DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to the application filed on 29 November 2024.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Vivek P.V et. al (2015 International Conference on Technological Advancements in Power and Energy; hereafter “Vivek”).
-Regarding claim 1:
Vivek discloses:
A power converter, wherein the power converter is configured to: convert a direct current from a photovoltaic module into an alternating current and transmit the alternating current to a load (Fig. 1; PV MODULE to AC LOAD), the power converter comprising: a direct current conversion circuit (Fig. 2; red dotted box), wherein an input of the direct current conversion circuit is configured to connect to the photovoltaic module (Fig. 2; PV strings 1, 2, 3 are connected to red dotted box); an inverter circuit, wherein a bus capacitor of the inverter circuit is connected to an output (Fig. 2; Cb1 , Cb2 in blue dotted box) of the direct current conversion circuit; a controller configured to: adjust a duty cycle of a switch transistor in the direct current conversion circuit (paragraph III; “MPPT algorithm uses variation of duty cycle in boost converter to track the maximum power.”, where the boost converter is the direct current conversion circuit), to change output power of the photovoltaic module, when power of the load is less than a specified threshold (paragraph III; “MPPT mode will extract maximum power available in the PV panel corresponding to each irradiance level………While working in MPPT mode if the irradiance level increases or load
demand decreases, maximum power available in PV panel will be much more than required by the system. This will result in selection of non-MPPT mode.”), control the power converter to reduce the output power of the photovoltaic module from operating power to zero for at least once (paragraph III; “PV system generally has four operating modes: MPPT mode, non-MPPT mode, battery only mode and the shunt down mode.”), wherein the operating power is greater than zero and less than rated output power of the photovoltaic module, and when the output power of the photovoltaic module is the operating power, the power converter operates in a maximum power point tracking (MPPT) mode (abstract; “The first stage of conversion in the proposed system uses basic boost converter which ensure Maximum power point tracking(MPPT) and inverter dc bus voltage regulation.”).
-Regarding claim 20:
Vivek discloses:
A power supply system comprising: a plurality of power converters (Fig. 2; multi booster converters in red dotted box), wherein the power converter is configured to: convert a direct current from a photovoltaic module into an alternating current and transmit the alternating current to a load (Fig. 1; PV MODULE to AC LOAD), the power converter comprising: a direct current conversion circuit (Fig. 2; red dotted box), wherein an input of the direct current conversion circuit is configured to connect to the photovoltaic module (Fig. 2; PV strings 1, 2, 3 are connected to red dotted box); an inverter circuit, wherein a bus capacitor of the inverter circuit is connected to an output (Fig. 2; Cb1 , Cb2 in blue dotted box) of the direct current conversion circuit; a controller configured to: adjust a duty cycle of a switch transistor in the direct current conversion circuit (paragraph III; “MPPT algorithm uses variation of duty cycle in boost converter to track the maximum power.”, where the boost converter is the direct current conversion circuit), to change output power of the photovoltaic module, when power of the load is less than a specified threshold (paragraph III; “MPPT mode will extract maximum power available in the PV panel corresponding to each irradiance level………While working in MPPT mode if the irradiance level increases or load demand decreases, maximum power available in PV panel will be much more than required by the system. This will result in selection of non-MPPT mode.”), control the power converter to reduce the output power of the photovoltaic module from operating power to zero for at least once (paragraph III; “PV system generally has four operating modes: MPPT mode, non-MPPT mode, battery only mode and the shunt down mode.”), wherein the operating power is greater than zero and less than rated output power of the photovoltaic module, and when the output power of the photovoltaic module is the operating power, the power converter operates in a maximum power point tracking (MPPT) mode (abstract; “The first stage of conversion in the proposed system uses basic boost converter which ensure Maximum power point tracking(MPPT) and inverter dc bus voltage regulation.”); a power station controller configured to: receive output power data of the photovoltaic modules that is reported by the plurality of power converters, and adjust power of the loads (Fig. 4; carrier signals 1,2,3, which are output power data of the photovoltaic modules and switching signals S1,2,3,4,a,b,c adjust power of loads).
