DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 3, 7 – 10, 13, 14, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Redford et al. (USPN 4,900,377).
Redford et al. disclose a floor mat (Figures 18 – 21) comprising a floor mat main body, wherein the floor mat main body comprises: a flexible layer (Column 10, lines 28 – 57); and an absorption layer (Column 7, line 26 to Column 9, line 43), wherein the absorption layer is used for absorbing liquid (Column 7, line 26 to Column 9, line 43); the absorption layer comprises a first absorption unit and a second absorption unit (Figures 18 and 20; Column 24, line 49 to Column 25, line 2), the first absorption unit and the second absorption unit are connected to a surface of the flexible layer (Column 5, lines 24 – 29), and a first gap is defined between the first absorption unit and the second absorption unit (Figure 18, #216) as in claim 1. With respect to claim 2, the first absorption unit is rotatable through the flexible layer to be stacked with the second absorption unit (Figure 19). Regarding claim 3, the flexible layer is provided with a first folding part, the first folding part is positioned between the first absorption unit and the second absorption unit, and the first absorption unit is rotatable through the first folding part to be stacked with the second absorption unit (Figure 18, #216; Figure 19). For claim 7, a thickness of the absorption layer is greater than a thickness of the flexible layer (Figure 10). In claim 8, a surface area of the absorption layer is smaller than a surface area of the flexible layer, and a hardness of the absorption layer is greater than a hardness of the flexible layer (Figure 18). With regard to claim 9, the absorption layer further comprises third absorption units, the third absorption unit is connected to the surface of the flexible layer, a second gap is defined between the third absorption unit and the second absorption unit, and the second absorption unit is positioned between the first absorption unit and the third absorption unit (Figure 18; Column 24, lines 49 – 59). As in claim 10, the third absorption unit is rotatable through the flexible layer to be stacked with the second absorption unit and/or the first absorption unit; the flexible layer is further provided with a second folding part, the second folding part is positioned between the second absorption unit and the third absorption unit, and the third absorption unit is rotatable through the second folding part to be stacked with the second absorption unit and/or the first absorption unit (Figure 19). With respect to claim 13, a total number of the third absorption units is multiple, third gaps are defined between the plurality of third absorption units, and the plurality of third absorption units are arranged in sequence along a length direction or a width direction of the flexible layer (Figure 18). Regarding claim 14, the absorption layer is a composite diatomaceous earth absorption layer (Column 9, lines 16 – 20). With regard to claim 19, a length range of the floor mat main body is 5cm-122 cm, a width range of the floor mat main body is 33cm-79 cm, and a thickness range of the floor mat main body is 0.1mm-30cm; a width range of the first gap is 0.1mm-50cm; and a surface area of the absorption layer is 5% -100% of a surface area of the flexible layer (Figure 18 and 20; Column 24, lines 32 – 35; Column 23, lines 45 – 46). As in claim 20, the length range of the floor mat main body is 50cm-122cm, the width range of the floor mat main body is 33cm-79cm, and the thickness range of the floor mat main body is 5mm-3cm; the width range of the first gap is 2mm-5cm; and the surface area of the absorption layer is 50% -100% of the surface area of the flexible layer (Figure 18 and 20; Column 24, lines 32 – 35; Column 23, lines 45 – 46).
Claims 1 – 3, 7 – 10, 14, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Klug et al. (USPN 11,832,777).
