DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/2/2024, 1/30/2025 was filed after the mailing date of the application on 11/29/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a refrigeration unit” in claim 12 and “a heating unit” in claim 14.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "a refrigeration unit" which has been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) as set forth above. However, since the specification does not clearly describe the corresponding of the limitation as required under that statute, Applicant has failed to demonstrate full possession of the metes and bounds of the claimed invention at the effective filing date of the application.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "a heating unit" which has been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) as set forth above. However, since the specification does not clearly describe the corresponding of the limitation as required under that statute, Applicant has failed to demonstrate full possession of the metes and bounds of the claimed invention at the effective filing date of the application.
Claims 10-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites “a thermostatic assembly” which lacks antecedent basis with claim 1. For examination purposes, the limitation is interpreted to recite -- the thermostatic assembly --.
Claim 15 recites “a thermostatic assembly as in claim 9, wherein the consumer heat exchanger” which renders the claim indefinite because it’s unclear if the thermostatic assembly if the same thermostatic assembly or a different one. Additionally claim 9 fails to recites a consumer heat exchanger. For examination purposes, claim 15 is interpreted to depend from claim 10 and recite -- the thermostatic assembly --.
Claim limitation “a refrigeration unit” in claim 12 and “a heating unit” in claim 14 invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claims 11-13 are rejected based on dependency from claim rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao et al (US 20240295330) in view of Piesker (US 20140090407).
Regarding claim 1, Zhao teaches a buffer storage (9) for a cooling circuit (circuit of 2) of a thermostatic assembly (2), comprising: a tank (exterior of 9) having a tank wall (walls of 9) encompassing an interior volume (interior of 9), a heat exchanger (6), disposed within the interior volume of the tank (fig. 1), the heat exchanger comprising: a first side with a first intake (from 4 to 9) and a first discharge (from 9 to 7) for a first coolant (14) , and a second side (connected with 10) with a second intake (through into 9 through 24, fig. 2) and a second discharge (arrow into 11 through 24, fig. 2) for a second coolant (15) but fails to explicitly teach a second side, separated from the first side by a diathermic wall, a first tubeline guided from an exterior volume outside of the tank through the tank wall to the first intake, a second tubeline guided from the first discharge through the tank wall toward the exterior volume outside of the tank, a third tubeline guided from the exterior volume outside of the tank through the tank wall to the second intake, a fourth tubeline connected across a T-fitting with the second discharge, wherein the forth tubeline terminates into the interior volume of the tank, a fifth tubeline guided through the tank wall toward the exterior volume outside of the tank, and a sixth tubeline guided from the interior volume of the tank through the tank wall toward the exterior volume outside of the tank.
However, Piesker teaches a tank (12, 14) having a second side (fig. 5), separated from the first side by a diathermic wall (fig. 5 walls of 12 separated from 14 with outer wall 24), a first tubeline (outer 16/18) guided from an exterior volume (fig. 5) outside of the tank through the tank wall to the first intake (16/18), a second tubeline (outer 18/16) guided from the first discharge through the tank wall toward the exterior volume outside of the tank (fig. 5), a third tubeline (30/26) guided from the exterior volume outside of the tank through the tank wall to the second intake (fig. 5), a fourth tubeline (32/26) connected across a T-fitting (34/40) with the second discharge, wherein the forth tubeline terminates into the interior volume of the tank (fig. 5), a fifth tubeline (outer part 26/30) guided through the tank wall toward the exterior volume outside of the tank (fig. 5), and a sixth tubeline (36/32) guided from the interior volume of the tank through the tank wall toward the exterior volume outside of the tank (fig. 5) to provide a multifunctional refrigerant container that is suitable in particular for use in a cooling system designed for operation with a two-phase refrigerant.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify the buffer storage of Zhao to include a second side, separated from the first side by a diathermic wall, a first tubeline guided from an exterior volume outside of the tank through the tank wall to the first intake, a second tubeline guided from the first discharge through the tank wall toward the exterior volume outside of the tank, a third tubeline guided from the exterior volume outside of the tank through the tank wall to the second intake, a fourth tubeline connected across a T-fitting with the second discharge, wherein the forth tubeline terminates into the interior volume of the tank, a fifth tubeline guided through the tank wall toward the exterior volume outside of the tank, and a sixth tubeline guided from the interior volume of the tank through the tank wall toward the exterior volume outside of the tank in view of the teachings of Piesker to provide a multifunctional refrigerant container that is suitable in particular for use in a cooling system designed for operation with a two-phase refrigerant.
Regarding claim 2, the combined teachings teach the T fitting is a three-way valve (fig. 5 of Piesker illustrates 34 and 40 as three-way).
Regarding claim 3, the combined teachings teach the sixth tubeline comprises an intake end (fig. 5 of Piesker), disposed in the interior volume of the tank (fig. 5 of Piesker), which is disposed in the interior volume in a top region of the tank (32/36 of Piesker).
Regarding claim 4, the combined teachings teach the fourth tubeline comprises a discharge end disposed in the interior volume of the tank (fig. 5 of Piesker).
