DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the 08/19/2026 amendment.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 08/19/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under 35 USC 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of US Pub. No. 2019/0229618.
Applicant's arguments with respect to claim 4 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant(s) argue(s) with respect to claim 4:
“The Office Action's rejection thus conflates two distinct structures: (i) a temporary, sacrificial, non-magnetic copper-foil carrier plate that is press-fitted together and then removed before the finished inductor structure is complete, and (ii) the magnetic core itself, which Chen forms by deposition and etching. Applicant further notes that even if the press-fitted copper foil were retained in the final structure (which Chen ¶[0023] and [0081] confirm it is not), copper is an electrical conductor, and its presence would not satisfy the claimed "magnetic material". Because Chen does not teach or suggest that "the magnetic material is formed by press-fitting magnetic thin films," the cited combination fails to render claim 4 as obvious.”
In response, claim 4 recites “wherein the magnetic material is formed by press-fitting magnetic thin films”.
Chen, Fig. 5E teaches an integrated inductor comprising a magnetic material corresponding to magnetic core layers 141a, 141b which are formed by press-fitting magnetic thin films corresponding to the cores layers 141a, 141b being itself thin films. Paragraph 083 recites “It should be noted that the first magnetic core 141a and the second magnetic core 141b together constitute a magnetic core”. Paragraph 075 recites “(a1) applying a first magnetic material layer 150a on the surface of the temporary carrier plate, and etching the first magnetic material layer 150a to form the first magnetic core 141a. Alternatively, the method of applying the first magnetic layer 150a includes press-fitting”. Paragraph 081 recites “physically press-fitted double-layer copper foil”. Paragraph 084 recites “It should be noted that the second magnetic core 141b, the second conductive copper pillar 130b, and the second sacrificial copper pillar 180b are formed in a manner similar to the first magnetic core 141a”.
Applicant argument that copper foil is temporary (removed before the finished inductor structure is complete) is irrelevant, because the rejection is not based on the copper foils as being the magnetic thin films. The magnetic thin films corresponds to 141a and 141b which, individually, are formed by press-fitting using the copper foil. The claims does not require that the magnetic material is formed by press-fitting the thin films against each other nor does the claim limit other materials to be used for press-fitting. Therefore, the rejection in view of Chen is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 – 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US Pub. No. 2019/0229618; (hereinafter Parto).
Regarding claim 1, Parto [e.g. Fig. 1 and claim 34] discloses a non-isolated DC/DC converter, comprising a magnetic material [e.g. 131 (L)], a switching transistor [e.g. 123 / 127], and a capacitor [e.g. Co (111)], wherein the switching transistor and the capacitor form charging and discharging loops of the non-isolated DC/DC converter [e.g. switch 123 corresponding to charging loop from power source 103 and switch 127 corresponding to discharging loop using ground]; the magnetic material is located inside a printed circuit board (PCB) of the non-isolated DC/DC converter [e.g. claim 34 recites “a first inductor that is positioned inside of the PCB”]; the magnetic material is located in the charging and discharging loops of the non-isolated DC/DC converter [e.g. the inductor 131 (L) is located in both charging path (when 123 is ON)) and discharging path (when 127 is ON)]; and the magnetic material provides a magnetic circuit for the charging and discharging loops of the non-isolated DC/DC converter [e.g. inductor is a magnetic circuit element for the DC-DC converter circuit].
Regarding claim 2, Parto discloses wherein the magnetic material is entirely embedded into the PCB [e.g. claim 34 recites “a first inductor that is positioned inside of the PCB”].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
nonobviousness.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parto in view of US Pub. No. 2022/0285088; (hereinafter Chen).
Regarding claim 4, Parto fails to disclose wherein the magnetic material is formed by press-fitting magnetic thin films.
Chen [e.g. Fig. 5E] teaches wherein the magnetic material [e.g. integrated inductor comprising magnetic core 141a, 141b; paragraph 083 recites “It should be noted that the first magnetic core 141a and the second magnetic core 141b together constitute a magnetic core”] is formed by press-fitting magnetic thin films [e.g. paragraph 075 recites “(a1) applying a first magnetic material layer 150a on the surface of the temporary carrier plate, and etching the first magnetic material layer 150a to form the first magnetic core 141a. Alternatively, the method of applying the first magnetic layer 150a includes press-fitting”. Paragraph 081 recites “physically press-fitted double-layer copper foil”. Paragraph 084 recites “It should be noted that the second magnetic core 141b, the second conductive copper pillar 130b, and the second sacrificial copper pillar 180b are formed in a manner similar to the first magnetic core 141a”. As shown in Fig. 5E, magnetic layers 141a and 141b are formed by press-fitting to form the core 150a as stated in paragraph 075 above].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Parto by wherein the magnetic material is formed by press-fitting magnetic thin films as taught by Chen in order of being able to provide miniaturization and high integration, paragraph 047.