Klug et al. disclose a floor mat (Figures; Abstract; A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. The mat of Klug et al. may be sat on any surface including the floor.) comprising a mat main body (Figures), wherein the mat main body comprises: a flexible layer (Column 6, line 45 to Column 7, line 20); and an absorption layer (Figure 6, #110 a – c), wherein the absorption layer is used for absorbing liquid (Column 5, line 16 to Column 6, line 5); the absorption layer comprises a first absorption unit and a second absorption unit, the first absorption unit and the second absorption unit are connected to a surface of the flexible layer, and a first gap is defined between the first absorption unit and the second absorption unit (Figure 2 and 6) as in claim 1. With respect to claim 2, the first absorption unit is rotatable through the flexible layer to be stacked with the second absorption unit (Figure 9). Regarding claim 3, the flexible layer is provided with a first folding part, the first folding part is positioned between the first absorption unit and the second absorption unit, and the first absorption unit is rotatable through the first folding part to be stacked with the second absorption unit (Figure 9). For claim 7, a thickness of the absorption layer is greater than a thickness of the flexible layer (Figure 14). In claim 8, a surface area of the absorption layer is smaller than a surface area of the flexible layer, and a hardness of the absorption layer is greater than a hardness of the flexible layer (Figure 6). With regard to claim 9, the absorption layer further comprises third absorption units, the third absorption unit is connected to the surface of the flexible layer, a second gap is defined between the third absorption unit and the second absorption unit, and the second absorption unit is positioned between the first absorption unit and the third absorption unit (Figure 6). As in claim 10, the third absorption unit is rotatable through the flexible layer to be stacked with the second absorption unit and/or the first absorption unit; the flexible layer is further provided with a second folding part, the second folding part is positioned between the second absorption unit and the third absorption unit, and the third absorption unit is rotatable through the second folding part to be stacked with the second absorption unit and/or the first absorption unit (Figure 9). Regarding claim 14, the absorption layer is a composite diatomaceous earth absorption layer (Column 5, line 16 to Column 6, line 5). With regard to claim 19, a length range of the floor mat main body is 5cm-122 cm, a width range of the floor mat main body is 3cm-79 cm, and a thickness range of the floor mat main body is 0.1mm-30cm; a width range of the first gap is 0.1mm-50cm; and a surface area of the absorption layer is 5% -100% of a surface area of the flexible layer (Figure 14). As in claim 20, the length range of the floor mat main body is 50cm-122cm, the width range of the floor mat main body is 33cm-79cm, and the thickness range of the floor mat main body is 5mm-3cm; the width range of the first gap is 2mm-5cm; and the surface area of the absorption layer is 50% -100% of the surface area of the flexible layer (Figure 14).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 – 6, 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Redford et al. (USPN 4,900,377) in view of Weiss et al. (WO 2007/014906 A1).
A machine-generated translation of WO 2007/014906 A1 accompanies this action. In reciting this rejection, the examiner will cite this translation.
Redford et al. disclose a floor mat (Figures 18 – 21) comprising a floor mat main body, wherein the floor mat main body comprises: a flexible layer (Column 10, lines 28 – 57); and an absorption layer (Column 7, line 26 to Column 9, line 43), wherein the absorption layer is used for absorbing liquid (Column 7, line 26 to Column 9, line 43); the absorption layer comprises a first absorption unit and a second absorption unit (Figures 18 and 20; Column 24, line 49 to Column 25, line 2), the first absorption unit and the second absorption unit are connected to a surface of the flexible layer (Column 5, lines 24 – 29), and a first gap is defined between the first absorption unit and the second absorption unit (Figure 18, #216). The absorption layer further comprises third absorption units, the third absorption unit is connected to the surface of the flexible layer, a second gap is defined between the third absorption unit and the second absorption unit, and the second absorption unit is positioned between the first absorption unit and the third absorption unit (Figure 18; Column 24, lines 49 – 59). Redford et al. further discloses that an adhesive may be used to connect the absorption units to the flexible layer (Column 5, lines 21 – 25). However, Redford et al. fail to disclose a first connecting colloid and a second connecting colloid, wherein the first absorption unit is connected to the surface of the flexible layer through the first connecting colloid, and the second absorption unit is connected to the surface of the flexible layer through the second connecting colloid, the first absorption unit is provided with a first lower surface, the second absorption unit is provided with a second lower surface, the first connecting colloid is arranged around an edge of the first lower surface, and the second connecting colloid is arranged around an edge of the second lower surface, the first connecting colloid is a first waterproof colloid, and the second connecting colloid is the second waterproof colloid, a third connecting colloid, wherein the third absorption unit is connected to the surface of the flexible layer through the third connecting colloid, and the third absorption unit is provided with a third lower surface, and the third connecting colloid is arranged around an edge of the third lower surface.
