DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. Claim(s) 1, 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin et al. (US 2019/0214011) in view of Lin (US 2011/0158417) in further view of Trim et al. (US 2022/0020388)
Regarding claim 1, Shin teaches an electronic device, comprising: a microphone group, comprising a plurality of microphones, wherein the plurality of microphones are respectively configured at different positions for multi-directional sound collection; and a processor, coupled to the microphone group, receiving a plurality of external sound signals through the microphone group, and obtaining a plurality of target sound signals from the plurality of external sound signals (see ¶ 0135-0137. Shin discloses a device with multiple microphones to identify a direction of each of the multiple sound sources. The device is able to determine sound source direction and duration of the audio signal.).
Shin does not teach wherein the processor defines decibel values of the plurality of target sound signals to analyze the decibel values of the plurality of target sound signals to obtain a current environment sound decibel value; and the processor switches between a plurality of operating modes with different corresponding system performances according to the environment sound decibel value.
Lim teaches wherein the processor defines decibel values of the plurality of target sound signals to analyze the decibel values of the plurality of target sound signals to obtain a current environment sound decibel value (see ¶ 0015. An audio receiving module analyzes the audio signals received by the microphone array. The audio receiving module calculates strength of each audio signal (e.g., measuring how many decibels of the audio signal) respectively when audio signals from more than two directions are received at the same time. The audio receiving module calculates the strength of each audio signal respectively as well when more than one audio signal from the same direction is received by the microphone array at the same time.)
The combination of Lin to Shin provide decibel strength of each audio signal from different directions at the same time.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shin to incorporate decibel levels at the microphones from different directions. The modification provides receiving audio at the microphones array and determine the decibel levels from different directions for each audio signal.
Trim teaches the processor switches between a plurality of operating modes with different corresponding system performances according to the environment sound decibel value (see ¶ 0065. The system makes the determination as to identify the sound and a mode switching indicator to provide the switching function based on decibel level. The switching indicator changes the operating mode from one mode to a second mode A conference call could be switched from a video feed mode to an idle mode, and then from the idle mode to an audio feed mode.).
The combination of Trim to Shin and Lin provide changing operating mode based decibel strength of audio signals.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shin and Lin to incorporate changing operating mode based decibel strength of audio signals. The modification provides changing operating mode based decibel levels obtained during audio operations.
Regarding claim 9, Shin teaches an operation mode switching method, suitable for an electronic device comprising a microphone group, the microphone group comprising a plurality of microphones, and the plurality of microphones being respectively configured at different positions for multi-directional sound collection, the operation mode switching method comprising: receiving a plurality of external sound signals through the microphone group; obtaining a plurality of target sound signals from the plurality of external sound signals (see ¶ 0135-0137. Shin discloses a device with multiple microphones to identify a direction of each of the multiple sound sources. The device is able to determine sound source direction and duration of the audio signal.).
Shin does not teach defining decibel values of the plurality of target sound signals to analyze the decibel values of the plurality of target sound signals to obtain a current environment sound decibel value; and switching between a plurality of operating modes with different corresponding system performances according to the environment sound decibel value.
Lim teaches defining decibel values of the plurality of target sound signals to analyze the decibel values of the plurality of target sound signals to obtain a current environment sound decibel value (see ¶ 0015. An audio receiving module analyzes the audio signals received by the microphone array. The audio receiving module calculates strength of each audio signal (e.g., measuring how many decibels of the audio signal) respectively when audio signals from more than two directions are received at the same time. The audio receiving module calculates the strength of each audio signal respectively as well when more than one audio signal from the same direction is received by the microphone array at the same time.)
The combination of Lin to Shin provide decibel strength of each audio signal from different directions at the same time.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shin to incorporate decibel levels at the microphones from different directions. The modification provides receiving audio at the microphones array and determine the decibel levels from different directions for each audio signal.
Trim teaches switching between a plurality of operating modes with different corresponding system performances according to the environment sound decibel value (see ¶ 0065. The system makes the determination as to identify the sound and a mode switching indicator to provide the switching function based on decibel level. The switching indicator changes the operating mode from one mode to a second mode A conference call could be switched from a video feed mode to an idle mode, and then from the idle mode to an audio feed mode.).
