DETAILED ACTION
The instant application having Application No. 18/963,775 filed on November 29, 2024, is presented for examination by the examiner.
Examiner Notes
Examiner cites particular columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Drawings
The applicant’s drawings submitted on 11/29/2024 are acceptable for examination purposes.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5 and 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the language “wherein, when the multifunctional head-mounted device is optionally configured to be worn by a user, the plurality of first image generating chips are allowed to be configured through the signal control module to project a first predetermined image beam onto a first eye of the user through a first optical waveguide channel provided by the first eyeglass lens structure; and wherein, when the multifunctional head-mounted device is optionally configured to be worn by the user, the plurality of second image generating chips are allowed to be configured through the signal control module to project a second predetermined image beam onto a second eye of the user through a second optical waveguide channel provided by the second eyeglass lens structure” renders indefinite what is or is not required to be true of the multifunctional head-mounted device for at least the following reasons.
Firstly, the two instances of the opening phrase “when the multifunctional head-mounted device is optionally configured to be worn by a user” is needlessly confusing. The claim is to a head-mounted device, being configured to be worn by a user is not optional. At a best guess, “optionally” should have been related to whether the user is wearing the device or not, as opposed to how it is currently phrased where the configuration appropriate to be wearable is optional. However, a device where it is not possible for the user to choose to wear or to remove the head-mounted device, would seem to be a vanishingly small possibility, and thus unnecessary to put in the claim, given the ambiguity introduced by the term “optionally”.
Secondly, in the two instances of the phrase “image generating chips are allowed to be configured through the signal control module to project” it is unclear what is meant by “are allowed to be configured”. This appears to be an idiomatic error. Normally “allowed” implies permission to do something, and “configured” implies a structural limitation or the ability to perform a function. Whereas, in the current instance, at the examiner’s best guess, the intended meaning is that the signal control module controls the image generating chip to project the predetermined image beams.
If the examiner has correctly deduced the intended scope the following amendment is recommended:
1. (propose amendment) A multifunctional head-mounted device, comprising:
a device casing module including a first eyeglass frame structure, a second eyeglass frame structure cooperating with the first eyeglass frame structure, a first eyeglass lens structure carried by the first eyeglass frame structure, and a second eyeglass lens structure carried by the second eyeglass frame structure;
a signal control module disposed in the device casing module;
a first image generating module cooperating with the device casing module and electrically connected to the signal control module; and
a second image generating module cooperating with the device casing module and electrically connected to the signal control module;
wherein the first image generating module includes a plurality of first image generating chips, and the plurality of first image generating chips are configured to surround the first eyeglass lens structure and be surrounded by the first eyeglass frame structure;
wherein the second image generating module includes a plurality of second image generating chips, and the plurality of second image generating chips are configured to surround the second eyeglass lens structure and be surrounded by the second eyeglass frame structure;
wherein, when the multifunctional head-mounted device is the signal control module is operable to control the plurality of first image generating chips
wherein, when the multifunctional head-mounted device is the signal control module is operable to control the plurality of second image generating chips
Claims 2-5 depend from claim 1 and inherit and do not mitigate the above indefiniteness issue from claim 1.
Regarding claims 2 and 7, the limitations “wherein, when the multifunctional head-mounted device is optionally configured to be worn by the user, the first image sensors are allowed to be configured through the signal control module to capture a first eyeball image of the first eye of the user through the first optical waveguide channel provided by the first eyeglass lens structure; and wherein, when the multifunctional head-mounted device is optionally configured to be worn by the user, the second image sensors are allowed to be configured through the signal control module to capture a second eyeball image of the second eye of the user through the second optical waveguide channel provided by the second eyeglass lens structure.” have substantially the same indefiniteness issues as similar limitations in claim 1, except with respect to the image sensors instead of the image generating chips.
Claims 3 and 4 depend from claim 2 and inherit and do not mitigate the above indefiniteness issue from claim 2.
Claim 8 depends from claim 7 and inherits and does not mitigate the above indefiniteness issue from claim 7.
Regarding claims 3, 4 and 8, the phrases "wherein, when the first image sensors are configured" and "wherein, when the second image sensors are configured" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following “when” are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). In particular, the inclusion of the term “when” would seem to make the language that follows optional. If the examiner has correctly guessed the intended meaning, all that is required is to delete the word “when” in the last two paragraphs of the claim.
Regarding claims 5 and 9, the phrases "wherein, when the first image generating chips are configured" and "wherein, when the second image generating chips are configured" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following “when” are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). In particular, the inclusion of the term “when” would seem to make the language that follows optional. If the examiner has correctly guessed the intended meaning, all that is required is to delete the word “when” in the last two paragraphs of the claim.
Regarding claim 10, the limitations “wherein, when the multifunctional head-mounted device is optionally configured to be worn by the user, the plurality of first image generating chips are allowed to be configured through the signal control module to project the first predetermined image beam onto the first eye of the user through a first optical waveguide channel provided by the first eyeglass lens structure; and wherein, when the multifunctional head-mounted device is optionally configured to be worn by the user, the plurality of second image generating chips are allowed to be configured through the signal control module to project the second predetermined image beam onto the second eye of the user through a second optical waveguide channel provided by the second eyeglass lens structure.” have substantially the same indefiniteness issues as similar limitations in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seiler et al. US 2020/0267359 A1 (hereafter Seiler) in view of El-Haddad et al. US 2024/0319513 A1 (hereafter El-Haddad).
Regarding claim 1, Seiler teaches “A multifunctional head-mounted device (paragraph [0034]: “HMD 300 with multiple projectors per eye” projecting from multiple projectors is multifunctional), comprising:
a device casing module (let the device casing module be considered to be at least the eyeglass elements including the temples, lens rims and nosebridge and any housings of CPU 310, projectors 330 and warp engines 320) including… a first eyeglass lens structure (the left lens and/or waveguides) … and a second eyeglass lens structure (the right lens and/or waveguides)…
a signal control module (headset CPU 310 or warp and backplane control IC)…
a first image generating module (left eye projectors 330 with μLEDs and backplane control ICs 450, 460 and 470 see details of the projectors in Figs. 9A-9E and of control modules in Fig. 4) cooperating with the device casing module (see Fig. 3) and electrically connected to the signal control module (e.g. paragraph [0064]: “signal lines (e.g., pins) connecting the warp and backplane control IC 405 to each μLED backplane IC 450, 460, and 470.”); and
a second image generating module (right eye projectors 330 with μLEDs and backplane control ICs 450, 460 and 470 see details of the projectors in Figs. 9A-9E and of control modules in Fig. 4)) cooperating with the device casing module (see Fig. 3) and electrically connected to the signal control module (e.g. paragraph [0064]: “signal lines (e.g., pins) connecting the warp and backplane control IC 405 to each μLED backplane IC 450, 460, and 470.”);
wherein the first image generating module includes a plurality of first image generating chips (see Fig. 3 and Fig. 9A there are two first image generating modules for the left eye an upper one and a lower one, each with three ASICs 913, three μLED arrays and three circuit boards 914, i.e. three chips), and the plurality of first image generating chips are configured to surround the first eyeglass lens structure (they are above and below the lens structure and thus surround it)…
the second image generating module includes a plurality of second image generating chips (see Fig. 3 and Fig. 9A there are two second image generating modules for the right eye an upper one and a lower one, each with three ASICs 913, three μLED arrays and three circuit boards 914, i.e. three chips), and the plurality of second image generating chips are configured to surround the second eyeglass lens structure (they are above and below the lens structure and thus surround it)…
wherein, when the multifunctional head-mounted device is optionally configured to be worn by a user, the plurality of first image generating chips are allowed to be configured through the signal control module to project a first predetermined image beam (paragraph [0066]: “The μLED integrated circuit of a projector may comprises elements to receive data and control signals from the warp and backplane control IC 405 and convert the data nd control signals into to light to be displayed to a user.”) onto a first eye of the user through a first optical waveguide channel (paragraph [0066]: “the light emitted by these μLED matrices may be combined through a waveguide system before being sent to the eyebox of the viewer”) … and
wherein, when the multifunctional head-mounted device is optionally configured to be worn by the user, the plurality of second image generating chips are allowed to be configured through the signal control module to project a second predetermined image beam (paragraph [0066]: “The μLED integrated circuit of a projector may comprises elements to receive data and control signals from the warp and backplane control IC 405 and convert the data nd control signals into to light to be displayed to a user.”) onto a second eye of the user through a second optical waveguide channel (paragraph [0066]: “the light emitted by these μLED matrices may be combined through a waveguide system before being sent to the eyebox of the viewer”) …”
However, Seiler fails to explicitly teach “a device casing module including a first eyeglass frame structure, a second eyeglass frame structure cooperating with the first eyeglass frame structure, a first eyeglass lens structure carried by the first eyeglass frame structure, and a second eyeglass lens structure carried by the second eyeglass frame structure; a signal control module disposed in the device casing module… the plurality of first image generating chips are configured to surround the first eyeglass lens structure and be surrounded by the first eyeglass frame structure… the plurality of second image generating chips are configured to surround the second eyeglass lens structure and be surrounded by the second eyeglass frame structure.” showing only a schematic version thereof.
El-Haddad teaches “A multifunctional head-mounted device (Figs. 1 and 2 HMDs 100 or 200 paragraph [0017]: “In some contexts, head mounted device 100 is also a head mounted display (HMD) that is configured to provide artificial reality.”), comprising:
a device casing module (frame 106 and arms 110A, 110b) including a first eyeglass frame structure (left half of frame 106 that supports the lens assembly 124), a second eyeglass frame structure (the right half of frame 106 that supports the lens assembly 108) cooperating with the first eyeglass frame structure (see nose bridge therebetween in Fig. 1), a first eyeglass lens structure (lens assembly 124) carried by the first eyeglass frame structure (see Fig. 1), and a second eyeglass lens structure (lens assembly 108) carried by the second eyeglass frame structure (see Fig. 1);
a signal control module (controller 118) disposed in the device casing module (118 is in 110A in Fig. 1);
a first image generating module (projector 232) cooperating with the device casing module (see Fig. 2) and electrically connected to the signal control module (paragraph [0023]: “Controller 118 may be configured to provide control signals to the light sources or other actuators (e.g., an in-field display of the lens assembly) in head mounted device 100 based on the estimated eye orientation. Controller 118 may include a wired and/or wireless data interface for sending and receiving data”)…
the first image generating module … configured to surround the first eyeglass lens structure (see Fig. 2, the projector 232 surrounds the lens structure in the sense that it is embedded in the frame 106 that surrounds the lens structure) and be surrounded by the first eyeglass frame structure (see Fig. 2, projector 232 is embedded in the frame 106 and thus surrounded by it.).”
El-Haddad further teaches (paragraph [0021]): “Waveguide system 101 and waveguide system 102 are coupled to a lens assembly 108, in accordance with aspects of the disclosure. Lens assembly 108 is coupled or mounted to frame 106, for example, around a periphery of lens assembly 108. Lens assembly 108 may include a prescription optical layer matched to a particular user of head mounted device 100 or may be non-prescription lens. Lens assembly 108 may include a number of optical layers, such as an illumination layer, a display layer (e.g., that includes a display), one or more waveguide layers (e.g., that include waveguide system 101/102), and/or a prescription layer, for example. Frame 106 may be coupled to arms 110A and 110B for securing head mounted device 100 to the head of a user. The illustrated head mounted device 100 is configured to be worn on or about a head of a wearer of head mounted device 100.”
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize an eyeglass frame 106 and temple arms 110A and 110B as taught by El-Haddad so that the lens assembly, waveguides, projectors, light sources, image sensors can be mounted on the frame 106 and secured by the frame and the arms so that the HMD is configured to be worn on the head of the user as taught by El-Haddad (Figs. 1 and 2 and paragraph [0021]).
Regarding claim 6, Seiler teaches “A multifunctional head-mounted device (paragraph [0034]: “HMD 300 with multiple projectors per eye” projecting from multiple projectors is multifunctional), comprising:
a device casing module (let the device casing module be considered to be at least the eyeglass elements including the temples, lens rims and nosebridge and any housings of CPU 310, projectors 330 and warp engines 320) including… a first eyeglass lens structure (the left lens and/or waveguides) … and a second eyeglass lens structure (the right lens and/or waveguides)…
a signal control module (headset CPU 310 or warp and backplane control IC)…
a first image generating module (left eye projectors 330 with μLEDs and backplane control ICs 450, 460 and 470 see details of the projectors in Figs. 9A-9E and of control modules in Fig. 4) cooperating with the device casing module (see Fig. 3) and electrically connected to the signal control module (e.g. paragraph [0064]: “signal lines (e.g., pins) connecting the warp and backplane control IC 405 to each μLED backplane IC 450, 460, and 470.”); and
a second image generating module (right eye projectors 330 with μLEDs and backplane control ICs 450, 460 and 470 see details of the projectors in Figs. 9A-9E and of control modules in Fig. 4)) cooperating with the device casing module (see Fig. 3) and electrically connected to the signal control module (e.g. paragraph [0064]: “signal lines (e.g., pins) connecting the warp and backplane control IC 405 to each μLED backplane IC 450, 460, and 470.”);
wherein the first image generating module includes a plurality of first image generating chips (see Fig. 3 and Fig. 9A there are two first image generating modules for the left eye an upper one and a lower one, each with three ASICs 913, three μLED arrays and three circuit boards 914, i.e. three chips) configured to surround the first eyeglass lens structure (they are above and below the lens structure and thus surround it), and the second image generating module includes a plurality of second image generating chips (see Fig. 3 and Fig. 9A there are two second image generating modules for the right eye an upper one and a lower one, each with three ASICs 913, three μLED arrays and three circuit boards 914, i.e. three chips) configured to surround the second eyeglass lens structure (they are above and below the lens structure and thus surround it).”
However, Seiler fails to explicitly teach “a device casing module including a first eyeglass frame structure, a second eyeglass frame structure cooperating with the first eyeglass frame structure, a first eyeglass lens structure carried by the first eyeglass frame structure, and a second eyeglass lens structure carried by the second eyeglass frame structure; a signal control module disposed in the device casing module”, showing only a schematic version thereof.
El-Haddad teaches “A multifunctional head-mounted device (Figs. 1 and 2 HMDs 100 or 200 paragraph [0017]: “In some contexts, head mounted device 100 is also a head mounted display (HMD) that is configured to provide artificial reality.”), comprising:
a device casing module (frame 106 and arms 110A, 110b) including a first eyeglass frame structure (left half of frame 106 that supports the lens assembly 124), a second eyeglass frame structure (the right half of frame 106 that supports the lens assembly 108) cooperating with the first eyeglass frame structure (see nose bridge therebetween in Fig. 1), a first eyeglass lens structure (lens assembly 124) carried by the first eyeglass frame structure (see Fig. 1), and a second eyeglass lens structure (lens assembly 108) carried by the second eyeglass frame structure (see Fig. 1);
a signal control module (controller 118) disposed in the device casing module (118 is in 110A in Fig. 1);
a first image generating module (projector 232 and display 234) cooperating with the device casing module (see Fig. 2) and electrically connected to the signal control module (paragraph [0023]: “Controller 118 may be configured to provide control signals to the light sources or other actuators (e.g., an in-field display of the lens assembly) in head mounted device 100 based on the estimated eye orientation. Controller 118 may include a wired and/or wireless data interface for sending and receiving data”).”
