DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: “method 10”. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
In addition to Replacement Sheets containing the corrected drawing figure(s), applicant is required to submit a marked-up copy of each Replacement Sheet including annotations indicating the changes made to the previous version. The marked-up copy must be clearly labeled as “Annotated Sheets” and must be presented in the amendment or remarks section that explains the change(s) to the drawings. See 37 CFR 1.121(d)(1). Failure to timely submit the proposed drawing and marked-up copy will result in the abandonment of the application.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In paragraph 16, line 3, “to assist the user in” should be removed.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 9, 10, 17, and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 9, “wherein the method after determining…” should read “wherein after determining…”
In claim 10, “wherein the method determines that at least one of the first vehicle automation system comprises at least one automation feature…” should read “wherein the method determines that the first vehicle automation system comprises at least one automation feature…”
In claim 17, “wherein the first vehicle automation system has been previously used by the user” should be moved to the end of the claim.
In claim 17, “wherein the first vehicle automation system has been previously used by the user” should be moved to the end of the claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 and 9-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chan (U.S. Patent No. 11059494).
Regarding claim 1, Chan teaches a method comprising: obtaining first data indicative of one or more automation features of a first vehicle automation system (Chan: Col. 13, lines 18-21; i.e., an autonomous driving preference associated with an operator of a first vehicle may be obtained (block 402). The first vehicle may be a vehicle that the operator drives frequently);
and providing a control signal to a second vehicle automation system based on the first data (Chan: Col. 14, lines 36-38; i.e., an indication of the autonomous driving preference associated with the operator may be transmitted (block 406) to the second vehicle);
and wherein the method is for adapting the second vehicle automation system based on the first vehicle automation system (Chan: Col. 14, lines 38-41; i.e., vehicle controls associated with the second vehicle may be automatically modified (block 408) based on the autonomous driving preference associated with the operator),
wherein the first vehicle automation system has been previously used by a user (Chan: Col. 13, lines 19-22; i.e., the first vehicle may be a vehicle that the operator drives frequently and/or a vehicle that the operator owns. That is, the first vehicle may be the driver's usual vehicle).
Regarding claim 2, Chan teaches the method according to claim 1. Chan further teaches adjusting the second vehicle automation system based on the control signal (Chan: Col. 14, lines 38-41; i.e., vehicle controls associated with the second vehicle may be automatically modified (block 408) based on the autonomous driving preference associated with the operator).
Regarding claim 3, Chan teaches the method according to claim 1. Chan further teaches obtaining second data indicative of at least one difference between the first vehicle automation system and the second vehicle automation system, and adjusting a user interface based on the control signal to alert the user to the at least one difference (Chan: Col. 12, line 64 – Col. 13, line 4; i.e., an autonomous driving capability associated with the first vehicle may be obtained and compared to the autonomous driving capabilities of the second vehicle. In particular, based on the comparison, a notification may be generated for the operator indicating that there are vehicle controls that the second vehicle is capable of operating autonomously but the first vehicle is not capable of operating autonomously).
Regarding claim 4, Chan teaches the method according to claim 1. Chan further teaches wherein obtaining the first data indicative of one or more automation features of the first vehicle automation system comprises: obtaining third data indicative of an identity of the user (Chan: Col. 14, lines 27-29; i.e., the sensor data may include image data including the face of the operator, which may be used to identify the operator);
and retrieving the first data indicative of the one or more automation features of the first vehicle automation system based on the third data from a database (Chan: Col. 9, lines 48-51; i.e., the one or more databases 122 may be adapted to store data related to … autonomous driving preferences of an operator; Col. 13, lines 18-21; i.e., an autonomous driving preference associated with an operator of a first vehicle may be obtained).
Regarding claim 5, Chan teaches the method according to claim 4. Chan further teaches wherein obtaining the third data indicative of an identity of the user comprises: identifying the user by one or more of a user monitor system, a user personal device, and receiving input from the user through a user interface (Chan: Col. 14, lines 30-32; i.e., the determination may be made that the operator is currently operating the second vehicle based on login or other credential information input by the operator);
and retrieving the first data indicative of the one or more automation features of the first vehicle automation system based on the identified user (Chan: Col. 13, lines 18-26; i.e., autonomous driving preference associated with an operator of a first vehicle may be obtained… The autonomous driving preference may include, for example, one or more vehicle controls (such as, e.g., steering, acceleration, braking, etc.) that the operator prefers to be operated autonomously or semi-autonomously).
Regarding claim 6, Chan teaches the method according to claim 1. Chan further teaches wherein the method determines that the first vehicle automation system and the second vehicle automation system each have a similar automation feature with at least one of a different associated configuration and a different associated parameter (Chan: Col. 16, lines 21-25; i.e., the first vehicle is capable of operating vehicle controls either autonomously or manually, while the second vehicle is only capable of operating certain vehicle controls autonomously, and is not capable of operating these vehicle controls manually; the first vehicle may be capable of semi-autonomous steering while the second vehicle may not have a steering wheel and is only capable of autonomous steering),
then the method further comprises: determining whether at least one of the different associated configuration and the different associated parameter relates to one of user preference and safety (Chan: Col. 15, lines 21-24; i.e., The autonomous driving preference associated with the operator of the first vehicle (obtained at block 402) may be compared (block 504) to the autonomous driving capabilities of the second vehicle; the different configuration relates to a user preference).