The combination of Trim to Shin and Lin provide changing operating mode based decibel strength of audio signals.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shin and Lin to incorporate changing operating mode based decibel strength of audio signals. The modification provides changing operating mode based decibel levels obtained during audio operations.
3. Claim(s) 2, 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin et al. (US 2019/0214011) in view of Lin (US 2011/0158417) in further view of Trim et al. (US 2022/0020388) in further view of Tsuchida et al. (US 2023/0345665).
Regarding claim 2, Shin, Lin and Trim do not teach the electronic device according to claim 1, further comprising: a fan assembly, coupled to the processor and used to adjust a rotation speed of a fan according to a pulse width modulation signal, wherein the processor provides the pulse width modulation signal to the fan assembly according to the system performance corresponding to the current operating mode to adjust the rotation speed of the fan.
Tsuchida teaches a fan assembly, coupled to the processor and used to adjust a rotation speed of a fan according to a pulse width modulation signal, wherein the processor provides the pulse width modulation signal to the fan assembly according to the system performance corresponding to the current operating mode to adjust the rotation speed of the fan (see fig. 1, ¶ 0015, 0023-0025. The operating modes are controlled based on respective temperature measurements and the system operates the fan based on operations.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shin, Lin and Trim to incorporate fan operations based on operation modes. The modification provides fan changes based on device operations.
Regarding claim 10, Shin, Lin and Trim do not teach the operation mode switching method according to claim 9, wherein the electronic device further comprises a fan assembly, the operation mode switching method further comprising: providing the pulse width modulation signal to the fan assembly according to the system performance corresponding to the current operating mode to adjust a rotation speed of a fan.
Tsuchida teaches wherein the electronic device further comprises a fan assembly, the operation mode switching method further comprising: providing the pulse width modulation signal to the fan assembly according to the system performance corresponding to the current operating mode to adjust a rotation speed of a fan (see fig. 1, ¶ 0015, 0023-0025. The operating modes are controlled based on respective temperature measurements and the system operates the fan based on operations.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shin, Lin and Trim to incorporate fan operations based on operation modes. The modification provides fan changes based on device operations.
4. Claim(s) 6, 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin et al. (US 2019/0214011) in view of Lin (US 2011/0158417) in further view of Trim et al. (US 2022/0020388).
Regarding claim 6, Shin and Lin do not teach the electronic device according to claim 1, wherein the processor determines whether the environment sound decibel value is greater than a first threshold value, when the environment sound decibel value is greater than the first threshold value, the processor switches the electronic device to the operating mode with the higher system performance, the processor determines whether the environment sound decibel value is less than a second threshold value, when the environment sound decibel value is less than the second threshold value, the processor switches the electronic device to the operating mode with the lower system performance.
Trim teaches wherein the processor determines whether the environment sound decibel value is greater than a first threshold value, when the environment sound decibel value is greater than the first threshold value, the processor switches the electronic device to the operating mode with the higher system performance, the processor determines whether the environment sound decibel value is less than a second threshold value, when the environment sound decibel value is less than the second threshold value, the processor switches the electronic device to the operating mode with the lower system performance (see ¶ 0065-0066. The system makes the determination as to identify the sound and a mode switching indicator to provide the switching function based on decibel level. The switching indicator changes the operating mode from one mode to a second mode A conference call could be switched from a video feed mode to an idle mode, and then from the idle mode to an audio mode. Idle mode switch can allow for a reduction in electricity usage and the exchange of superfluous material.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shin and Lin to incorporate changing operating mode based decibel strength of audio signals. The modification provides changing operating mode based decibel levels obtained during audio operations.
Regarding claim 14, Shin and Lin do not teach the operation mode switching method according to claim 9, wherein the step of switching between the plurality of operation modes with different corresponding system performances according to the environment sound decibel value comprises: determining whether the environment sound decibel value is greater than a first threshold value; when the environment sound decibel value is greater than the first threshold value, switching the electronic device to the operating mode with the higher system performance; determining whether the environment sound decibel value is less than a second threshold value; and when the environment sound decibel value is less than the second threshold value, switching the electronic device to the operating mode with the lower system performance.
