DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because Fig. 4, step 204 shows controlling the battery module, “according to the first instruction” when it should read as “according to the second instruction” (emphasis added). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claims 4 and 14 are objected to because of the following informalities: claims 4 and 14 are objected to as each recite, “… the second instruction...” which lacks proper antecedent basis. The examiner will examine the phrase as, “… a second instruction…” (emphasis added). It is further noted that the recitations, “and/or” will be examined under its broadest reasonable interpretation; in this instance as ‘or’. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 5 is objected to as each claim recites, “… with at least one of the BMCs...” which lacks proper antecedent basis as only one BMC has been properly introduced. The examiner will examine the phrase as, “… with the BMC…” (emphasis added). It is further noted that the recitations, “and/or” will be examined under its broadest reasonable interpretation; in this instance as ‘or’. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 7-8 are objected to because of the following informalities: claims 7-8 are objected to as each claim recites, “… with at least one of the battery monitoring modules...” which lacks proper antecedent basis. The examiner will examine the phrase as, “… with at least one of a plurality of battery monitoring modules…” (emphasis added). It is further noted that the recitations, “and/or” will be examined under its broadest reasonable interpretation; in this instance as ‘or’. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 8 and 15 are objected to because of the following informalities: claims 8 and 15 are objected to as each recite, “… a second instruction...” whereas each claim is dependent upon a previous claim which has already introduced the second instruction. The examiner will examine the phrase as, “… the second instruction…” (emphasis added). It is further noted that the recitations, “and/or” will be examined under its broadest reasonable interpretation; in this instance as ‘or’. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 9 is objected to as each claim recites, “… the valve base controller (VBC)...” which lacks proper antecedent basis. The examiner will examine the phrase as, “… a valve base controller (VBC)…” (emphasis added). Furthermore, claim 9 recites, “… with at least one of the BMCs…” which lacks proper antecedent basis. The examiner will examine the phrase as, “… with at least one battery management controller BMC…”. It is further noted that the recitations, “and/or” will be examined under its broadest reasonable interpretation; in this instance as ‘or’. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 19 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 19 is objected to as each claim recites, “… the second branch...” which lacks proper antecedent basis. The examiner will examine the phrase as, “… a second branch…” (emphasis added). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 20 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 20 is objected to as each claim recites, “… the energy storage system, comprising...” which lacks proper antecedent basis. The examiner will examine the phrase as, “… an energy storage system, comprising…” (emphasis added). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, 11, 14-15, and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hilligoss et al. (U.S. Patent Publication Number 2021/0028503).
Regarding Claim 1:
Hilligoss et al. discloses a starting method of an energy storage system, wherein the energy storage system comprises at least one energy storage submodule (Fig. 4, battery packs 12A-12D with balancing circuit 114 and their related discussion), the energy storage submodule comprises a power module (Fig. 4, one of battery packs 12A-12D such as battery pack 12B, for example; the power module selected as being a respective battery pack having the lowest voltage) and a battery module (Fig. 4, one of battery packs 12A-12D such as battery pack 12A, for example; the battery module selected as being a respective battery pack having the highest voltage), and the starting method comprises: acquiring a first instruction (Figs. 4-6, controller 52, step 182, etc. and their related discussion; see, at least, paragraphs 0045-0050, etc. which disclose the controller sends an “instruction” at step 182 to carry out subsequent actions based upon the respective voltages of the battery packs); and controlling the battery module to charge the power module according to the first instruction (Figs. 4-6, controller 52, step 182, etc. and their related discussion; see, at least, paragraphs 0007-0008, 0045-0050, etc. which disclose based upon the received “instruction” at step 182 controlling the respective bypass switches 115A-115D in order to connect the battery pack having the lowest voltage to close thereby connecting the battery pack to the OUT terminal and “activates DC-DC converters 130A-130D associated with higher-voltage battery packs” in order to charge the lowest voltage battery pack. Stated another way, based upon acquiring an ‘instruction’ from controller 52, the respective bypass switches and converters are controlled in order to charge the power module, read on by the battery pack with the lowest voltage, by the battery module, read on by the battery pack with the highest voltage.).