Regarding claim 5, the combined teachings teach in the interior volume of the tank a perforated sheet (bottom of 12 with pipes passing through, fig. 5 of Piesker) is disposed in the bottom region of the tank (fig. 5 of Piesker).
Regarding claim 6, the combined teachings teach the discharge end of the fourth tubeline is disposed between the perforated sheet and the bottom wall of the tank (fig. 5 of Piesker).
Regarding claim 7, the combined teachings teach the fifth tubeline and the sixth tubeline terminate with respective discharge ends terminating into a second T fitting (fig. 5 of Piesker).
Regarding claim 8, the combined teachings teach the second T fitting is a three-way valve (fig. 5 of Piesker illustrates 34 and 40 as three-way).
Regarding claim 9, the combined teachings teach the heat exchanger is a plate heat exchanger (fig. 5 of Piesker) or a coaxial tube heat exchanger (fig. 1 of Zhao).
Claim(s) 10-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao et al (US 20240295330) in view of Piesker (US 20140090407) as applied to claim 1 and in further view of Hombuecher (DE 102004040737).
Regarding claim 10, Zhao teaches wherein the thermostatic assembly comprises a buffer storage as in claim 1 (see claim 1), wherein the second side of the heat exchanger disposed in the buffer storage forms the cold source (6) and the first side of the heat exchanger disposed in the buffer storage is a portion of an external refrigerant circuit (connected with 2) but fails to explicitly teach a thermostatic assembly with a cooling circuit with a coolant, wherein the cooling circuit comprises a cold source, a consumer heat exchanger in the return of the cold source and a circulation pump, wherein between the return of the cold source and the forerun of the consumer heat exchanger a first three-way junction is disposed and between the return of the consumer heat exchanger and the forerun of the cold source a second three-way junction is disposed, wherein the first three-way junction and the second three-way junction are connected with a bypass line and the circulation pump is disposed either between the first three-way junction and the forerun of the consumer heat exchanger or between the return of the consumer heat exchanger and the second three-way junction.
However, Hombuecher teaches a thermostatic assembly (fig. 1) with a cooling circuit (12) with a coolant (coolant within 12), wherein the cooling circuit comprises a cold source (2), a consumer heat exchanger (4) in the return of the cold source and a circulation pump (1), wherein between the return of the cold source and the forerun of the consumer heat exchanger a first three-way junction (5) is disposed and between the return of the consumer heat exchanger and the forerun of the cold source a second three-way junction (3) is disposed, wherein the first three-way junction and the second three-way junction are connected with a bypass line (10.4) and the circulation pump is disposed either between the first three-way junction and the forerun of the consumer heat exchanger (fig. 1) to ensure flow temperature and /or the cooling/heating circuit safe from overshooting the permissible and to protect high pressure and an overload to safely prevent the compressor.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify the buffer storage of the combined teachings to include a thermostatic assembly with a cooling circuit with a coolant, wherein the cooling circuit comprises a cold source, a consumer heat exchanger in the return of the cold source and a circulation pump, wherein between the return of the cold source and the forerun of the consumer heat exchanger a first three-way junction is disposed and between the return of the consumer heat exchanger and the forerun of the cold source a second three-way junction is disposed, wherein the first three-way junction and the second three-way junction are connected with a bypass line and the circulation pump is disposed either between the first three-way junction and the forerun of the consumer heat exchanger or between the return of the consumer heat exchanger and the second three-way junction in view of the teachings of Hombuecher to ensure flow temperature and /or the cooling/heating circuit safe from overshooting the permissible and to protect high pressure and an overload to safely prevent the compressor.
Regarding claim 11, the combined teachings teach an intake opening of the third tubeline is connected with an outlet of the second three-way junction (fig. 5 of Piesker) and that the discharge opening of the fifth tubeline and the discharge opening of the sixth tubeline terminate into a second T fitting (fig. 5 of Piesker) whose outlet is connected with an inlet of the first three-way junction (fig. 5 of Piesker).
Regarding claim 12, the combined teachings teach the external refrigerant circuit comprises a refrigeration unit (2 of Zhao, 12 of Hombuecher), and the buffer storage is disposed such that the first tubeline is in connection with the return of the refrigeration unit (fig. 5 of Piesker, fig. 1 of Hombuecher) and the second tubeline is in connection with the forerun of the refrigeration unit (fig. 1 of Zhao, fig. 5 of Piesker, fig. 1 of Hombuecher).
Regarding claim 13, the combined teachings teach the first three-way junction and/or the second three-way junction are developed as three-way valves (fig. 5 of Piesker, fig. 1 of Hombuecher).
Regarding claim 14, the combined teachings teach between the first three-way junction and the consumer heat exchanger a heating unit (6 of Hombuecher) is disposed.
Regarding claim 15, the combined teachings teach a laboratory chamber, climate chamber, cold chamber or environment simulation chamber with a sample compartment (understood the consumer 12 of Hombuecher could be one of this chambers with a sample compartment) and the thermostatic assembly as in claim 10, wherein the consumer heat exchanger is disposed such that it maintains temperature control of the sample compartment (fig. 1 of Hombuecher).
Conclusion
/ELIZABETH J MARTIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763