Trim teaches wherein the step of switching between the plurality of operation modes with different corresponding system performances according to the environment sound decibel value comprises: determining whether the environment sound decibel value is greater than a first threshold value; when the environment sound decibel value is greater than the first threshold value, switching the electronic device to the operating mode with the higher system performance; determining whether the environment sound decibel value is less than a second threshold value; and when the environment sound decibel value is less than the second threshold value, switching the electronic device to the operating mode with the lower system performance (see ¶ 0065-0066. The system makes the determination as to identify the sound and a mode switching indicator to provide the switching function based on decibel level. The switching indicator changes the operating mode from one mode to a second mode A conference call could be switched from a video feed mode to an idle mode, and then from the idle mode to an audio mode. Idle mode switch can allow for a reduction in electricity usage and the exchange of superfluous material.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shin and Lin to incorporate changing operating mode based decibel strength of audio signals. The modification provides changing operating mode based decibel levels obtained during audio operations.
5. Claim(s) 3, 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin et al. (US 2019/0214011) in view of Lin (US 2011/0158417) in further view of Trim et al. (US 2022/0020388) in further view of Zhang et al. (US 2010/0110232).
Regarding claim 3, Shin, Lin and Trim do not teach the electronic device according to claim 1, wherein the processor sequentially determines whether sound source directions of the plurality of received external sound signals are outside a default range or within the default range, the processor uses the plurality of external sound signals whose sound source directions are outside the default range as the plurality of target sound signals.
Zhang teaches wherein the processor sequentially determines whether sound source directions of the plurality of received external sound signals are outside a default range or within the default range, the processor uses the plurality of external sound signals whose sound source directions are outside the default range as the plurality of target sound signals (see ¶ 0005. A beamforming process is performed, the beamforming module must first determine a direction and a receiving range of sounds of the target object, and then filter out noises coming from directions outside of the receiving range to obtain the processed audio signal. Determine the receiving range of sounds of the target object, the beamforming module must perform a plurality of complicated frequency-domain analyses on the raw audio signals generated by the array microphone.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shin, Lin and Trim to incorporate receiving external sound signals are outside a range. The modification provides obtaining signal outside the range and extracting the audio signal from the noise.
Regarding claim 11, Shin, Lin and Trim do not teach the operation mode switching method according to claim 9, wherein the step of obtaining the plurality of target sound signals from the plurality of external sound signals comprises: sequentially determining whether sound source directions of the plurality of received external sound signals are outside a default range or within the default range; and using the plurality of external sound signals whose sound source directions are outside the default range as the plurality of target sound signals.
Zhang teaches wherein the step of obtaining the plurality of target sound signals from the plurality of external sound signals comprises: sequentially determining whether sound source directions of the plurality of received external sound signals are outside a default range or within the default range; and using the plurality of external sound signals whose sound source directions are outside the default range as the plurality of target sound signals (see ¶ 0005. A beamforming process is performed, the beamforming module must first determine a direction and a receiving range of sounds of the target object, and then filter out noises coming from directions outside of the receiving range to obtain the processed audio signal. Determine the receiving range of sounds of the target object, the beamforming module must perform a plurality of complicated frequency-domain analyses on the raw audio signals generated by the array microphone.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shin, Lin and Trim to incorporate receiving external sound signals are outside a range. The modification provides obtaining signal outside the range and extracting the audio signal from the noise.
6. Claim(s) 4, 5, 12, 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin et al. (US 2019/0214011) in view of Lin (US 2011/0158417) in further view of Trim et al. (US 2022/0020388) in further view of Etayo et al. (US 2024/0257826) filing date of (PCT/US 2021/037648).
Regarding claim 4, Shin, Lin and Trim do not teach the electronic device according to claim 1, wherein the processor sorts the decibel values of the plurality of target sound signals obtained within a time period to obtain the current environment sound decibel value according to a sorting result.