Regarding Claim 2:
Hilligoss teaches the limitations of the preceding claim 1. Hilligoss further discloses wherein the controlling the battery module to charge the power module comprises: connecting a first branch between the battery module and the power module according to the first instruction, wherein the first branch comprises a first switch (Figs. 4-6, controller 52, step 182, bypass switches 115A-115D, etc. and their related discussion; see, at least, paragraphs 0007-0008, 0045-0050, etc. which disclose based upon the received “instruction” at step 182 controlling the respective bypass switches 115A-115D in order to connect the battery pack having the lowest voltage to close thereby connecting the battery pack to the OUT terminal and “activates DC-DC converters 130A-130D associated with higher-voltage battery packs” in order to charge the lowest voltage battery pack. Stated another way, based upon acquiring an ‘instruction’ from controller 52, a respective first branch, read on by the respective path way between the battery module, read on by the battery pack with the highest voltage, and the power module, read on by the battery pack with the lowest voltage, is connected via a first switch, read on by the respective bypass switch along the respective pathway to allow charging of the power module by the battery module).
Regarding Claim 4:
Hilligoss teaches the limitations of the preceding claim 1. Hilligoss further discloses wherein the acquiring the first instruction comprises: establishing a communication connection with a battery management controller BMC of the energy storage system (Fig. 4, controller 52 and its related discussion; see, at least, paragraphs 0045-0050, etc. which disclose a BMC of the energy storage system, read on by controller 52, establishing a communication connection in order to receive voltage information related to the battery packs 12A-12D, as well as to communicate required instructions for carrying out the respective functionalities as discussed); and acquiring the first instruction or a second instruction from the BMC (Figs. 4-6, controller 52, step 182, etc. and their related discussion; see, at least, paragraphs 0045-0050, etc. which disclose the controller sends a “first instruction” at step 182 to carry out subsequent actions based upon the respective voltages of the battery packs).
Regarding Claim 5:
Hilligoss teaches the limitations of the preceding claim 4. Hilligoss further discloses wherein a battery monitoring module of the energy storage system communicates with the BMC, and the first instruction or a second instruction is sent to the BMC by the battery monitoring module (Fig. 4, non-transitory memory 54, processor 56, controller 52, etc. and their related discussion; see, at least, paragraphs 0029-0030 which disclose execution by the processor of instructions included within the non-transitory memory which are communicated to controller 52, in the form of a second instruction, to cause controller 52 to determine voltages of the battery packs 12A-12D. That is, battery monitoring module, read on by non-transitory memory 54 with processor 56, communicate with the BMC, read on by controller 52, in order to send a ‘second instruction’ to the BMC to cause monitoring of the respective voltages of the battery packs.).
Regarding Claim 11:
Hilligoss et al. discloses an energy storage system, comprising: control modules (Fig. 4, components associated with controller 52, such as processors 56, for executing operations of controller 52, and their related discussion; see, at least, paragraphs 0029-0031, etc. which disclose control modules, read on by components such as processors 56, are designed for executing operations as instructed by the controller) and at least one energy storage submodule (Fig. 4, battery packs 12A-12D with balancing circuit 114 and their related discussion), and the energy storage submodule comprises a power module (Fig. 4, one of battery packs 12A-12D such as battery pack 12B, for example; the power module selected as being a respective battery pack having the lowest voltage) and a battery module (Fig. 4, one of battery packs 12A-12D such as battery pack 12A, for example; the battery module selected as being a respective battery pack having the highest voltage), wherein the control modules are configured to acquire a first instruction and control the battery module to charge the power module according to the first instruction (Figs. 4-6, components associated controller 52, step 182, etc. and their related discussion; see, at least, paragraphs 0007-0008, 0045-0050, etc. which disclose based upon the received “instruction” at step 182 controlling the respective bypass switches 115A-115D in order to connect the battery pack having the lowest voltage to close thereby connecting the battery pack to the OUT terminal and “activates DC-DC converters 130A-130D associated with higher-voltage battery packs” in order to charge the lowest voltage battery pack. Stated another way, based upon acquiring an ‘instruction’ from controller 52, the control modules execute the intended operations of the respective bypass switches and converters in which said switches and converters are controlled in order to charge the power module, read on by the battery pack with the lowest voltage, by the battery module, read on by the battery pack with the highest voltage.).
