Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Betts (US 2013/0215719 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Betts discloses a transducer deployment apparatus for supporting a sonar imaging transducer relative to a boat on a body of water, the apparatus comprising:
a boat mounting bracket arranged to be mounted onto a body of the boat [[fig. 18][0010] in at least one embodiment, the system provides a transom-mounted deployment mechanism, which lowers the sonar pod, (that is, the sonar transducer assembly), into the water. In a particular embodiment, the transom-mounted deployment system includes a housing configured to mount to the transom of a boat];
a mounting pole arranged to support the sonar imaging transducer on a bottom end of the mounting pole [[0010] an extendable shaft disposed at least partially within the housing, and when deployed, the sonar transducer assembly attached to one end of the extendable shaft disposed underwater];
a linkage supporting the mounting pole relative to the boat mounting bracket such that the mounting pole is movable relative to the boat mounting bracket between a deployed position in which the bottom end of the mounting pole is arranged to be supported within the body of water and a stored position in which the bottom end of the mounting pole is raised in elevation relative to the deployed position [[0086] sonar transducer assembly 106 is deployed using a mechanical linkage with a magnetic breakaway. The mechanical linkage includes an articulating rod 191, one end of which is attached to the sonar transducer assembly 106. The other end of the articulating rod 191 is pivotably attached to the fairing block 180.]; and
a biasing member acting on the linkage so as to bias the linkage towards the stored position from at least an intermediate position between the deployed position and the stored position [[0010] transom-mounted deployment mechanism further comprises a constant force spring configured to aid in the retraction of the sonar transducer assembly, and may also include a button or switch for local activation of a system for deployment or retraction of the sonar transducer assembly; [0021]; [0054]];
the linkage being configured to retain the mounting pole in the deployed position against the bias of the biasing member [prior art claim 3. The 360-degree sonar imaging system of claim 2, wherein the transom-mounted deployment mechanism further comprises a constant force spring configured to aid in the retraction of the sonar transducer assembly.; prior art claim 4. The 360-degree sonar imaging system of claim 3, wherein the constant force spring comprises a metal coil situated on a spool and coupled to the extendable shaft.]; and
the linkage being releasable from the deployed position to the intermediate position responsive to a rearward activation force acting on the bottom end of the mounting pole in a rearward direction of the boat [[0021] one particular embodiment uses a constant-force spring in the deployment mechanism to aid in quicker retraction speeds. The constant force spring is preferably a coil of stainless steel that unrolls (like a tape measure) as the pod is deployed down. It provides about approximately six lbs. of extra force that counterbalances the weight of the moving assembly, making it easier to retract].
Regarding claim 2, Betts teaches the apparatus according to claim 1 wherein the linkage is configured such that the rearward force must overcome the bias of the biasing member to displace the bottom end of the mounting pole in said rearward direction from the deployed position to the intermediate position [[0078] a constant force spring 152 is used in the deployment mechanism to aid in quicker retraction speeds. In at least one embodiment, the constant force spring 152 is a coil of stainless steel, or some other suitable material, situated on a spool, for example, that unrolls like a tape measure, as the sonar transducer assembly 106 is deployed into the water. In one embodiment, it provides sufficient force to counterbalance the weight of the moving assembly, making it easier to retract].
Regarding claim 3, Betts teaches the apparatus according to claim 1 further comprising a supporting collar mounted on the boat mounting bracket and supporting the mounting pole to be longitudinally slidable therein between the stored position and the deployed position [[0010] transom-mounted deployment mechanism further comprises a constant force spring configured to aid in the retraction of the sonar transducer assembly; [0078] FIG. 18 shows a partial cutaway illustration of a drive head 151 for an embodiment of a transom-mounted MSS assembly 100. In the illustrated embodiment, a constant force spring 152 is used in the deployment mechanism to aid in quicker retraction speeds. In at least one embodiment, the constant force spring 152 is a coil of stainless steel, or some other suitable material, situated on a spool, for example, that unrolls like a tape measure, as the sonar transducer assembly 106 is deployed into the water].
Regarding claim 6, Betts teaches the apparatus according to claim 1 wherein the mounting pole is supported on the boat mounting bracket for pivotal steering movement relative to the boat mounting bracket about a longitudinal axis of the mounting pole [[0011] mounting shaft may be attached to a non-rotating portion of a trolling motor support shaft by a quick connecting clamp. Alternately, the mounting shaft may be attached to some non-rotating portion of the trolling motor. In a further embodiment, the mounting shaft may be attached to a rotating portion of the trolling motor].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-5, 7-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: see discussion below.
Regarding claim 4, the closest prior art of record does not appear to teach the apparatus according to claim 3 wherein the supporting collar is pivotal relative to the boat mounting bracket about a lateral pivot axis as the bottom end of the mounting pole is displaced rearward from the deployed position to the intermediate position.
Regarding claim 5, the closest prior art of record does not appear to teach the apparatus according to claim 4 wherein the lateral pivot axis is spaced forwardly of a longitudinal axis of the mounting pole.
Regarding claim 7, the closest prior art of record does not appear to teach the apparatus according to claim 6 further comprising a steering collar receiving the mounting pole therein such that the mounting pole is longitudinally sliding relative to the steering collar and such that the mounting pole and the steering collar pivot together about the longitudinal axis of the mounting pole relative to the boat mounting bracket.