El-Haddad further teaches (paragraph [0021]): “Waveguide system 101 and waveguide system 102 are coupled to a lens assembly 108, in accordance with aspects of the disclosure. Lens assembly 108 is coupled or mounted to frame 106, for example, around a periphery of lens assembly 108. Lens assembly 108 may include a prescription optical layer matched to a particular user of head mounted device 100 or may be non-prescription lens. Lens assembly 108 may include a number of optical layers, such as an illumination layer, a display layer (e.g., that includes a display), one or more waveguide layers (e.g., that include waveguide system 101/102), and/or a prescription layer, for example. Frame 106 may be coupled to arms 110A and 110B for securing head mounted device 100 to the head of a user. The illustrated head mounted device 100 is configured to be worn on or about a head of a wearer of head mounted device 100.”
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize an eyeglass frame 106 and temple arms 110A and 110B as taught by El-Haddad so that the lens assembly, waveguides, projectors, light sources, image sensors can be mounted on the frame 106 and secured by the frame and the arms so that the HMD is configured to be worn on the head of the user as taught by El-Haddad (Figs. 1 and 2 and paragraph [0021]).
Regarding claim 10, Seiler teaches “A method of using (see steps below) a multifunctional head-mounted device (paragraph [0034]: “HMD 300 with multiple projectors per eye” projecting from multiple projectors is multifunctional), comprising:
providing a multifunctional head-mounted device (HMD 300), wherein the multifunctional head-mounted device includes a device casing module (let the device casing module be considered to be at least the eyeglass elements including the temples, lens rims and nosebridge and any housings of CPU 310, projectors 330 and warp engines 320), a signal control module (headset CPU 310 or warp and backplane control IC)… a first image generating module (left eye projectors 330 with μLEDs and backplane control ICs 450, 460 and 470 see details of the projectors in Figs. 9A-9E and of control modules in Fig. 4) electrically connected to the signal control module (e.g. paragraph [0064]: “signal lines (e.g., pins) connecting the warp and backplane control IC 405 to each μLED backplane IC 450, 460, and 470.”), and a second image generating module (right eye projectors 330 with μLEDs and backplane control ICs 450, 460 and 470 see details of the projectors in Figs. 9A-9E and of control modules in Fig. 4) electrically connected to the signal control module (e.g. paragraph [0064]: “signal lines (e.g., pins) connecting the warp and backplane control IC 405 to each μLED backplane IC 450, 460, and 470.”);
projecting a first predetermined image beam generated by the first image generating module (paragraph [0066]: “the light emitted by these μLED matrices”) onto a first eye of a user through an optical waveguide transmission (paragraph [0066]: “the light emitted by these μLED matrices may be combined through a waveguide system before being sent to the eyebox of the viewer”) provided by the device casing module (the waveguides are supported/provided by the device casing module); and
projecting a second predetermined image beam generated by the second image generating module (paragraph [0066]: “the light emitted by these μLED matrices”) onto a second eye of the user through the optical waveguide transmission (paragraph [0066]: “the light emitted by these μLED matrices may be combined through a waveguide system before being sent to the eyebox of the viewer”) provided by the device casing module (the waveguides are supported/provided by the device casing module);
wherein the device casing module includes … a first eyeglass lens structure (see optical element in front of the eye in Fig. 2) … and a second eyeglass lens structure see optical element in front of the eye in Fig. 2) …
wherein the first image generating module includes a plurality of first image generating chips (see Fig. 3 and Fig. 9A there are two first image generating modules for the left eye an upper one and a lower one, each with three ASICs 913, three μLED arrays and three circuit boards 914, i.e. three chips), and the plurality of first image generating chips are configured to surround the first eyeglass lens structure (they are above and below the lens structure and thus surround it)…
the second image generating module includes a plurality of second image generating chips (see Fig. 3 and Fig. 9A there are two second image generating modules for the right eye an upper one and a lower one, each with three ASICs 913, three μLED arrays and three circuit boards 914, i.e. three chips), and the plurality of second image generating chips are configured to surround the second eyeglass lens structure (they are above and below the lens structure and thus surround it)…
wherein, when the multifunctional head-mounted device is optionally configured to be worn by the user, the plurality of first image generating chips are allowed to be configured through the signal control module to project the first predetermined image beam (paragraph [0066]: “The μLED integrated circuit of a projector may comprises elements to receive data and control signals from the warp and backplane control IC 405 and convert the data nd control signals into to light to be displayed to a user.”) onto the first eye of the user through a first optical waveguide channel (paragraph [0066]: “the light emitted by these μLED matrices may be combined through a waveguide system before being sent to the eyebox of the viewer”) provided by the first eyeglass lens structure (see Fig. 2, the waveguide is part of the eyeglass lens structure in front of the user’s eye) and
wherein, when the multifunctional head-mounted device is optionally configured to be worn by the user, the plurality of second image generating chips are allowed to be configured through the signal control module to project the second predetermined image beam (paragraph [0066]: “The μLED integrated circuit of a projector may comprises elements to receive data and control signals from the warp and backplane control IC 405 and convert the data nd control signals into to light to be displayed to a user.”) onto the second eye of the user through a second optical waveguide channel (paragraph [0066]: “the light emitted by these μLED matrices may be combined through a waveguide system before being sent to the eyebox of the viewer”) provided by the second eyeglass lens structure (see Fig. 2 the waveguide is part of the eyeglass lens structure in front of the user’s eye).”
However, Seiler fails to explicitly teach “a signal control module disposed in the device casing module... wherein the device casing module includes a first eyeglass frame structure, a second eyeglass frame structure cooperating with the first eyeglass frame structure, a first eyeglass lens structure carried by the first eyeglass frame structure, and a second eyeglass lens structure carried by the second eyeglass frame structure… the plurality of first image generating chips are configured to… be surrounded by the first eyeglass frame structure… the plurality of second image generating chips are configured to… be surrounded by the second eyeglass frame structure;” showing only a schematic version thereof.
El-Haddad teaches “A method of using (see steps below) a multifunctional head-mounted device (Figs. 1 and 2 HMDs 100 or 200 paragraph [0017]: “In some contexts, head mounted device 100 is also a head mounted display (HMD) that is configured to provide artificial reality.”), comprising:
providing a multifunctional head-mounted device (HMD 100 or 200), wherein the multifunctional head-mounted device includes a device casing module (frame 106 and arms 110A, 110b), a signal control module (controller 118) disposed in the device casing module (118 is in 110A in Fig. 1), a first image generating module (projector 232) electrically connected to the signal control module (paragraph [0023]: “Controller 118 may be configured to provide control signals to the light sources or other actuators (e.g., an in-field display of the lens assembly) in head mounted device 100 based on the estimated eye orientation. Controller 118 may include a wired and/or wireless data interface for sending and receiving data”)…
projecting a first predetermined image beam generated by the first image generating module onto a first eye of a user (e.g. paragraph [0028]: “a projector 232 and a display 234 that are configured to provide information and/or user interface elements to eyebox region 208 for viewing by a user of head mounted device 202,”)…
wherein the device casing module includes a first eyeglass frame structure (left half of frame 106 that supports the lens assembly 124), a second eyeglass frame structure (the right half of frame 106 that supports the lens assembly 108) cooperating with the first eyeglass frame structure (see nose bridge therebetween in Fig. 1), a first eyeglass lens structure (lens assembly 124) carried by the first eyeglass frame structure (see Fig. 1), and a second eyeglass lens structure (lens assembly 108) carried by the second eyeglass frame structure (see Fig. 1);
the first image generating module … configured to surround the first eyeglass lens structure (see Fig. 2, the projector 232 surrounds the lens structure in the sense that it is embedded in the frame 106 that surrounds the lens structure) and be surrounded by the first eyeglass frame structure (see Fig. 2, projector 232 is embedded in the frame 106 and thus surrounded by it.).”
El-Haddad further teaches (paragraph [0021]): “Waveguide system 101 and waveguide system 102 are coupled to a lens assembly 108, in accordance with aspects of the disclosure. Lens assembly 108 is coupled or mounted to frame 106, for example, around a periphery of lens assembly 108. Lens assembly 108 may include a prescription optical layer matched to a particular user of head mounted device 100 or may be non-prescription lens. Lens assembly 108 may include a number of optical layers, such as an illumination layer, a display layer (e.g., that includes a display), one or more waveguide layers (e.g., that include waveguide system 101/102), and/or a prescription layer, for example. Frame 106 may be coupled to arms 110A and 110B for securing head mounted device 100 to the head of a user. The illustrated head mounted device 100 is configured to be worn on or about a head of a wearer of head mounted device 100.”
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize an eyeglass frame 106 and temple arms 110A and 110B as taught by El-Haddad so that the lens assembly, waveguides, projectors, light sources, image sensors can be mounted on the frame 106 and secured by the frame and the arms so that the HMD is configured to be worn on the head of the user as taught by El-Haddad (Figs. 1 and 2 and paragraph [0021]).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seiler et al. US 2020/0267359 A1 (hereafter Seiler) in view of El-Haddad et al. US 2024/0319513 A1 (hereafter El-Haddad) as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Xu et al. US 2024/0345389 A1 (hereafter Xu) and Sharma et al. US 12,118,143 (hereafter Sharma).
Regarding claim 2, the Seiler – El-Haddad combination teaches “The multifunctional head-mounted device according to claim 1,” and Seiler further teaches “further comprising:
… a wireless transmission module (communication interface 1110 paragraph [0110]: “a wireless NIC (WNIC) or wireless adapter for communicating with a wireless network”) disposed inside the device casing module (1110 is part of 1100 which can be an embedded computer system or an augmented/virtual reality device see paragraph [0104] and thus is disposed in the device casing module in that it is an integral part of the head-mounted device) and electrically connected to the signal control module (in the instances where 1100 is an embedded computer system or an augmented/virtual reality device as disclosed in paragraph [0104], the connections between the parts thereof are electrical);
a power supply module (see e.g. paragraph [0091]: “it may be determined that certain ICs may draw more power than others. For example, it may be determined that power required for a configuration with four warp engines is lower than one with twelve. It may be further determined that certain combinations of blocks into a single IC may affect the power requirements. For example, it may be determined that a configuration in which the warp engine and headset CPU are combined has a higher power requirement than one in which the warp engine is combined with a DDI control and/or μLED backplane control and active matrix.” Thus the components of the head-mounted device require power to function, therefor a power supply module exists.) …
a sound generation module (paragraph [0109] an I/O device may include a… speaker”) …
and
an electrical connector module (bus 1112) disposed inside the device casing module (1112 is part of 1100 which can be an embedded computer system or an augmented/virtual reality device see paragraph [0104] and thus is disposed in the device casing module in that it is an integral part of the head-mounted device) and electrically connected to the signal control module (in the instances where 1100 is an embedded computer system or an augmented/virtual reality device as disclosed in paragraph [0104], the connections between the parts thereof are electrical).”
However, Seiler fails to explicitly teach “a first image capturing module configured to cooperate with the device casing module and electrically connect to the signal control module;
a second image capturing module configured to cooperate with the device casing module and electrically connect to the signal control module…
a power supply module disposed inside the device casing module and electrically connected to the signal control module;
a sound generation module disposed inside the device casing module and electrically connected to the signal control module;
a vibration generation module disposed inside the device casing module and electrically connected to the signal control module…
wherein the first image capturing module includes a plurality of first image sensors configured to surround the first eyeglass lens structure and be surrounded by the first eyeglass frame structure, and some of the plurality of first image sensors are configured as a plurality of first biosensor chips;
wherein the second image capturing module includes a plurality of second image sensors configured to surround the second eyeglass lens structure and be surrounded by the second eyeglass frame structure, and some of the plurality of second image sensors are configured as a plurality of second biosensor chips;
wherein, when the multifunctional head-mounted device is optionally configured to be worn by the user, the first image sensors are allowed to be configured through the signal control module to capture a first eyeball image of the first eye of the user through the first optical waveguide channel provided by the first eyeglass lens structure; and
wherein, when the multifunctional head-mounted device is optionally configured to be worn by the user, the second image sensors are allowed to be configured through the signal control module to capture a second eyeball image of the second eye of the user through the second optical waveguide channel provided by the second eyeglass lens structure.”
El-Haddad teaches “a first image capturing module (one of (a) waveguide systems 101 and 102 with image sensors 104 and 107 or (b) waveguide systems 126A and 126B with image sensors 128A and 128B) configured to cooperate with the device casing module (see Figs. 1 and 2) and electrically connect to the signal control module (see paragraph [0023]: “Controller 118 may be configured to synchronize operation of light sources 112 with image sensors 104 and 107… Controller 118 may be configured to provide control signals to the light sources or other actuators (e.g., an in-field display of the lens assembly) in head mounted device 100 based on the estimated eye orientation. Controller 118 may include a wired and/or wireless data interface for sending and receiving data,” Thus there is a wired/electrical connection providing control signals to control the operation of the image sensors.);
a second image capturing module (the other one of (a) waveguide systems 101 and 102 with image sensors 104 and 107 or (b) waveguide systems 126A and 126B with image sensors 128A and 128B) configured to cooperate with the device casing module (see Figs. 1 and 2) and electrically connect to the signal control module (see paragraph [0023]: “Controller 118 may be configured to synchronize operation of light sources 112 with image sensors 104 and 107… Controller 118 may be configured to provide control signals to the light sources or other actuators (e.g., an in-field display of the lens assembly) in head mounted device 100 based on the estimated eye orientation. Controller 118 may include a wired and/or wireless data interface for sending and receiving data,” Thus there is a wired/electrical connection providing control signals to control the operation of the image sensors.);
a wireless transmission module (paragraph [0023]: “In one embodiment, head mounted device 100 is configured to receive wireless data including video data via a wireless communication channel.”) disposed inside the device casing module (see Fig. 1, 118 is inside the device casing module, thus it’s wireless data interface is also within the device casing module) and electrically connected to the signal control module (they are both part of controller 118 and thus electrically connected to one another);
a power supply module (paragraph [0023]: “head mounted device 100 is configured to be powered by one or more batteries.”) disposed inside the device casing module (the battery is discussed as part of the controller which is in the temple arm) and electrically connected to the signal control module (the battery powers the entire head mounted device including the controller, thus is electrically connected to the signal control module);
a sound generation module (paragraph [0044]: “The artificial reality content may include… audio,”) disposed inside the device casing module (paragraph [0044]: “The artificial reality system that provides the artificial reality content may be implemented on various platforms, including… a standalone HMD,” in the case of a stand-alone HMD, the audio content generation module would be located in the device casing module) and electrically connected to the signal control module (any of the artificial reality content is controlled by the controller and thus electrically connected thereto);
…
wherein the first image capturing module includes a plurality of first image sensors (either image sensors 104 and 107 or image sensors 128A and 128B) configured to surround the first eyeglass lens structure (see Figs. 1 and 2, the image sensors are located exterior to the eyeglass lenses on either side thereof) and be surrounded by the first eyeglass frame structure (most easily seen in Fig. 2 the image sensors are embedded in and thus surrounded by the eyeglass frames), and some of the plurality of first image sensors are configured as a plurality of first biosensor chips (e.g. paragraph [0014]: “The waveguide eye tracking system may direct light reflections (e.g., infrared) from a user's eye to multiple image sensors to enable distraction-free and in-field imaging of a user's eye.” Thus the image sensors are first biosensors in that the sense the eye which is a biological organ. See also paragraph [0019]: “Image sensor 104 may be a complementary metal-oxide-semiconductor (CMOS) image sensor.” Thus the image sensors are semiconductor chips.);
wherein the second image capturing module includes a plurality of second image sensors (the other set of image sensors 104 and 107 or image sensors 128A and 128B) configured to surround the second eyeglass lens structure (see Figs. 1 and 2, the image sensors are located exterior to the eyeglass lenses on either side thereof) and be surrounded by the second eyeglass frame structure (most easily seen in Fig. 2 the image sensors are embedded in and thus surrounded by the eyeglass frames), and some of the plurality of second image sensors are configured as a plurality of second biosensor chips (e.g. paragraph [0014]: “The waveguide eye tracking system may direct light reflections (e.g., infrared) from a user's eye to multiple image sensors to enable distraction-free and in-field imaging of a user's eye.” Thus the image sensors are first biosensors in that the sense the eye which is a biological organ. See also paragraph [0019]: “Image sensor 104 may be a complementary metal-oxide-semiconductor (CMOS) image sensor.” Thus the image sensors are semiconductor chips.);
wherein, when the multifunctional head-mounted device is optionally configured to be worn by the user (the positioning of Fig. 2), the first image sensors are allowed to be configured through the signal control module to capture a first eyeball image of the first eye of the user (e.g. paragraph [0019]: “Image sensor 104 … may be configured to receive light from waveguide system 101…Image sensor 104 is configured to capture images of light that is reflected from an eyebox region” Note that this is true of all four image sensors 104, 107, 128A and 128B) through [a] first optical waveguide channel provided by the first eyeglass lens structure (paragraph [0021]: “Lens assembly 108 may include a number of optical layers, such as an illumination layer, a display layer (e.g., that includes a display), one or more waveguide layers (e.g., that include waveguide system 101/102), and/or a prescription layer, for example.” Thus the waveguides for eye tracking are part of the same eyeglass lens structure as the displays or other waveguides.); and
wherein, when the multifunctional head-mounted device is optionally configured to be worn by the user (the positioning of Fig. 2), the second image sensors are allowed to be configured through the signal control module to capture a second eyeball image of the second eye of the user (e.g. paragraph [0019]: “Image sensor 104 … may be configured to receive light from waveguide system 101…Image sensor 104 is configured to capture images of light that is reflected from an eyebox region” Note that this is true of all four image sensors 104, 107, 128A and 128B) through [a] second optical waveguide channel provided by the second eyeglass lens structure (paragraph [0021]: “Lens assembly 108 may include a number of optical layers, such as an illumination layer, a display layer (e.g., that includes a display), one or more waveguide layers (e.g., that include waveguide system 101/102), and/or a prescription layer, for example.” Thus the waveguides for eye tracking are part of the same eyeglass lens structure as the displays or other waveguides.).”
