DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
As of the reply filed 6/30/2026, claims 1-19 are pending. Claims 1, 8-9, and 18-19 have been amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome the previously filed Specification objection and claim objections, therefore these objections are withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument in view of the amended limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhang (US PGPub 2021/0353924 A1).
With respect to claim 1, Zhang discloses a tattoo machine (abstract, see Fig. 1), comprising;
a tattoo grip section (50 and 40) in which a tattoo motor is housed (PP [0032]: “A grip 50 defines an opening 52 dimensioned to receive an end of the motor housing 40”, see also motor assembly 30) and defining a longitudinal axis along a length of the tattoo grip section (see longitudinal axis along 40 and 50 in Figs. 8 and 11);
a battery housing (20 in Fig. 8) that detachably couples to the grip section (40 and 50, PP [0036]: “a second end 21b of the electronics housing 21 preferably includes a first mating feature configured to matingly engage with a second mating feature defined on an end 40a of the motor housing 40”) and has a battery housing exterior surface (21);
a locking cap (12) that detachably couples to the battery housing (20, PP [0036]: “A first end 21a of the electronics housing 21 is preferably configured to engage with the end cap 12”), the locking cap (12) having a plurality of integrated protrusions (see unmarked radial protrusions pointed out in annotated Fig. 11 below) disposed on an exterior surface of the locking cap (12) that extend outward radially relative to the longitudinal axis (see the unmarked protrusions extending radially outward with respect to an exterior surface of locking cap 12) and project farther than the battery housing (20) exterior surface (locking cap 12 including the unmarked protrusions, see annotation below, projects upwards farther than the battery housing 20).
Regarding claim 2, Zhang further discloses wherein the locking cap (12 in Fig. 7) further comprises a proximal first ring (round unmarked mating tabs which form a circular ring shape, see annotated Figs. 2 and 8), a middle second ring (sidewalls of 12, see annotated Fig. 8 below), and a distal convex portion (upper portion of sidewalls which are rounded and taper inwards slightly), wherein the proximal first ring (round unmarked mating tabs) is fixedly attached to a proximal side of the middle second ring (see annotated Fig. 8, each portion is fixedly attached), wherein the middle second ring (sidewalls of 12) is fixedly attached to a proximal side of the distal convex portion (upper portion of sidewalls which are rounded and taper inwards slightly).
Regarding claim 3, Zhang further discloses wherein an outer diameter of the middle second ring (sidewalls of 12, see annotated Fig. 8 above) is larger than an outer diameter of the proximal first ring (round unmarked mating tabs which form a circular ring shape, see annotated Figs. 2 and 8 above, the proximal first ring is inset relative to the sidewalls of 12 and has a smaller outer diameter).
Regarding claim 4, Zhang further discloses wherein the distal convex portion (upper portion of sidewalls which are rounded and taper inwards slightly, see annotated Fig. 8 above) includes recesses (recessed portions between integral protrusions, see annotated Fig. 7 below) and a flat surface (upper surface of 12, see annotated Fig. 7) on a distal side of the distal convex portion (upper portion of sidewalls which are rounded and taper inwards slightly).
Regarding claim 5, Zhang further discloses wherein the distal end of the battery housing (upper end of 20 in Fig. 8) further includes a cavity (interior defined by 21) for receiving the proximal first ring of the locking cap (12, the unmarked tabs are received within the interior of 21, see annotated Fig. 8 below).
Regarding claim 8, Zhang further discloses wherein the plurality of integrated protrusions (see annotated Fig. 11 below) are located on the exterior radial surface of the middle second ring (sidewalls of 12, see annotated Fig. 8 above, the integrated protrusions are on the middle second ring sidewall of 12).
Regarding claim 9, Zhang further discloses wherein the plurality of integrated protrusions (see annotated Fig. 11 above) prevent the tattoo machine from rolling when the tattoo machine is placed on a flat surface (the textured protrusions on locking cap 12 prevent rolling since they are not rounded, MPEP 2112.01: “Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977)”).
Regarding claim 10, Zhang further discloses wherein each of the plurality of integrated protrusions comprises angled surfaces (see annotated Fig. 11 below), wherein the angled surfaces comprise a first surface, a second surface, a third surface, a fourth surface, a fifth surface, and a sixth surface (see annotated drawn recreation of integrated protrusion below).
Regarding claim 11, Zhang further discloses wherein the first and sixth surfaces are acutely angled from the exterior radial surface of the locking cap (see annotations above, the first and sixth have an acute angle relative to the drawn flat line), wherein the first and sixth surfaces form a transitional area between the protrusion and the exterior radial surface of the locking cap (12, the first and sixth surfaces abut the recessed surface of locking cap 12 to define the protrusion).
Regarding claim 12, Zhang further discloses wherein the second and fifth surfaces are less acutely angled than the first and sixth surfaces (see annotation above, the second and fifth surfaces form a steeper angle and are less acute than the first and sixth surfaces), wherein the second and fifth surfaces form shoulders of the protrusion (the second and fifth surfaces form the beveled edge shoulders of the protrusion).