Regarding claim 9, Chan teaches the method according to claim 6. Chan further teaches wherein the method after determining that at least one of the different associated configuration and the different associated parameter relates to the user preference, alerting a driver to at least one of the different associated configuration and the different associated parameter by: presenting to the user a notification related to at least one of the different associated configuration and the different associated parameter during use of the automation feature, wherein the notification is one or more of a visual notification on a user interface and an audio notification through a speaker (Chan: Col. 12, line 67 – Col. 13, line 6; i.e., based on the comparison, a notification may be generated for the operator indicating that there are vehicle controls that the second vehicle is capable of operating autonomously… As shown in example interface display 320, the notification may indicate that the second vehicle is capable of autonomous steering).
Regarding claim 10, Chan teaches the method according to claim 1. Chan further teaches wherein the method determines that at least one of the first vehicle automation system comprises at least one automation feature that is absent in the second vehicle automation system and the second vehicle automation system comprises at least one automation feature that is absent in the first vehicle automation system (Chan: Col. 16, lines 28-39; i.e., any vehicle controls that the first vehicle is capable of operating autonomously or semi-autonomously but the second vehicle is not capable of operating autonomously or semi-autonomously may be identified (block 608)… any vehicle controls that the first vehicle is not capable of operating autonomously or semi-autonomously but the second vehicle is capable of operating autonomously or semi-autonomously may be identified),
then the method further proceeds for: identifying one of the at least one automation feature in the first vehicle automation system that is absent in the second vehicle automation system and the at least one automation feature in the second vehicle automation system that is absent in the first vehicle automation system (Chan: Col. 16, lines 32-43; i.e., the braking control may be identified if the first vehicle is capable of braking autonomously or semi-autonomously but the second vehicle is not capable of braking autonomously… the steering control may be identified if the first vehicle is not capable of steering autonomously but the second vehicle is capable of steering autonomously).
Regarding claim 11, Chan teaches the method according to claim 10. Chan further teaches wherein the method identifies that at least one automation feature of the first vehicle automation system is absent in the second vehicle automation system, and determining whether the at least one automation feature is compatible with the second vehicle automation system; and based on the determination that the at least one automation feature is compatible with the second vehicle automation system, adding the at least one automation feature to the second vehicle automation system (Chan: Col. 3, line 59 – Col. 4, line 2; i.e., in instances in which the new vehicle is capable of operating additional vehicle controls autonomously or semi-autonomously, a notification may be generated for the operator indicating that operating these vehicle controls autonomously or semi-autonomously is an option. Advantageously, the operator will be made aware of the autonomous capabilities of the new vehicle, and may choose to engage the newly available autonomous or semi-autonomous vehicle controls if desired).
Regarding claim 12, Chan teaches the method according to claim 10. Chan further teaches wherein the method identifies that at least one automation feature of the second vehicle automation system is absent in the first vehicle automation system, and executing an onboarding protocol to assist the user in utilizing the at least one automation feature (Chan: Col. 15, lines 52-55; i.e., information may be provided to the operator so that the operator may familiarize him- or herself with the features of the second vehicle before attempting to operate it).
Regarding claim 13, Chan teaches the method according to claim 1. Chan further teaches wherein the first data indicative of one or more automation features of the first vehicle automation system comprises: user preferences related to utilization of one of the automation features, operating conditions, and limitations related to a plurality of operational design domains (ODDs) (Chan: Col. 13, lines 22-26; i.e., the autonomous driving preference may include, for example, one or more vehicle controls (such as, e.g., steering, acceleration, braking, etc.) that the operator prefers to be operated autonomously or semi-autonomously).
Regarding claim 14, Chan teaches the method according to claim 3. Chan further teaches wherein the second data is generated by another control system in communication with both the first vehicle automation system and the second vehicle automation system (Chan: Col. 10, lines 4-19; i.e., The server 118 may further include a number of various software applications 132, 134, 136, 138… one or more of the applications 132, 134, 136, 138 may perform at least a portion of any of the methods described herein, such as, e.g., method 400, method 500, method 600, and/or method 700).
Regarding claim 15, Chan teaches the method according to claim 3. Chan further teaches wherein adjustment of the user interface comprises providing one of a verbal, an audial, and a haptic signal to the user (Chan: Col. 5, lines 59-64; i.e., the front-end components 102 may further include an internal audio component (not shown) and/or an internal display component (not shown) disposed within the one or more of the vehicles 106A, 106B that may be configured to respectively sound or display various alerts, notifications, warnings, etc.).
