Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stepp et al. (US 20160082578 A1) hereinafter Stepp in view of Wang (CN 103753493 A).
Claim 1 recites a mechanism adaptable to installation of rotary cups with multiple calibers. More limiting the features and relationship between the rotary cups and the gripping mechanism mount to mere components associated with the intended use of the recited mechanism. See, e.g., In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (anticipation rejection affirmed based on Board’s factual finding that the reference dispenser (a spout disclosed as useful for purposes such as dispensing oil from an oil can) would be capable of dispensing popcorn in the manner set forth in appellant’s claim 1 (a dispensing top for dispensing popcorn in a specified manner)) and cases cited therein. See also MPEP § 2112 - MPEP § 2112.02. Thus, the prior art only needs to teach the recited components of the mechanism.
Stepp teaches a mechanism adaptable to installation of rotary cups with multiple calibers (this is intended use of the mechanism. Stepp is capable of being inserted to an inner cavity of a cup for lifting and pulling actions), comprising (reproduced and annotated Figs. below): a cylinder (body 20), configured to fixedly connect with a connecting axis (outer threaded connecting portion 30); and connecting rod mechanisms (four connecting rod mechanisms), equidistantly distributed on an external portion of the cylinder (best shown in Fig. 2); wherein each of the connecting rod mechanisms comprises a first connecting rod, a second connecting rod, and a third connecting rod; a front end of each second connecting rod is rotatably (at 65) connected to a first end of a corresponding first connecting rod and a rear end of each second connecting rod is rotatably connected to a first end of a corresponding third connecting rod (par. 0029 and Fig. below); a second end of each first connecting rod away from a corresponding second connecting rod is hinged (at 64) to the external portion of the cylinder through a first hinge axis (par. 0029 and Fig. below); a second end of each third connecting rod away from the corresponding second connecting rod is hinged (at 64) to the external portion of the cylinder through a second hinge axis (par. 0029 and Fig. below); each first connecting rod and the corresponding third connecting rod have the same length (best shown in Fig. 4) and are arranged in parallel (see Figs. below). However first and/or second hinge axes of Stepp are not equipped with torsion springs.
Wang teaches a disk pulling machine equipped with torsion spring 8 to bias the legs outward.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to use torsion spring on hinge axes of Stepp as taught by Wang. Doing so would make it possible to quickly grip the inner cavity of the cup before adjusting gripping force.
Regarding claim 7, Stepp teaches the cylinder internally comprises a first channel (inner channel of 50) and a second channel (inner channel of 30) communicated to each other, the first channel has an open end for insertion of the connecting axis, and a diameter of the first channel is larger than a diameter of the second channel.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Stepp in view of Wang as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Challis (US 5174553 A).
Regarding claim 4, combined device of Stepp and Wang is silent regarding elastic layer on each second connecting rod.
Challis teaches rubber 22 for gripping a workpiece to prevent damage (col. 3, lines 15-26).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to use elastic material on the second connecting rod gripping inner cavity of the workpiece/cup. Doing so would prevent damage to inner cavity of the cup.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Stepp in view of Wang as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Giebner (US 5932811 A).
Regarding claim 10, Stepp is silent regarding rotation of nut 50 by a power source.
Giebner teaches nut rotation manually or by motorized unit (col. 3, lines 16-32).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to use power source for nut rotation for faster and easier operation of the device.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 3 and 8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 5-6 would be allowable due to dependency on allowable claim 2.
Claim 9 would be allowable due to dependency on allowable claim 8.
Conclusion
MAHDI H. NEJAD
Examiner
Art Unit 3723
/MAHDI H NEJAD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723