DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Siahaan et al. (2011/0174515) in view of Kumada (2016/0078981).
Siahaan et al. discloses a multi-core cable (100, Fig. 1) comprising: a core formed of four insulated wires; a shield layer ([0017], sheath 120 can include several layers including…an aluminum layer, a Mylar layer, and a plastic cosmetic layer) disposed on an outer side of the core; and a jacket, wherein the four insulated wires are constituted by two first wires (110, 112) and two second wires (114, 116), wherein an outside diameter of each of the first wires is larger than an outside diameter of each of the second wires, and wherein, in a cross-section of the core perpendicular to a longitudinal direction of the core, a center of each of the two first wires is positioned on a first diagonal line of a quadrangular shape that is formed by a line connecting centers of the four insulated wires, and a center of each of the two second wires is positioned on a second diagonal line of the quadrangular shape, the two first wires being in contact with each other, the first wires being in contact with the second wires disposed adjacent along an outside circumference of the core to the first wires (re-claim 1).
Siahaan et al. does not disclose the four insulated wires being twisted together; and the jacket disposed on an outer side of the shield layer (re-claim 1).
Kumada discloses a multi-core cable comprising four insulated wires twisted together ([0029]). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to twist the four insulated wires of Siahaan et al. together to stabilize the separate distance between the second (or data) wires as taught by Kumada ([0029]-[0030]).
Kumada discloses the multi-core cable comprising a shield (30) disposed on an outer side of the core, and a jacket (40) disposed on an outer side of the shield. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the multi-core cable of Siahaan et al. by disposing the jacket on an outer side of the shield as taught by Kumada to protect the shield and the core from surrounding environment.
Re-claim 2, Siahaan et al. discloses the ratio of the outside diameter of each of the second wires to the outside diameter of each of the first wires is 0.2 to 0.7 ([0018], first wires 110, 112 include 36 Ga or AWG wires = 0.005 in., second wires 114, 116 include 30 AWG wires = 0.010 in. => 0.005/0.010 = 0.5).
Re-claim 3, Siahaan et al. discloses in a cross-section of the multi-core cable perpendicular to a longitudinal direction of the multi-core cable, a ratio of a minimum value of an outside diameter of the multi-core cable to a maximum value of the outside diameter of the multi-core cable is 1.0 ([0017], the cable having a circular cross section).
Contact Information
/CHAU N NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841