Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 4-7, and 10 have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-7, and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He et al. (He) (US 2019/0215532) in view of Hannuksela et al. (Hannuksela) (US 2014/0168362), and further in view of in Sim et al. (Sim) (US 2018/0262762).
Regarding claim 1, He discloses a method of decoding an image with a decoding apparatus, comprising:
receiving a bitstream in which the image is encoded ([0084], an encoded picture is received at a decoder);
determining a current block included in the image (FIGs. 10 and 11, [0112], current blocks B0 and B1);
obtaining information on a residual block for the current block from the bitstream ([0107], a reference picture index is used to signal a picture for interframe prediction (i.e. image transformation and residual image generation) (see [0723] of the applicant’s originally filed specification));
generating a residual block for the current block based on the information on the residual block ([0108], prediction residuals are generated using the reference image signaled by the reference picture index);
reconstructing the current block based on the residual block to generate a reconstructed image ([0108], residuals are added to the prediction block to generate a reconstructed block); and
performing an image processing on the reconstructed image based on image processing information included in the bitstream ([0161], sample adaptive offset (SAO) filtering is performed using SAO parameters encoded in the bitstream; [0144], [0155], padding of an image is performed using sample position information),
wherein the residual block is added to a prediction block corresponding to the residual block ([0108], The reconstructed residuals may be added back to the prediction block at 626 to form a reconstructed video block), the prediction block is generated by referring to at least one neighboring sample of the current block ([0109], [0110], spatial prediction using neighboring blocks is performed to generate a prediction block);
wherein the image processing comprises padding at least one region to the reconstructed image ([0142], [0155], padding of a reference image is performed),
wherein the padding is performed by selecting one among a plurality of padding methods ([0121], [0133], geometry or repetitive padding may be applied).
He is silent about wherein the padding is performed by selecting one among a plurality of padding methods using selection information obtained from the image processing information, and wherein the image processing information is included in a supplement enhancement information (SEI) message, wherein the plurality of padding methods comprises a first padding method which uses a same sample value for the region to be padded, and wherein the same sample value is determined based on information included in the image processing information; and wherein performing the padding comprises: identifying respective partitioning unit of a plurality of partitioning units which constitute the reconstructed current image; and performing the padding for the respective identified partitioning unit.
Hunneksela from the same or similar field of endeavor discloses wherein the padding is performed by selecting one among a plurality of padding methods using selection information obtained from the image processing information ([0746], the encoder encodes an applied padding method), and wherein the image processing information is included in a supplement enhancement information (SEI) message ([0225], SEI messages are signaled, [0752], [0753], the encoded indications may be included in any type of parameter set), and wherein performing the padding comprises: identifying respective partitioning unit of a plurality of partitioning units which constitute the reconstructed current image ([0746], the closet block to an unavailable sample location is determined); and performing the padding for the respective identified partitioning unit ([0746] padding is performed).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Hannuksela into the teachings of He for more efficient encoding/decoding.
He in view of Hannuksela is silent about wherein the plurality of padding methods comprises a first padding method which uses a same sample value for the region to be padded, and wherein the same sample value is determined based on information included in the image processing information; and wherein the same sample value is determined based on information included in the image processing information.
Sim from the same or similar field of endeavor discloses wherein the plurality of padding
methods comprises a first padding method which uses a same sample value for the region to be
padded ([0017], [0037], [0038], same values may be input to all pixels in a block being padded, [0047], the padding area is filled with a preset pixel value), and wherein the same sample value
is determined based on information included in the image processing information (FIG. 1, S102
and S110, the padding pixel value is calculated based on the size of the current block, [0046],
block size information is encoded and transmitted for performing padding).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Sim into the teachings of He in view
of Hannuksela for more efficient encoding/decoding.
Regarding claim 4, He discloses wherein the plurality of padding methods comprises a second padding method which uses a sample inside the reconstructed image for the region to be padded ([0122], [0136], [0148], [0149], geometry padding is performed using reconstructed pixels).
Regarding claim 5, He discloses wherein the sample inside the reconstructed image is determined using at least one equation ([0125]-[0127], [0149], [0158], the reference sample is determined based on a set of equations).