El-Haddad further teaches (paragraph [0014]): “A head mounted device may include a multi-directional waveguide eye tracking system that is at least partially disposed in a lens assembly and in a frame of the head mounted device to determine an orientation of a user's eye. The waveguide eye tracking system may direct light reflections (e.g., infrared) from a user's eye to multiple image sensors to enable distraction-free and in-field imaging of a user's eye. The waveguide eye tracking system includes first and second waveguide systems configured to receive light from different portions of an eyebox region and configured to direct light to first and second image sensors…. Advantageously, operating the first and second waveguide systems concurrently may enable receipt of light from an area of the eyebox region that is larger than the surface area of the input DOE with the same eye tracking capability. For example, if each input DOE is approximately 7.5 mm by 15 mm, and the input DOE are separated by a 2 mm gap, then the input DOE are receiving light from an area of the eyebox region that spans, for example, 17 mm by 15 mm. Receiving light in this manner may enable improved eye orientation determination, as compared to conventional techniques.”
Seiler teaches (paragraph [0045]): “A HMD may further comprise additional components that facilitate the rendering and display of an artificial scene including additional image processing components, movement detection components, orientation detection components, eye-tracking components, heat detection components, any other suitable components, or any combination thereof.”
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate two waveguide eye tracking systems for each eye meeting the above limitations as taught by El-Haddad in the device of Seiler for improved eye orientation determination as taught by El-Haddad (paragraph [0014]) and because Seiler teaches that eye-tracking components may facilitate the rendering and display of an artificial scene (paragraph [0045]) without specifying any details thereof.
El-Haddad further teaches (paragraph [0023]): “head mounted device 100 is configured to be powered by one or more batteries.”
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a battery into the head mounted device as taught by El-Haddad in the device of the Seiler – El-Haddad combination for the purpose of providing a local power supply to power the head-mounted device as taught by El-Haddad (paragraph [0023]).
El-Haddad further teaches (paragraph [0044]): “The artificial reality content may include video, audio, haptic feedback, or some combination thereof, and any of which may be presented in a single channel or in multiple channels (such as stereo video that produces a three-dimensional effect to the viewer).”
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a sound generation module within the head-mounted device as taught by El-Haddad in the device of the Seiler – El-Haddad combination for the purpose of augmenting the artificial reality video with audio content as taught by El-Haddad (paragraph [0044]).
However, the Seiler - El-Haddad combination fails to explicitly teach “capture a first eyeball image of the first eye of the user through the first optical waveguide channel provided by the first eyeglass lens structure” and “capture a second eyeball image of the second eye of the user through the second optical waveguide channel provided by the second eyeglass lens structure”, because neither reference shows a single waveguide channel being used for both eye-tracking and presenting a displayed image, as in claim 1.
Xu teaches (claim 1) “A multifunctional head-mounted device (optical system 400, which is head mounted see Fig. 4A and paragraph [0088] and is multifunctional in that both an image display and eye-tracking are performed), comprising:…
a first image generating module (display assembly 450 including light source assembly 405 and waveguide 310)…
the … first image generating [module] are allowed to be configured through the signal control module to project a first predetermined image beam (e.g. paragraph [0095]: “The image light 430 output from the light source assembly 405”) onto a first eye of the user (see Fig. 4A and paragraph [0095]) through a first optical waveguide channel (waveguide 310) provided by the first eyeglass lens structure (see Fig. 4).”
(claim 2) “a first image capturing module (eye tracking assembly 420 including camera 210)… the first image sensors are allowed to be configured … to capture a first eyeball image of the first eye of the user (e.g. paragraph [0089]: “The waveguide 310 coupled with the in-coupling element 335 and the out-coupling element 345 may be configured to guide the IR light 304 reflected from the eye 115 toward the optical sensor 210, thereby providing the virtual, direct view camera 215 in front of the eye 215.”) through the first optical waveguide channel provided by the first eyeglass lens structure (e.g. paragraph [0089]: “The waveguide 310 coupled with the in-coupling element 335 and the out-coupling element 345 may be configured to guide the IR light 304 reflected from the eye 115 toward the optical sensor 210, thereby providing the virtual, direct view camera 215 in front of the eye 215.”).”
Xu further teaches (paragraph [0090]): “The waveguide display assembly 450 may be a pupil-replication (or pupil-expansion) display assembly, in which an image light representing virtual objects (e.g., computer-generated images (“CGIs”)) may be coupled into a waveguide (or light guide), propagate within the waveguide, and be coupled out of the waveguide at different locations to expand an effective pupil. The waveguide display assembly 450 may offer eye-glasses form factors, a moderately large field of view (“FOV”), a high transmittance, and a large eye-box…The in-coupling element 435 may be configured to couple a visible image light into the waveguide 310, and the out-coupling element 445 may be configured to couple the visible image light out of the waveguide 310 toward the eye 115 to provide a virtual image for the user to view. The in-coupling element 335 may be configured to couple a non-visible infrared light reflected from the eye 115 into the waveguide 310, and the out-coupling element 345 may be configured to couple the infrared light out of the waveguide 310 toward the optical sensor 210 for eye tracking purposes.”
Xu also teaches that (paragraph [0090]): “In the embodiment shown in FIG. 4A, the waveguide display assembly 450 and the eye tracking assembly 420 share the waveguide 310 and the controller 325. In some embodiments, the waveguide display assembly 450 and the eye tracking assembly 420 may have individual or separate waveguides.”
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the head-mounted device such that a single waveguide channel is used for both displaying and eye-tracking purposes as taught by Xu in the device of the Seiler – El-Haddad combination because Xu teaches that such a waveguide display assembly offers eye-glasses form factors, a moderately large field of view (“FOV”), a high transmittance, and a large eye-box (Xu paragraph [0090]), and because Xu teaches that either separate or shared waveguide channels for eye-tracking and display are appropriate choices for a multi-functional head-mounted device.
However, Seiler also fails to teach “a vibration generation module disposed inside the device casing module and electrically connected to the signal control module.”
Sharma teaches a multifunctional head-mounted device (col. 10 lines 9-24: artificial-reality systems)… comprising “a vibration generation module (col. 10 lines 9-24: “Haptic feedback systems may provide various types of cutaneous feedback, including vibration”) disposed inside the device casing module (col. 10 lines 9-24: “tactile (i.e., haptic) feedback systems, which may be incorporated into headwear”) and … connected to the signal control module (col. 10 lines 25-28: “By providing haptic sensations, audible content, and/or visual content, artificial-reality systems may create an entire virtual experience or enhance a user's real-world experience in a variety of contexts and environments.” Thus the haptic content is controlled as part of the same experience as the virtual content and thus is connected in some fashion to the signal control module that controls the display).”
Sharma further teaches (col. 10 lines 25-43): “By providing haptic sensations, audible content, and/or visual content, artificial-reality systems may create an entire virtual experience or enhance a user's real-world experience in a variety of contexts and environments. For instance, artificial-reality systems may assist or extend a user's perception, memory, or cognition within a particular environment. Some systems may enhance a user's interactions with other people in the real world or may enable more immersive interactions with other people in a virtual world. Artificial-reality systems may also be used for educational purposes (e.g., for teaching or training in schools, hospitals, government organizations, military organizations, business enterprises, etc.), entertainment purposes (e.g., for playing video games, listening to music, watching video content, etc.), and/or for accessibility purposes (e.g., as hearing aids, visual aids, etc.). The embodiments disclosed herein may enable or enhance a user's artificial-reality experience in one or more of these contexts and environments and/or in other contexts and environments”.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a vibration generation module as taught by Sharma into the head-mounted device of the Seiler combination for the purpose of creating an entire virtual experience of enhancing user's real-world experience by providing haptic sensations as taught by Sharma (col. 10 lines 25-43).
Note that the limitation “a vibration generation module… electrically connected to the signal control module” is considered to be met by the combination of references because Seiler already teaches electrical connections between the elements of the head-mounted display and the signal control module, such that electrical connections would also similarly be provided between the haptic feedback vibration generation module and the signal control module.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seiler et al. US 2020/0267359 A1 (hereafter Seiler) in view of El-Haddad et al. US 2024/0319513 A1 (hereafter El-Haddad), Xu et al. US 2024/0345389 A1 (hereafter Xu) and Sharma et al. US 12,118,143 (hereafter Sharma) as applied to claim 2 above and further in view of Day et al. US 1,241,717 A (hereafter Day) and Miller et al. US 2017/0293145 A1 (hereafter Miller).
Regarding claim 3, the Seiler combination teaches “The multifunctional head-mounted device according to claim 2,” however, Seiler fails to teach “wherein, when the first image sensors are configured to capture the first eyeball image of the first eye of the user, the first eyeball reflected light generated from the first eye is reflected multiple times… and then is projected onto the first image sensors; and
wherein, when the second image sensors are configured to capture the second eyeball image of the second eye of the user, the second eyeball reflected light generated from the second eye is reflected multiple times… and then is projected onto the second image sensors.”
El-Haddad teaches “wherein the first eyeglass frame structure has a first lens accommodating space (see lens accommodating space within 106 in Fig. 2) and a first surrounding groove communicated with the first lens accommodating space (see the grooves within the upper and lower portions of 106 into which lens assembly 214 is accommodated), and the first eyeglass lens structure is … accommodated in the first lens accommodating space (see Fig. 2) and limited by the first surrounding groove (the sidewalls of the groove in 106 limit the movement of the lens assembly 214);
wherein the second eyeglass frame structure has a second lens accommodating space (see lens accommodating space within 106 in Fig. 2) and a second surrounding groove communicated with the second lens accommodating space (see the grooves within the upper and lower portions of 106 into which lens assembly 214 is accommodated), and the second eyeglass lens structure is … accommodated in the second lens accommodating space (see Fig. 2) and limited by the second surrounding groove (the sidewalls of the groove in 106 limit the movement of the lens assembly 214);
wherein the first eyeglass lens structure includes a first lens (the lens assembly that includes waveguides 102 and 103)…
wherein the second eyeglass lens structure includes a second lens (the lens assembly that includes waveguides 126A and 126B)…
wherein, when the first image sensors are configured to capture the first eyeball image of the first eye of the user (e.g. paragraph [0019]: “Image sensor 104 is configured to capture images of light that is reflected from an eyebox region and onto input DOE 103.”), the first eyeball reflected light generated from the first eye is reflected multiple times (e.g. paragraph [0018]: “Waveguide 109 may optically couple light from input DOE 103 to output DOE 111 using total internal reflection (TIR).”) … and then is projected onto the first image sensors (e.g. paragraph [0018]: “Output DOE 111 may out-couple the light from waveguide 109 to image sensor 104.”); and
wherein, when the second image sensors are configured to capture the second eyeball image of the second eye of the user (e.g. paragraph [0019]: “Image sensor 104 is configured to capture images of light that is reflected from an eyebox region and onto input DOE 103.”), the second eyeball reflected light generated from the second eye is reflected multiple times (e.g. paragraph [0018]: “Waveguide 109 may optically couple light from input DOE 103 to output DOE 111 using total internal reflection (TIR).”) … and then is projected onto the second image sensors (e.g. paragraph [0018]: “Output DOE 111 may out-couple the light from waveguide 109 to image sensor 104.”).”
El-Haddad further teaches (paragraph [0014]): “A head mounted device may include a multi-directional waveguide eye tracking system that is at least partially disposed in a lens assembly and in a frame of the head mounted device to determine an orientation of a user's eye. The waveguide eye tracking system may direct light reflections (e.g., infrared) from a user's eye to multiple image sensors to enable distraction-free and in-field imaging of a user's eye. The waveguide eye tracking system includes first and second waveguide systems configured to receive light from different portions of an eyebox region and configured to direct light to first and second image sensors…. Advantageously, operating the first and second waveguide systems concurrently may enable receipt of light from an area of the eyebox region that is larger than the surface area of the input DOE with the same eye tracking capability. For example, if each input DOE is approximately 7.5 mm by 15 mm, and the input DOE are separated by a 2 mm gap, then the input DOE are receiving light from an area of the eyebox region that spans, for example, 17 mm by 15 mm. Receiving light in this manner may enable improved eye orientation determination, as compared to conventional techniques.”
Xu also teaches “wherein, when the first image sensors are configured to capture the first eyeball image of the first eye of the user (e.g. paragraph [0059]: “The virtual, direct view camera 215 may provide an in-field imaging of the eye 115.”), the first eyeball reflected light generated from the first eye is reflected multiple times (e.g. paragraph [0091]: “TIR” see multiple reflections in Fig. 4A) … and then is projected onto the first image sensors (see Fig. 4A); and
wherein, when the second image sensors are configured to capture the second eyeball image of the second eye of the user (e.g. paragraph [0059]: “The virtual, direct view camera 215 may provide an in-field imaging of the eye 115.”), the second eyeball reflected light generated from the second eye is reflected multiple times (e.g. paragraph [0091]: “TIR” see multiple reflections in Fig. 4A) … and then is projected onto the second image sensors (see Fig. 4A).”
Xu further teaches paragraph [0059]: “The virtual, direct view camera 215 may provide an in-field imaging of the eye 115.”
Seiler teaches (paragraph [0045]): “A HMD may further comprise additional components that facilitate the rendering and display of an artificial scene including additional image processing components, movement detection components, orientation detection components, eye-tracking components, heat detection components, any other suitable components, or any combination thereof.”