Claim(s) 5 and 7 – 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parto in view of US Pub. No. 2017/0194861; (hereinafter Iravani).
Regarding claim 5, Parto fails to disclose wherein the switching transistor and the capacitor are respectively located on an upper side and a lower side of the PCB; and the switching transistor and the capacitor are connected through a vertical conductor to form a path, at least a part of the magnetic material is surrounded by the path to form a loop, and the at least a part of the magnetic material provides a magnetic circuit for the loop when a current flows through the loop.
Iravani [e.g. Figs. 1 - 2] teaches wherein the switching transistor [e.g. Fig.1; 107, 108] and the capacitor [e.g. Fig. 1; 111] are respectively located on an upper side and a lower side of the PCB [e.g. Fig. 2; controller chip 202 comprises the transistors; paragraph 07 recites “FIG. 2 illustrates a way of placing the controller chip and the discrete components on a printed circuit board (PCB) to form the switching regulator 102 of FIG. 1. As shown in FIG. 2, system 200 includes a controller chip 202 which can include, for example, controller 104 and switching circuit 116 of FIG. 1”]; and the switching transistor and the capacitor are connected through a vertical conductor to form a path [e.g. traces shown in gray], at least a part of the magnetic material [e.g. 110] is surrounded by the path to form a loop [e.g. traces shown in gray], and the at least a part of the magnetic material provides a magnetic circuit for the loop when a current flows through the loop [e.g. see Fig. 2 with respect to schematic of Fig. 1].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Parto by wherein the switching transistor and the capacitor are respectively located on an upper side and a lower side of the PCB; and the switching transistor and the capacitor are connected through a vertical conductor to form a path, at least a part of the magnetic material is surrounded by the path to form a loop, and the at least a part of the magnetic material provides a magnetic circuit for the loop when a current flows through the loop as taught by Iravani in order of being able to provide a simple implementation, paragraph 07.
Regarding claim 7, Parto fails to disclose wherein the switching transistor is surface-mounted on a surface of the PCB; or the switching transistor is embedded inside the PCB.
Iravani [e.g. Figs. 1 - 2] teaches wherein the switching transistor is surface-mounted on a surface of the PCB [e.g. as shown in Fig. 2]; or the switching transistor is embedded inside the PCB.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Parto by wherein the switching transistor is surface-mounted on a surface of the PCB as taught by Iravani in order of being able to provide a simple implementation, paragraph 07.
Regarding claim 8, Parto fails to disclose wherein the capacitor is surface-mounted on a surface of the PCB; or the capacitor is attached to a side wall of the PCB, to connect an upper surface of the PCB to a lower surface of the PCB; or the capacitor is embedded inside the PCB.
Iravani [e.g. Figs. 1 - 2] teaches wherein the capacitor [e.g. 111] is surface-mounted on a surface of the PCB [e.g. as shown in Fig. 2]; or the capacitor is attached to a side wall of the PCB, to connect an upper surface of the PCB to a lower surface of the PCB; or the capacitor is embedded inside the PCB.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Parto by wherein the capacitor is surface-mounted on a surface of the PCB as taught by Iravani in order of being able to provide a simple implementation, paragraph 07.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parto in view of Iravani and further in view of US Pub. No. 2016/0380538; (hereinafter Tang)
Regarding claim 6, Parto fails to disclose wherein the vertical conductor is an electroplating via hole; or the vertical conductor is an embedded copper column.
Iravani [e.g. Figs. 1 - 2] teaches the vertical conductor is an embedded copper column [e.g. as shown in Fig. 2].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Parto by the vertical conductor is an embedded copper column as taught by Iravani in order of being able to provide a simple implementation, paragraph 07.