Regarding claim 6, He discloses wherein the equation uses a width of the image or a height of the image ([0127], the width and height of the image is used to determine reference samples when geometry padding is applied).
Regarding claim 7, He discloses a method of encoding an image with an encoding apparatus, comprising:
determining a current block included in the image (FIGs. 10 and 11, [0112], current blocks B0 and B1);
generating a residual block for the current block ([0108], prediction residuals are generated using the reference image signaled by the reference picture index);
encoding information on the residual block into a bitstream ([0108], prediction residuals are generated using the reference image signaled by the reference picture index, encoded, and packed into a bitstream); and
encoding image processing information into the bitstream ([0161], sample adaptive offset (SAO) filtering is performed using SAO parameters encoded in the bitstream; [0144], [0155], padding of an image is performed using sample position information),
wherein the image processing information is used for performing a image processing on a reconstructed image ([0161], sample adaptive offset (SAO) filtering is performed using SAO parameters encoded in the bitstream; [0144], [0155], padding of an image is performed using sample position information), the reconstructed image is generated by reconstructing the current block based on the residual block ([0108], residuals are added to the prediction block to generate a reconstructed block),
wherein the residual block is added to a prediction block corresponding to the residual block ([0108], The reconstructed residuals may be added back to the prediction block at 626 to form a reconstructed video block), the prediction block is generated by referring to at least one neighboring sample of the current block ([0109], [0110], spatial prediction using neighboring blocks is performed to generate a prediction block);
wherein the image processing comprises padding at least one region to the reconstructed image ([0142], [0155], padding of a reference image is performed), and
wherein the padding is performed by selecting one among a plurality of padding methods ([0121], [0133], geometry or repetitive padding may be applied).
He is silent about wherein the padding is performed by selecting one among a plurality of padding methods using selection information obtained from the image processing information, and wherein the image processing information is included in a supplement enhancement information (SEI) message, wherein the plurality of padding methods comprises a first padding method which uses a same sample value for the region to be padded, and wherein the same sample value is determined based on information included in the image processing information; and wherein performing the padding comprises: identifying respective partitioning unit of a plurality of partitioning units which constitute the reconstructed current image based on a size of the respective partitioning unit; and performing the padding for the respective identified partitioning unit.
Hunneksela from the same or similar field of endeavor discloses wherein the padding is performed by selecting one among a plurality of padding methods using selection information obtained from the image processing information ([0746], the encoder encodes an applied padding method), and wherein the image processing information is included in a supplement enhancement information (SEI) message ([0225], SEI messages are signaled, [0752], [0753], the encoded indications may be included in any type of parameter set), and wherein performing the padding comprises: identifying respective partitioning unit of a plurality of partitioning units which constitute the reconstructed current image ([0746], the closet block to an unavailable sample location is determined) based on a size of the respective partitioning unit ([0246], a size and shape of a block to be used for motion estimation/compensation is predetermined); and performing the padding for the respective identified partitioning unit ([0746] padding is performed).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Hannuksela into the teachings of He for more efficient encoding/decoding.
He in view of Hannuksela is silent about wherein the plurality of padding methods comprises a first padding method which uses a same sample value for the region to be padded, and wherein the same sample value is determined based on information included in the image processing information; and wherein the same sample value is determined based on information included in the image processing information.
Sim from the same or similar field of endeavor discloses wherein the plurality of padding
methods comprises a first padding method which uses a same sample value for the region to be
padded ([0017], [0037], [0038], same values may be input to all pixels in a block being padded, [0047], the padding area is filled with a preset pixel value), and wherein the same sample value
is determined based on information included in the image processing information (FIG. 1, S102
and S110, the padding pixel value is calculated based on the size of the current block, [0046],
block size information is encoded and transmitted for performing padding).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Sim into the teachings of He in view
of Hannuksela for more efficient encoding/decoding.
Regarding claim 9, the limitations of claim 9 are rejected in the analysis of claim 7.
Hannuksela further discloses transmitting the bitstream (FIG. 5, the bitstream is received by a
decoder DECODE).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Zhang et al. (Zhang) (US 2017/0150186) ([0322], [0326], boundary pixel blocks are up-sampled/subsampling is performed based on the prediction unit size; [0143] reconstructed luma samples are resized).
/JEFFERY A WILLIAMS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2488