-Regarding claim 2:
Vivek discloses:
The power converter according to claim 1, wherein the controller is further configured to: control the power converter to reduce the output power of the photovoltaic module from the operating power to zero; and control the power converter to operate in the MPPT mode again (paragraph III; “PV system generally has four operating modes: MPPT mode, non-MPPT mode, battery only mode and the shunt down mode. MPPT mode will extract maximum power available in the PV panel corresponding to each irradiance level.”, Fig. 9; power is zero during non-MPPT mode, Fig. 5; by checking Vdc bus, operate in MPPT mode), to adjust the output power of the photovoltaic module to the operating power.
-Regarding claim 3:
Vivek discloses:
The power converter according to claim 1, wherein the controller is further configured to: when a voltage of the bus capacitor is greater than an upper voltage threshold, reduce the output power of the photovoltaic module from the operating power to zero; and when the output power of the photovoltaic module is zero and the voltage of the bus capacitor is not greater than a safe voltage threshold, control the power converter to operate in the MPPT mode again (Fig. 5; by checking bus capacitor limit, controller turns on /off the MPPT mode, Fig. 9; power is zero during non-MPPT mode), to adjust the output power of the photovoltaic module to the operating power, wherein the upper voltage threshold is greater than the safe voltage threshold (Fig. 5; Vdc upper limit is greater than Vdc lower limit).
-Regarding claim 4:
Vivek discloses:
The power converter according to claim 2, wherein the controller is further configured to: when a voltage of the bus capacitor is greater than an upper voltage threshold, reduce the output power of the photovoltaic module from the operating power to zero; and when the output power of the photovoltaic module is zero and the voltage of the bus capacitor is not greater than a safe voltage threshold, control the power converter to operate in the MPPT mode again (Fig. 5; by checking bus capacitor limit, controller turns on /off the MPPT mode, Fig. 9; power is zero during non-MPPT mode), to adjust the output power of the photovoltaic module to the operating power, wherein the upper voltage threshold is greater than the safe voltage threshold.
-Regarding claim 5:
Vivek discloses:
The power converter according to claim 1, wherein the controller is further configured to: after the output power of the photovoltaic module is zero and remains for a specified time interval, control the power converter to operate in the MPPT mode again (Fig. 9; during non-MPPT mode (1-2 sec), power of upper boost converter is zero and remained for a specific time (1-2 sec) then MPPT mode again in 2-2.7sec, Fig. 5; by checking bus capacitor limit, controller turns on /off the MPPT mode), to adjust the output power of the photovoltaic module to the operating power.
-Regarding claim 6:
Vivek discloses:
The power converter according to claim 2, wherein the controller is further configured to: after the output power of the photovoltaic module is zero and remains for a specified time interval, control the power converter to operate in the MPPT mode again (Fig. 9; during non-MPPT mode (1-2 sec), power of upper boost converter is zero and remained for a specific time (1-2 sec) then MPPT mode again in 2-2.7sec, Fig. 5; by checking bus capacitor limit, controller turns on /off the MPPT mode), to adjust the output power of the photovoltaic module to the operating power.
-Regarding claim 7:
Vivek discloses:
The power converter according to claim 3, wherein the controller is further configured to: after the output power of the photovoltaic module is zero and remains for a specified time interval, control the power converter to operate in the MPPT mode again (Fig. 9; during non-MPPT mode (1-2 sec), power of upper boost converter is zero and remained for a specific time (1-2 sec) then MPPT mode again in 2-2.7sec, Fig. 5; by checking bus capacitor limit, controller turns on /off the MPPT mode), to adjust the output power of the photovoltaic module to the operating power.
-Regarding claim 8:
Vivek discloses:
The power converter according to claim 1, wherein the controller is further configured to: control the switch transistor of the direct current conversion circuit to remain off (Fig. 4; Mode selector in controller using Vdc bus, Vdc upper limit, Vdc lower limit to produce gate signal to Sb1 and Sb2, which means turn on/off the switch transistor of the direct current conversion circuit) , so that an output current of the direct current conversion circuit is zero, to control the output power of the photovoltaic module to be zero.
