Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nabeshima JPS5847632A (hereinafter Nabeshima).
Re. Cl. 1, Nabeshima discloses a vehicle seat (Fig. 1, Ref. S) providing multiple seating configurations, the vehicle seat comprising: a seat cushion (Fig. 1, Ref. 1); an upper seatback rotatably coupled to the seat cushion (Fig. 1, Ref. 3), the upper seatback including an opening formed therein (Fig. 1, Ref. 5); and a lower seatback configured to be located inside the opening (Fig. 1, Ref. 7), the lower seatback rotatably coupled to the seat cushion so as to be unfolded toward a rear side of the seat cushion (Fig. 1, Ref. 7), wherein the seat cushion in conjunction with the upper seatback and the lower seat are configured to form a forward seating configuration (See Fig. 1).
Re. Cl. 5, Nabeshima discloses the vehicle seat of claim 1, wherein, when the upper seatback (Fig. 1, Ref. 3) is rotated in a direction facing the seat cushion, the lower seatback (Fig. 1, Ref. 7) is configured to be rotated so as to unfold toward the rear side of the seat cushion in conjunction with rotation of the upper seatback (See Fig. 1).
Re. Cl. 6, Nabeshima discloses the vehicle seat of claim 5, wherein the lower seatback (Fig. 1, Ref. 7) is formed to be able to adjust a rotation angle thereof in a state of being unfolded toward the rear side of the seat cushion (See Fig. 1).
Re. Cl. 7, Nabeshima discloses the vehicle seat of claim 1, wherein the lower seatback (Fig. 1, Ref. 7) is configured to be rotated so as to unfold toward the rear side of the seat cushion independently of the upper seatback (See Fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4 and are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nabeshima JPS5847632A in view of Oberbeck DE 10207262 C1 (hereinafter Oberbeck).
Re. Cl. 2, Nabeshima discloses that when the upper seatback (Fig. 1, Ref. 1) is rotated to face the seat cushion (Fig. 1, Ref. 3) and the lower seatback (Fig. 1, Ref. 7) is rotated toward the rear side of the seat cushion, an inner edge of the opening (Fig. 1, Ref. 5) is exposed.
Re. Cl. 2, Nabeshima fails to disclose a rearward seating configuration in which a passenger is supported from behind by the inner edge. Oberbeck teaches a vehicle seat such that when the upper seatback (Fig. 3, Ref. 3) is rotated to face the seat cushion (Fig. 3, Ref. 2) and the lower seatback is rotated away from the seat cushion (Fig. 3, Ref. 3b), an inner edge of the opening (Fig. 3, Ref. 3a) is exposed to form a rearward seating configuration in which a passenger is supported from behind by the inner edge (See Fig. 3). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nabeshima with Oberbeck’s teaching of a rearward seating configuration in which a passenger is supported from behind by the inner edge. Doing so provides a built-in backrest to support an occupant when the seat is in the rearward seating configuration within the components of the existing seat in the forward seating configuration.
Re. Cl. 3, Nabeshima discloses the rearward seating configuration is formed to be inclined relative to the seat cushion (See Fig 1).
Re. Cl. 4, Nabeshima discloses an angle formed between the seat cushion and the inner edge is defined by an inclined line extending along the inner edge and through the opening and a horizontal line extending along the seat cushion and becomes maximum when the upper seatback and the seat cushion are rotated to be adjacent to each other, and the angle is adjusted to gradually decrease when the upper seatback is rotated in a direction toward an initial position thereof (Fig 1, Para. 2).
Re. Cl. 8, Nabeshima discloses a seat cushion (Fig. 1, Ref. 1).
Re. Cl. 8, Nabeshima fails to disclose a seat cushion that is mounted on a seat rail, and the seat cushion is slidably movable along the seat rail in a forward-and-rearward direction. Oberbeck teaches a seat cushion (Fig. 3, Ref. 2) in a backrest adjustable vehicle seat that is mounted on a seat rail (Fig. 3, Ref. 6), and the seat cushion is slidably movable along the seat rail in a forward-and-rearward direction (Fig. 3, Ref. 6; Para. 0015). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nabeshima with Oberbeck's teaching of a seat cushion that is mounted on a seat rail, and the seat cushion is slidably movable along the seat rail in a forward-and-rearward direction. Doing so would allow for forward-and-rearward adjustability of the seat for comfortable seating and proper driving form for different occupants.
Re. Cl. 9, Nabeshima discloses that the inner edge is U-shaped (Fig. 1, Ref. 5).
Re. Cl. 10, Nabeshima discloses that the angle is adjustable from near 0 degree to more than 90 degrees (Fig. 1, Ref. 3; Para. 2).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Jeong et al. US 20230191960 A1, West et al. US 7517016 B1, Theander et al. US 20180079329 A1, Neal et al. US 20210016688 A1, Sasaki US 20180201162 A1.
/GELILA KEBEDE/ Examiner, Art Unit 3632
/TERRELL L MCKINNON/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3632