CTNF 18/963,884 CTNF 89226 DETAILED ACTION This action is in response to the Application filed on 11/29/2024. Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 02/06/2025 and 08/21/2025 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner. Priority Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d). Specification 06-31 AIA The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification. Claim Objections 07-29-01 AIA Claim (s) 16 is/are objected to because of the following informalities: Claim(s) 16 recite(s) "a load" in line(s) 18. It appears that it should be "the load" . Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by US Pub. No. 2023/0260690 ; (hereinafter Silva) . Regarding claim 1, Silva [e.g. Fig. 1] discloses a non-isolated DC/DC converter, comprising a magnetic material [e.g. inductor 108 (L)] , a switching transistor [e.g. 106 / 122] , and a capacitor [e.g. 110] , wherein the switching transistor and the capacitor form charging and discharging loops of the non-isolated DC/DC converter [e.g. 120 corresponding to charging loop and 122 corresponding to discharging loop; paragraph 025 recites “ The long dashed lines 120 represent current flow for the high side printed circuit board (PCB) used to construct the converter 100. Short dashed lines 122 represent current flow for the low side PCB ”] ; the magnetic material is located inside a printed circuit board (PCB) of the non-isolated DC/DC converter [e.g. paragraph 012 recites “ a printed circuit board (PCB) refers to a board with the whole circuitry ”. Paragraph 025 recites “ The long dashed lines 120 represent current flow for the high side printed circuit board (PCB) used to construct the converter 100. Short dashed lines 122 represent current flow for the low side PCB ”] ; the magnetic material is located in the charging and discharging loops of the non-isolated DC/DC converter [e.g. 120 and 122] ; and the magnetic material provides a magnetic circuit [e.g. inductor is a magnetic circuit element] for the charging and discharging loops of the non-isolated DC/DC converter [e.g. 120 and 122] . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries set forth in Graham v. John Deere Co. , 383 U.S. 1, 148 USPQ 459 (1966), that are applied for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Silva in view of US Pub. No. 2021/0126994; (hereinafter Park) . Regarding claim 2, Silva fails to disclose wherein the magnetic material is entirely embedded into the PCB. Park [e.g. Figs. 1 - 2] teaches wherein the magnetic material [e.g. Fig. 2; 12a] is entirely embedded into the PCB [e.g. 140, see Fig .1]. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Silva by wherein the magnetic material is entirely embedded into the PCB as taught by Park in order of being able to provide a more compact device . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Silva in view of US Pub. No. 2022/0285088 ; (hereinafter Chen) . Regarding claim 4 , Silva fails to disclose wherein the magnetic material is formed by press-fitting magnetic thin films. Chen [e.g. Fig. 5C] teaches wherein the magnetic material is formed by press-fitting magnetic thin films [e.g. paragraph 081 recites “ physically press-fitted double-layer copper foil ”]. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Silva by wherein the magnetic material is formed by press-fitting magnetic thin films as taught by Chen in order of being able to provide miniaturization and high integration, paragraph 047 . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 5 and 7 – 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Silva in view of US Pub. No. 2017/0194861 ; (hereinafter Iravani) . Regarding claim 5 , Silva fails to disclose wherein the switching transistor and the capacitor are respectively located on an upper side and a lower side of the PCB; and the switching transistor and the capacitor are connected through a vertical conductor to form a path, at least a part of the magnetic material is surrounded by the path to form a loop, and the at least a part of the magnetic material provides a magnetic circuit for the loop when a current flows through the loop. Iravani [e.g. Figs. 1 - 2] teaches wherein the switching transistor [e.g. Fig.1; 107, 108] and the capacitor [e.g. Fig. 1; 111] are respectively located on an upper side and a lower side of the PCB [e.g. Fig. 2; controller chip 202 comprises the transistors; paragraph 07 recites “ FIG. 2 illustrates a way of placing the controller chip and the discrete components on a printed circuit board (PCB) to form the switching regulator 102 of FIG. 1. As shown in FIG. 2, system 200 includes a controller chip 202 which can include, for example, controller 104 and switching circuit 116 of FIG. 1 ”]; and the switching transistor and the capacitor are connected through a vertical conductor to form a path [e.g. traces shown in gray], at least a part of the magnetic material [e.g. 110] is surrounded by the path to form a loop [e.g. traces shown in gray], and the at least a part of the magnetic material provides a magnetic circuit for the loop when a current flows through the loop [e.g. see Fig. 2 with respect to schematic of Fig. 1]. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Silva by wherein the switching transistor and the capacitor are respectively located on an upper side and a lower side of the PCB; and the switching transistor and the capacitor are connected through a vertical conductor to form a path, at least a part of the magnetic material is surrounded by the path to form a loop, and the at least a part of the magnetic material provides a magnetic circuit for the loop when a current flows through the loop as taught by Iravani in order of being able to provide a simple implementation, paragraph 07. Regarding claim 7 , Silva fails to disclose wherein the switching transistor is surface-mounted on a surface of the PCB; or the switching transistor is embedded inside the PCB. Iravani [e.g. Figs. 1 - 2] teaches wherein the switching transistor is surface-mounted on a surface of the PCB [e.g. as shown in Fig. 2]; or the switching transistor is embedded inside the PCB. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Silva by wherein the switching transistor is surface-mounted on a surface of the PCB as taught by Iravani in order of being able to provide a simple implementation, paragraph 07. Regarding claim 8 , Silva fails to disclose wherein the capacitor is surface-mounted on a surface of the PCB; or the capacitor is attached to a side wall of the PCB, to connect an upper surface of the PCB to a lower surface of the PCB; or the capacitor is embedded inside the PCB. Iravani [e.g. Figs. 1 - 2] teaches wherein the capacitor [e.g. 111] is surface-mounted on a surface of the PCB [e.g. as shown in Fig. 2]; or the capacitor is attached to a side wall of the PCB, to connect an upper surface of the PCB to a lower surface of the PCB; or the capacitor is embedded inside the PCB. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Silva by wherein the capacitor is surface-mounted on a surface of the PCB as taught by Iravani in order of being able to provide a simple implementation, paragraph 07 . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Silva in view of Iravani and further in view of US Pub. No. 2016/0380538 ; (hereinafter Tang) Regarding claim 6 , Silva fails to disclose wherein the vertical conductor is an electroplating via hole; or the vertical conductor is an embedded copper column. Iravani [e.g. Figs. 1 - 2] teaches the vertical conductor is an embedded copper column [e.g. as shown in Fig. 2]. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Silva by the vertical conductor is an embedded copper column as taught by Iravani in order of being able to provide a simple implementation, paragraph 07. Tan teaches wherein the conductor is copper [e.g. paragraph 102 recites “ The front side 102 of the substrate 100 includes various metal traces such as copper traces for electrically connecting the power stage components. The metal traces are separated from one another to prevent shorting. For each phase of the DC-DC converter, the metal traces include an input voltage trace 110 which is at the input voltage potential (VIN) of the DC-DC converter, an output voltage trace 112/114 which is at the regulated output voltage potential (Vout) of the DC-DC converter, one or more ground traces 116 which are at ground potential, and a switched voltage trace 118 electrically connected to the switched voltage output of a power stage ”]. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Silva by wherein the conductor is copper as taught by Tang in order of being able to provide conductors with high conductivity and low loss . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 15 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Silva in view of US Pub. No. 2016/0308432 ; (hereinafter Anwell) . Regarding claim 15, Silva [e.g. Fig. 1] discloses a power supply, comprising a non-isolated DC/DC converter, comprising a magnetic material [e.g. inductor 108 (L)] , a switching transistor [e.g. 106 / 122] , and a capacitor [e.g. 110] , wherein the switching transistor and the capacitor form charging and discharging loops of the non-isolated DC/DC converter [e.g. 120 corresponding to charging loop and 122 corresponding to discharging loop; paragraph 025 recites “ The long dashed lines 120 represent current flow for the high side printed circuit board (PCB) used to construct the converter 100. Short dashed lines 122 represent current flow for the low side PCB ”] ; the magnetic material is located inside a printed circuit board (PCB) of the non-isolated DC/DC converter [e.g. paragraph 012 recites “ a printed circuit board (PCB) refers to a board with the whole circuitry ”. Paragraph 025 recites “ The long dashed lines 120 represent current flow for the high side printed circuit board (PCB) used to construct the converter 100. Short dashed lines 122 represent current flow for the low side PCB ”] ; the magnetic material is located in the charging and discharging loops of the non-isolated DC/DC converter [e.g. 120 and 122] ; and the magnetic material provides a magnetic circuit [e.g. inductor is a magnetic circuit element] for the charging and discharging loops of the non-isolated DC/DC converter [e.g. 120 and 122] ; a second end of the non-isolated DC/DC converter [e.g. upper terminal of capacitor 110] is configured to supply power to a load [e.g. 104] ; and the non-isolated DC/DC converter is configured to: after converting the direct current, provide an obtained current to the load [e.g. Vin to Vout to load 104]. Silva fails to disclose further comprising a rectifier circuit, wherein a first end of the rectifier circuit is configured to connect to an alternating current power supply; the rectifier circuit is configured to convert an alternating current of the alternating current power supply into a direct current; a second end of the rectifier circuit is configured to connect to a first end of the non-isolated DC/DC converter. Anwell [e.g. Fig. 3] teaches further comprising a rectifier circuit [e.g. 10] , wherein a first end of the rectifier circuit is configured to connect to an alternating current power supply [e.g. 10] ; the rectifier circuit is configured to convert an alternating current of the alternating current power supply into a direct current [e.g. paragraph 027 recites “the rectification module 10 is electrically coupled to an external power supply (not shown in the figure)”. Examiner note: Rectifier converts AC to DC] ; a second end of the rectifier circuit is configured to connect to a first end of the non-isolated DC/DC converter [e.g. at Vin node] . It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Silva by further comprising a rectifier circuit, wherein a first end of the rectifier circuit is configured to connect to an alternating current power supply; the rectifier circuit is configured to convert an alternating current of the alternating current power supply into a direct current; a second end of the rectifier circuit is configured to connect to a first end of the non-isolated DC/DC converter as taught by Anwell in order of being able to make the device compatible with AC source. Regarding claim 16, Silva [e.g. Fig. 1] discloses a communication device, comprising a power supply configured to supply power to a load [e.g. 104] in the communication device, wherein the power supply comprises a non-isolated DC/DC converter, comprising a magnetic material [e.g. inductor 108 (L)] , a switching transistor [e.g. 106 / 122] , and a capacitor [e.g. 110] , wherein the switching transistor and the capacitor form charging and discharging loops of the non-isolated DC/DC converter [e.g. 120 corresponding to charging loop and 122 corresponding to discharging loop; paragraph 025 recites “ The long dashed lines 120 represent current flow for the high side printed circuit board (PCB) used to construct the converter 100. Short dashed lines 122 represent current flow for the low side PCB ”] ; the magnetic material is located inside a printed circuit board (PCB) of the non-isolated DC/DC converter [e.g. paragraph 012 recites “ a printed circuit board (PCB) refers to a board with the whole circuitry ”. Paragraph 025 recites “ The long dashed lines 120 represent current flow for the high side printed circuit board (PCB) used to construct the converter 100. Short dashed lines 122 represent current flow for the low side PCB ”] ; the magnetic material is located in the charging and discharging loops of the non-isolated DC/DC converter [e.g. 120 and 122] ; and the magnetic material provides a magnetic circuit [e.g. inductor is a magnetic circuit element] for the charging and discharging loops of the non-isolated DC/DC converter [e.g. 120 and 122] ; and the non-isolated DC/DC converter is configured to: after converting the direct current, provide an obtained current to the load [e.g. Vin to Vout to load 104]. Silva fails to disclose further comprising a rectifier circuit, wherein a first end of the rectifier circuit is configured to connect to an alternating current power supply; the rectifier circuit is configured to convert an alternating current of the alternating current power supply into a direct current; a second end of the rectifier circuit is configured to connect to a first end of the non-isolated DC/DC converter; a second end of the non-isolated DC/DC converter is configured to supply power to a load. Chen [e.g. Fig. 3] teaches further comprising a rectifier circuit [e.g. 10] , wherein a first end of the rectifier circuit is configured to connect to an alternating current power supply [e.g. 10] ; the rectifier circuit is configured to convert an alternating current of the alternating current power supply into a direct current [e.g. paragraph 027 recites “the rectification module 10 is electrically coupled to an external power supply (not shown in the figure)”. Examiner note: Rectifier converts AC to DC] ; a second end of the rectifier circuit is configured to connect to a first end of the non-isolated DC/DC converter [e.g. at Vin node] . It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Silva by further comprising a rectifier circuit, wherein a first end of the rectifier circuit is configured to connect to an alternating current power supply; the rectifier circuit is configured to convert an alternating current of the alternating current power supply into a direct current; a second end of the rectifier circuit is configured to connect to a first end of the non-isolated DC/DC converter; a second end of the non-isolated DC/DC converter is configured to supply power to a loadas taught by Anwell in order of being able to make the device compatible with AC source . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 15 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Silva in view of Chen and further in view of Park . Regarding claim 2, claim 17 and claim 19, Silva fails to disclose wherein the magnetic material is entirely embedded into the PCB. Park [e.g. Figs. 1 - 2] teaches wherein the magnetic material [e.g. Fig. 2; 12a] is entirely embedded into the PCB [e.g. 140, see Fig .1]. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Silva by wherein the magnetic material is entirely embedded into the PCB as taught by Park in order of being able to provide a more compact device. Examiner's Note Examiner has cited particular columns and line numbers in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner. In the case of amending the claimed invention, Applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention . Allowable Subject Matter 07-43-02 AIA Claim (s) 3, 9 - 14, 18 and 20 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. 13-03-01 AIA The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The primary reason for the indication of the allowability of claim 3 is the inclusion therein, in combination as currently claimed as a whole, of the limitation of “wherein the magnetic material is formed by press-fitting a plurality of layers of magnetic pre preg (PP) materials”. The primary reason for the indication of the allowability of claim 9 is the inclusion therein, in combination as currently claimed as a whole, of the limitation of “wherein the switching transistor and the capacitor are located on a same surface of the PCB, or the switching transistor and the capacitor are respectively located on an upper surface and a lower surface of the PCB; and the switching transistor and the capacitor each form a system-in-a-package (SIP) module, the PCB and the magnetic material form an integral plate, and the SIP module is combined with the integral plate”. The primary reason for the indication of the allowability of claim 10 is the inclusion therein, in combination as currently claimed as a whole, of the limitation of “wherein a magnetic flux in the magnetic circuit provided by the magnetic material flows in a closed loop in a direction parallel to a horizontal plane on which the PCB is located”. The primary reason for the indication of the allowability of claim 11 is the inclusion therein, in combination as currently claimed as a whole, of the limitation of “wherein a magnetic flux in the magnetic circuit provided by the magnetic material flows in a closed loop in a direction vertical to a horizontal plane on which the PCB is located”. The primary reason for the indication of the allowability of claim 12 is the inclusion therein, in combination as currently claimed as a whole, of the limitation of “the capacitor comprises an input capacitor and an output capacitor; and the input capacitor, the first switching transistor, and the second switching transistor are disposed on a first surface of the PCB, and the output capacitor is disposed on a surface, other than the first surface, of the PCB. The primary reason for the indication of the allowability of claim 18 is the inclusion therein, in combination as currently claimed as a whole, of the limitation of “wherein the magnetic material is formed by press-fitting a plurality of layers of magnetic pre preg (PP) materials. The primary reason for the indication of the allowability of claim 20 is the inclusion therein, in combination as currently claimed as a whole, of the limitation of “wherein the magnetic material is formed by press-fitting a plurality of layers of magnetic pre preg (PP) materials . Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Alex Torres-Rivera whose telephone number is (571)272-5261. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 9:00-5:30 ET. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, MONICA LEWIS can be reached at (571) 272-1838. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /ALEX TORRES-RIVERA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838 Application/Control Number: 18/963,884 Page 2 Art Unit: 2838 Application/Control Number: 18/963,884 Page 3 Art Unit: 2838 Application/Control Number: 18/963,884 Page 4 Art Unit: 2838 Application/Control Number: 18/963,884 Page 5 Art Unit: 2838 Application/Control Number: 18/963,884 Page 6 Art Unit: 2838 Application/Control Number: 18/963,884 Page 7 Art Unit: 2838 Application/Control Number: 18/963,884 Page 8 Art Unit: 2838 Application/Control Number: 18/963,884 Page 9 Art Unit: 2838 Application/Control Number: 18/963,884 Page 10 Art Unit: 2838 Application/Control Number: 18/963,884 Page 11 Art Unit: 2838 Application/Control Number: 18/963,884 Page 12 Art Unit: 2838 Application/Control Number: 18/963,884 Page 13 Art Unit: 2838 Application/Control Number: 18/963,884 Page 14 Art Unit: 2838