Weiss et al. teach adhesive colloids (Page 4, last 3 lines) that have waterproof capabilities (Page 15, last 3 lines – Page 16, line 2) that are used in mats (Page 17, lines 27 – 29) for the purpose of improving the strength of an item (Page 5, lines 1 – 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have colloid materials adhering the flexible layer to the absorption units of Redford et al. in order to improve the strength of an item as taught by Weiss et al.
Claims 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Klug et al. (USPN 11,832,777) in view of Mezger (USPGPub 2015/0314161 A1).
Klug et al. disclose a floor mat (Figures; Abstract; A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. The mat of Klug et al. may be sat on any surface including the floor.) comprising a mat main body (Figures), wherein the mat main body comprises: a flexible layer (Column 6, line 45 to Column 7, line 20); and an absorption layer (Figure 6, #110 a – c), wherein the absorption layer is used for absorbing liquid (Column 5, line 16 to Column 6, line 5); the absorption layer comprises a first absorption unit and a second absorption unit, the first absorption unit and the second absorption unit are connected to a surface of the flexible layer, and a first gap is defined between the first absorption unit and the second absorption unit (Figure 2 and 6). For claim 15, the flexible layer comprises a flexible mat body (Abstract). In claim 16, the flexible mat body is a silicone flexible mat body (Abstract). However, Klug et al. fail to disclose a cloth layer is positioned between the absorption layer and the flexible mat body, the absorption layer is connected to an upper surface of the cloth layer, and the flexible mat body is connected to a lower surface of the cloth layer, and the cloth layer is a water absorbing cloth layer.
Mezger teach a mat having a cloth layer is a water absorbing cloth layer (Paragraph 0075) for the purpose of wicking water away from a surface (Paragraph 0075).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a cloth layer in Klug et al. in order to wick water away from a surface as taught by Mezger.
Klug et al., as modified with Mezger, discloses the claimed invention except for a cloth layer is positioned between the absorption layer and the flexible mat body, the absorption layer is connected to an upper surface of the cloth layer, and the flexible mat body is connected to a lower surface of the cloth layer. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added the cloth layer, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04.
Claims 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Redford et al. (USPN 4,900,377) in view of Flück et al. (EP 4292809 A1).
Redford et al. disclose a floor mat (Figures 18 – 21) comprising a floor mat main body, wherein the floor mat main body comprises: a flexible layer (Column 10, lines 28 – 57); and an absorption layer (Column 7, line 26 to Column 9, line 43), wherein the absorption layer is used for absorbing liquid (Column 7, line 26 to Column 9, line 43); the absorption layer comprises a first absorption unit and a second absorption unit (Figures 18 and 20; Column 24, line 49 to Column 25, line 2), the first absorption unit and the second absorption unit are connected to a surface of the flexible layer (Column 5, lines 24 – 29), and a first gap is defined between the first absorption unit and the second absorption unit (Figure 18, #216). The absorption layer is a composite diatomaceous earth absorption layer (Column 9, lines 16 – 20). However, Redford et al. fail to disclose the composite diatomaceous earth absorption layer is formed by mixing cement, diatomaceous earth, wood fiber, and slaked lime with each other, and the composite diatomaceous earth absorption layer is formed by mixing 10% cement, 35% diatomaceous earth, 35% wood fiber, and 20% slaked lime with each other.
Flück et al. teach a composite panel (Abstract; Figures; Paragraph 0124) having a composite diatomaceous earth absorption layer is formed by mixing cement, diatomaceous earth, wood fiber, and slaked lime with each other, and the composite diatomaceous earth absorption layer is formed by mixing 10% cement, 35% diatomaceous earth, 35% wood fiber, and 20% slaked lime with each other (Paragraphs 0024 – 0025, 0065, 0066, and 0073) for the purpose of forming a lightweight panel (Paragraph 0011).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the desired composition for the absorption panels of Redford et al. in order to have lightweight panels as taught by Flück et al.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The additional prior art is cited to show the state of the art with regard to mats containing absorbing panels or materials that are attached to a flexible layer.
/Patricia L. Nordmeyer/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1788
/pln/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1788 July 17, 2026