Tan teaches wherein the conductor is copper [e.g. paragraph 102 recites “The front side 102 of the substrate 100 includes various metal traces such as copper traces for electrically connecting the power stage components. The metal traces are separated from one another to prevent shorting. For each phase of the DC-DC converter, the metal traces include an input voltage trace 110 which is at the input voltage potential (VIN) of the DC-DC converter, an output voltage trace 112/114 which is at the regulated output voltage potential (Vout) of the DC-DC converter, one or more ground traces 116 which are at ground potential, and a switched voltage trace 118 electrically connected to the switched voltage output of a power stage”].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Parto by wherein the conductor is copper as taught by Tang in order of being able to provide conductors with high conductivity and low loss.
Claim(s) 15, 16 – 17 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parto in view of US Pub. No. 2016/0308432; (hereinafter Anwell).
Regarding claim 15, Parto [e.g. Figs. 1-2 and claim 34] discloses a power supply, comprising a non-isolated DC/DC converter, comprising a magnetic material [e.g. 131 (L)], a switching transistor [e.g. 123 / 127], and a capacitor [e.g. Co (111)], wherein the switching transistor and the capacitor form charging and discharging loops of the non-isolated DC/DC converter [e.g. switch 123 corresponding to charging loop from power source 103 and switch 127 corresponding to discharging loop using ground]; the magnetic material is located inside a printed circuit board (PCB) of the non-isolated DC/DC converter [e.g. claim 34 recites “a first inductor that is positioned inside of the PCB”]; the magnetic material is located in the charging and discharging loops of the non-isolated DC/DC converter [e.g. the inductor 131 (L) is located in both charging path (when 123 is ON)) and discharging path (when 127 is ON)]; and the magnetic material provides a magnetic circuit for the charging and discharging loops of the non-isolated DC/DC converter [e.g. inductor is a magnetic circuit element for the DC-DC converter circuit]; a second end of the non-isolated DC/DC converter [e.g. upper terminal of capacitor Co corresponding to output 109 / 201 (Fig. 2)] is configured to supply power to a load [e.g. paragraph 090 recites “A voltage output port 109 can supply a DC output voltage to a load coupled at node 201, such as by way of an output capacitor 111”]; and the non-isolated DC/DC converter is configured to: after converting the direct current, provide an obtained current to the load [e.g. Vo].
Parto fails to disclose further comprising a rectifier circuit, wherein a first end of the rectifier circuit is configured to connect to an alternating current power supply; the rectifier circuit is configured to convert an alternating current of the alternating current power supply into a direct current; a second end of the rectifier circuit is configured to connect to a first end of the non-isolated DC/DC converter.
Anwell [e.g. Fig. 3] teaches further comprising a rectifier circuit [e.g. 10], wherein a first end of the rectifier circuit is configured to connect to an alternating current power supply [e.g. 10]; the rectifier circuit is configured to convert an alternating current of the alternating current power supply into a direct current [e.g. paragraph 027 recites “the rectification module 10 is electrically coupled to an external power supply (not shown in the figure)”. Examiner note: Rectifier converts AC to DC]; a second end of the rectifier circuit is configured to connect to a first end of the non-isolated DC/DC converter [e.g. at Vin node].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Parto by further comprising a rectifier circuit, wherein a first end of the rectifier circuit is configured to connect to an alternating current power supply; the rectifier circuit is configured to convert an alternating current of the alternating current power supply into a direct current; a second end of the rectifier circuit is configured to connect to a first end of the non-isolated DC/DC converter as taught by Anwell in order of being able to make the device compatible with AC source.
Regarding claim 16, Parto [e.g. Fig. 1 and claim 34] discloses a communication device, comprising a power supply configured to supply power to a load [e.g. paragraph 090 recites “A voltage output port 109 can supply a DC output voltage to a load coupled at node 201, such as by way of an output capacitor 111”] in the communication device, wherein the power supply comprises a non-isolated DC/DC converter, comprising a magnetic material [e.g. 131 (L)], a switching transistor [e.g. 123 / 127], and a capacitor [e.g. Co (111)], wherein the switching transistor and the capacitor form charging and discharging loops of the non-isolated DC/DC converter [e.g. switch 123 corresponding to charging loop from power source 103 and switch 127 corresponding to discharging loop using ground]; the magnetic material is located inside a printed circuit board (PCB) of the non-isolated DC/DC converter [e.g. claim 34 recites “a first inductor that is positioned inside of the PCB”]; the magnetic material is located in the charging and discharging loops of the non-isolated DC/DC converter [e.g. the inductor 131 (L) is located in both charging path (when 123 is ON)) and discharging path (when 127 is ON)]; and the magnetic material provides a magnetic circuit for the charging and discharging loops of the non-isolated DC/DC converter [e.g. inductor is a magnetic circuit element for the DC-DC converter circuit]; and the non-isolated DC/DC converter is configured to: after converting the direct current, provide an obtained current to the load [e.g. paragraph 090 recites “As described with respect to FIG. 1, a power input port 101 can be coupled to a power source 103, such as by way of an input capacitor 105 that is coupled to ground. A voltage output port 109 can supply a DC output voltage to a load coupled at node 201, such as by way of an output capacitor 111 that is coupled to ground 107”].
