DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
This is a Non-Final Action on the merits in response to the claims submitted on 11/29/2024.
Claims 1-12 and 27-34 are examined herein.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-2 and 27-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claims are directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
With respect to Step 1 of the eligibility inquiry (as explained in MPEP 2106), it is first noted that the claims are directed to at least one potentially eligible category of subject matter (i.e., process and machine, respectively). Thus, Step 1 of the Subject Matter Eligibility test for claims 1-2 and 27-28 is satisfied.
With respect to Step 2A Prong One, it is next noted that the claims recite an abstract idea that falls under the “Certain Methods Of Organizing Human Activity” group within the enumerated groupings of abstract ideas set forth in the MPEP 2106 since the claims set forth steps that recite commercial or legal interactions (including agreements in the form of contracts; legal obligations; advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors; business relations).
Claims 1 and 27 recites the abstract idea of renting rentable items such as properties and vehicles. In claim 1, this idea is described by the following claim steps:
receiving, a request from an owner of a rentable item to list the rentable item for rent for a plurality of time durations;
creating a rental record for the rentable item; the rental record defining the plurality of time durations;
assign the rental record to the owner of the rentable item;
listing, by the server, the rentable item for rent;
receiving a request, from a rent applicant to rent the rentable item for a first set of one or more time durations in the plurality of time durations;
creating a first set of rental sub records for the rentable item; each rental sub record in the first set of rental sub records associated with a time duration in the first set of time durations;
assign the first set of rental sub records to the rent applicant
creating a second set of rental sub records for the rentable item; each rental sub record in the second set of rental sub records associated with a time duration in the first set of time durations;
assign the second set of rental sub records to the owner of the rentable item; and
providing a confirmation of the renting of the rentable item for the first set of time durations to the rent applicant and to the owner of the rentable item.
This idea falls within the certain methods of organizing human activity grouping of abstract ideas because it is directed towards commercial or legal interactions (including agreements in the form of contracts; legal obligations; advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors; business relations). The noted abstract idea is also directed to managing interactions between people such as that required during communications when confirming a rental agreement conforms to the requirements of more than one party.
Because the above-noted limitations recite steps falling within the Certain Methods Of Organizing Human Activity abstract idea groupings of the MPEP 2106, they have been determined to recite at least one abstract idea when evaluated under Step 2A Prong One of the eligibility inquiry.
Therefore, because the limitations above set forth activities falling within the Certain Methods Of Organizing Human Activity abstract idea groupings described in the MPEP 2106, the additional elements recited in the claims are further evaluated, individually and in combination, under Step 2A Prong Two and Step 2B below. Claim 27 recites similar limitations as claim 1 and is therefore determined to recite the same abstract idea.
With respect to Step 2A Prong Two, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The additional elements that fail to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application are:
a server in communication with a distributed ledger system via a network;
a rental NFT for the rentable item;
mint a rental NFT for the rentable item;
mint a first set of one or more child rental NFTs;
mint a second set of one or more child rental NFTs;
burn the rental NFT; and
a non-transitory computer readable medium storing a program for renting rentable items using non-fungible tokens (NFTs), the program executable by at least one processor of a server in communication with a distributed ledger system via a network.
However, using a computer environment such as a server in communication with a distributed ledger, a non-transitory computer readable medium and other recited computer elements amounts to no more than generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment. Renting rentable items such as properties and vehicles can reasonably be performed by pencil and paper until limited to a computerized environment by requiring the recited technological elements to perform the steps.
In regards to the generically recited distributed ledger, and the functions of minting and burning NFTs, the examiner views these additional elements as results-oriented steps given that there is no restriction on how the result is accomplished and no description of the mechanism for accomplishing the result are currently present such that this is viewed as equivalent to “apply it” for merely implementing the abstract idea using generic computing components (See Id.). Therefore the claims are also non-statutory subject matter.
These additional elements have been evaluated, but fail to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they amount to using generic computing elements or computer-executable instructions (software) to perform the abstract idea, similar to adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent), and alternatively serve to link the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment. See MPEP 2106.05(f) and 2106.05(h).
In addition, these limitations fail to provide an improvement to the functioning of a computer or to any other technology or technical field, fail to apply the exception with a particular machine, fail to apply the judicial exception to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition, fail to effect a transformation of a particular article to a different state or thing, and fail to apply/use the abstract idea in a meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment.
Accordingly, because the Step 2A Prong One and Prong Two analysis resulted in the conclusion that the claims are directed to an abstract idea, additional analysis under Step 2B of the eligibility inquiry must be conducted in order to determine whether any claim element or combination of elements amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
With respect to Step 2B of the eligibility inquiry, it has been determined that the claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
As noted above, the claims as a whole merely describes a method, computer system, and computer program product that generally “apply” the concepts discussed in prong 1 above. (See MPEP 2106.05 f (II)) In particular applicant has recited the computing components at a high-level of generality such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. As the court stated in TLI Communications v. LLC v. AV Automotive LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 613 (Fed. Cir. 2016) merely invoking generic computing components or machinery that perform their functions in their ordinary capacity to facilitate the abstract idea are mere instructions to implement the abstract idea within a computing environment and does not add significantly more to the abstract idea. Accordingly, these additional computer components do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Therefore, even when viewed as a whole, nothing in the claim adds significantly more (i.e. an inventive concept) to the abstract idea and as a result the claim is not patent eligible.