Regarding claim 16, Chan teaches the method according to claim 3. Chan further teaches wherein the user interface is for one or more of providing input to the second vehicle automation system, receiving feedback from the second vehicle automation system, and understanding internal states in the second vehicle automation system (Chan: Col. 14, lines 1-2; i.e., the operator may input his or her autonomous driving preference, e.g., via a user interface).
Regarding claim 17, Chan teaches an automation system for a vehicle comprising: a controller; and a human-machine interface, in communication with the controller to interact with a user of the vehicle (Chan: Col. 5, lines 23-26; i.e., The on-board computers 108A, 1088 and/or mobile device 110 may utilize the obtained information to autonomously or semi-autonomously operate the respective vehicles; Col. 12, lines 36-38; i.e., the user interface displays 300, 310, 320 may be displayed via a display component 150 of the onboard computers);
wherein the controller is configured to adapt a second vehicle automation system based on a first vehicle automation system (Chan: Col. 14, lines 38-41; i.e., vehicle controls associated with the second vehicle may be automatically modified (block 408) based on the autonomous driving preference associated with the operator), wherein the first vehicle automation system has been previously used by the user by (Chan: Col. 13, lines 19-22; i.e., the first vehicle may be a vehicle that the operator drives frequently and/or a vehicle that the operator owns. That is, the first vehicle may be the driver's usual vehicle):
obtaining first data indicative of one or more automation features of the first vehicle automation system (Chan: Col. 13, lines 18-21; i.e., an autonomous driving preference associated with an operator of a first vehicle may be obtained (block 402). The first vehicle may be a vehicle that the operator drives frequently);
and providing a control signal to the second vehicle automation system based on the first data (Chan: Col. 14, lines 36-38; i.e., an indication of the autonomous driving preference associated with the operator may be transmitted (block 406) to the second vehicle).
Regarding claim 18, Chan teaches the automation system according to claim 17. Chan further teaches wherein the controller is configured to adjust the second vehicle automation system based on the control signal (Chan: Col. 14, lines 38-41; i.e., vehicle controls associated with the second vehicle may be automatically modified (block 408) based on the autonomous driving preference associated with the operator).
Regarding claim 19, Chan teaches the automation system according to claim 17. Chan further teaches wherein the controller is configured to: obtain second data indicative of at least one difference between the first vehicle automation system and the second vehicle automation system, and adjust the human-machine interface based on the control signal to alert the user to the at least one difference (Chan: Col. 12, line 64 – Col. 13, line 4; i.e., an autonomous driving capability associated with the first vehicle may be obtained and compared to the autonomous driving capabilities of the second vehicle. In particular, based on the comparison, a notification may be generated for the operator indicating that there are vehicle controls that the second vehicle is capable of operating autonomously but the first vehicle is not capable of operating autonomously).
Regarding claim 20, Chan teaches a vehicle comprising: an automation system, wherein the automation system comprises: a controller; and a human-machine interface, in communication with the controller to interact with a user of the vehicle (Chan: Col. 5, lines 23-26; i.e., The on-board computers 108A, 1088 and/or mobile device 110 may utilize the obtained information to autonomously or semi-autonomously operate the respective vehicles; Col. 12, lines 36-38; i.e., the user interface displays 300, 310, 320 may be displayed via a display component 150 of the onboard computers);
and wherein the controller is configured to adapt a second vehicle automation system based on a first vehicle automation system (Chan: Col. 14, lines 38-41; i.e., vehicle controls associated with the second vehicle may be automatically modified (block 408) based on the autonomous driving preference associated with the operator), wherein the first vehicle automation system has been previously used by the user by (Chan: Col. 13, lines 19-22; i.e., the first vehicle may be a vehicle that the operator drives frequently and/or a vehicle that the operator owns. That is, the first vehicle may be the driver's usual vehicle):
obtaining first data indicative of one or more automation features of the first vehicle automation system (Chan: Col. 13, lines 18-21; i.e., an autonomous driving preference associated with an operator of a first vehicle may be obtained (block 402). The first vehicle may be a vehicle that the operator drives frequently);
and providing a control signal to the second vehicle automation system based on the first data (Chan: Col. 14, lines 36-38; i.e., an indication of the autonomous driving preference associated with the operator may be transmitted (block 406) to the second vehicle).
Claims 7 and 8 contain further limitations of alternative embodiments that have not been selected to be considered.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Additional prior art deemed pertinent in the art of adapting a vehicle automation system based on user preferences on another vehicle automation system includes Mahajan (U.S. Publication No. 2020/0216079), Nagy et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2017/0369052), Shiraishi et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2017/0334450), Brenner et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2017/0232914), Scofield et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2017/0068245), Boroditsky et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2016/0026182), Graney (U.S. Patent No. 10246102), and Huber (U.S. Patent No. 10183679).
/BRANDON Z WILLIS/Examiner, Art Unit 3665