Regarding Claim 12:
Hilligoss teaches the limitations of the preceding claim 11. Hilligoss further discloses wherein the control modules are configured to control a first branch between the battery module and the power module to be connected according to the first instruction, wherein the first branch comprises a first switch (Figs. 4-6, components associated with controller 52, step 182, bypass switches 115A-115D, etc. and their related discussion; see, at least, paragraphs 0007-0008, 0029-0031, 0045-0050, etc. which disclose based upon the received “instruction” at step 182 controlling the respective bypass switches 115A-115D in order to connect the battery pack having the lowest voltage to close thereby connecting the battery pack to the OUT terminal and “activates DC-DC converters 130A-130D associated with higher-voltage battery packs” in order to charge the lowest voltage battery pack. Stated another way, based upon acquiring an ‘instruction’ from controller 52, a respective first branch, read on by the respective path way between the battery module, read on by the battery pack with the highest voltage, and the power module, read on by the battery pack with the lowest voltage, is connected via a first switch, read on by the respective bypass switch along the respective pathway to allow charging of the power module by the battery module).
Regarding Claim 14:
Hilligoss teaches the limitations of the preceding claim 11. Hilligoss further discloses comprising a battery management controller BMC (Fig. 4, controller 52 and its related discussion; see, at least, paragraphs 0029-0031, 0045-0050, etc.); and the BMC establishes a communication connection with at least one of the control modules (Fig. 4, controller 52, components associated with controller 52, and their related discussion; see, at least, paragraphs 0029-0031, 0045-0050, etc. which disclose a BMC of the energy storage system, read on by controller 52, establishing a communication connection with the components associated with controller 52 for executing the desired operations of said controller, in order to receive required instructions for carrying out the respective functionalities as discussed), and the first instruction or a second instruction is sent to the control modules by the BMC (Figs. 4-6, controller 52, components associated with controller 52, step 182, etc. and their related discussion; see, at least, paragraphs 0029-0031, 0045-0050, etc. which disclose the controller sends a “first instruction” at step 182 to carry out subsequent actions based upon the respective voltages of the battery packs).
Regarding Claim 15:
Hilligoss teaches the limitations of the preceding claim 14. Hilligoss further discloses comprising: a battery monitoring module (Fig. 4, non-transitory memory 54, processor 56 and their related discussion; see, at least, paragraphs 0029-0031); and the battery monitoring module establishes a communication connection with the BMC, and the first instruction or the second instruction is sent to the BMC by the battery monitoring module (Fig. 4, non-transitory memory 54, processor 56, controller 52, etc. and their related discussion; see, at least, paragraphs 0029-0031 which disclose execution by the processor of instructions included within the non-transitory memory which are communicated to controller 52, in the form of a second instruction, to cause controller 52 to determine voltages of the battery packs 12A-12D. That is, battery monitoring module, read on by non-transitory memory 54 with processor 56, communicate with the BMC, read on by controller 52, in order to send a ‘second instruction’ to the BMC to cause monitoring of the respective voltages of the battery packs.).
