DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the limitation of “ a size of the third transistor is smaller than a size of the fourth transistor” of claims 1 and 7 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wang et al. (USP 6,919753).
Regarding claim 1, Wang et al.’s figure 3 shows A bandgap reference voltage generator, comprising: a first transistor (MN1), wherein a source electrode of the first transistor is coupled to a ground voltage via at least a first resistor (R1); a second transistor (MN2), wherein a source electrode of the second transistor is coupled to the ground voltage, and a gate electrode of the second transistor is coupled to a gate electrode of the first transistor; a third transistor (MP1), wherein a source electrode of the third transistor is coupled to a supply voltage (VDDA), and a drain electrode of the third transistor is coupled to a drain electrode of the first transistor; and a fourth transistor (MP2), wherein a source electrode of the fourth transistor is coupled to the supply voltage, and a drain electrode of the fourth transistor is coupled to a drain electrode of the second transistor via a second resistor (R2); wherein the bandgap reference voltage generator generates a reference voltage at the drain electrode of fourth transistor; and a size of the first transistor is greater than a size of the second transistor (MN1 is 8 times MN2; column 5, lines 25-30) as called for in claim 1.
Regarding claim 4, wherein the first transistor and the second transistor (MN1 and MN2) are N-type Metal Oxide Semiconductor Field Effect Transistors (MOSFETs), and the third transistor and the fourth transistor (MP1 and MP2) are P-type MOSFET.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (USP 6,919753) in view of Hwang et al. (USP 8,405,376).
Regarding claim 2, Wang et al.’s figure 3 shows a bandgap reference voltage generator comprising all the aspects of the present invention as noted above except for third, fourth, fifth and sixth resistors as called for in claim 2.
Hwang et al.’s figure 4 shows teaches the use of resistors (R1, R2, R3) to reduce noises from the power supply (VDD) and the ground being introduced to the circuit, i.e., signal to noise ratio (column 4, lines 61-67; column 5, lines 57-67). Thus, it would have been obvious to persons skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include third, fourth, fifth and sixth resistors in Wang et al.’s circuit arrangement for the purpose of providing a reference voltage with a low noise as taught by Hwang et al. reference.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Wang et al. and Hwang et al. reference does not teach wherein resistance of the first resistor combined with the third resistor is greater than resistance of the fourth resistor as called for in claim 3. However, it is noted that Wang et al.’s first resistor (R1) is a variable resistor which can be selected so that the generated reference voltage is least dependent on the temperature (see column 3, lines 10-67). The selection of the first resistor in combination of the third resistor resulted in a resistance that greater than the fourth resistor could have been a desired choice to obtain the reference voltage that is independent from the temperature. Therefore, outside of any non-obvious results, the obviousness of having resistance of the first resistor combined with the third resistor is greater than resistance of the fourth resistor for providing a reference voltage that is independent from temperature will not be patentable under 35USC 103.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (USP 6,919753) in view of Kong et al. (US 2023/0280774).
Regarding claim 5, Wang et al. shows a bandgap reference voltage generator comprising all the aspects of the present invention as note above except a buffer, configured to receive the reference voltage to generate an adjusted reference voltage, and the buffer comprises: an operational amplifier, wherein a first input terminal is used to receive the reference voltage; a trimming circuit, wherein an input terminal of the trimming circuit is connected to a second input terminal of the operational amplifier, and the trimming circuit is configured to generate adjusted reference voltage; and a transistor, controlled by a signal outputted by the operational amplifier, to selectively connecting the supply voltage to the trimming circuit as called for in claim 5.
Kong et al.’s figure 1 shows LDO regulator including a buffer comprising receive the reference voltage (Vreference) to generate an adjusted reference voltage (Vfeedback) , and the buffer comprises: an operational amplifier (102), wherein a first input terminal is used to receive the reference voltage; a trimming circuit (R1, R2), wherein an input terminal of the trimming circuit is connected to a second input terminal of the operational amplifier, and the trimming circuit is configured to generate adjusted reference voltage; and a transistor (103), controlled by a signal outputted by the operational amplifier, to selectively connecting the supply voltage to the trimming circuit. The buffer circuit is used to regulate and to provide a stable reference voltage via a feedback loop. Therefore, it would have been obvious to person skilled in the art before the effective filing of the invention to include Kong et al.’s buffer in Wang et al.’s circuit arrangement for providing a stable reference voltage as taught by Kong et al. reference.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (USP 6,919753) in view of Arnold et al. (US 2024/0143012) and Hwang et al. (USP 8,405,376).
