Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on 2/19/2026 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 7, and 9 have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 4-7, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 1, 7, and 9 recite the limitation “identifying respective partitioning unit of a plurality of partitioning units which constitute the reconstructed current image based on a size of the respective partitioning unit; and the padding for the respective identified partitioning unit”. The applicant’s originally filed specification fails to disclose this limitation. In the applicant’s remarks dated 2/19/2026, page 8 paragraph 4, the applicant argues the limitation is recited in [0573] and [0574] of the applicant’s originally filed specification. The examiner respectfully disagrees. For clarification, the examiner would like to note cited paragraphs [0573] and [0574] of the applicant’s specification can be found in the applicant’s published application as opposed to the filed specification. Further, [0573] discloses padding is performed for face unit or a partitioning unit while [0574] discusses padding being performed using offset or scale factors and points out different faces of a projected image may have the same or different sizes. However, [0573] and [0574] are both silent in regard to identifying a respective partitioning unit of a plurality of partitioning units which constitute the reconstructed current image based on a size of the respective partitioning unit. Stated differently, both [0573] and [0574] do not recite steps or methods of identifying a prediction unit or identifying a prediction unit based on the size of said prediction unit.
Claims 4-6 are rejected based on their respective dependencies upon claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-7, and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He et al. (He) (US 2019/0215532) in view of Hannuksela (US 2014/0168362), and further in view of Choi (US 2020/0058165).
Regarding claim 1, He discloses a method of decoding an image with a decoding apparatus, comprising:
receiving a bitstream in which the image is encoded ([0084], an encoded picture is received at a decoder);
determining a current block included in the image (FIGs. 10 and 11, [0112], current blocks B0 and B1);
obtaining information on a residual block for the current block from the bitstream ([0107], a reference picture index is used to signal a picture for interframe prediction (i.e. image transformation and residual image generation) (see [0723] of the applicant’s originally filed specification));
generating a residual block for the current block based on the information on the residual block ([0108], prediction residuals are generated using the reference image signaled by the reference picture index);
reconstructing the current block based on the residual block to generate a reconstructed image ([0108], residuals are added to the prediction block to generate a reconstructed block); and
performing a image processing on the reconstructed image based on image processing information included in the bitstream ([0161], sample adaptive offset (SAO) filtering is performed using SAO parameters encoded in the bitstream; [0144], [0155], padding of an image is performed using sample position information),
wherein the residual block is generated by performing inverse-quantization, ([0108], inverse quantization is performed);
wherein the image processing comprises padding at least one region to the reconstructed image ([0142], [0155], padding of a reference image is performed), and
wherein the padding is performed by selecting one among a plurality of padding methods ([0121], [0133], geometry or repetitive padding may be applied),
wherein the performing the padding comprises:
identifying respective partitioning unit of a plurality of partitioning units which
constitute the reconstructed current image ([0122], sub block padding is performed on reference images) (Please see USC 112(b) rejection above) and
performing the padding for the respective identified partitioning unit ([0122], sub block padding is performed on reference images).
He is silent about wherein the padding is performed by selecting one among a plurality of padding methods using selection information obtained from the image processing information, and wherein the image processing information is included in a supplement enhancement information (SEI) message, and wherein the plurality of padding methods
comprises a first padding method which uses a same sample value for the region to be padded,
and wherein the same sample value is determined based on information included in the image
processing information.
Hunneksela from the same or similar field of endeavor discloses wherein the padding is performed by selecting one among a plurality of padding methods using selection information obtained from the image processing information ([0746], the encoder encodes an applied padding method), and wherein the image processing information is included in a supplement enhancement information (SEI) message ([0225], SEI messages are signaled, [0752], [0753], the encoded indications may be included in any type of parameter set).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Hannuksela into the teachings of He for more efficient encoding/decoding.
He in view of Hannuksela is silent about wherein the plurality of padding methods
comprises a first padding method which uses a same sample value for the region to be padded, and wherein the same sample value is determined based on information included in the image processing information.
Choi from the same or similar field of endeavor discloses wherein the plurality of
padding methods comprises a first padding method which uses a same sample value for the
region to be padded ([0079], the padding area is filled with a preset pixel value), and wherein
the same sample value is determined based on information included in the image processing
information ([0012], [0013], [0079], [0088], [0198], [0201], [0209], padding metadata
information is included with the image file; [0322], preset data is included with the metadata).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing
date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Choi into the teachings of He in
view of Hannuksela for more efficient encoding/decoding.
Regarding claim 4, He discloses wherein the plurality of padding methods comprises a second padding method which uses a sample inside the reconstructed image for the region to be padded ([0122], [0136], [0148], [0149], geometry padding is performed using reconstructed pixels).
Regarding claim 5, He discloses wherein the sample inside the reconstructed image is determined using at least one equation ([0125]-[0127], [0149], [0158], the reference sample is determined based on a set of equations).
Regarding claim 6, He discloses wherein the equation uses a width of the image or a height of the image ([0127], the width and height of the image is used to determine reference samples when geometry padding is applied).
