DETAILED ACTION
The amendment submitted on 29 June 2026 has been entered. Currently Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
This application is currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention.
The applicant is respectfully advised that in examining a pending application, the claims are interpreted as broadly as their terms reasonably convey. In re American Academy of Science Tech Center, 70 USPQ2d. 1827, 1834 (Fed. Cir. May 13, 2004). MPEP § 2111.01.
Claims 1-9 and 11-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada (U.S. Patent No. 4,965,950) in view of Demma (DE102011016413A1).
Regarding Claims 1 and 11, Yamada discloses in Figures 3-14, a vehicle 15 and a front cover structure (mark plate 10) for the vehicle 15, comprising: a front cover outer plate 10, comprising a transparent plastic layer 12 and a colored plastic layer (background color member 4), wherein along a thickness direction of the front cover outer plate 10, the transparent plastic layer 12 is provided on an upper surface of the colored plastic layer 4; and a front cover plastic inner plate (mark regions 2 with layers of sputtered metallic materials 5,24, 25 and paint layer 26 Col 3, lines 30-40 Figure 8A, 8B), wherein along the thickness direction, the front cover outer plate and the front cover plastic inner plate are stacked, and the front cover plastic inner plate is connected to the colored plastic layer 4 (a plate or layer of Col 3, lines 5-15).
Regarding 1 and 11, Yamada does not explicitly disclose the regions comprising a plastic plate or plastic material amongst the various sputtered layers and paint layers.
Demma discloses in Figures 3-4, a layered illuminating device 1 having a layer or light guiding plate 11made from a PMMA that has light scattering particles (Para 0051).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use plastic material for one of the layered plates in the mark region 2 for scattering the light in forming the characters. All the claimed elements in Yamada and Demma were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the PMMA material with light scattering material in place of one of the layers 5, 24, 25, and 26) as claimed with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded the predictable result scattering and diffusing light to the emission region of the vehicle cover in Yamada to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Regarding Claims 2 and 12, Yamada discloses in Figures 3-14, the front cover structure according to claim 1, wherein the front cover outer plate further comprises a hardened coating layer 22, and along with the thickness direction, the hardened coating layer 22 is provided on a surface of the transparent plastic layer 12 away from the colored plastic layer 4.
Regarding Claims 3 and 13, Yamada discloses in Figures 3-13, the front cover structure according to claim 2, wherein along the thickness direction, edges of the colored plastic layer 4 and the transparent plastic layer 12 are aligned, and the hardened coating layer 22 wraps the edges of the colored plastic layer 4 and the transparent plastic layer 12.
Regarding Claims 5 and 15, Yamada discloses in Figures 3-14, the front cover structure according to claim 1, wherein the front cover structure further comprises a light-emitting identification assembly; the light-emitting identification assembly comprises a light-transmitting identification part and a light source 13; the colored plastic layer 4 comprises a receiving hole the light-transmitting identification part is located in the receiving hole; and the light source 13 is correspondingly provided on a side of the light-transmitting identification part away from the transparent plastic layer 12.
Regarding Claims 6 and 16, Yamada discloses in Figures 3-13, the front cover structure according to claim 5, wherein the light-emitting identification assembly comprises a light-homogenizing plate (light conducting member 14), and the light-homogenizing plate 14 is provided between the light-transmitting identification part and the light source 13.
Regarding Claims 7 and 17, Yamada discloses in Figures 3-13, the front cover structure according to claim 6, wherein the light-emitting identification assembly further comprises a circuit board 62; the light source 13 is provided on the circuit board 62; the light-homogenizing plate 14 is connected to the circuit board 62, to form a receiving space; and the light source 13 is located in the receiving space.
Regarding Claims 8 and 18, Yamada discloses in Figure 3, the front cover structure according to claim 7, wherein the light-emitting identification assembly further comprises a light source plastic support (socket mounting part 20); the light source plastic support 20 is connected to the colored plastic layer 4; and the circuit board 62 is provided on the light source plastic support 20.
Regarding Claims 9 and 19, Yamada discloses in Figure 13, the front cover structure according to claim 5, wherein the light-emitting identification assembly further comprises a light-transmitting film (color film 75 Figure 13).
Regarding Claims 4 and 14, Yamada does not disclose the front cover structure further comprises an adhesive member, and the adhesive member is provided between the colored plastic layer and the front cover plastic inner plate, to connect the front cover outer plate and the front cover plastic inner plate.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use adhesives to bond or adhere the layers or outer plate 12 to the front cover inner plate 2, because a person of ordinary skill would have had good reason to pursue the known option(s) of using an adhesive to bond the display regions 2 to the color me3mber 4 which is considered to be within his or her technical grasp. This leads to the anticipated success of easily affixing the layers together and it is determined that the use of adhesive for affixing layers as disclosed by Yamada is not of innovation, but of ordinary skill and common sense. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The closest prior art does not teach or suggest alone or in combination the novel, non-obvious, multi-layered, light-transmitting film structure that is applied to a colored plastic layer, specifically covering a light-transmitting identification part where the light-transmitting film comprises a hardened transparent film layer, an intermediate light-transmitting pattern layer, and a transparent plastic base layer; and the hardened transparent film layer is connected to the colored plastic layer.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks, filed 29 June 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 and 11 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Demma (DE102011016413A1).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Kleber (U.S. Patent No. 7,232,246) discloses a vehicle cover with light source.
/ROBERT J MAY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875