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate two waveguide eye tracking systems for each eye that couple the light reflected by the eye through total internal reflection and project that light onto the image sensors for eye-tracking functionality as taught by El-Haddad and Xu in the device of Seiler for improved eye orientation determination as taught by El-Haddad (paragraph [0014]) and to provide a in-field imaging of the eye as taught by Xu (paragraph [0045]) and because Seiler teaches that eye-tracking components may facilitate the rendering and display of an artificial scene (paragraph [0045]) without specifying any details thereof.
However, Seiler fails to teach “wherein the first eyeglass frame structure has a first lens accommodating space and a first surrounding groove communicated with the first lens accommodating space, and the first eyeglass lens structure is detachably accommodated in the first lens accommodating space and limited by the first surrounding groove;
wherein the second eyeglass frame structure has a second lens accommodating space and a second surrounding groove communicated with the second lens accommodating space, and the second eyeglass lens structure is detachably accommodated in the second lens accommodating space and limited by the second surrounding groove;”
As highlighted above, El-Haddad teaches most of these aspects of the lens accommodating space and surrounding groove, but fails to explicitly teach that the first and second eyeglass lens structures are detachably accommodated in the first and second lens accommodating spaces.
Day teaches a head-mounted device with two eyeglass frame structures (rims 2 and portions 3) and two eyeglass lenses (the lenses held thereby).
Day further teaches “wherein the first eyeglass frame structure has a first lens accommodating space (space in which the lenses are disposed, see Figs. I and XI) and a first surrounding groove (lens receiving groove 5) communicated with the first lens accommodating space (see Fig. XI), and the first eyeglass lens structure is detachably accommodated in the first lens accommodating space (page 3 lines 47-51: “detachably secure a lens in position in the usual manner”) and limited by the first surrounding groove (see Figs. I and XI, if the lens were not limited by groove 5, it would fall out);
wherein the second eyeglass frame structure has a second lens accommodating space (space in which the lenses are disposed, see Figs. I and XI) and a second surrounding groove (lens receiving groove 5) communicated with the second lens accommodating space (see Fig. XI), and the second eyeglass lens structure is detachably accommodated in the second lens accommodating space (page 3 lines 47-51: “detachably secure a lens in position in the usual manner”) and limited by the second surrounding groove (see Figs. I and XI, if the lens were not limited by groove 5, it would fall out)”.
Day further teaches page 3 lines 47-51: “In this form of the invention we employ the end pieces 7 secured to the ends of the metallic frame to unite the ends and thus detachably secure a lens in position in the usual manner.”
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the eyeglass frames structures with an accommodating space and surrounding grooves to position the lens structures therein as taught by both El-Haddad and Day, in a detachable manner as taught by Day because Day teaches that this is the manner by which lenses are usually held by the eyeglass frames (Day page 3 lines 47-51) where an ordinary skilled artisan would know that detachably securing the lenses has the advantage of allowing them to be replaced, for example when the user’s prescription changes.
However, Seiler, El-Haddad and Day fail to teach “wherein the first eyeglass lens structure includes … a first external reflective layer disposed on a first outer surface of the first lens, and a first internal reflective layer disposed on a first inner surface of the first lens;
wherein the second eyeglass lens structure includes… a second external reflective layer disposed on a second outer surface of the second lens, and a second internal reflective layer disposed on a second inner surface of the second lens;
wherein … light … is reflected multiple times between the first external reflective layer and the first internal reflective layer of the first eyeglass lens structure… and
wherein… light… is reflected multiple times between the second external reflective layer and the second internal reflective layer of the second eyeglass lens structure.”
Miller teaches a multifunctional head-mounted device (wearable display system 60) having a lens structure (660 set of stacked waveguides Fig. 9A).
Miller further teaches “wherein the first eyeglass lens structure includes … a first external reflective layer (cladding layer 760a, which is an external layer in that it is on the exterior side of waveguide 680, and which is a reflective layer see paragraph [0100]: “layers 760a, 760b may function as cladding layers that facilitate total internal reflection (TIR) of light through the waveguides 670, 680, 690 (e.g., TIR between the top and bottom major surfaces of each waveguide)”) disposed on a first outer surface of the first lens (760a is disposed on a first outer surface of 660, i.e. the outer surface of 680), and a first internal reflective layer (cladding layer 760b) disposed on a first inner surface of the first lens (760b is disposed on a first inner surface of 660, i.e. the inner surface of 680);
wherein the second eyeglass lens structure includes… a second external reflective layer (cladding layer 760a, which is an external layer in that it is on the exterior side of waveguide 680, and which is a reflective layer see paragraph [0100]: “layers 760a, 760b may function as cladding layers that facilitate total internal reflection (TIR) of light through the waveguides 670, 680, 690 (e.g., TIR between the top and bottom major surfaces of each waveguide)”) disposed on a second outer surface of the second lens (760a is disposed on a first outer surface of 660, i.e. the outer surface of 680), and a second internal reflective layer (cladding layer 760b) disposed on a second inner surface of the second lens (760b is disposed on a first inner surface of 660, i.e. the inner surface of 680);
wherein … light … is reflected multiple times between the first external reflective layer and the first internal reflective layer of the first eyeglass lens structure (paragraph [0100]: “TIR between the top and bottom major surfaces of each waveguide”, which is multiple times see Fig. 7)… and
wherein… light… is reflected multiple times between the second external reflective layer and the second internal reflective layer of the second eyeglass lens structure (paragraph [0100]: “TIR between the top and bottom major surfaces of each waveguide”, which is multiple times see Fig. 7).”
Miller further teaches (paragraph [0100]): “Advantageously, the lower refractive index layers 760a, 760b may function as cladding layers that facilitate total internal reflection (TIR) of light through the waveguides 670, 680, 690 (e.g., TIR between the top and bottom major surfaces of each waveguide). In some embodiments, the layers 760a, 760b are formed of air. While not illustrated, it will be appreciated that the top and bottom of the illustrated set 660 of waveguides may include immediately neighboring cladding layers.”
In the Seiler combination, both El-Haddad and Xu teach a TIR waveguide that guides reflected light from the eye and projects it onto an image sensor. However, El-Haddad and Xu fail to explicitly teach layers on either side of the waveguide that facilitate the reflections therein.
Miller teaches that it is advantageous to include cladding layers for the purpose of facilitating total internal reflection in a waveguide of a head-mounted display (paragraph [0100]).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate first and second external reflective layers and first and second internal reflective layers as taught by Miller in the device of Seiler combination because Miller teaches that it is advantageous to include cladding layers for the purpose of facilitating total internal reflection in a waveguide of a head-mounted display (paragraph [0100]).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seiler et al. US 2020/0267359 A1 (hereafter Seiler) in view of El-Haddad et al. US 2024/0319513 A1 (hereafter El-Haddad), Xu et al. US 2024/0345389 A1 (hereafter Xu) and Sharma et al. US 12,118,143 (hereafter Sharma) as applied to claim 2 above and further in view of Day et al. US 1,241,717 A (hereafter Day), Miller et al. US 2017/0293145 A1 (hereafter Miller), Lundberg et al. US 2020/0348753 (hereafter Lundberg) and Haddick et al. CN 103946732 (hereafter Haddick).
Regarding claim 4, the Seiler combination teaches “The multifunctional head-mounted device according to claim 2,” however, Seiler fails to teach:
“wherein, the first image sensors are surroundingly arranged inside or outside the first surrounding groove, and each of the first image sensors has a first sensing area facing the first lens of the first eyeglass lens structure;
wherein, the second image sensors are surroundingly arranged inside or outside of the second surrounding groove, and each of the second image sensors has a second sensing area facing the second lens of the second eyeglass lens structure;
wherein the first image generating chips and the first image sensors are sequentially arranged… to surround the first lens of the first eyeglass lens structure, and… circumferentially disposed inside or outside the first surrounding groove;
wherein the second image generating chips and the second image sensors are sequentially arranged… to surround the second lens of the second eyeglass lens structure, and… circumferentially disposed inside or outside the second surrounding groove;
wherein, when the first image sensors are configured to capture the first eyeball image of the first eye of the user, an external light source or a first projection beam provided by the multifunctional head-mounted device is reflected by the first eye to generate a first eyeball reflected light, and the first eyeball reflected light is reflected multiple times… and then is projected onto the first image sensors; and
wherein, when the second image sensors are configured to capture the second eyeball image of the second eye of the user, the external light source or a second projection beam provided by the multifunctional head-mounted device is reflected by the second eye to generate a second eyeball reflected light, and the second eyeball reflected light is reflected multiple times… and then is projected onto the second image sensors.”
El-Haddad teaches “wherein the first eyeglass frame structure has a first lens accommodating space (see lens accommodating space within 106 in Fig. 2) and a first surrounding groove communicated with the first lens accommodating space (see the grooves within the upper and lower portions of 106 into which lens assembly 214 is accommodated), and the first eyeglass lens structure is … accommodated in the first lens accommodating space (see Fig. 2) and limited by the first surrounding groove (the sidewalls of the groove in 106 limit the movement of the lens assembly 214);
wherein the second eyeglass frame structure has a second lens accommodating space (see lens accommodating space within 106 in Fig. 2) and a second surrounding groove communicated with the second lens accommodating space (see the grooves within the upper and lower portions of 106 into which lens assembly 214 is accommodated), and the second eyeglass lens structure is … accommodated in the second lens accommodating space (see Fig. 2) and limited by the second surrounding groove (the sidewalls of the groove in 106 limit the movement of the lens assembly 214);
wherein the first eyeglass lens structure includes a first lens (the lens assembly that includes waveguides 102 and 103)…
wherein the second eyeglass lens structure includes a second lens (the lens assembly that includes waveguides 126A and 126B)…
wherein, the first image sensors are surroundingly arranged inside or outside the first surrounding groove (see positions of 104 and 107 near to but outside of the surrounding groove in Fig. 2), and each of the first image sensors has a first sensing area facing the first lens of the first eyeglass lens structure (the sensing areas of 104 and 107 face a major surface of 103 and 102 which are a major surface of lens assembly 214);
wherein, the second image sensors are surroundingly arranged inside or outside of the second surrounding groove (see positions of 104 and 107 near to but outside of the surrounding groove in Fig. 2), and each of the second image sensors has a second sensing area facing the second lens of the second eyeglass lens structure (the sensing areas of 104 and 107 face a major surface of 103 and 102 which are a major surface of lens assembly 214);
wherein the first image generating chips and the first image sensors are sequentially arranged… to surround the first lens of the first eyeglass lens structure (see Fig. 2 projector 232 and image sensors 104 and 107 are arranged in a sequence surrounding the first lens), and… circumferentially disposed inside or outside the first surrounding groove (see Fig. 2 232, 104 and 107 are disposed just outside the surrounding groove);
wherein the second image generating chips and the second image sensors are sequentially arranged… to surround the second lens of the second eyeglass lens structure (see Fig. 2 projector 232 and image sensors 104 and 107 are arranged in a sequence surrounding the first lens), and… circumferentially disposed inside or outside the second surrounding groove (see Fig. 2 232, 104 and 107 are disposed just outside the surrounding groove);
wherein, when the first image sensors are configured to capture the first eyeball image of the first eye of the user (e.g. paragraph [0019]: “Image sensor 104 is configured to capture images of light that is reflected from an eyebox region and onto input DOE 103.”), an external light source or a first projection beam provided by the multifunctional head-mounted device (light sources 112) is reflected by the first eye to generate a first eyeball reflected light (see reflection of non-visible light 218 from the eye in Fig. 2), and the first eyeball reflected light is reflected multiple times (e.g. paragraph [0018]: “Waveguide 109 may optically couple light from input DOE 103 to output DOE 111 using total internal reflection (TIR).”) … and then is projected onto the first image sensors (e.g. paragraph [0018]: “Output DOE 111 may out-couple the light from waveguide 109 to image sensor 104.”); and
wherein, when the second image sensors are configured to capture the second eyeball image of the second eye of the user (e.g. paragraph [0019]: “Image sensor 104 is configured to capture images of light that is reflected from an eyebox region and onto input DOE 103.”), the external light source or a second projection beam provided by the multifunctional head-mounted device (light sources 112) is reflected by the second eye to generate a second eyeball reflected light (see reflection of non-visible light 218 from the eye in Fig. 2), and the second eyeball reflected light is reflected multiple times (e.g. paragraph [0018]: “Waveguide 109 may optically couple light from input DOE 103 to output DOE 111 using total internal reflection (TIR).”) … and then is projected onto the second image sensors (e.g. paragraph [0018]: “Output DOE 111 may out-couple the light from waveguide 109 to image sensor 104.”).”
El-Haddad further teaches (paragraph [0014]): “A head mounted device may include a multi-directional waveguide eye tracking system that is at least partially disposed in a lens assembly and in a frame of the head mounted device to determine an orientation of a user's eye. The waveguide eye tracking system may direct light reflections (e.g., infrared) from a user's eye to multiple image sensors to enable distraction-free and in-field imaging of a user's eye. The waveguide eye tracking system includes first and second waveguide systems configured to receive light from different portions of an eyebox region and configured to direct light to first and second image sensors…. Advantageously, operating the first and second waveguide systems concurrently may enable receipt of light from an area of the eyebox region that is larger than the surface area of the input DOE with the same eye tracking capability. For example, if each input DOE is approximately 7.5 mm by 15 mm, and the input DOE are separated by a 2 mm gap, then the input DOE are receiving light from an area of the eyebox region that spans, for example, 17 mm by 15 mm. Receiving light in this manner may enable improved eye orientation determination, as compared to conventional techniques.”
Seiler teaches (paragraph [0045]): “A HMD may further comprise additional components that facilitate the rendering and display of an artificial scene including additional image processing components, movement detection components, orientation detection components, eye-tracking components, heat detection components, any other suitable components, or any combination thereof.”
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate two waveguide eye tracking systems for each eye near the lens surrounding groove as taught by El-Haddad, that include non-visible light sources that generate the light which is reflected by the eye and which travels by total internal reflection in the waveguide to be projected onto the image sensors for eye-tracking functionality as taught by El-Haddad in the device of Seiler for improved eye orientation determination as taught by El-Haddad (paragraph [0014]) and because Seiler teaches that eye-tracking components may facilitate the rendering and display of an artificial scene (paragraph [0045]) without specifying any details thereof.
However, Seiler fails to teach “wherein the first eyeglass frame structure has a first lens accommodating space and a first surrounding groove communicated with the first lens accommodating space, and the first eyeglass lens structure is detachably accommodated in the first lens accommodating space and limited by the first surrounding groove;
wherein the second eyeglass frame structure has a second lens accommodating space and a second surrounding groove communicated with the second lens accommodating space, and the second eyeglass lens structure is detachably accommodated in the second lens accommodating space and limited by the second surrounding groove;”
As highlighted above, El-Haddad teaches most of these aspects of the lens accommodating space and surrounding groove, but fails to explicitly teach that the first and second eyeglass lens structures are detachably accommodated in the first and second lens accommodating spaces.
Day teaches a head-mounted device with two eyeglass frame structures (rims 2 and portions 3) and two eyeglass lenses (the lenses held thereby).