Etayo teaches wherein the processor sorts the decibel values of the plurality of target sound signals obtained within a time period to obtain the current environment sound decibel value according to a sorting result (see fig. 4-5, ¶ 0020, 0037-0042. The system sorts or categorizes the audio events based on decibel levels from lowest to highest.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shin, Lin and Trim to incorporate sorting the decibels levels of audio events. The modification provides sorting the audio events based on decibel levels or values.
Regarding claim 5, Shin, Lin and Trim does not teach the electronic device according to claim 4, wherein the processor averages two lowest decibel values among the decibel values of the plurality of target sound signals obtained within the time period to be used as the environment sound decibel value.
Etayo teaches wherein the processor averages two lowest decibel values among the decibel values of the plurality of target sound signals obtained within the time period to be used as the environment sound decibel value (see fig. 4-5, ¶ 0020, 0025-0026, 0037-0042. The system sorts or categorizes the audio events based on decibel levels from lowest to highest over a period of time and calculating an average of the audio event to categorize them.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shin, Lin and Trim to incorporate sorting the decibels levels of audio events. The modification provides sorting the audio events based on decibel levels or values.
Regarding claim 12, Shin, Lin and Trim does not teach the operation mode switching method according to claim 9, wherein the step of analyzing the decibel values of the plurality of target sound signals to obtain the current environment sound decibel value comprises: sorting the decibel values of the plurality of target sound signals obtained within a time period to obtain the current environment sound decibel value according to a sorting result.
Etayo teaches wherein the processor sorts the decibel values of the plurality of target sound signals obtained within a time period to obtain the current environment sound decibel value according to a sorting result (see fig. 4-5, ¶ 0020, 0037-0042. The system sorts or categorizes the audio events based on decibel levels from lowest to highest.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shin, Lin and Trim to incorporate sorting the decibels levels of audio events. The modification provides sorting the audio events based on decibel levels or values.
Regarding claim 13, Shin, Lin and Trim does not teach the operation mode switching method according to claim 12, wherein the step of obtaining the current environment sound decibel value according to the sorting result comprises: averaging two lowest decibel values among the decibel values of the plurality of target sound signals obtained within the time period by the processor to be used as the environment sound decibel value.
Etayo teaches wherein the step of obtaining the current environment sound decibel value according to the sorting result comprises: averaging two lowest decibel values among the decibel values of the plurality of target sound signals obtained within the time period by the processor to be used as the environment sound decibel value (see fig. 4-5, ¶ 0020, 0025-0026, 0037-0042. The system sorts or categorizes the audio events based on decibel levels from lowest to highest over a period of time and calculating an average of the audio event to categorize them.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shin, Lin and Trim to incorporate sorting the decibels levels of audio events. The modification provides sorting the audio events based on decibel levels or values.
7. Claim(s) 7, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin et al. (US 2019/0214011) in view of Lin (US 2011/0158417) in further view of Trim et al. (US 2022/0020388) in further view of Cheng et al. (US 2024/0071362).
Regarding claim 7, Shin, Lin and Trim do not teach the electronic device according to claim 1, further comprising: a temperature sensor, used to sense an internal temperature of the electronic device; and a controller, coupled to the processor and the temperature sensor, and used to estimate a system power consumption of the electronic device and provide the internal temperature obtained by the temperature sensor and the system power consumption to the processor, wherein the processor switches between the plurality of operating modes according to the environment sound decibel value, the internal temperature, and the system power consumption.
Cheng teaches electronic device according to claim 1, further comprising: a temperature sensor, used to sense an internal temperature of the electronic device; and a controller, coupled to the processor and the temperature sensor, and used to estimate a system power consumption of the electronic device and provide the internal temperature obtained by the temperature sensor and the system power consumption to the processor, wherein the processor switches between the plurality of operating modes according to the environment sound decibel value, the internal temperature, and the system power consumption (see fig. 3, ¶ 0015, 0027-0029, 0033-0037. A system having internal temp senor, power consumption, and obtains decibel level of a internal fan. The system is able to operate the device based on decibel levels, temp and power consumption in order adjust when switching modes of operation.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shin, Lin and Trim to incorporate operating modes and correlating values from decibels, temps and power consumption. The modification provides adjusting the device based on values obtained in order to operate the device without noise.