Regarding claim 7, He discloses a method of encoding an image with an encoding apparatus, comprising:
determining a current block included in the image (FIGs. 10 and 11, [0112], current blocks B0 and B1);
generating a residual block for the current block ([0108], prediction residuals are generated using the reference image signaled by the reference picture index);
encoding information on the residual block into a bitstream ([0108], prediction residuals are generated using the reference image signaled by the reference picture index, encoded, and packed into a bitstream); and
encoding image processing information into the bitstream ([0161], sample adaptive offset (SAO) filtering is performed using SAO parameters encoded in the bitstream; [0144], [0155], padding of an image is performed using sample position information),
wherein the image processing information is used for performing a image processing on a reconstructed image ([0161], sample adaptive offset (SAO) filtering is performed using SAO parameters encoded in the bitstream; [0144], [0155], padding of an image is performed using sample position information), the reconstructed image is generated by reconstructing the current block based on the residual block ([0108], residuals are added to the prediction block to generate a reconstructed block), and
wherein the residual block is encoded by performing quantization ([0108], quantization of residuals is performed);
wherein the image processing comprises padding at least one region to the reconstructed image ([0142], [0155], padding of a reference image is performed), and
wherein the padding is performed by selecting one among a plurality of padding methods ([0121], [0133], geometry or repetitive padding may be applied),
wherein the performing the padding comprises:
identifying respective partitioning unit of a plurality of partitioning units which
constitute the reconstructed current image ([0122], sub block padding is performed on reference images) (Please see USC 112(b) rejection above) and
performing the padding for the respective identified partitioning unit ([0122], sub block padding is performed on reference images).
He is silent about wherein the padding is performed by selecting one among a plurality of padding methods using selection information obtained from the image processing information, and wherein the image processing information is included in a supplement enhancement information (SEI) message, and wherein the plurality of padding methods
comprises a first padding method which uses a same sample value for the region to be padded,
and wherein the same sample value is determined based on information included in the image
processing information.
Hunneksela from the same or similar field of endeavor discloses wherein the padding is performed by selecting one among a plurality of padding methods using selection information obtained from the image processing information ([0746], the encoder encodes an applied padding method), and wherein the image processing information is included in a supplement enhancement information (SEI) message ([0225], SEI messages are signaled, [0752], [0753], the encoded indications may be included in any type of parameter set).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Hannuksela into the teachings of He for more efficient encoding/decoding.
He in view of Hannuksela is silent about wherein the plurality of padding methods
comprises a first padding method which uses a same sample value for the region to be padded, and wherein the same sample value is determined based on information included in the image processing information.
Choi from the same or similar field of endeavor discloses wherein the plurality of
padding methods comprises a first padding method which uses a same sample value for the
region to be padded ([0079], the padding area is filled with a preset pixel value), and wherein
the same sample value is determined based on information included in the image processing
information ([0012], [0013], [0079], [0088], [0198], [0201], [0209], padding metadata
information is included with the image file; [0322], preset data is included with the metadata).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing
date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Choi into the teachings of He in
view of Hannuksela for more efficient encoding/decoding.
Regarding claim 9, He discloses method of transmitting a bitstream which is generated by a method of encoding an image (FIG. 7, a bitstream 202 is received at decoder 208), the method of encoding comprises:
determining a current block included in the image (FIGs. 10 and 11, [0112], current blocks B0 and B1);
generating a residual block for the current block ([0108], prediction residuals are generated using the reference image signaled by the reference picture index);
encoding information on the residual block into a bitstream ([0108], prediction residuals are generated using the reference image signaled by the reference picture index, encoded, and packed into a bitstream); and
encoding image processing information into the bitstream ([0161], sample adaptive offset (SAO) filtering is performed using SAO parameters encoded in the bitstream; [0144], [0155], padding of an image is performed using sample position information),
wherein the image processing information is used for performing a image processing on a reconstructed image ([0161], sample adaptive offset (SAO) filtering is performed using SAO parameters encoded in the bitstream; [0144], [0155], padding of an image is performed using sample position information), the reconstructed image is generated by reconstructing the current block based on the residual block ([0108], residuals are added to the prediction block to generate a reconstructed block), and
wherein the residual block is encoded by performing quantization ([0108], quantization of residuals is performed);
wherein the image processing comprises padding at least one region to the reconstructed image ([0142], [0155], padding of a reference image is performed), and
wherein the padding is performed by selecting one among a plurality of padding methods ([0121], [0133], geometry or repetitive padding may be applied),
wherein the performing the padding comprises:
identifying respective partitioning unit of a plurality of partitioning units which
constitute the reconstructed current image ([0122], sub block padding is performed on reference images) based on a size of the respective partitioning unit (Please see USC 112(b) rejection above) and
performing the padding for the respective identified partitioning unit ([0122], sub block padding is performed on reference images).
He is silent about wherein the padding is performed by selecting one among a plurality of padding methods using selection information obtained from the image processing information, and wherein the image processing information is included in a supplement enhancement information (SEI) message, and wherein the plurality of padding methods
comprises a first padding method which uses a same sample value for the region to be padded, and wherein the same sample value is determined based on information included in the image processing information.
Hunneksela from the same or similar field of endeavor discloses wherein the padding is performed by selecting one among a plurality of padding methods using selection information obtained from the image processing information ([0746], the encoder encodes an applied padding method), and wherein the image processing information is included in a supplement enhancement information (SEI) message ([0225], SEI messages are signaled, [0752], [0753], the encoded indications may be included in any type of parameter set).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Hannuksela into the teachings of He for more efficient encoding/decoding.
He in view of Hannuksela is silent about wherein the plurality of padding methods
comprises a first padding method which uses a same sample value for the region to be padded, and wherein the same sample value is determined based on information included in the image processing information.
Choi from the same or similar field of endeavor discloses wherein the plurality of padding methods comprises a first padding method which uses a same sample value for the region to be padded ([0079], the padding area is filled with a preset pixel value), and wherein
the same sample value is determined based on information included in the image processing
information ([0012], [0013], [0079], [0088], [0198], [0201], [0209], padding metadata
information is included with the image file; [0322], preset data is included with the metadata).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing
date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Choi into the teachings of He in view of Hannuksela for more efficient encoding/decoding.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JEFFERY A WILLIAMS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2488