Regarding claim 7, Wang et al.’s figure 3 shows A bandgap reference voltage generator, comprising: a first transistor (MN1), wherein a source electrode of the first transistor is coupled to a ground voltage via at least a first resistor (R1); a second transistor (MN2), wherein a source electrode of the second transistor is coupled to the ground voltage, and a gate electrode of the second transistor is coupled to a gate electrode of the first transistor; a third transistor (MP1), wherein a source electrode of the third transistor is coupled to a supply voltage (VDDA), and a drain electrode of the third transistor is coupled to a drain electrode of the first transistor; and a fourth transistor (MP2), wherein a source electrode of the fourth transistor is coupled to the supply voltage (VDDA), and a drain electrode of the fourth transistor is coupled to a drain electrode of the second transistor; wherein the bandgap reference voltage generator generates a reference voltage at the drain electrode of fourth transistor; and a size of the first transistor is greater than a size of the second transistor (MN1 is 8 times MN2; column 5, lines 25-30).
Wang et al. does not show: (1) a second resistor coupled between the first resistor and the ground voltage; (2) a third resistor, coupled between the source electrode of the second transistor and the ground voltage as called for in claim 7.
Regarding the difference noted in item (1), Wang et al.’s first resistor is a variable resistor which can be designed by a series of a two resistor (see Arnold et al.’s figure 3). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have Wang et al.’s variable resistor (R1) made with a series two resistors as taught by Arnold et al. reference.
Regarding the difference noted in item (2), Hwang et al.’s figure 4 shows teaches the use of resistors (R1, R2, R3) to reduce noises from the power supply (VDD) and the ground being introduced to the circuit, i.e., signal to noise ratio (column 4, lines 61-67; column 5, lines 57-67). Thus, it would have been obvious to persons skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include a third resistor in between the source electrode of the second transistor and ground for the purpose of minimizing the ground noise affecting the circuit as taught by Hwang et al. reference.
Regarding claim 8, Wang et al. reference does not show a fourth resistor, coupled between the source electrode of the third transistor and the supply voltage; and a fifth resistor, coupled between the source electrode of the fourth transistor and the supply voltage. Hwang et al.’s figure 4 shows teaches the use of resistors (R1, R2, R3) to reduce noises from the power supply (VDD) and the ground being introduced to the circuit, i.e., signal to noise ratio (column 4, lines 61-67; column 5, lines 57-67). Thus, it would have been obvious to persons skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include a fourth resistor and a fifth resistor in Wang et al.’s circuit arrangement for the purpose of minimizing the power supply noise affecting the circuit as taught by Hwang et al. reference.
Regarding claim 9, Wang et al. and Hwang et al. reference does not teach wherein resistance of the first resistor combined with the second resistor is greater than resistance of the third resistor as called for in claim 9. However, it is noted that Wang et al.’s first resistor (R1) is a variable resistor which can be selected so that the generated reference voltage is least dependent on the temperature (see column 3, lines 10-67). The selection of the first resistor in combination of the second resistor resulted in a resistance that greater than the fourth resistor could have been a desired choice to obtain the reference voltage that is independent from the temperature. Therefore, outside of any non-obvious results, the obviousness of having resistance of the first resistor combined with the second resistor is greater than resistance of the third resistor for providing a reference voltage that is independent from temperature will not be patentable under 35USC 103.
Regarding claim 10, wherein the first transistor and the second transistor (MN1 and MN2) are N-type Metal Oxide Semiconductor Field Effect Transistors (MOSFETs), and the third transistor and the fourth transistor (MP1 and MP2) are P-type MOSFET.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (USP 6,919753) in view of Arnold et al. (US 2024/0143012) and Hwang et al. (USP 8,405,376) and further in view of Kong et al. (US 2023/0280774).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Wang et al., Hwang et al. and Arnold et al. references shows a bandgap reference voltage generator comprising all the aspects of the present invention as note above except a buffer, configured to receive the reference voltage to generate an adjusted reference voltage, and the buffer comprises: an operational amplifier, wherein a first input terminal is used to receive the reference voltage; a trimming circuit, wherein an input terminal of the trimming circuit is connected to a second input terminal of the operational amplifier, and the trimming circuit is configured to generate adjusted reference voltage; and a transistor, controlled by a signal outputted by the operational amplifier, to selectively connecting the supply voltage to the trimming circuit as called for in claim 5.
Kong et al.’s figure 1 shows LDO regulator including a buffer comprising receive the reference voltage (Vreference) to generate an adjusted reference voltage (Vfeedback) , and the buffer comprises: an operational amplifier (102), wherein a first input terminal is used to receive the reference voltage; a trimming circuit (R1, R2), wherein an input terminal of the trimming circuit is connected to a second input terminal of the operational amplifier, and the trimming circuit is configured to generate adjusted reference voltage; and a transistor (103), controlled by a signal outputted by the operational amplifier, to selectively connecting the supply voltage to the trimming circuit. The buffer circuit is used to regulate and to provide a stable reference voltage via a feedback loop. Therefore, it would have been obvious to person skilled in the art before the effective filing of the invention to include Kong et al.’s buffer in Wang et al.’s circuit arrangement for providing a stable reference voltage as taught by Kong et al. reference.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6 and 12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/TUAN T LAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836 4/18/2026