything (5G-NR-V2X) communication method (i.e., the first ITS were based on narrowband dedicated short-range communications (DSRC), specifications have evolved and now follow 3GPP-defined standards, such as C-V2X and 5G-based cellular communications methods [0004]).
Regarding claim 9, Kottig in view of Monteuuis teaches all the limitations above, Monteuuis further teaches the request information is information that is set in or received by the communication apparatus (i.e., the V2X system processor may receive a request from an ITS application to generate a V2X message [0100], [0103]).
Regarding claim 10, Kottig in view of Monteuuis teaches all the limitations above. “the processor performs a cyclic redundancy check (CRC) test on the overall package while decoding the overall package and calculates a CRC for the overall package while encoding the updated overall package” could have been derived by one of ordinary skill in the art from Monteuuis’s reference, which discloses checking misbehavior condition in the misbehavior report (corresponding to CRC test): In determination block 545, the V2X system processor may determine whether the security credential that is applied to a V2X message in block 519 uses the security credential header fields and checks contained in the retrieved V2X message profile. In response to determining that the security credential header fields and checks of the applied security credential do not match the security credential header fields and checks contained in the retrieved V2X message profile (i.e., determination block 545=No), the V2X system processor may generate a misbehavior report (MBR) in block 525. In determination block 547, the V2X system processor may determine whether the security credential type that is applied to a V2X message in block 519 is the security credential type identified in the retrieved V2X message profile ([0171]-[0175]). Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art, could have easily conceived the invention in claim 4 from a combination of Kottig and Monteuuis.
Regarding claim 11, Kottig in view of Monteuuis teaches all the limitations above. “wherein the encoding of the overall package includes calculating, by the processor, a cyclic redundancy check (CRC) for the overall package while encoding the overall package” could have been derived by one of ordinary skill in the art from Monteuuis’s reference, which discloses checking misbehavior condition in the misbehavior report (corresponding to CRC test): the conversion device is designed to encode the V2X messages into the ASN.1 format or to decode them from the ASN.1 format. This allows data types to be described platform-independent ([0006]). In determination block 545, the V2X system processor may determine whether the security credential that is applied to a V2X message in block 519 uses the security credential header fields and checks contained in the retrieved V2X message profile. In response to determining that the security credential header fields and checks of the applied security credential do not match the security credential header fields and checks contained in the retrieved V2X message profile (i.e., determination block 545=No), the V2X system processor may generate a misbehavior report (MBR) in block 525 ([0171]-[0175]). Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art, could have easily conceived the invention in claim 11 from a combination of Kottig and Monteuuis.
.
Claims 5-6, 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kottig et al. (DE102023131700) in view of Monteuuis et al. (US 2022/0338012) further in view of Chen Ping et al. (CN114422604A).
Regarding claim 5, Kottig in view of Monteuuis teaches all the limitations above except wherein a format of the overall package includes a package type field, a length field, an identifier field, a version field, a field for the number of subsequent unit packages, a field for a sum of lengths of the subsequent unit packages, and a cyclic redundancy check (CRC) field.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. Chen Ping teaches packaging a data group to be sent; wherein the data set includes at least one type of member data; and sending the encapsulated data to a receiving end, wherein the encapsulated data comprises a data head, a data segment and a data tail, and the data segment comprises the data size, the data type and the original data of each member data. the data header includes one or a combination of the following information: the data block comprises a data head identification, version information of a sending end, the number of member data included in the data group, the data size of the data segment and an extension parameter ([0006]-[0010], [0114]-[0117]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique Chen Ping within the system of Kottig and Monteruuis in order to provide essential metadata that allows a receiving system to correctly identify, parse, validate, and process incoming network packets or data streams.
Regarding claim 6, Kottig in view of Monteuuis teaches all the limitations above except wherein a format of the unit package includes a package type field, a length field, a data field, and a cyclic redundancy check (CRC) field.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. Chen Ping teaches the data sending method provided by the embodiment of the application comprises the following steps: packaging a data group to be sent; wherein the data set includes at least one type of member data; and sending the encapsulated data to a receiving end, wherein the encapsulated data comprises a data head, a data segment and a data tail, and the data segment comprises the data size, the data type and the original data of each member data ([0005]-]0009]). a data sending method provided in an embodiment of the present application includes: s101, packaging a data group to be sent; wherein the data set includes at least one type of member data; in the embodiment of the present application, the data group to be sent may include, for example, a plurality of different types of data, and the different types of data in the data group may be referred to as member data of the data group; s102, sending the encapsulated data to a receiving end, wherein the encapsulated data comprises a data head, a data segment and a data tail, and the data segment comprises the data size, the data type and the original data of each member data ([0087]-[0092]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique Chen Ping within the system of Kottig and Monteruuis in order to provide essential metadata that allows a receiving system to correctly identify, parse, validate, and process incoming network packets or data streams.
Regarding claim 12, Kottig in view of Monteuuis teaches all the limitations above except wherein a format of the overall package includes a package type field, a length field, an identifier field, a version field, a field for the number of subsequent unit packages, a field for a sum of lengths of the subsequent unit packages, and a cyclic redundancy check (CRC) field.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. Chen Ping teaches packaging a data group to be sent; wherein the data set includes at least one type of member data; and sending the encapsulated data to a receiving end, wherein the encapsulated data comprises a data head, a data segment and a data tail, and the data segment comprises the data size, the data type and the original data of each member data. the data header includes one or a combination of the following information: the data block comprises a data head identification, version information of a sending end, the number of member data included in the data group, the data size of the data segment and an extension parameter ([0006]-[0010], [0114]-[0117]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique Chen Ping within the system of Kottig and Monteruuis in order to provide essential metadata that allows a receiving system to correctly identify, parse, validate, and process incoming network packets or data streams.
Regarding claim 13, Kottig in view of Monteuuis teaches all the limitations above except wherein a format of the unit package includes a package type field, a length field, a data field, and a cyclic redundancy check (CRC) field.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. Chen Ping teaches the data sending method provided by the embodiment of the application comprises the following steps: packaging a data group to be sent; wherein the data set includes at least one type of member data; and sending the encapsulated data to a receiving end, wherein the encapsulated data comprises a data head, a data segment and a data tail, and the data segment comprises the data size, the data type and the original data of each member data ([0005]-]0009]). a data sending method provided in an embodiment of the present application includes: s101, packaging a data group to be sent; wherein the data set includes at least one type of member data; in the embodiment of the present application, the data group to be sent may include, for example, a plurality of different types of data, and the different types of data in the data group may be referred to as member data of the data group; s102, sending the encapsulated data to a receiving end, wherein the encapsulated data comprises a data head, a data segment and a data tail, and the data segment comprises the data size, the data type and the original data of each member data ([0087]-[0092]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique Chen Ping within the system of Kottig and Monteruuis in order to provide essential metadata that allows a receiving system to correctly identify, parse, validate, and process incoming network packets or data streams.
Conclusion
/JEAN A GELIN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2643