Day further teaches “wherein the first eyeglass frame structure has a first lens accommodating space (space in which the lenses are disposed, see Figs. I and XI) and a first surrounding groove (lens receiving groove 5) communicated with the first lens accommodating space (see Fig. XI), and the first eyeglass lens structure is detachably accommodated in the first lens accommodating space (page 3 lines 47-51: “detachably secure a lens in position in the usual manner”) and limited by the first surrounding groove (see Figs. I and XI, if the lens were not limited by groove 5, it would fall out);
wherein the second eyeglass frame structure has a second lens accommodating space (space in which the lenses are disposed, see Figs. I and XI) and a second surrounding groove (lens receiving groove 5) communicated with the second lens accommodating space (see Fig. XI), and the second eyeglass lens structure is detachably accommodated in the second lens accommodating space (page 3 lines 47-51: “detachably secure a lens in position in the usual manner”) and limited by the second surrounding groove (see Figs. I and XI, if the lens were not limited by groove 5, it would fall out)”.
Day further teaches page 3 lines 47-51: “In this form of the invention we employ the end pieces 7 secured to the ends of the metallic frame to unite the ends and thus detachably secure a lens in position in the usual manner.”
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the eyeglass frames structures with an accommodating space and surrounding grooves to position the lens structures therein as taught by both El-Haddad and Day, in a detachable manner as taught by Day because Day teaches that this is the manner by which lenses are usually held by the eyeglass frames (Day page 3 lines 47-51) where an ordinary skilled artisan would know that detachably securing the lenses has the advantage of allowing them to be replaced, for example when the user’s prescription changes.
In the context of the above combinations, it would also have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to position the image generating chips and image sensors sequentially surrounding each lens outside the surrounding grooves as taught by El-Haddad, because Seiler is not specific about the placement of the image generating chips and El-Haddad demonstrates how appropriate placement within the lens rims enables light to be coupled into and out of the field of view of the eye.
However, Seiler, El-Haddad and Day fail to teach “wherein the first eyeglass lens structure includes … a first external reflective layer disposed on a first outer surface of the first lens, and a first internal reflective layer disposed on a first inner surface of the first lens;
wherein the second eyeglass lens structure includes… a second external reflective layer disposed on a second outer surface of the second lens, and a second internal reflective layer disposed on a second inner surface of the second lens;
wherein … light … is reflected multiple times between the first external reflective layer and the first internal reflective layer of the first eyeglass lens structure… and
wherein… light… is reflected multiple times between the second external reflective layer and the second internal reflective layer of the second eyeglass lens structure.”
Miller teaches a multifunctional head-mounted device (wearable display system 60) having a lens structure (660 set of stacked waveguides Fig. 9A).
Miller further teaches “wherein the first eyeglass lens structure includes … a first external reflective layer (cladding layer 760a, which is an external layer in that it is on the exterior side of waveguide 680, and which is a reflective layer see paragraph [0100]: “layers 760a, 760b may function as cladding layers that facilitate total internal reflection (TIR) of light through the waveguides 670, 680, 690 (e.g., TIR between the top and bottom major surfaces of each waveguide)”) disposed on a first outer surface of the first lens (760a is disposed on a first outer surface of 660, i.e. the outer surface of 680), and a first internal reflective layer (cladding layer 760b) disposed on a first inner surface of the first lens (760b is disposed on a first inner surface of 660, i.e. the inner surface of 680);
wherein the second eyeglass lens structure includes… a second external reflective layer (cladding layer 760a, which is an external layer in that it is on the exterior side of waveguide 680, and which is a reflective layer see paragraph [0100]: “layers 760a, 760b may function as cladding layers that facilitate total internal reflection (TIR) of light through the waveguides 670, 680, 690 (e.g., TIR between the top and bottom major surfaces of each waveguide)”) disposed on a second outer surface of the second lens (760a is disposed on a first outer surface of 660, i.e. the outer surface of 680), and a second internal reflective layer (cladding layer 760b) disposed on a second inner surface of the second lens (760b is disposed on a first inner surface of 660, i.e. the inner surface of 680);
wherein … light … is reflected multiple times between the first external reflective layer and the first internal reflective layer of the first eyeglass lens structure (paragraph [0100]: “TIR between the top and bottom major surfaces of each waveguide”, which is multiple times see Fig. 7)… and
wherein… light… is reflected multiple times between the second external reflective layer and the second internal reflective layer of the second eyeglass lens structure (paragraph [0100]: “TIR between the top and bottom major surfaces of each waveguide”, which is multiple times see Fig. 7).”
Miller further teaches (paragraph [0100]): “Advantageously, the lower refractive index layers 760a, 760b may function as cladding layers that facilitate total internal reflection (TIR) of light through the waveguides 670, 680, 690 (e.g., TIR between the top and bottom major surfaces of each waveguide). In some embodiments, the layers 760a, 760b are formed of air. While not illustrated, it will be appreciated that the top and bottom of the illustrated set 660 of waveguides may include immediately neighboring cladding layers.”
In the Seiler combination, both El-Haddad and Xu teach a TIR waveguide that guides reflected light from the eye and projects it onto an image sensor. However, El-Haddad and Xu fail to explicitly teach layers on either side of the waveguide that facilitate the reflections therein.
Miller teaches that it is advantageous to include cladding layers for the purpose of facilitating total internal reflection in a waveguide of a head-mounted display (paragraph [0100]).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate first and second external reflective layers and first and second internal reflective layers as taught by Miller in the device of Seiler combination because Miller teaches that it is advantageous to include cladding layers for the purpose of facilitating total internal reflection in a waveguide of a head-mounted display (paragraph [0100]).
However, Seiler also fails to teach “wherein the first image generating chips and the first image sensors are sequentially arranged on a first circuit substrate to surround the first lens of the first eyeglass lens structure, and the first circuit substrate is circumferentially disposed inside or outside the first surrounding groove; wherein the second image generating chips and the second image sensors are sequentially arranged on a second circuit substrate to surround the second lens of the second eyeglass lens structure, and the second circuit substrate is circumferentially disposed inside or outside the second surrounding groove.”
Lundberg teaches “the first image sensors (imaging module 5) are sequentially arranged on a first circuit substrate (first and second circuitry carriers 4 and 9 which can be one integral part see paragraph [0047]) to surround the first lens of the first eyeglass lens structure (see Fig. 1A), and the first circuit substrate is circumferentially disposed inside or outside the first surrounding groove (see Fig. 1A); wherein… the second image sensors (imaging module 5) are sequentially arranged on a second circuit substrate (first and second circuitry carriers 4 and 9 which can be one integral part see paragraph [0047]) to surround the second lens of the second eyeglass lens structure (see Fig. 1A), and the second circuit substrate is circumferentially disposed inside or outside the second surrounding groove (see Fig. 1A).”
Lundberg further teaches (paragraph [0008]): “An imaging module is connected to a second circuitry carrier, the image module comprises optic arrangements. The plurality of illuminators, the imaging module and the circuitry carriers are embedded without gaps in a first material. This solution provides smaller devices as the assembly is easier to automate. The assembly is also more precise providing less variations in the manufacturing. This solution also provides an eye tracking device that is free from gaps enhancing optical performance and provides better looking and more robust devices.
Thus, within the context of the combination above where the image generating chips and image sensors are already sequentially disposed to surround the lenses proximate to the surrounding grooves as taught by El-Haddad, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a circuit substrate as taught by Lundberg that surrounds the lenses in the lens accommodating groove with the benefits of easier assembly, enhanced optical performance, improved aesthetics and increased robustness as taught by Lundberg (paragraph [0008]).
Haddick teaches “wherein the first image generating chips and the first image sensors are sequentially arranged on a first circuit substrate (paragraph [0681]): “an augmented reality eyepiece, such as camera, integrated micro-scale optical transmitter and receiver in the same chip, or on a substrate comprising a micro-display and a camera device such as CMOS chip capable of detecting user movement of the eye. integrated image source can be adapted to at least one of the camera during image capture from the image source light is modulated and illuminating the eye.”
It is a well-established proposition that forming in one piece an article which has formerly been formed into two pieces and put together involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP § 2144.04(V) In re Larson, 340 F.2d 965, 968, 144 USPQ 347, 349 (CCPA 1965) (A claim to a fluid transporting vehicle was rejected as obvious over a prior art reference which differed from the prior art in claiming a brake drum integral with a clamping means, whereas the brake disc and clamp of the prior art comprise several parts rigidly secured together as a single unit. The court affirmed the rejection holding, among other reasons, "that the use of a one piece construction instead of the structure disclosed in [the prior art] would be merely a matter of obvious engineering choice.").
The Seiler combination discloses the claimed invention except for the image generating chips and the image sensing chips sharing a common circuit substrate. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have the display and image sensor formed on a single circuit as taught by Haddick, since it has been held that forming in one piece an article which has formerly been formed into two pieces and put together involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP § 2144.04(V) In re Larson, 340 F.2d 965, 968, 144 USPQ 347, 349 (CCPA 1965) (A claim to a fluid transporting vehicle was rejected as obvious over a prior art reference which differed from the prior art in claiming a brake drum integral with a clamping means, whereas the brake disc and clamp of the prior art comprise several parts rigidly secured together as a single unit. The court affirmed the rejection holding, among other reasons, "that the use of a one piece construction instead of the structure disclosed in [the prior art] would be merely a matter of obvious engineering choice.").
Claim 5 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seiler et al. US 2020/0267359 A1 (hereafter Seiler) in view of El-Haddad et al. US 2024/0319513 A1 (hereafter El-Haddad) as applied to claims 1 and 6 above and further in view of Day et al. US 1,241,717 A (hereafter Day) and Miller et al. US 2017/0293145 A1 (hereafter Miller).
Regarding claim 5, the Seiler combination teaches “The multifunctional head-mounted device according to claim 1,” and Seiler teaches “wherein, when the first image generating chips are configured to project the first predetermined image beam onto the first eye of the user (e.g. paragraph [0035]: “each eye of the viewer receives an image emitted by multiple projectors 330”), the first predetermined image beam generated by the first image generating chips is reflected multiple times (paragraph [0027]: “a waveguide system that directs the light along a total internal reflection path to a user's eye.”)… and then is projected onto the first eye of the user (paragraph [0027]: “a waveguide system that directs the light along a total internal reflection path to a user's eye.”); and
wherein, when the second image generating chips are configured to project the second predetermined image beam onto the second eye of the user (e.g. paragraph [0035]: “each eye of the viewer receives an image emitted by multiple projectors 330”), the second predetermined image beam generated by the second image generating chips is reflected multiple times (paragraph [0027]: “a waveguide system that directs the light along a total internal reflection path to a user's eye.”)… and then is projected onto the second eye of the user (paragraph [0027]: “a waveguide system that directs the light along a total internal reflection path to a user's eye.”).”
However, Seiler fails to teach “wherein the first eyeglass frame structure has a first lens accommodating space and a first surrounding groove communicated with the first lens accommodating space, and the first eyeglass lens structure is detachably accommodated in the first lens accommodating space and limited by the first surrounding groove;
wherein the second eyeglass frame structure has a second lens accommodating space and a second surrounding groove communicated with the second lens accommodating space, and the second eyeglass lens structure is detachably accommodated in the second lens accommodating space and limited by the second surrounding groove;…
wherein the first image generating chips are surroundingly arranged inside or outside the first surrounding groove…
wherein the second image generating chips are surroundingly arranged inside or outside the second surrounding groove.”
El-Haddad teaches “wherein the first eyeglass frame structure has a first lens accommodating space (see lens accommodating space within 106 in Fig. 2) and a first surrounding groove communicated with the first lens accommodating space (see the grooves within the upper and lower portions of 106 into which lens assembly 214 is accommodated), and the first eyeglass lens structure is … accommodated in the first lens accommodating space (see Fig. 2) and limited by the first surrounding groove (the sidewalls of the groove in 106 limit the movement of the lens assembly 214);
wherein the second eyeglass frame structure has a second lens accommodating space (see lens accommodating space within 106 in Fig. 2) and a second surrounding groove communicated with the second lens accommodating space (see the grooves within the upper and lower portions of 106 into which lens assembly 214 is accommodated), and the second eyeglass lens structure is … accommodated in the second lens accommodating space (see Fig. 2) and limited by the second surrounding groove (the sidewalls of the groove in 106 limit the movement of the lens assembly 214);
wherein the first eyeglass lens structure includes a first lens (the lens assembly that includes waveguides 102 and 103)…
wherein the second eyeglass lens structure includes a second lens (the lens assembly that includes waveguides 126A and 126B)…
wherein the first image generating chips are surroundingly arranged inside or outside the first surrounding groove (see Fig. 2 projector 232 is surroundingly arranged outside the first surrounding groove in that 232 is positioned exterior to the lens assembly and immediately exterior to the first surrounding groove)…
wherein the second image generating chips are surroundingly arranged inside or outside the second surrounding groove (see Fig. 2 projector 232 is surroundingly arranged outside the first surrounding groove in that 232 is positioned exterior to the lens assembly and immediately exterior to the first surrounding groove).”
Day teaches a head-mounted device with two eyeglass frame structures (rims 2 and portions 3) and two eyeglass lenses (the lenses held thereby).
Day further teaches “wherein the first eyeglass frame structure has a first lens accommodating space (space in which the lenses are disposed, see Figs. I and XI) and a first surrounding groove (lens receiving groove 5) communicated with the first lens accommodating space (see Fig. XI), and the first eyeglass lens structure is detachably accommodated in the first lens accommodating space (page 3 lines 47-51: “detachably secure a lens in position in the usual manner”) and limited by the first surrounding groove (see Figs. I and XI, if the lens were not limited by groove 5, it would fall out);
wherein the second eyeglass frame structure has a second lens accommodating space (space in which the lenses are disposed, see Figs. I and XI) and a second surrounding groove (lens receiving groove 5) communicated with the second lens accommodating space (see Fig. XI), and the second eyeglass lens structure is detachably accommodated in the second lens accommodating space (page 3 lines 47-51: “detachably secure a lens in position in the usual manner”) and limited by the second surrounding groove (see Figs. I and XI, if the lens were not limited by groove 5, it would fall out)”.
Day further teaches page 3 lines 47-51: “In this form of the invention we employ the end pieces 7 secured to the ends of the metallic frame to unite the ends and thus detachably secure a lens in position in the usual manner.”
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the eyeglass frames structures with an accommodating space and surrounding grooves to position the lens structures therein as taught by both El-Haddad and Day, in a detachable manner as taught by Day because Day teaches that this is the manner by which lenses are usually held by the eyeglass frames (Day page 3 lines 47-51) where an ordinary skilled artisan would know that detachably securing the lenses has the advantage of allowing them to be replaced, for example when the user’s prescription changes.
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to surroundingly arrange the image generating chips outside the surrounding grooves as taught by El-Haddad, because Seiler only schematically depicts the positioning of the image generators and El-Haddad teaches how a similar image generating structure should be arranged with respect to the eyeglass frame structures and lens structures.
However, Seiler, El-Haddad and Day fail to teach “wherein the first eyeglass lens structure includes … a first external reflective layer disposed on a first outer surface of the first lens, and a first internal reflective layer disposed on a first inner surface of the first lens;
wherein the second eyeglass lens structure includes… a second external reflective layer disposed on a second outer surface of the second lens, and a second internal reflective layer disposed on a second inner surface of the second lens…
the first image generating chips has a first light-emitting area facing the first lens of the first eyeglass lens structure…
the second image generating chips has a second light-emitting area facing the second lens of the second eyeglass lens structure…
wherein … the first predetermined image beam… is reflected multiple times between the first external reflective layer and the first internal reflective layer of the first eyeglass lens structure… and
wherein… the first predetermined image beam… is reflected multiple times between the second external reflective layer and the second internal reflective layer of the second eyeglass lens structure.”
Miller teaches a multifunctional head-mounted device (wearable display system 60) having a lens structure (660 set of stacked waveguides Fig. 9A).