Regarding Claim 19:
Hilligoss teaches the limitations of the preceding claim 11. Hilligoss further discloses wherein when the control module controls a second branch to be connected so that the power module reaches a rated voltage (Figs. 4-6, components associated with controller 52, step 182, bypass switches 115A-115D, etc. and their related discussion; see, at least, paragraphs 0007-0008, 0029-0031, 0045-0050, etc. which disclose based upon the received “instruction” at step 182 controlling the respective bypass switches 115A-115D in order to connect the battery pack having the lowest voltage to close thereby connecting the battery pack to the OUT terminal and “activates DC-DC converters 130A-130D associated with higher-voltage battery packs” in order to charge the lowest voltage battery pack to reach a rated voltage, read on by the voltage reached to meet the average. Stated another way, a second branch is connected in order to provide a voltage from the DC-DC converter via the battery pack with the highest voltage to the battery pack with the lowest voltage), the control module acquires the first instruction and controls the first branch to be connected according to the first instruction (Figs. 4-6, components associated with controller 52, step 182, bypass switches 115A-115D, etc. and their related discussion; see, at least, paragraphs 0007-0008, 0029-0031, 0045-0050, etc. which disclose based upon the received “instruction” at step 182 controlling the respective bypass switches 115A-115D in order to connect the battery pack having the lowest voltage to close thereby connecting the battery pack to the OUT terminal and “activates DC-DC converters 130A-130D associated with higher-voltage battery packs” in order to charge the lowest voltage battery pack to reach a rated voltage, read on by the voltage reached to meet the average. Stated another way, based upon acquiring an ‘instruction’ from controller 52, a respective first branch, read on by the respective path way between the battery module, read on by the battery pack with the highest voltage, and the power module, read on by the battery pack with the lowest voltage, is connected via a first switch, read on by the respective bypass switch along the respective pathway to allow charging of the power module by the battery module).
Regarding Claim 20:
Hilligoss discloses a starting device of the energy storage system, comprising: a processor and a memory (Fig. 4, non-transitory memory 54, processor 56, etc. and their related discussion; see, at least, paragraphs 0029-0031), wherein a computer program instruction is stored in the memory, and the processor executes the computer program instruction to implement the starting method of the energy storage system (Fig. 4, non-transitory memory 54, processor 56, controller 52, etc. and their related discussion; see, at least, paragraphs 0029-0031, etc.) according to claim 1 (see claim 1 above).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 6-10, 13, and 16-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
With respect to claims 3, 10, and 13: while the prior art of record discloses a similar starting method and energy storage system including acquiring a second instruction, and connecting a second branch, as claimed, the prior art of record fails to appropriately teach or suggest the second instruction is acquired before acquiring the first instruction, as well as the second branch being comprised of a second switch and a resistor which are connected in series. Said limitations, when taken into consideration with the claim language in its entirety appears to be directed towards a non-obvious improvement over the prior art of record as such modifications appear to teach away from the respective structure and operations of the prior art presented. Claim 10 is objected to as being dependent upon claim 3.
With respect to claims 6 and 16: the prior art of record fails to appropriately teach or suggest a valve base controller wherein the first instruction or the second instruction is sent to the battery monitoring module by the VBC. Furthermore, it does not appear as though such a modification to the prior art of record would be obvious as the prior art of record fails to provide motivation for the inclusion of a valve base controller nor the motivation for modifying the first and second instructions to be provided from another structure entirely.
With respect to claims 7 and 17: similar to the rationale provided with respect to claims 6 and 16, the prior art of record fails to appropriately teach or suggest a station control system and the first instruction or second instruction being provided from such a structure.
With respect to claims 8 and 18: similar to the rationale provided with respect to claims 6 and 16, the prior art of record fails to appropriately teach or suggest a cloud server and the first instruction or second instruction being provided from such a structure.
With respect to claim 9: the prior art of record fails to appropriately teach or suggest a valve base controller in addition to the first instruction or second instruction being sent to the BMC by said structure.
Conclusion
Prior art deemed relevant, but not currently relied upon:
Lipcsei U.S. Patent Publication Number 2008/0100143
Lai et al. U.S. Patent Publication Number 2013/0170311
Sugeno et al. U.S. Patent Publication Number 2017/0207637
Yamamoto et al. U.S. Patent Publication Number 2018/0188330
Ono et al. U.S. Patent Publication Number 2021/0234380
Singer et al. U.S. Patent Publication Number 2021/0281081
Petrovic et al. U.S. Patent Publication Number 2022/0263142
/JOSEPH N INGE/Examiner, Art Unit 2836