Regarding claim 13, Zhang further discloses wherein the third and fourth surfaces form an apex of the protrusion (see annotation above, the third and fourth surfaces form the central tallest point or apex of the protrusion).
With respect to claim 19, Zhang discloses a tattoo device (abstract, see Fig. 1), comprising;
a tattoo grip section (50 and 40) in which a tattoo motor is housed (PP [0032]: “A grip 50 defines an opening 52 dimensioned to receive an end of the motor housing 40”, see also motor assembly 30) and defining a longitudinal axis along a length of the tattoo grip section (see longitudinal axis along 40 and 50 in Figs. 8 and 11), wherein the tattoo grip section (50 and 40) detachably couples to a battery housing (PP [0036]: “a second end 21b of the electronics housing 21 preferably includes a first mating feature configured to matingly engage with a second mating feature defined on an end 40a of the motor housing 40”);
a locking cap (12) that detachably couples to the battery housing (20, PP [0036]: “A first end 21a of the electronics housing 21 is preferably configured to engage with the end cap 12”) and has a plurality of integrated protrusions (see unmarked radial protrusions pointed out in annotated Fig. 11 below) that extend outwardly radially relative to the longitudinal axis and project farther than the battery housing (20) exterior surface (locking cap 12 including the unmarked protrusions, see annotation below, projects upwards farther than the battery housing 20).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-7 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable further over Zhang (US PGPub 2021/0353924 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Siciliano (US PGPub 2021/0244928 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Zhang fails to disclose wherein the proximal first ring includes tabs on an exterior radial surface, wherein the tabs are received by notches in the cavity on the distal end of the battery housing, wherein the locking cap is secured to the battery housing by placing the tabs of the proximal first ring within the notches on the distal end of the battery housing and rotating the locking cap in either a clockwise or counterclockwise direction.
In the same field of tattoo machines (abstract), Siciliano teaches a tattoo machine (see Figs. 2-3) including a connecting structure between a locking cap (200D in Figs. 7A-D) and a battery housing (100) wherein the battery housing (100) includes tabs on a proximal first ring exterior radial surface (100A in Figs. 9A-E), wherein the tabs are received by notches (notches between 200C in Fig. 7A, PP [0081]: “partially circumferential internal ridge 200C”) in the cavity on the distal end of the locking cap (200D), wherein the battery housing (100) is secured to the locking cap (200D) by placing the tabs of the proximal first ring (100A) within the notches (notches defined between 200C) on the distal end of the locking cap (200D) and rotating the battery housing (100) in either a clockwise or counterclockwise direction (PP [0083]: “the battery housing 100 can be inserted into the mating end of the motor housing 200 such that the partial circumferential ridge 100A advances internally past the partially circumferential internal ridge 200C, at which point, a user can twist or rotate battery housing 100, motor housing 200, or both, and such that the partial circumferential ridge 100A slides within a slot created internally to each partially circumferential internal ridge 200C and locks in place”, the modification as proposed swaps these structures).
It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the Zhang device according to the teachings of Siciliano to include the connecting structures as claimed. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform this modification because it is a simple substitution of connection structures that would have yielded predictable results, as Zhang is silent on any critical required connection method between the locking cap (12 in Fig. 3) and the battery housing (20). Furthermore, it would have been obvious to reverse the arrangement taught by Siciliano such that the tabs are on the locking cap and received within the battery housing because doing so would have been obvious to try, as, relating to the recognized problem of attachment mechanisms between these two components, there are a finite number of identified, predictable solutions that one of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to explore with a reasonable expectation of success. Modifying the Siciliano arrangement such that the battery housing includes the distal female connection mechanism and the locking cap includes a proximal male connection mechanism would not have altered the main operating principle of either the Zhang or Siciliano device and would have simply changed the directionality of the existing connection mechanism between the battery housing and the locking cap.
Regarding claim 7, Zhang as modified by Siciliano further discloses wherein the cavity further includes stops (200C in Fig. 7A of Siciliano) located a distance from the notches (notches between 200C, the notches are defined by the stops which are located discretely away from the spaces therebetween), wherein the tabs (100A in Figs. 9A-E) abut against the stops (200C) when the locking cap (proximal end of 200, see also 12 in Fig. 3 of Zhang) is rotated in either direction (PP [0083]: “the partial circumferential ridge 100A advances internally past the partially circumferential internal ridge 200C, at which point, a user can twist or rotate battery housing 100, motor housing 200, or both, and such that the partial circumferential ridge 100A slides within a slot created internally to each partially circumferential internal ridge 200C and locks in place”).
Regarding claim 17, Zhang is silent on wherein the locking cap is made out of plastic, metal, rubber or a combination thereof.