Regarding claim 8, the closest prior art of record does not appear to teach the apparatus according to claim 7 further comprising a pulley cable operatively connected to the steering collar for controllably steering the mounting pole about said longitudinal axis.
Regarding claim 9, the closest prior art of record does not appear to teach the apparatus according to claim 7 further comprising a steering motor operatively connected to the steering collar to drive rotation of the steering collar, and a remote controller, the steering motor being responsive to left and right drive signals from the remote controller to drive rotation of the steering collar in opposing directions of rotation.
Regarding claim 10, the closest prior art of record does not appear to teach the apparatus according to claim 7 further comprising a handle member fixed to the mounting pole to protrude radially from the longitudinal axis of the mounting pole for manually steering the mounting pole about the longitudinal axis.
Regarding claim 11, the closest prior art of record does not appear to teach the apparatus according to claim 1 further comprising a latching member fixed on the boat mounting bracket and defining a catch thereon which is arranged to retaining the mounting pole thereon against the biasing of the biasing member in the deployed position.
Regarding claim 12, the closest prior art of record does not appear to teach the apparatus according to claim 11 wherein the catch is supported on boat mounting bracket at a location rearward of the mounting pole.
Regarding claim 13, the closest prior art of record does not appear to teach the apparatus according to claim 11 wherein the mounting pole includes a retainer edge arranged to be retained on the catch in the deployed position, the retainer edge extending circumferentially about the mounting pole through a range of at least 300 degrees.
Regarding claim 14, the closest prior art of record does not appear to teach the apparatus according to claim 11 wherein the latching member includes a cam surface formed thereon above the catch, the cam surface being arranged to automatically deflect the mounting pole forwardly around the catch as the mounting pole is displaced downwardly from the stored position to the deployed position.
Regarding claim 15, the closest prior art of record does not appear to teach the apparatus according to claim 1 further comprising (i) a pull cable attached to the mounting pole above the boat mounting bracket at a first end of the pull cable and (ii) a cable guide on the boat mounting bracket receiving the pull cable thereon such that pulling a second end of the pull cable away from the boat mounting bracket acts to pull the mounting pole downwardly from the stored position to the deployed position.
Regarding claim 16, the closest prior art of record does not appear to teach the apparatus according to claim 1 wherein the linkage supports the mounting pole for pivotal movement about a lateral axis from the deployed position in which the mounting pole is upright in orientation and the storage position in which the mounting pole is nearer to horizontal than vertical in orientation.
Regarding claim 17, the closest prior art of record does not appear to teach the apparatus according to claim 16 wherein the linkage comprises: a supporting assembly supported on the boat mounting bracket; a pole assembly coupled to the supporting assembly for relative pivotal about said lateral axis and being arranged to support the mounting pole thereon; a retainer edge formed on a first assembly among the supporting assembly and the pole assembly; and a catch member supported on a second assembly among the supporting assembly and the pole assembly; wherein the biasing member acts to bias the bottom end of the mounting pole on the pole assembly in said rearward direction to pivot the pole assembly from the deployed position to the stored position; wherein the catch is movable relative to the second assembly from (i) a retaining position in which the catch member engages the retainer edge to resist displacement of the pole assembly from the deployed position to the storage position under action of the biasing member to (ii) a release position in which the catch member is released from the retainer edge such that the pole assembly is displaced from the deployed position to the storage position under action of the biasing member; and wherein the catch member is movable from the retaining position to the release position responsive to said rearward activation force acting on the bottom end of the mounting pole.
Regarding claim 18, the closest prior art of record does not appear to teach the apparatus according to claim 17 wherein the catch member is supported on the supporting assembly and wherein the retainer edge is formed on the pole assembly.
Regarding claim 19, the closest prior art of record does not appear to teach the apparatus according to claim 18 wherein the pole assembly further comprises: an intermediate body pivotally coupled on the supporting assembly for pivotal movement relative to the supporting assembly about the lateral axis; and a pole support body supporting the mounting pole thereon, the pole support body being pivotally supported on the intermediate body for relative pivotal movement about a release axis oriented parallel to the lateral axis such that the pole support body is pivotal between a first position allowing the catch member to be retained on the retainer edge in the retaining position and a second position engaging the catch member; wherein the catch member is displaced into the release position responsive to the pole support body being displaced from the first position to the second position; and wherein the pole support body is movable from the first position to the second position responsive to said rearward activation force acting on the bottom end of the mounting pole.
Regarding claim 20, the closest prior art of record does not appear to teach the apparatus according to claim 17 wherein: the retainer member comprises a detent formed on the first assembly among the supporting assembly and the pole assembly; the catch member is axially slidable on the second assembly among the supporting assembly and the pole assembly between (i) the retaining position in which the catch member is at least partly received in the detent to resist displacement of the pole assembly from the deployed position to the storage position under action of the biasing member and (ii) the release position in which the catch member is retracted from the detent; the catch member being biased towards the retaining position by a catch spring having a holding force acting to retain the catch member in the retaining position against the biasing member; and the holding force of the catch member is less than said rearward activation force whereby the catch member is movable to the release position responsive to said rearward activation force acting on the bottom end of the mounting pole.
Conclusion
/JONATHAN D ARMSTRONG/ Examiner, Art Unit 3645