Miller further teaches “wherein the first eyeglass lens structure includes … a first external reflective layer (cladding layer 760a, which is an external layer in that it is on the exterior side of waveguide 680, and which is a reflective layer see paragraph [0100]: “layers 760a, 760b may function as cladding layers that facilitate total internal reflection (TIR) of light through the waveguides 670, 680, 690 (e.g., TIR between the top and bottom major surfaces of each waveguide)”) disposed on a first outer surface of the first lens (760a is disposed on a first outer surface of 660, i.e. the outer surface of 680), and a first internal reflective layer (cladding layer 760b) disposed on a first inner surface of the first lens (760b is disposed on a first inner surface of 660, i.e. the inner surface of 680);
wherein the second eyeglass lens structure includes… a second external reflective layer (cladding layer 760a, which is an external layer in that it is on the exterior side of waveguide 680, and which is a reflective layer see paragraph [0100]: “layers 760a, 760b may function as cladding layers that facilitate total internal reflection (TIR) of light through the waveguides 670, 680, 690 (e.g., TIR between the top and bottom major surfaces of each waveguide)”) disposed on a second outer surface of the second lens (760a is disposed on a first outer surface of 660, i.e. the outer surface of 680), and a second internal reflective layer (cladding layer 760b) disposed on a second inner surface of the second lens (760b is disposed on a first inner surface of 660, i.e. the inner surface of 680)…
the first image generating chips has a first light-emitting area facing the first lens of the first eyeglass lens structure (see Figs. 6 and 10A and e.g. paragraph [0077]: “Light exits an output surface 410, 420, 430, 440, 450 of the image injection devices 360, 370, 380, 390, 400 and is injected into a corresponding input surface 460, 470, 480, 490, 500 of the waveguides 270, 280, 290, 300, 310. In some embodiments, the each of the input surfaces 460, 470, 480, 490, 500 may be an edge of a corresponding waveguide”) …
the second image generating chips has a second light-emitting area facing the second lens of the second eyeglass lens structure (see Figs. 6 and 10A and e.g. paragraph [0077]: “Light exits an output surface 410, 420, 430, 440, 450 of the image injection devices 360, 370, 380, 390, 400 and is injected into a corresponding input surface 460, 470, 480, 490, 500 of the waveguides 270, 280, 290, 300, 310. In some embodiments, the each of the input surfaces 460, 470, 480, 490, 500 may be an edge of a corresponding waveguide”)…
wherein when the first image generating chips are configured to project the first predetermined image beam onto the first eye of the user (e.g. paragraph [0102]: “light rays 770, 780, 790 may be injected into the waveguides 670, 680, 690 by one or more image injection devices 360, 370, 380, 390, 400”), the first predetermined image beam generated by the first image generating chips is reflected multiple times between the first external reflective layer and the first internal reflective layer of the first eyeglass lens structure (paragraph [0100]: “TIR between the top and bottom major surfaces of each waveguide”, which is multiple times see Fig. 7)… and
wherein when the second image generating chips are configured to project the second predetermined image beam onto the second eye of the user (e.g. paragraph [0102]: “light rays 770, 780, 790 may be injected into the waveguides 670, 680, 690 by one or more image injection devices 360, 370, 380, 390, 400”), the second predetermined image beam generated by the second image generating chips is reflected multiple times between the second external reflective layer and the second internal reflective layer of the second eyeglass lens structure (paragraph [0100]: “TIR between the top and bottom major surfaces of each waveguide”, which is multiple times see Fig. 7).”
Miller further teaches (paragraph [0100]): “Advantageously, the lower refractive index layers 760a, 760b may function as cladding layers that facilitate total internal reflection (TIR) of light through the waveguides 670, 680, 690 (e.g., TIR between the top and bottom major surfaces of each waveguide). In some embodiments, the layers 760a, 760b are formed of air. While not illustrated, it will be appreciated that the top and bottom of the illustrated set 660 of waveguides may include immediately neighboring cladding layers.”
Seiler teaches a TIR waveguide that guides reflected light from the eye and projects it onto an image sensor. However, Seiler fails to explicitly teach layers on either side of the waveguide that facilitate the reflections therein.
Miller teaches that it is advantageous to include cladding layers for the purpose of facilitating total internal reflection in a waveguide of a head-mounted display (paragraph [0100]).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate first and second external reflective layers and first and second internal reflective layers as taught by Miller in the device of Seiler combination because Miller teaches that it is advantageous to include cladding layers for the purpose of facilitating total internal reflection in a waveguide of a head-mounted display (paragraph [0100]).
Miller further teaches (paragraph [0077]): “Light exits an output surface 410, 420, 430, 440, 450 of the image injection devices 360, 370, 380, 390, 400 and is injected into a corresponding input surface 460, 470, 480, 490, 500 of the waveguides 270, 280, 290, 300, 310. In some embodiments, the each of the input surfaces 460, 470, 480, 490, 500 may be an edge of a corresponding waveguide, or may be part of a major surface of the corresponding waveguide (that is, one of the waveguide surfaces directly facing the world 510 or the viewer's eye 210).”
Seiler discloses the claimed invention except that the input surface of the waveguide is the major surface of the waveguide instead of the edge of the waveguide. Miller shows that an edge input surface and a major-surface input surface for a waveguide into which image light is injected are equivalent structures in the art. Therefore, because these two orientations of the input surface were art-recognized equivalents before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to substitute an edge-type input arrangement for a major-surface type input arrangement, and the results thereof would have been predictable. See MPEP §2144.06 and 2143 (I)(B).
Regarding claim 9, the Seiler combination teaches “The multifunctional head-mounted device according to claim 2,” and Seiler teaches “wherein, when the first image generating chips are configured to project the first predetermined image beam onto a first eye of a user (e.g. paragraph [0035]: “each eye of the viewer receives an image emitted by multiple projectors 330”), the first predetermined image beam generated by the first image generating chips is reflected multiple times (paragraph [0027]: “a waveguide system that directs the light along a total internal reflection path to a user's eye.”)… and then is projected onto the first eye of the user (paragraph [0027]: “a waveguide system that directs the light along a total internal reflection path to a user's eye.”); and
wherein, when the second image generating chips are configured to project a second predetermined image beam onto a second eye of the user (e.g. paragraph [0035]: “each eye of the viewer receives an image emitted by multiple projectors 330”), the second predetermined image beam generated by the second image generating chips is reflected multiple times (paragraph [0027]: “a waveguide system that directs the light along a total internal reflection path to a user's eye.”)… and then is projected onto the second eye of the user (paragraph [0027]: “a waveguide system that directs the light along a total internal reflection path to a user's eye.”).”
However, Seiler fails to teach “wherein the first eyeglass frame structure has a first lens accommodating space and a first surrounding groove communicated with the first lens accommodating space, and the first eyeglass lens structure is detachably accommodated in the first lens accommodating space and limited by the first surrounding groove;
wherein the second eyeglass frame structure has a second lens accommodating space and a second surrounding groove communicated with the second lens accommodating space, and the second eyeglass lens structure is detachably accommodated in the second lens accommodating space and limited by the second surrounding groove;…
wherein the first image generating chips are surroundingly arranged inside or outside the first surrounding groove…
wherein the second image generating chips are surroundingly arranged inside or outside the second surrounding groove.”
El-Haddad teaches “wherein the first eyeglass frame structure has a first lens accommodating space (see lens accommodating space within 106 in Fig. 2) and a first surrounding groove communicated with the first lens accommodating space (see the grooves within the upper and lower portions of 106 into which lens assembly 214 is accommodated), and the first eyeglass lens structure is … accommodated in the first lens accommodating space (see Fig. 2) and limited by the first surrounding groove (the sidewalls of the groove in 106 limit the movement of the lens assembly 214);
wherein the second eyeglass frame structure has a second lens accommodating space (see lens accommodating space within 106 in Fig. 2) and a second surrounding groove communicated with the second lens accommodating space (see the grooves within the upper and lower portions of 106 into which lens assembly 214 is accommodated), and the second eyeglass lens structure is … accommodated in the second lens accommodating space (see Fig. 2) and limited by the second surrounding groove (the sidewalls of the groove in 106 limit the movement of the lens assembly 214);
wherein the first eyeglass lens structure includes a first lens (the lens assembly that includes waveguides 102 and 103)…
wherein the second eyeglass lens structure includes a second lens (the lens assembly that includes waveguides 126A and 126B)…
wherein the first image generating chips are surroundingly arranged inside or outside the first surrounding groove (see Fig. 2 projector 232 is surroundingly arranged outside the first surrounding groove in that 232 is positioned exterior to the lens assembly and immediately exterior to the first surrounding groove)…
wherein the second image generating chips are surroundingly arranged inside or outside the second surrounding groove (see Fig. 2 projector 232 is surroundingly arranged outside the first surrounding groove in that 232 is positioned exterior to the lens assembly and immediately exterior to the first surrounding groove).”
Day teaches a head-mounted device with two eyeglass frame structures (rims 2 and portions 3) and two eyeglass lenses (the lenses held thereby).
Day further teaches “wherein the first eyeglass frame structure has a first lens accommodating space (space in which the lenses are disposed, see Figs. I and XI) and a first surrounding groove (lens receiving groove 5) communicated with the first lens accommodating space (see Fig. XI), and the first eyeglass lens structure is detachably accommodated in the first lens accommodating space (page 3 lines 47-51: “detachably secure a lens in position in the usual manner”) and limited by the first surrounding groove (see Figs. I and XI, if the lens were not limited by groove 5, it would fall out);
wherein the second eyeglass frame structure has a second lens accommodating space (space in which the lenses are disposed, see Figs. I and XI) and a second surrounding groove (lens receiving groove 5) communicated with the second lens accommodating space (see Fig. XI), and the second eyeglass lens structure is detachably accommodated in the second lens accommodating space (page 3 lines 47-51: “detachably secure a lens in position in the usual manner”) and limited by the second surrounding groove (see Figs. I and XI, if the lens were not limited by groove 5, it would fall out)”.
Day further teaches page 3 lines 47-51: “In this form of the invention we employ the end pieces 7 secured to the ends of the metallic frame to unite the ends and thus detachably secure a lens in position in the usual manner.”
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the eyeglass frames structures with an accommodating space and surrounding grooves to position the lens structures therein as taught by both El-Haddad and Day, in a detachable manner as taught by Day because Day teaches that this is the manner by which lenses are usually held by the eyeglass frames (Day page 3 lines 47-51) where an ordinary skilled artisan would know that detachably securing the lenses has the advantage of allowing them to be replaced, for example when the user’s prescription changes.
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to surroundingly arrange the image generating chips outside the surrounding grooves as taught by El-Haddad, because Seiler only schematically depicts the positioning of the image generators and El-Haddad teaches how a similar image generating structure should be arranged with respect to the eyeglass frame structures and lens structures.
However, Seiler, El-Haddad and Day fail to teach “wherein the first eyeglass lens structure includes … a first external reflective layer disposed on a first outer surface of the first lens, and a first internal reflective layer disposed on a first inner surface of the first lens;
wherein the second eyeglass lens structure includes… a second external reflective layer disposed on a second outer surface of the second lens, and a second internal reflective layer disposed on a second inner surface of the second lens…
the first image generating chips has a first light-emitting area facing the first lens of the first eyeglass lens structure…
the second image generating chips has a second light-emitting area facing the second lens of the second eyeglass lens structure…
wherein … the first predetermined image beam… is reflected multiple times between the first external reflective layer and the first internal reflective layer of the first eyeglass lens structure… and
wherein… the first predetermined image beam… is reflected multiple times between the second external reflective layer and the second internal reflective layer of the second eyeglass lens structure.”
Miller teaches a multifunctional head-mounted device (wearable display system 60) having a lens structure (660 set of stacked waveguides Fig. 9A).
Miller further teaches “wherein the first eyeglass lens structure includes … a first external reflective layer (cladding layer 760a, which is an external layer in that it is on the exterior side of waveguide 680, and which is a reflective layer see paragraph [0100]: “layers 760a, 760b may function as cladding layers that facilitate total internal reflection (TIR) of light through the waveguides 670, 680, 690 (e.g., TIR between the top and bottom major surfaces of each waveguide)”) disposed on a first outer surface of the first lens (760a is disposed on a first outer surface of 660, i.e. the outer surface of 680), and a first internal reflective layer (cladding layer 760b) disposed on a first inner surface of the first lens (760b is disposed on a first inner surface of 660, i.e. the inner surface of 680);
wherein the second eyeglass lens structure includes… a second external reflective layer (cladding layer 760a, which is an external layer in that it is on the exterior side of waveguide 680, and which is a reflective layer see paragraph [0100]: “layers 760a, 760b may function as cladding layers that facilitate total internal reflection (TIR) of light through the waveguides 670, 680, 690 (e.g., TIR between the top and bottom major surfaces of each waveguide)”) disposed on a second outer surface of the second lens (760a is disposed on a first outer surface of 660, i.e. the outer surface of 680), and a second internal reflective layer (cladding layer 760b) disposed on a second inner surface of the second lens (760b is disposed on a first inner surface of 660, i.e. the inner surface of 680)…
the first image generating chips has a first light-emitting area facing the first lens of the first eyeglass lens structure (see Figs. 6 and 10A and e.g. paragraph [0077]: “Light exits an output surface 410, 420, 430, 440, 450 of the image injection devices 360, 370, 380, 390, 400 and is injected into a corresponding input surface 460, 470, 480, 490, 500 of the waveguides 270, 280, 290, 300, 310. In some embodiments, the each of the input surfaces 460, 470, 480, 490, 500 may be an edge of a corresponding waveguide”) …
the second image generating chips has a second light-emitting area facing the second lens of the second eyeglass lens structure (see Figs. 6 and 10A and e.g. paragraph [0077]: “Light exits an output surface 410, 420, 430, 440, 450 of the image injection devices 360, 370, 380, 390, 400 and is injected into a corresponding input surface 460, 470, 480, 490, 500 of the waveguides 270, 280, 290, 300, 310. In some embodiments, the each of the input surfaces 460, 470, 480, 490, 500 may be an edge of a corresponding waveguide”)…
wherein when the first image generating chips are configured to project the first predetermined image beam onto the first eye of the user (e.g. paragraph [0102]: “light rays 770, 780, 790 may be injected into the waveguides 670, 680, 690 by one or more image injection devices 360, 370, 380, 390, 400”), the first predetermined image beam generated by the first image generating chips is reflected multiple times between the first external reflective layer and the first internal reflective layer of the first eyeglass lens structure (paragraph [0100]: “TIR between the top and bottom major surfaces of each waveguide”, which is multiple times see Fig. 7)… and
wherein when the second image generating chips are configured to project the second predetermined image beam onto the second eye of the user (e.g. paragraph [0102]: “light rays 770, 780, 790 may be injected into the waveguides 670, 680, 690 by one or more image injection devices 360, 370, 380, 390, 400”), the second predetermined image beam generated by the second image generating chips is reflected multiple times between the second external reflective layer and the second internal reflective layer of the second eyeglass lens structure (paragraph [0100]: “TIR between the top and bottom major surfaces of each waveguide”, which is multiple times see Fig. 7).”
Miller further teaches (paragraph [0100]): “Advantageously, the lower refractive index layers 760a, 760b may function as cladding layers that facilitate total internal reflection (TIR) of light through the waveguides 670, 680, 690 (e.g., TIR between the top and bottom major surfaces of each waveguide). In some embodiments, the layers 760a, 760b are formed of air. While not illustrated, it will be appreciated that the top and bottom of the illustrated set 660 of waveguides may include immediately neighboring cladding layers.”
Seiler teaches a TIR waveguide that guides reflected light from the eye and projects it onto an image sensor. However, Seiler fails to explicitly teach layers on either side of the waveguide that facilitate the reflections therein.