Parto fails to disclose further comprising a rectifier circuit, wherein a first end of the rectifier circuit is configured to connect to an alternating current power supply; the rectifier circuit is configured to convert an alternating current of the alternating current power supply into a direct current; a second end of the rectifier circuit is configured to connect to a first end of the non-isolated DC/DC converter; a second end of the non-isolated DC/DC converter is configured to supply power to a load.
Chen [e.g. Fig. 3] teaches further comprising a rectifier circuit [e.g. 10], wherein a first end of the rectifier circuit is configured to connect to an alternating current power supply [e.g. 10]; the rectifier circuit is configured to convert an alternating current of the alternating current power supply into a direct current [e.g. paragraph 027 recites “the rectification module 10 is electrically coupled to an external power supply (not shown in the figure)”. Examiner note: Rectifier converts AC to DC]; a second end of the rectifier circuit is configured to connect to a first end of the non-isolated DC/DC converter [e.g. at Vin node].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Parto by further comprising a rectifier circuit, wherein a first end of the rectifier circuit is configured to connect to an alternating current power supply; the rectifier circuit is configured to convert an alternating current of the alternating current power supply into a direct current; a second end of the rectifier circuit is configured to connect to a first end of the non-isolated DC/DC converter; a second end of the non-isolated DC/DC converter is configured to supply power to a load as taught by Anwell in order of being able to make the device compatible with AC source.
Regarding claim 17 and claim 19, Parto discloses wherein the magnetic material is entirely embedded into the PCB [e.g. claim 34 recites “a first inductor that is positioned inside of the PCB”].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 3, 9 - 14, 18 and 20 would be allowable if rewritten to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The primary reason for the indication of the allowability of claim 3 is the inclusion therein, in combination as currently claimed as a whole, of the limitation of “wherein the magnetic material is formed by press-fitting a plurality of layers of magnetic pre preg (PP) materials”.
The primary reason for the indication of the allowability of claim 9 is the inclusion therein, in combination as currently claimed as a whole, of the limitation of “wherein the switching transistor and the capacitor are located on a same surface of the PCB, or the switching transistor and the capacitor are respectively located on an upper surface and a lower surface of the PCB; and the switching transistor and the capacitor each form a system-in-a-package (SIP) module, the PCB and the magnetic material form an integral plate, and the SIP module is combined with the integral plate”.
The primary reason for the indication of the allowability of claim 10 is the inclusion therein, in combination as currently claimed as a whole, of the limitation of “wherein a magnetic flux in the magnetic circuit provided by the magnetic material flows in a closed loop in a direction parallel to a horizontal plane on which the PCB is located”.
The primary reason for the indication of the allowability of claim 11 is the inclusion therein, in combination as currently claimed as a whole, of the limitation of “wherein a magnetic flux in the magnetic circuit provided by the magnetic material flows in a closed loop in a direction vertical to a horizontal plane on which the PCB is located”.
The primary reason for the indication of the allowability of claim 12 is the inclusion therein, in combination as currently claimed as a whole, of the limitation of “the capacitor comprises an input capacitor and an output capacitor; and the input capacitor, the first switching transistor, and the second switching transistor are disposed on a first surface of the PCB, and the output capacitor is disposed on a surface, other than the first surface, of the PCB.
The primary reason for the indication of the allowability of claim 18 is the inclusion therein, in combination as currently claimed as a whole, of the limitation of “wherein the magnetic material is formed by press-fitting a plurality of layers of magnetic pre preg (PP) materials.
The primary reason for the indication of the allowability of claim 20 is the inclusion therein, in combination as currently claimed as a whole, of the limitation of “wherein the magnetic material is formed by press-fitting a plurality of layers of magnetic pre preg (PP) materials.
Conclusion
/ALEX TORRES-RIVERA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838