DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
Claims 1-17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of Wu et al. (US 20230209201 A1) . Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claim of Wu anticipates the claim of the current application.
Instant application
Patent: US 20230209201 A1
A method for controlling an optical element driving mechanism, comprising: providing an optical element driving mechanism, wherein the optical element driving mechanism comprises a movable portion and a fixed portion; and driving the movable portion to move in a first dimension relative to the fixed portion.
A method for controlling an optical element driving mechanism, comprising: controlling a driving assembly by a control assembly to drive a movable portion moving relative to a fixed portion; wherein the movable portion is used for connecting an optical element, and the movable portion is movable relative to the fixed portion.
Claims 2-17 are rejected, for their dependency on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Li et al. (US 20230296963 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Li discloses in at least figure 5, a method for controlling (an electrical signal applied to the piezoelectric material is controlled to enable the piezoelectric material to generate mechanical deformation, so as to push another component of the ultrasonic piezoelectric motor 20 to move through the deformation, and further drive the camera lens 10 to move paragraph [0132]) an optical element driving mechanism (ultrasonic piezoelectric motor 20 fig. 5), comprising:
providing an optical element driving mechanism (ultrasonic piezoelectric motor 20 fig. 5),
wherein the optical element driving mechanism (ultrasonic piezoelectric motor 20 fig. 5) comprises a movable portion (carrier 23 fig. 5) and a fixed portion (frame 22 fig. 5); and
driving (the carrier 23 can move in the Z direction relative to the frame 22 paragraph [0170]) the movable portion (carrier 23 fig. 5) to move in a first dimension (z direction fig. 5) relative to the fixed portion (frame 22 fig. 5).
Regarding claim 2, Li discloses all the limitations of claim 1 and further discloses, wherein the optical element driving mechanism (ultrasonic piezoelectric motor 20 fig. 5) further comprises a first driving portion (Z-direction piezoelectric driver 28 fig. 5) and a second driving portion (X-direction piezoelectric driver 29 fig. 5), and the method (an electrical signal applied to the piezoelectric material is controlled to enable the piezoelectric material to generate mechanical deformation, so as to push another component of the ultrasonic piezoelectric motor 20 to move through the deformation, and further drive the camera lens 10 to move paragraph [0132]) further comprises:
outputting a first driving signal (the Z-direction drive circuit 260 may generate the first electrical signal to control the Z-direction piezoelectric driver 28 paragraph [0201]) to the first driving portion (Z-direction piezoelectric driver 28 fig. 5); and
outputting a second driving signal (the X-direction drive circuit 240 is configured to generate a drive signal for driving the X-direction piezoelectric driver 29 paragraph [0146]) to the second driving portion (X-direction piezoelectric driver 29 fig. 5).
Regarding claim 3, Li discloses all the limitations of claim 2 and further discloses, wherein the first driving signal (the Z-direction drive circuit 260 may generate the first electrical signal to control the Z-direction piezoelectric driver 28 paragraph [0201]) and the second driving signal (the X-direction drive circuit 240 is configured to generate a drive signal for driving the X-direction piezoelectric driver 29 paragraph [0146]) are different from each other (the z and x drive signals are different paragraphs [0201] and [0146]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al.(US 20230296963 A1) as applied to claim 1 above and in view of Yu et al. (US 20190129133 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Li discloses all the limitations of claim 2.
Li does not disclose, further comprising:
sensing the movement of the movable portion relative to the fixed portion to output a first sensing signal.
However Hu discloses in at least figure 1, further comprising:
sensing the movement (the position detecting unit 240 calculates a position of the lens barrel moving by the electromagnetic interaction between the magnet and the driving coil 220 through the detection target 230 to generate the feedback signal Sf paragraph [0066]) of the movable portion (the position detecting unit 240 may correspond to the OIS sensing coils 122d_1, 122d_2, 122d_3, and 122d_4 included in the second actuator 122 paragraph [0068] and the second actuator 122 is configured to move the lens module 130 in an X-axis direction and a Y-axis direction paragraph [0041]) relative to (the lens module 130 can move in an optical axis direction and directions perpendicular to the optical axis in the housing unit 110 paragraph [0037] and the housing unit 110 includes a housing 111 paragraph [0038]) the fixed portion (housing 111 fig. 1) to output (provide the feedback signal Sf to the driving device 210 paragraph [0066]) a first sensing signal (feedback signal Sf fig. 2).
Therefore it would be obvious for one skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to output a sensing signal as taught by Yu in the method of Li. The position detecting unit 240 includes sensing coils, and calculates a position of the lens barrel in response to inductances of the sensing coils (paragraph [0068]).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Li and Yu discloses all the limitations of claim 4.
Li does not disclose further comprising:
a first control unit outputs the first driving signal based on the first sensing signal and a main command signal.
However Yu further discloses, further comprising:
a first control unit (divining device 210 fig. 2) outputs the first driving signal (driving signal Sdr fig. 2) based on (the divining device 210 generates a driving signal Sdr in response to an input signal Sin applied from an external source and a feedback signal Sf generated by the position detecting unit 240 paragraph [0065]) the first sensing signal (feedback signal Sf fig. 2) and a main command signal (input signal Sin fig. 2).
Therefore it would be obvious for one skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to output a driving signal based on the sensing signal as taught by Yu in the method of Li. The position detecting unit 240 includes sensing coils, and calculates a position of the lens barrel in response to inductances of the sensing coils (paragraph [0068]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 6 would be allowable, the combination of Li and Yu discloses all the limitations of claim 5.
Li or in combination with another reference does not disclose, further comprising:
outputting a first contact signal to a second control unit.
There is no prior art in the record that teaches outputting a first contact signal to a second control unit. Therefore the combination of features is considered to be allowable.
Claims 7-17 would be allowable for their dependency on claim 9.
As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kasamatsu (US 10613342 B2) discloses an image stabilizer with position detector.
Cui (US 9888164 B1) discloses a digital camera with two values of a drive input signal.
Chung et al. (US 20170150055 A1) discloses a photographing apparatus with a sensing signal and a driving signal.
/ANDREW R WRIGHT/Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/WILLIAM R ALEXANDER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872