-Regarding claim 9:
Vivek discloses:
The power converter according to claim 2, wherein the controller is further configured to: control the switch transistor of the direct current conversion circuit to remain off (Fig. 4; Mode selector in controller using Vdc bus, Vdc upper limit, Vdc lower limit to produce gate signal to Sb1 and Sb2, which means turn on/off the switch transistor of the direct current conversion circuit), so that an output current of the direct current conversion circuit is zero, to control the output power of the photovoltaic module to be zero (I would say that turning off the switch automatically means the output power would be zero.).
-Regarding claim 10:
Vivek discloses:
The power converter according to claim 1, wherein the power converter comprises M direct current conversion circuits (Fig. 2; red dotted box), and the controller is further configured to: adjust, in a same time period, output power of photovoltaic modules connected to N direct current conversion circuits in the power converter to the operating power (Fig. 2; PV string 2 and 3 connected to lower direct current conversion circuit in red dotted box), wherein N is a positive integer less than M (Fig. 2; M=2, N=1).
-Regarding claim 11:
Vivek discloses:
The power converter according to claim 3, wherein the controller is further configured to: when the voltage of the bus capacitor is greater than the upper voltage threshold, control the switch transistor in the inverter circuit to be turned on and off (Fig. 5; by checking bus capacitor limit, controller turns on /off the MPPT mode, which means the switch transistor in the inverter circuit to be turned on and off), to reduce the voltage of the bus capacitor.
-Regarding claim 12:
Vivek discloses:
The power converter according to claim 5, wherein the controller is further configured to: when the voltage of the bus capacitor is greater than the upper voltage threshold, control the switch transistor in the inverter circuit to be turned on and off (Fig. 5; by checking bus capacitor limit, controller turns on /off the MPPT mode, which means the switch transistor in the inverter circuit to be turned on and off), to reduce the voltage of the bus capacitor.
-Regarding claim 13:
Vivek discloses:
The power converter according to claim 11, wherein the controller is further configured to: when the voltage of the bus capacitor is greater than the upper voltage threshold, increase a switching frequency of the switch transistor in the inverter circuit (introduction; “Multilevel inverter produces…..operation in both high and low switching frequency “, and paragraph II; “Hence switching losses will be less and the efficiency of the power conversion system will be high.” I would say that the switching losses due to high frequency switching is well-known to be used in power converters, and the decreasing of the bus capacitor voltage due to the switching losses is well-within the skill of the person of ordinary skill in the art. Vivek taught the operation with variation of switching frequency in the inverter and the switching losses of the power conversion system. I would then give that as the rationale.)
-Regarding claim 14:
Vivek discloses:
The power converter according to claim 13, wherein a connection point between the output of the direct current conversion circuit and the bus capacitor is configured to connect to an energy storage apparatus (Fig. 1; connection DC-DC converter and Battery), and when the voltage of the bus capacitor is greater than the upper voltage threshold, the bus capacitor is configured to charge the energy storage apparatus (paragraph III; “The extra or deficient power has to be handled by the battery…….. The power handled by the battery is given by Pbat=Pmppt-PL, Where Pbat is the battery power, Pmppt is the maximum power available from PV panel, PL is the load demand. Pbat is positive while charging and negative during discharging.”).
For method claims 15-19, note that under MPEP 2112.02, the principles of inherency, if a prior art device, in its normal and usual operation, would necessarily perform the method claimed, then the method claimed will be considered to be anticipated by the prior art device. When the prior art is the same as a device described in the specification for carrying out the claimed method, it can be assumed the device “1 inherently performs the claimed process. In re King, 801 F.2d 1324, 231 UPSQ 136 (Fed Cir. 1986). Therefore, the previous rejections based on the apparatus will not be repeated.
Conclusion
/SEUNG HO CHOI/Examiner, Art Unit 2838
/CRYSTAL L HAMMOND/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838