In the same field of tattoo machines (abstract), Siciliano teaches a tattoo machine (see Figs. 2-3) made out of plastic, metal, rubber, or a combination thereof (PP [0036]: “Embodiments of the present disclosure may include components manufactured from materials suitable for human use in medically sterile settings. Such materials are those which are durable, cleanable, or autoclaveable, and are contemplated to be within the scope of the present disclosure. By way of example and not limitation, materials may be stainless steel, tungsten, anodized aluminum, their alloys, or polycarbonates”).
It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the Zhang device according to the teachings of Siciliano to incorporate wherein the locking cap is made out of stainless steel, a metal, as contemplated by Siciliano. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform this modification because doing so constitutes a simple substitution of materials that would have yielded predictable results. Zhang is silent on any required materials, while Siciliano teaches that constructing a tattoo machine from stainless steel components favorably and predictably improves the durability and hygiene of the device. The combination as proposed would not have altered the main operating principle of the Zhang device, which is also a tattoo machine, but would have predictably imparted that same durability and cleanliness to the device disclosed therein.
Regarding claim 18, Zhang fails to disclose wherein the locking cap is made from a sheet or block of metal using a mill, lathe, or water jet cutting machine.
In the same field of tattoo machines (abstract), Siciliano teaches a tattoo machine (see Figs. 2-3) made out of plastic, metal, rubber, or a combination thereof (PP [0036]: “Embodiments of the present disclosure may include components manufactured from materials suitable for human use in medically sterile settings. Such materials are those which are durable, cleanable, or autoclaveable, and are contemplated to be within the scope of the present disclosure. By way of example and not limitation, materials may be stainless steel, tungsten, anodized aluminum, their alloys, or polycarbonates”).
It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the Zhang device according to the teachings of Siciliano to incorporate wherein the locking cap is made out of stainless steel, a metal, as contemplated by Siciliano. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform this modification because doing so constitutes a simple substitution of materials that would have yielded predictable results. Zhang is silent on any required materials, while Siciliano teaches that constructing a tattoo machine from stainless steel components favorably and predictably improves the durability and hygiene of the device. The combination as proposed would not have altered the main operating principle of the Zhang device, which is also a tattoo machine, but would have predictably imparted that same durability and cleanliness to the device disclosed therein. The proposed combination would additionally read on the limitation “made from a sheet or block of metal using a mill, lathe, or water jet cutting machine” since the MPEP states that "[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process" (see MPEP 2113). Since the combination as proposed reads on the material and structural requirements of the claim, it fulfills the product-by-process limitation as well.
Claims 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (US PGPub 2021/0353924 A1), as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Lafferty (US PGPub 2008/0142554 A1).
Regarding claim 14, Zhang fails to diclose wherein the angled surfaces include textured surfaces to provide additional grip to a user when turning the locking cap.
In the related field of fluid dispensing devices (abstract), which is relevant because a tattoo machine is also a fluid dispensing device comprising interfacing components, Lafferty teaches a fluid dispensing device (10 in Fig. 1) comprising a removable rotatable head cap assembly (154) comprising a textured surface (112) to provide additional grip to a user when deconstructing or assembling the device (PP [0043]: “The knurled grip 112 of the head cap assembly 154 aids the user assemble the device by providing a gripping surface to thread the manual head assembly 100 onto said case assembly 500 thus forming a unitary body”).
It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have further modified the combination as proposed to incorporate the teachings of Lafferty and add textured surfaces to provide additional grip when turning the locking cap. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform this modification because doing so would have constituted the use of a known technique on a known device ready for improvements to yield predictable results, as adding the texture taught by Lafferty would not alter the main operating principle of the modified Zhang device and would simply “aid the user” (PP [0043] of Lafferty) in gripping the locking cap, thereby facilitating the handling of the locking cap for removal or attachment.
Regarding claim 15, Zhang as modified by Lafferty further discloses wherein the textured surfaces (112 in Fig. 1 of Lafferty) include knurling or crosshatching patterns (PP [0043]: “a knurled grip 112”).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (US PGPub 2021/0353924 A1).
Regarding claim 16, Zhang fails to disclose wherein an exterior surface of the locking cap is rubberized to provide additional grip to a user when turning the locking cap.
Zhang further teaches that “some grips 50, 50a, 50b, 50c, 50d can be formed from rubber or plastic” and that “Patterns can be included on the grips 50, 50a, 50b, 50c, 50d in order to provide a more reliable area to be held by a tattoo artist” (PP [0041]).
It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the Zhang device to include wherein an exterior surface of the locking cap is rubberized. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform this modification as doing so constitutes the use of a known technique to improve a similar portion that is also intended to be gripped by a user. Rubberizing the locking cap in addition to the contemplated rubberized grip would yield predictable results, as rubberizing the locking cap of Zhang would not change the main operating principle of the Zhang tattoo machine and would simply and similarly enable easier gripping and torquing of this hand-actuatable component for easier access to the cavity of the battery housing.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRIDGET E. RABAGLIA/Examiner, Art Unit 3771
/TAN-UYEN T HO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3771