In addition, when taken as an ordered combination, the ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present as when the elements are taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements integrates the abstract idea into a practical application. Their collective functions merely provide generic computer implementation. Therefore, when viewed as a whole, these additional claim elements do not provide meaningful limitations to transform the abstract idea into a practical application of the abstract idea or that, as an ordered combination, amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself.
For the reasons identified with respect to Step 2A, prong 2, claims 1, and 27 fail to recite additional elements that amount to an inventive concept. For example, use of a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks (e.g., to receive, store, or transmit data) or simply adding a general-purpose computer or computer components after the fact to an abstract idea (e.g., a commercial or legal interaction or mathematical equation) does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more (see MPEP 2106.05(g)). In addition, limitations that amount to merely indicating a field of use or technological environment in which to apply a judicial exception do not amount to significantly more than the exception itself, and cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application (see MPEP 2106.05(h)).
Dependent claims 2 and 28 recite the same abstract idea as recited in the independent claims, and when evaluated under Step 2A Prong One are found to merely recite details that serve to narrow the same abstract idea recited in the independent claims accompanied by the same generic computing elements or software as those addressed above in the discussion of the independent claims, which is not sufficient to amount to a practical application or add significantly more, or other additional elements that fail to amount to a practical application or add significantly more, as noted above.
Dependent claims 2 and 28 further limits the abstract idea by introducing receiving, by a server in communication with a distributed ledger system via a network, a request from an owner of a rentable item to list the rentable item for rent for a plurality of time durations; causing the distributed ledger system, by the server, to: mint a rental NFT for the rentable item, the rental NFT defining the plurality of time durations; and assign the rental NFT to the owner of the rentable item; listing, by the server, the rentable item for rent; receiving a request, by the server, from a rent applicant to rent the rentable item for a first set of one or more time durations in the plurality of time durations; in response to the request to rent the rentable item, causing the distributed ledger system, by the server, to: mint a first set of one or more child rental NFTs, each child rental NFT in the first set of child rental NFTs associated with a time duration in the first set of time durations; assign the first set of child rental NFTs to the rent applicant; mint a second set of one or more child rental NFTs for the rentable item for a second set of time durations in the plurality of time durations, wherein the second time durations other than the first set of time durations; assign the second set of child rental NFTs to the owner of the rentable item; and burn the rental NFT; and providing a confirmation of the renting of the rentable item for the first set of time durations to the rent applicant and to the owner of the rentable item. The examiner views these additional elements as results-oriented steps given that there is no restriction on how the result is accomplished and no description of the mechanism for accomplishing the result are currently present such that this is viewed as equivalent to “apply it” for merely implementing the abstract idea using generic computing components (See Id.). Therefore the claims are also non-statutory subject matter.
The ordered combination of elements in the dependent claims (including the limitations inherited from the parent claim(s)) add nothing that is not already present as when the elements are taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology, and the collective functions merely provide high level of generality computer implementation. Therefore, whether taken individually or as an order combination, the claims are nonetheless rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
For more information see MPEP 2106.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 27-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wells (US Patent Publication 2024/0070234) in view of Barlow (US Patent Publication 2023/0298117).