Miller teaches that it is advantageous to include cladding layers for the purpose of facilitating total internal reflection in a waveguide of a head-mounted display (paragraph [0100]).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate first and second external reflective layers and first and second internal reflective layers as taught by Miller in the device of Seiler combination because Miller teaches that it is advantageous to include cladding layers for the purpose of facilitating total internal reflection in a waveguide of a head-mounted display (paragraph [0100]).
Miller further teaches (paragraph [0077]): “Light exits an output surface 410, 420, 430, 440, 450 of the image injection devices 360, 370, 380, 390, 400 and is injected into a corresponding input surface 460, 470, 480, 490, 500 of the waveguides 270, 280, 290, 300, 310. In some embodiments, the each of the input surfaces 460, 470, 480, 490, 500 may be an edge of a corresponding waveguide, or may be part of a major surface of the corresponding waveguide (that is, one of the waveguide surfaces directly facing the world 510 or the viewer's eye 210).”
Seiler discloses the claimed invention except that the input surface of the waveguide is the major surface of the waveguide instead of the edge of the waveguide. Miller shows that an edge input surface and a major-surface input surface for a waveguide into which image light is injected are equivalent structures in the art. Therefore, because these two orientations of the input surface were art-recognized equivalents before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to substitute an edge-type input arrangement for a major-surface type input arrangement, and the results thereof would have been predictable. See MPEP §2144.06 and 2143 (I)(B).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seiler et al. US 2020/0267359 A1 (hereafter Seiler) in view of El-Haddad et al. US 2024/0319513 A1 (hereafter El-Haddad) as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Sharma et al. US 12,118,143 (hereafter Sharma).
Regarding claim 7, the Seiler – El-Haddad combination teaches “The multifunctional head-mounted device according to claim 6,” and Seiler further teaches “further comprising:
… a wireless transmission module (communication interface 1110 paragraph [0110]: “a wireless NIC (WNIC) or wireless adapter for communicating with a wireless network”) disposed inside the device casing module (1110 is part of 1100 which can be an embedded computer system or an augmented/virtual reality device see paragraph [0104] and thus is disposed in the device casing module in that it is an integral part of the head-mounted device) and electrically connected to the signal control module (in the instances where 1100 is an embedded computer system or an augmented/virtual reality device as disclosed in paragraph [0104], the connections between the parts thereof are electrical);
a power supply module (see e.g. paragraph [0091]: “it may be determined that certain ICs may draw more power than others. For example, it may be determined that power required for a configuration with four warp engines is lower than one with twelve. It may be further determined that certain combinations of blocks into a single IC may affect the power requirements. For example, it may be determined that a configuration in which the warp engine and headset CPU are combined has a higher power requirement than one in which the warp engine is combined with a DDI control and/or μLED backplane control and active matrix.” Thus the components of the head-mounted device require power to function, therefor a power supply module exists.) …
a sound generation module (paragraph [0109] an I/O device may include a… speaker”) …
and
an electrical connector module (bus 1112) disposed inside the device casing module (1112 is part of 1100 which can be an embedded computer system or an augmented/virtual reality device see paragraph [0104] and thus is disposed in the device casing module in that it is an integral part of the head-mounted device) and electrically connected to the signal control module (in the instances where 1100 is an embedded computer system or an augmented/virtual reality device as disclosed in paragraph [0104], the connections between the parts thereof are electrical).”
However, Seiler fails to explicitly teach “a first image capturing module configured to cooperate with the device casing module and electrically connect to the signal control module;
a second image capturing module configured to cooperate with the device casing module and electrically connect to the signal control module…
a power supply module disposed inside the device casing module and electrically connected to the signal control module;
a sound generation module disposed inside the device casing module and electrically connected to the signal control module;
a vibration generation module disposed inside the device casing module and electrically connected to the signal control module…
wherein the first image capturing module includes a plurality of first image sensors configured to surround the first eyeglass lens structure and be surrounded by the first eyeglass frame structure, and some of the plurality of first image sensors are configured as a plurality of first biosensor chips;
wherein the second image capturing module includes a plurality of second image sensors configured to surround the second eyeglass lens structure and be surrounded by the second eyeglass frame structure, and some of the plurality of second image sensors are configured as a plurality of second biosensor chips;
wherein, when the multifunctional head-mounted device is optionally configured to be worn by the user, the first image sensors are allowed to be configured through the signal control module to capture a first eyeball image of the first eye of the user through the first optical waveguide channel provided by the first eyeglass lens structure; and
wherein, when the multifunctional head-mounted device is optionally configured to be worn by the user, the second image sensors are allowed to be configured through the signal control module to capture a second eyeball image of the second eye of the user through the second optical waveguide channel provided by the second eyeglass lens structure.”
El-Haddad teaches “a first image capturing module (one of (a) waveguide systems 101 and 102 with image sensors 104 and 107 or (b) waveguide systems 126A and 126B with image sensors 128A and 128B) configured to cooperate with the device casing module (see Figs. 1 and 2) and electrically connect to the signal control module (see paragraph [0023]: “Controller 118 may be configured to synchronize operation of light sources 112 with image sensors 104 and 107… Controller 118 may be configured to provide control signals to the light sources or other actuators (e.g., an in-field display of the lens assembly) in head mounted device 100 based on the estimated eye orientation. Controller 118 may include a wired and/or wireless data interface for sending and receiving data,” Thus there is a wired/electrical connection providing control signals to control the operation of the image sensors.);
a second image capturing module (the other one of (a) waveguide systems 101 and 102 with image sensors 104 and 107 or (b) waveguide systems 126A and 126B with image sensors 128A and 128B) configured to cooperate with the device casing module (see Figs. 1 and 2) and electrically connect to the signal control module (see paragraph [0023]: “Controller 118 may be configured to synchronize operation of light sources 112 with image sensors 104 and 107… Controller 118 may be configured to provide control signals to the light sources or other actuators (e.g., an in-field display of the lens assembly) in head mounted device 100 based on the estimated eye orientation. Controller 118 may include a wired and/or wireless data interface for sending and receiving data,” Thus there is a wired/electrical connection providing control signals to control the operation of the image sensors.);
a wireless transmission module (paragraph [0023]: “In one embodiment, head mounted device 100 is configured to receive wireless data including video data via a wireless communication channel.”) disposed inside the device casing module (see Fig. 1, 118 is inside the device casing module, thus it’s wireless data interface is also within the device casing module) and electrically connected to the signal control module (they are both part of controller 118 and thus electrically connected to one another);
a power supply module (paragraph [0023]: “head mounted device 100 is configured to be powered by one or more batteries.”) disposed inside the device casing module (the battery is discussed as part of the controller which is in the temple arm) and electrically connected to the signal control module (the battery powers the entire head mounted device including the controller, thus is electrically connected to the signal control module);
a sound generation module (paragraph [0044]: “The artificial reality content may include… audio,”) disposed inside the device casing module (paragraph [0044]: “The artificial reality system that provides the artificial reality content may be implemented on various platforms, including… a standalone HMD,” in the case of a stand-alone HMD, the audio content generation module would be located in the device casing module) and electrically connected to the signal control module (any of the artificial reality content is controlled by the controller and thus electrically connected thereto);
…
wherein the first image capturing module includes a plurality of first image sensors (either image sensors 104 and 107 or image sensors 128A and 128B) configured to surround the first eyeglass lens structure (see Figs. 1 and 2, the image sensors are located exterior to the eyeglass lenses on either side thereof) and be surrounded by the first eyeglass frame structure (most easily seen in Fig. 2 the image sensors are embedded in and thus surrounded by the eyeglass frames), and some of the plurality of first image sensors are configured as a plurality of first biosensor chips (e.g. paragraph [0014]: “The waveguide eye tracking system may direct light reflections (e.g., infrared) from a user's eye to multiple image sensors to enable distraction-free and in-field imaging of a user's eye.” Thus the image sensors are first biosensors in that the sense the eye which is a biological organ. See also paragraph [0019]: “Image sensor 104 may be a complementary metal-oxide-semiconductor (CMOS) image sensor.” Thus the image sensors are semiconductor chips.);
wherein the second image capturing module includes a plurality of second image sensors (the other set of image sensors 104 and 107 or image sensors 128A and 128B) configured to surround the second eyeglass lens structure (see Figs. 1 and 2, the image sensors are located exterior to the eyeglass lenses on either side thereof) and be surrounded by the second eyeglass frame structure (most easily seen in Fig. 2 the image sensors are embedded in and thus surrounded by the eyeglass frames), and some of the plurality of second image sensors are configured as a plurality of second biosensor chips (e.g. paragraph [0014]: “The waveguide eye tracking system may direct light reflections (e.g., infrared) from a user's eye to multiple image sensors to enable distraction-free and in-field imaging of a user's eye.” Thus the image sensors are first biosensors in that the sense the eye which is a biological organ. See also paragraph [0019]: “Image sensor 104 may be a complementary metal-oxide-semiconductor (CMOS) image sensor.” Thus the image sensors are semiconductor chips.);
wherein, when the multifunctional head-mounted device is optionally configured to be worn by a user (the positioning of Fig. 2), the first image sensors are allowed to be configured through the signal control module to capture a first eyeball image of a first eye of the user (e.g. paragraph [0019]: “Image sensor 104 … may be configured to receive light from waveguide system 101…Image sensor 104 is configured to capture images of light that is reflected from an eyebox region” Note that this is true of all four image sensors 104, 107, 128A and 128B) through a first optical waveguide channel provided by the first eyeglass lens structure (paragraph [0021]: “Lens assembly 108 may include a number of optical layers, such as an illumination layer, a display layer (e.g., that includes a display), one or more waveguide layers (e.g., that include waveguide system 101/102), and/or a prescription layer, for example.” Thus the waveguides for eye tracking are part of the same eyeglass lens structure as the displays or other waveguides.); and
wherein, when the multifunctional head-mounted device is optionally configured to be worn by the user (the positioning of Fig. 2), the second image sensors are allowed to be configured through the signal control module to capture a second eyeball image of a second eye of the user (e.g. paragraph [0019]: “Image sensor 104 … may be configured to receive light from waveguide system 101…Image sensor 104 is configured to capture images of light that is reflected from an eyebox region” Note that this is true of all four image sensors 104, 107, 128A and 128B) through a second optical waveguide channel provided by the second eyeglass lens structure (paragraph [0021]: “Lens assembly 108 may include a number of optical layers, such as an illumination layer, a display layer (e.g., that includes a display), one or more waveguide layers (e.g., that include waveguide system 101/102), and/or a prescription layer, for example.” Thus the waveguides for eye tracking are part of the same eyeglass lens structure as the displays or other waveguides.).”
El-Haddad further teaches (paragraph [0014]): “A head mounted device may include a multi-directional waveguide eye tracking system that is at least partially disposed in a lens assembly and in a frame of the head mounted device to determine an orientation of a user's eye. The waveguide eye tracking system may direct light reflections (e.g., infrared) from a user's eye to multiple image sensors to enable distraction-free and in-field imaging of a user's eye. The waveguide eye tracking system includes first and second waveguide systems configured to receive light from different portions of an eyebox region and configured to direct light to first and second image sensors…. Advantageously, operating the first and second waveguide systems concurrently may enable receipt of light from an area of the eyebox region that is larger than the surface area of the input DOE with the same eye tracking capability. For example, if each input DOE is approximately 7.5 mm by 15 mm, and the input DOE are separated by a 2 mm gap, then the input DOE are receiving light from an area of the eyebox region that spans, for example, 17 mm by 15 mm. Receiving light in this manner may enable improved eye orientation determination, as compared to conventional techniques.”
Seiler teaches (paragraph [0045]): “A HMD may further comprise additional components that facilitate the rendering and display of an artificial scene including additional image processing components, movement detection components, orientation detection components, eye-tracking components, heat detection components, any other suitable components, or any combination thereof.”
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate two waveguide eye tracking systems for each eye meeting the above limitations as taught by El-Haddad in the device of Seiler for improved eye orientation determination as taught by El-Haddad (paragraph [0014]) and because Seiler teaches that eye-tracking components may facilitate the rendering and display of an artificial scene (paragraph [0045]) without specifying any details thereof.
El-Haddad further teaches (paragraph [0023]): “head mounted device 100 is configured to be powered by one or more batteries.”
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a battery into the head mounted device as taught by El-Haddad in the device of the Seiler – El-Haddad combination for the purpose of providing a local power supply to power the head-mounted device as taught by El-Haddad (paragraph [0023]).
El-Haddad further teaches (paragraph [0044]): “The artificial reality content may include video, audio, haptic feedback, or some combination thereof, and any of which may be presented in a single channel or in multiple channels (such as stereo video that produces a three-dimensional effect to the viewer).”
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a sound generation module within the head-mounted device as taught by El-Haddad in the device of the Seiler – El-Haddad combination for the purpose of augmenting the artificial reality video with audio content as taught by El-Haddad (paragraph [0044]).
However, Seiler also fails to teach “a vibration generation module disposed inside the device casing module and electrically connected to the signal control module.”
Sharma teaches a multifunctional head-mounted device (col. 10 lines 9-24: artificial-reality systems)… comprising “a vibration generation module (col. 10 lines 9-24: “Haptic feedback systems may provide various types of cutaneous feedback, including vibration”) disposed inside the device casing module (col. 10 lines 9-24: “tactile (i.e., haptic) feedback systems, which may be incorporated into headwear”) and … connected to the signal control module (col. 10 lines 25-28: “By providing haptic sensations, audible content, and/or visual content, artificial-reality systems may create an entire virtual experience or enhance a user's real-world experience in a variety of contexts and environments.” Thus the haptic content is controlled as part of the same experience as the virtual content and thus is connected in some fashion to the signal control module that controls the display).”
Sharma further teaches (col. 10 lines 25-43): “By providing haptic sensations, audible content, and/or visual content, artificial-reality systems may create an entire virtual experience or enhance a user's real-world experience in a variety of contexts and environments. For instance, artificial-reality systems may assist or extend a user's perception, memory, or cognition within a particular environment. Some systems may enhance a user's interactions with other people in the real world or may enable more immersive interactions with other people in a virtual world. Artificial-reality systems may also be used for educational purposes (e.g., for teaching or training in schools, hospitals, government organizations, military organizations, business enterprises, etc.), entertainment purposes (e.g., for playing video games, listening to music, watching video content, etc.), and/or for accessibility purposes (e.g., as hearing aids, visual aids, etc.). The embodiments disclosed herein may enable or enhance a user's artificial-reality experience in one or more of these contexts and environments and/or in other contexts and environments”.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a vibration generation module as taught by Sharma into the head-mounted device of the Seiler combination for the purpose of creating an entire virtual experience of enhancing user's real-world experience by providing haptic sensations as taught by Sharma (col. 10 lines 25-43).
Note that the limitation “a vibration generation module… electrically connected to the signal control module” is considered to be met by the combination of references because Seiler already teaches electrical connections between the elements of the head-mounted display and the signal control module, such that electrical connections would also similarly be provided between the haptic feedback vibration generation module and the signal control module.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seiler et al. US 2020/0267359 A1 (hereafter Seiler) in view of El-Haddad et al. US 2024/0319513 A1 (hereafter El-Haddad), and Sharma et al. US 12,118,143 (hereafter Sharma) as applied to claim 7 above and further in view of Day et al. US 1,241,717 A (hereafter Day), Miller et al. US 2017/0293145 A1 (hereafter Miller), Lundberg et al. US 2020/0348753 (hereafter Lundberg) and Haddick et al. CN 103946732 (hereafter Haddick).
