DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of the species of Figure 1 and of Figure 3, corresponding to claims 1-11, in the reply filed on 10/08/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7, and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu (US 20220075164 A1) in view of Leigh (US 20120268739 A1) and Fraedrich (US 20200041339 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Zhu teaches an optical spectrometer comprising:
having a light-entrance slit (2) defined therein;
a meniscus lens (5) having first and second transmissive regions and a reflective region (figure 6), the reflective region including:
a diffraction grating (paragraphs 7 and 35);
a curved mirror (figure 6 and table 1/paragraph 4; for context, see 6.2 in figure 1); and
a light detector (FPA, 10), wherein:
the meniscus lens is between the light-entrance slit and the curved mirror (figure 6), and the optical spectrometer is configured such that:
a light enters the optical spectrometer through the light-entrance slit (figure 6),
after entering through the light-entrance slit, the light passes through the first transmissive region of the meniscus lens (figure 6),
after passing through the first transmissive region of the meniscus lens, the light is reflected by a first portion of the curved mirror towards the reflective region of the meniscus lens (figure 6),
after being reflected by the first portion of the curved mirror, the light is diffracted and reflected (reflected is implied by the geometry of figure 6 and associated text, so it’s reflective diffraction as opposed to transmissive diffraction; however, note that in the combination below, there is also an explicit teaching of reflection) because it is by the reflective region of the meniscus lens towards a second portion of the curved mirror (figure 6),
after being diffracted and reflected by the reflective region of the meniscus lens, the light is reflected by a second portion of the curved mirror towards the second transmissive region of the meniscus lens (figure 6), and
after being reflected by the second portion of the curved mirror, the light passes through the second transmissive region of the meniscus lens and enters the light detector (figure 6).
Zhu doesn’t explicitly teach a housing having the slit defined; the reflective region including a reflector.
Like Zhu (and like the instant application), Leigh is directed to a spectrometer and provides a general teaching that having a housing having the entrance slit defined therein provides the benefit of being a protective covering (paragraphs 42 and 58).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the above combination such that the spectrometer comprises a housing have the slit defined therein in order to protect the optical components and thus allow them to be able to make accurate measurements for a longer period of time by limiting degradation and dirt.
As mentioned above, Zhu doesn’t explicitly teach the reflective region includes a reflector. However, Zhu teaches the grating is a reflection grating that is intended to reflect as opposed to transmit (figure 6 and associated text). Like Zhu (and like the instant application), Fraedrich is directed to a spectrometer and provides a general teaching of a reflection grating having a grating and a reflector has the benefit of being highly reflective (paragraph 25; it’s the same kind of reflector as applicant’s disclosed invention, which is a reflective aluminum coating).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the above combination such that the reflector region includes a reflector in order to have a highly reflective grating that has a high signal to noise ratio by limiting the unintended loss of measurement light in the optical components.
Regarding claim 2, Zhu teaches the reflective region is between the first and second transmissive regions (figure 6, since one transmissive region is above and one below the reflective region).
Regarding claim 3, Zhu teaches the meniscus lens has first and second sides, the first side is closer to the light-entrance slit and the light detector than the second side, the second side is closer to the curved mirror than the first side, and the second side is defined, in part, by the reflective region (figure 6).
Regarding claim 4, in the above combination the meniscus lens has first and second sides, the first side is closer to the light-entrance slit and the light detector than the second side, the second side is closer to the curved mirror than the first side, and the diffraction grating is closer to the first side compared to the reflector (since the reflector is a coating on the grating, it is further right in figure 6 of Zhu and thus farther from the first side than the grating).
Regarding claim 5, in the above combination the reflector comprises a coating of gold, aluminum, and/or silver (Fraedrich, paragraph 25); and the diffraction grating comprises a plurality of grooves (Zhu, paragraphs 16, 35, and 47).
Regarding claim 7, Zhu teaches the first side of the meniscus lens is concave, and the second side of the meniscus lens is convex (figure 6 and paragraph 33; for context, see figure 1).
Regarding claim 10, Zhu teaches the curved mirror is formed on a mirror substrate, the mirror substrate having a variable thickness (where the substrate is the portion connected to the curved mirror, where the curved mirror is the surface indicated in the annotated picture, above, and is the surface 6.2 in figure 1; note that the thickness – that is, the distance in the left-to-right direction – varies in both figures 1 and 6).
Regarding claim 11, Zhu teaches the first and second transmissive regions are optically transmissive to one or more wavelengths within a wavelength range (figure 6)
Zhu doesn’t explicitly teach the range of 250nm to 2500nm.
Official Notice is taken that it is well known for spectrometers to measure light in the wavelength range of 250-2500 nm.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the wavelength range of the above combination of 250-2500 nm in order to measure in the visible and near infrared wavelengths and thus provide optical information about the sample.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu, Leigh, and Fraedrich as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Sasai (US 20190145824 A1) and Iwasaki (US 20120133944 A1).
Regarding claim 6, the above combination doesn’t explicitly teach the grooves include triangular, sinusoidal, rectangular, and/or square shapes.
However, Zhu teaches the grating is a holographic grating (paragraphs 16, 35, and 47). A holographic grating would suggest to a person of ordinary skill in the art having sinusoidal grooves, since that’s common and conventional for holographic gratings. For example, like Zhu (and like the instant application), Sasai and Iwasaki are both directed to a spectrometer and to gratings and teach a holographic grating having sinusoidal grooves as well as grooves including rectangular shapes (Sasai, paragraph 111; Iwasaki).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the grooves include triangular, sinusoidal, rectangular, and/or square shapes because the holographic grating of Zhu suggests sinusoidal grooves as well as because these are common grating types and therefore a person would be motivated to have these groove shapes in order to have the grating have optical characteristics that have been well tested, with predictable, expected results.
Claims 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu, Leigh, and Fraedrich as applied to claims 3 and 1 above, and further in view of Beardsley (US 20170268927 A1)
Regarding claim 8, Zhu suggests but doesn’t explicitly teach the meniscus lens comprises a section of a spherical dome (suggested by figure 6, where 5 appears to be a section of a spherical dome). Additionally, like Zhu (and like the instant application), Beardsley is directed to a spectrometer and meniscus lens and teaches the meniscus lens comprises a section of a spherical dome (paragraph 58). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the meniscus lens of the above combination comprise a section of a spherical dome in order to have a simplicity of design compared to more complicated shapes and thus facilitate reduced costs.
Regarding claim 9, Zhu suggests but doesn’t explicitly teach the curved mirror comprises a section of a spherical dome (suggested by figure 6, where the mirror surface appears to be a section of a sphere, and therefore a section of a spherical dome, as the term is used in the specification). Additionally, like Zhu (and like the instant application), Beardsley is directed to a spectrometer and meniscus lens and teaches having a curved mirror comprise a section of a spherical dome provides the benefit of lower fabrication costs and being easier to make (paragraph 57). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the curved mirror of the above combination comprise a section of a spherical dome in order to have lower fabrication costs and be easier to make.
Conclusion
/RUFUS L PHILLIPS/ Examiner, Art Unit 2877