Regarding claim 15, Shin, Lin and Trim do not teach the operation mode switching method according to claim 9, further comprising: sensing an internal temperature of the electronic device; estimating a system power consumption of the electronic device; and switching between the plurality of operating modes according to the environment sound decibel value, the internal temperature, and the system power consumption.
Cheng teaches sensing an internal temperature of the electronic device; estimating a system power consumption of the electronic device; and switching between the plurality of operating modes according to the environment sound decibel value, the internal temperature, and the system power consumption (see fig. 3, ¶ 0015, 0027-0029, 0033-0037. A system having internal temp senor, power consumption, and obtains decibel level of an internal fan. The system is able to operate the device based on decibel levels, temp and power consumption in order adjust when switching modes of operation.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shin, Lin and Trim to incorporate operating modes and correlating values from decibels, temps and power consumption. The modification provides adjusting the device based on values obtained in order to operate the device without noise.
8. Claim(s) 8, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin et al. (US 2019/0214011) in view of Lin (US 2011/0158417) in further view of Trim et al. (US 2022/0020388) in further view of Cheng et al. (US 2024/0071362) in further view of Miller (US 2014/0161009) in further view of Rich et al. (US 2013/0072154).
Regarding claim 8, Shin, Lin, Trim and Cheng do not teach the electronic device according to claim 7, further comprising: a battery module, coupled to the controller and used to supply power to the electronic device, wherein the processor obtains a stored power of the battery module from the controller, and switches between the plurality of operating modes according to the stored power.
Miller teaches wherein the processor obtains a stored power of the battery module from the controller, and switches between the plurality of operating modes according to the stored power (see fig. 1, ¶ 0023. The device switches modes of operations based on batter power. The processor provides controlling the statie of the device based on usage and power.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shin, Lin, Trim and Cheng to incorporate operating modes and power saving function to switch based on power usage. The modification providing the processor with controlling the state of the device based on usage and power.
Rich teaches a battery module, coupled to the controller and used to supply power to the electronic device (see fig. 4, ¶ 0080-0086. The mobile device having power management wherein the batter processor and battery module. Power management module communicates with the battery processor 252 to take measurements of different operating characteristics of the battery module 262 using the measurement circuitry.).
The combination of Rich to Miller provide for power management for a device and switching modes of operation.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shin, Lin, Trim, Cheng and Miller to incorporate power management function to manage the batter module. The modification providing the processor with controlling the state of the device power.
Regarding claim 16, Shin, Lin, Trim and Cheng do not teach the operation mode switching method according to claim 15, wherein the electronic device further comprises a battery module, the operation mode switching method further comprising: obtaining a stored power of the battery module; and switching between the plurality of operating modes according to the stored power of the battery module.
Miller teaches wherein the electronic device further comprises a battery module, the operation mode switching method further comprising: switching between the plurality of operating modes according to the stored power of the battery module (see fig. 1, ¶ 0023. The device switches modes of operations based on batter power. The processor provides controlling the statie of the device based on usage and power.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shin, Lin, Trim and Cheng to incorporate operating modes and power saving function to switch based on power usage. The modification providing the processor with controlling the state of the device based on usage and power.
Rich teaches obtaining a stored power of the battery module (see fig. 4, ¶ 0080-0086. The mobile device having power management wherein the batter processor and battery module. Power management module communicates with the battery processor 252 to take measurements of different operating characteristics of the battery module 262 using the measurement circuitry.).
The combination of Rich to Miller provide for power management for a device and switching modes of operation.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shin, Lin, Trim, Cheng and Miller to incorporate power management function to manage the batter module. The modification providing the processor with controlling the state of the device power.
Conclusion
/ASSAD MOHAMMED/Examiner, Art Unit 2691
/DUC NGUYEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2691