Regarding claim 8, the Seiler combination teaches “The multifunctional head-mounted device according to claim 7,” however, Seiler fails to teach:
“wherein the first image generating chips and the first image sensors are sequentially arranged… to surround the first lens of the first eyeglass lens structure, and… circumferentially disposed inside or outside the first surrounding groove;
wherein the second image generating chips and the second image sensors are sequentially arranged… to surround the second lens of the second eyeglass lens structure, and… circumferentially disposed inside or outside the second surrounding groove;
wherein, when the first image sensors are configured to capture the first eyeball image of the first eye of the user, the first eyeball reflected light generated from the first eye is reflected multiple times… and then is projected onto the first image sensors; and
wherein, when the second image sensors are configured to capture the second eyeball image of the second eye of the user, the second eyeball reflected light generated from the second eye is reflected multiple times… and then is projected onto the second image sensors.”
El-Haddad teaches “wherein the first eyeglass frame structure has a first lens accommodating space (see lens accommodating space within 106 in Fig. 2) and a first surrounding groove communicated with the first lens accommodating space (see the grooves within the upper and lower portions of 106 into which lens assembly 214 is accommodated), and the first eyeglass lens structure is … accommodated in the first lens accommodating space (see Fig. 2) and limited by the first surrounding groove (the sidewalls of the groove in 106 limit the movement of the lens assembly 214);
wherein the second eyeglass frame structure has a second lens accommodating space (see lens accommodating space within 106 in Fig. 2) and a second surrounding groove communicated with the second lens accommodating space (see the grooves within the upper and lower portions of 106 into which lens assembly 214 is accommodated), and the second eyeglass lens structure is … accommodated in the second lens accommodating space (see Fig. 2) and limited by the second surrounding groove (the sidewalls of the groove in 106 limit the movement of the lens assembly 214);
wherein the first eyeglass lens structure includes a first lens (the lens assembly that includes waveguides 102 and 103)…
wherein the second eyeglass lens structure includes a second lens (the lens assembly that includes waveguides 126A and 126B)…
wherein the first image generating chips and the first image sensors are sequentially arranged… to surround the first lens of the first eyeglass lens structure (see Fig. 2 projector 232 and image sensors 104 and 107 are arranged in a sequence surrounding the first lens), and… circumferentially disposed inside or outside the first surrounding groove (see Fig. 2 232, 104 and 107 are disposed just outside the surrounding groove);
wherein the second image generating chips and the second image sensors are sequentially arranged… to surround the second lens of the second eyeglass lens structure (see Fig. 2 projector 232 and image sensors 104 and 107 are arranged in a sequence surrounding the first lens), and… circumferentially disposed inside or outside the second surrounding groove (see Fig. 2 232, 104 and 107 are disposed just outside the surrounding groove);
wherein, when the first image sensors are configured to capture the first eyeball image of the first eye of the user (e.g. paragraph [0019]: “Image sensor 104 is configured to capture images of light that is reflected from an eyebox region and onto input DOE 103.”), the first eyeball reflected light generated from the first eye is reflected multiple times (e.g. paragraph [0018]: “Waveguide 109 may optically couple light from input DOE 103 to output DOE 111 using total internal reflection (TIR).”) … and then is projected onto the first image sensors (e.g. paragraph [0018]: “Output DOE 111 may out-couple the light from waveguide 109 to image sensor 104.”); and
wherein, when the second image sensors are configured to capture the second eyeball image of the second eye of the user (e.g. paragraph [0019]: “Image sensor 104 is configured to capture images of light that is reflected from an eyebox region and onto input DOE 103.”), the second eyeball reflected light generated from the second eye is reflected multiple times (e.g. paragraph [0018]: “Waveguide 109 may optically couple light from input DOE 103 to output DOE 111 using total internal reflection (TIR).”) … and then is projected onto the second image sensors (e.g. paragraph [0018]: “Output DOE 111 may out-couple the light from waveguide 109 to image sensor 104.”).”
El-Haddad further teaches (paragraph [0014]): “A head mounted device may include a multi-directional waveguide eye tracking system that is at least partially disposed in a lens assembly and in a frame of the head mounted device to determine an orientation of a user's eye. The waveguide eye tracking system may direct light reflections (e.g., infrared) from a user's eye to multiple image sensors to enable distraction-free and in-field imaging of a user's eye. The waveguide eye tracking system includes first and second waveguide systems configured to receive light from different portions of an eyebox region and configured to direct light to first and second image sensors…. Advantageously, operating the first and second waveguide systems concurrently may enable receipt of light from an area of the eyebox region that is larger than the surface area of the input DOE with the same eye tracking capability. For example, if each input DOE is approximately 7.5 mm by 15 mm, and the input DOE are separated by a 2 mm gap, then the input DOE are receiving light from an area of the eyebox region that spans, for example, 17 mm by 15 mm. Receiving light in this manner may enable improved eye orientation determination, as compared to conventional techniques.”
Seiler teaches (paragraph [0045]): “A HMD may further comprise additional components that facilitate the rendering and display of an artificial scene including additional image processing components, movement detection components, orientation detection components, eye-tracking components, heat detection components, any other suitable components, or any combination thereof.”
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate two waveguide eye tracking systems for each eye that couple the light reflected by the eye through total internal reflection and project that light onto the image sensors for eye-tracking functionality as taught by El-Haddad in the device of Seiler for improved eye orientation determination as taught by El-Haddad (paragraph [0014]) and because Seiler teaches that eye-tracking components may facilitate the rendering and display of an artificial scene (paragraph [0045]) without specifying any details thereof.
However, Seiler fails to teach “wherein the first eyeglass frame structure has a first lens accommodating space and a first surrounding groove communicated with the first lens accommodating space, and the first eyeglass lens structure is detachably accommodated in the first lens accommodating space and limited by the first surrounding groove;
wherein the second eyeglass frame structure has a second lens accommodating space and a second surrounding groove communicated with the second lens accommodating space, and the second eyeglass lens structure is detachably accommodated in the second lens accommodating space and limited by the second surrounding groove;”
As highlighted above, El-Haddad teaches most of these aspects of the lens accommodating space and surrounding groove, but fails to explicitly teach that the first and second eyeglass lens structures are detachably accommodated in the first and second lens accommodating spaces.
Day teaches a head-mounted device with two eyeglass frame structures (rims 2 and portions 3) and two eyeglass lenses (the lenses held thereby).
Day further teaches “wherein the first eyeglass frame structure has a first lens accommodating space (space in which the lenses are disposed, see Figs. I and XI) and a first surrounding groove (lens receiving groove 5) communicated with the first lens accommodating space (see Fig. XI), and the first eyeglass lens structure is detachably accommodated in the first lens accommodating space (page 3 lines 47-51: “detachably secure a lens in position in the usual manner”) and limited by the first surrounding groove (see Figs. I and XI, if the lens were not limited by groove 5, it would fall out);
wherein the second eyeglass frame structure has a second lens accommodating space (space in which the lenses are disposed, see Figs. I and XI) and a second surrounding groove (lens receiving groove 5) communicated with the second lens accommodating space (see Fig. XI), and the second eyeglass lens structure is detachably accommodated in the second lens accommodating space (page 3 lines 47-51: “detachably secure a lens in position in the usual manner”) and limited by the second surrounding groove (see Figs. I and XI, if the lens were not limited by groove 5, it would fall out)”.
Day further teaches page 3 lines 47-51: “In this form of the invention we employ the end pieces 7 secured to the ends of the metallic frame to unite the ends and thus detachably secure a lens in position in the usual manner.”
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the eyeglass frames structures with an accommodating space and surrounding grooves to position the lens structures therein as taught by both El-Haddad and Day, in a detachable manner as taught by Day because Day teaches that this is the manner by which lenses are usually held by the eyeglass frames (Day page 3 lines 47-51) where an ordinary skilled artisan would know that detachably securing the lenses has the advantage of allowing them to be replaced, for example when the user’s prescription changes.
In the context of the above combinations, it would also have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to position the image generating chips and image sensors sequentially surrounding each lens outside the surrounding grooves as taught by El-Haddad, because Seiler is not specific about the placement of the image generating chips and El-Haddad demonstrates how appropriate placement within the lens rims enables light to be coupled into and out of the field of view of the eye.
However, Seiler, El-Haddad and Day fail to teach “wherein the first eyeglass lens structure includes … a first external reflective layer disposed on a first outer surface of the first lens, and a first internal reflective layer disposed on a first inner surface of the first lens;
wherein the second eyeglass lens structure includes… a second external reflective layer disposed on a second outer surface of the second lens, and a second internal reflective layer disposed on a second inner surface of the second lens;
wherein … light … is reflected multiple times between the first external reflective layer and the first internal reflective layer of the first eyeglass lens structure… and
wherein… light… is reflected multiple times between the second external reflective layer and the second internal reflective layer of the second eyeglass lens structure.”
Miller teaches a multifunctional head-mounted device (wearable display system 60) having a lens structure (660 set of stacked waveguides Fig. 9A).
Miller further teaches “wherein the first eyeglass lens structure includes … a first external reflective layer (cladding layer 760a, which is an external layer in that it is on the exterior side of waveguide 680, and which is a reflective layer see paragraph [0100]: “layers 760a, 760b may function as cladding layers that facilitate total internal reflection (TIR) of light through the waveguides 670, 680, 690 (e.g., TIR between the top and bottom major surfaces of each waveguide)”) disposed on a first outer surface of the first lens (760a is disposed on a first outer surface of 660, i.e. the outer surface of 680), and a first internal reflective layer (cladding layer 760b) disposed on a first inner surface of the first lens (760b is disposed on a first inner surface of 660, i.e. the inner surface of 680);
wherein the second eyeglass lens structure includes… a second external reflective layer (cladding layer 760a, which is an external layer in that it is on the exterior side of waveguide 680, and which is a reflective layer see paragraph [0100]: “layers 760a, 760b may function as cladding layers that facilitate total internal reflection (TIR) of light through the waveguides 670, 680, 690 (e.g., TIR between the top and bottom major surfaces of each waveguide)”) disposed on a second outer surface of the second lens (760a is disposed on a first outer surface of 660, i.e. the outer surface of 680), and a second internal reflective layer (cladding layer 760b) disposed on a second inner surface of the second lens (760b is disposed on a first inner surface of 660, i.e. the inner surface of 680);
wherein … light … is reflected multiple times between the first external reflective layer and the first internal reflective layer of the first eyeglass lens structure (paragraph [0100]: “TIR between the top and bottom major surfaces of each waveguide”, which is multiple times see Fig. 7)… and
wherein… light… is reflected multiple times between the second external reflective layer and the second internal reflective layer of the second eyeglass lens structure (paragraph [0100]: “TIR between the top and bottom major surfaces of each waveguide”, which is multiple times see Fig. 7).”
Miller further teaches (paragraph [0100]): “Advantageously, the lower refractive index layers 760a, 760b may function as cladding layers that facilitate total internal reflection (TIR) of light through the waveguides 670, 680, 690 (e.g., TIR between the top and bottom major surfaces of each waveguide). In some embodiments, the layers 760a, 760b are formed of air. While not illustrated, it will be appreciated that the top and bottom of the illustrated set 660 of waveguides may include immediately neighboring cladding layers.”
In the Seiler combination, both El-Haddad and Xu teach a TIR waveguide that guides reflected light from the eye and projects it onto an image sensor. However, El-Haddad and Xu fail to explicitly teach layers on either side of the waveguide that facilitate the reflections therein.
Miller teaches that it is advantageous to include cladding layers for the purpose of facilitating total internal reflection in a waveguide of a head-mounted display (paragraph [0100]).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate first and second external reflective layers and first and second internal reflective layers as taught by Miller in the device of Seiler combination because Miller teaches that it is advantageous to include cladding layers for the purpose of facilitating total internal reflection in a waveguide of a head-mounted display (paragraph [0100]).
However, Seiler also fails to teach “wherein the first image generating chips and the first image sensors are sequentially arranged on a first circuit substrate to surround the first lens of the first eyeglass lens structure, and the first circuit substrate is circumferentially disposed inside or outside the first surrounding groove; wherein the second image generating chips and the second image sensors are sequentially arranged on a second circuit substrate to surround the second lens of the second eyeglass lens structure, and the second circuit substrate is circumferentially disposed inside or outside the second surrounding groove.”
Lundberg teaches “the first image sensors (imaging module 5) are sequentially arranged on a first circuit substrate (first and second circuitry carriers 4 and 9 which can be one integral part see paragraph [0047]) to surround the first lens of the first eyeglass lens structure (see Fig. 1A), and the first circuit substrate is circumferentially disposed inside or outside the first surrounding groove (see Fig. 1A); wherein… the second image sensors (imaging module 5) are sequentially arranged on a second circuit substrate (first and second circuitry carriers 4 and 9 which can be one integral part see paragraph [0047]) to surround the second lens of the second eyeglass lens structure (see Fig. 1A), and the second circuit substrate is circumferentially disposed inside or outside the second surrounding groove (see Fig. 1A).”
Lundberg further teaches (paragraph [0008]): “An imaging module is connected to a second circuitry carrier, the image module comprises optic arrangements. The plurality of illuminators, the imaging module and the circuitry carriers are embedded without gaps in a first material. This solution provides smaller devices as the assembly is easier to automate. The assembly is also more precise providing less variations in the manufacturing. This solution also provides an eye tracking device that is free from gaps enhancing optical performance and provides better looking and more robust devices.
Thus, within the context of the combination above where the image generating chips and image sensors are already sequentially disposed to surround the lenses proximate to the surrounding grooves as taught by El-Haddad, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a circuit substrate as taught by Lundberg that surrounds the lenses in the lens accommodating groove with the benefits of easier assembly, enhanced optical performance, improved aesthetics and increased robustness as taught by Lundberg (paragraph [0008]).
Haddick teaches “wherein the first image generating chips and the first image sensors are sequentially arranged on a first circuit substrate (paragraph [0681]): “an augmented reality eyepiece, such as camera, integrated micro-scale optical transmitter and receiver in the same chip, or on a substrate comprising a micro-display and a camera device such as CMOS chip capable of detecting user movement of the eye. integrated image source can be adapted to at least one of the camera during image capture from the image source light is modulated and illuminating the eye.”
It is a well-established proposition that forming in one piece an article which has formerly been formed into two pieces and put together involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP § 2144.04(V) In re Larson, 340 F.2d 965, 968, 144 USPQ 347, 349 (CCPA 1965) (A claim to a fluid transporting vehicle was rejected as obvious over a prior art reference which differed from the prior art in claiming a brake drum integral with a clamping means, whereas the brake disc and clamp of the prior art comprise several parts rigidly secured together as a single unit. The court affirmed the rejection holding, among other reasons, "that the use of a one piece construction instead of the structure disclosed in [the prior art] would be merely a matter of obvious engineering choice.").
The Seiler combination discloses the claimed invention except for the image generating chips and the image sensing chips sharing a common circuit substrate. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have the display and image sensor formed on a single circuit as taught by Haddick, since it has been held that forming in one piece an article which has formerly been formed into two pieces and put together involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP § 2144.04(V) In re Larson, 340 F.2d 965, 968, 144 USPQ 347, 349 (CCPA 1965) (A claim to a fluid transporting vehicle was rejected as obvious over a prior art reference which differed from the prior art in claiming a brake drum integral with a clamping means, whereas the brake disc and clamp of the prior art comprise several parts rigidly secured together as a single unit. The court affirmed the rejection holding, among other reasons, "that the use of a one piece construction instead of the structure disclosed in [the prior art] would be merely a matter of obvious engineering choice.").
Conclusion
/CARA E RAKOWSKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872