Regarding claim 1, Wells discloses a method of renting rentable items using non-fungible tokens (NFTs) ([039] “[0039] Presently disclosed herein is a software application that utilizes blockchain technology, smart contracts, and wireless technology to create permissions through non-tangible, e.g., digital, representations of tangible assets or of assets that are inherently digital, and uses AI/ML to verify their authenticity and enhance their usability. In an embodiment, the wireless technology may be 5G or other high-speed wireless technology, or any other wireless technology known in the art. Non-tangible representations may be enhanced by using non-fungible tokens (NFTs), to be referred to as asset NFTs. Such asset NFTs may be created, or minted, to be coupled with digital representations of tangible assets such as real estate, vehicles (including, but not limited to rental cars), apartments, condominiums, hotel rooms”), the method comprising:
receiving, by a server in communication with a distributed ledger system via a network, a request from an owner of a rentable item to list the rentable item for rent for a plurality of time durations ([006] “The method further includes registering the bound representation of the identity and the asset NFT on a blockchain associated with the electronic asset.” [015] “The registration node is configured to register the asset NFT with the attestation of the representation of the identity on a blockchain. The computing node is configured to perform a task involving the electronic asset, and the attestation of the representation of the identity, in response to receiving a task request from the owner node or the authorized user node, and securely control the electronic asset.”, [040] “Such a software application may allow users to share and trade NFTs temporarily for a certain period of time, or, if desired, at regularly scheduled times, giving a party possessing the NFT access to said permissions for a time, at an owner's discretion, through the use of predetermined smart contracts.” Further see [047]) and [0048] Continuing with the vehicle rental/lending embodiment above, the associated smart contract may be configured to enforce various restrictions on use of the vehicle. These may be restrictions based on time, geography, location, financial criteria, behavioral criteria, perquisites and/or amenities relating to the vehicle, and geofencing, etc.) ;
causing the distributed ledger system ([006] “blockchain”), by the server, to:
mint a rental NFT for the rentable item, the rental NFT defining the plurality of time durations ([0057] Embodiments thus build upon the four-tier paradigm described above by including various features. Such features include the ID NFT, introduced hereinabove, being configured to link with a specific asset NFT to establish accountability for the asset NFT. As such, either the owner or an authorized user (which authorized user may also be a proprietor or a claimant) may be registered as being in control of the asset NFT at a given time. Such features further include the various permissions granted through the software application and being afforded to an authorized user (or claimant, or proprietor, or owner, as the case may be) who has possession of the asset NFT. In an example from the context of a smart home environment established hereinabove, an asset NFT for a real estate property including such a smart home may be minted by the software application with permissions to enter the home through a smart lock, permissions to use a vehicle charging station that may be present on the property, and other potential smart home features of the property. Such features may further include the asset NFT being configured by the software application to afford the owner full control of an asset NFT, allowing the owner of an asset to revoke or re-assume control of the asset NFT from another authorized user (or claimant, or proprietor) at any time, and to set a schedule or a specific amount of time for which an authorized user (or claimant, or proprietor) may access the asset NFT. See also [039] “ Such asset NFTs may be created, or minted, to be coupled with digital representations of tangible assets such as real estate, vehicles (including, but not limited to rental cars), apartments, condominiums, hotel rooms” and [117] “ At step 1008, after the AI/ML algorithms have authenticated or verified the authenticity of the asset, the system may proceed to create or mint a unique NFT linked to the asset. Step 1008 may also include using a hash value. At step 1009, the node or a user (not shown) may create a smart contract and/or configure limitations/“foundational permissions” (described in more detail hereinabove with respect to step 949 of method 900 (FIG. 9A)).” ); and
assign the rental NFT to the owner of the rentable item ([0057] Embodiments thus build upon the four-tier paradigm described above by including various features. Such features include the ID NFT, introduced hereinabove, being configured to link with a specific asset NFT to establish accountability for the asset NFT. As such, either the owner or an authorized user (which authorized user may also be a proprietor or a claimant) may be registered as being in control of the asset NFT at a given time. Such features further include the various permissions granted through the software application and being afforded to an authorized user (or claimant, or proprietor, or owner, as the case may be) who has possession of the asset NFT…Such features may further include the asset NFT being configured by the software application to afford the owner full control of an asset NFT, allowing the owner of an asset to revoke or re-assume control of the asset NFT from another authorized user (or claimant, or proprietor) at any time, and to set a schedule or a specific amount of time for which an authorized user (or claimant, or proprietor) may access the asset NFT.” See also [0117]);
listing, by the server, the rentable item for rent ([0102] At step 901, a node (not shown) may request to import an item into, e.g., system 800 (described hereinabove with respect to FIG. 8), which may be a BES (not shown). At step 902, the system may determine what type of asset is being put into the system. At this point, the system may determine whether the item is, for example, a metaverse object, a non-metaverse digital object, or a physical object. [0125] At step 1201, a receiving node (not shown) may input a description of a desired asset NFT being sought after in a marketplace. See also [0111]);
receiving a request, by the server, from a rent applicant to rent the rentable item for a first set of one or more time durations in the plurality of time durations ([0125] At step 1201, a receiving node (not shown) may input a description of a desired asset NFT being sought after in a marketplace. At step 1202, the receiving node may set parameters or defined filters, which may be node-defined filters, on preferences of an asset and node specifications they are searching for.);
in response to the request to rent the rentable item, causing the distributed ledger system, by the server, to:
mint a rental NFT associated with a time duration in the first set of time durations ([057] “ an asset NFT for a real estate property including such a smart home may be minted by the software application with permissions to enter the home through a smart lock, permissions to use a vehicle charging station that may be present on the property, and other potential smart home features of the property.” Further see [039, 077]);
assign the rental NFTs to the rent applicant ([057] “ In an example from the context of a smart home environment established hereinabove, an asset NFT for a real estate property including such a smart home may be minted by the software application with permissions to enter the home through a smart lock, permissions to use a vehicle charging station that may be present on the property, and other potential smart home features of the property. Such features may further include the asset NFT being configured by the software application to afford the owner full control of an asset NFT, allowing the owner of an asset to revoke or re-assume control of the asset NFT from another authorized user (or claimant, or proprietor) at any time, and to set a schedule or a specific amount of time for which an authorized user (or claimant, or proprietor) may access the asset NFT.” Further see [039, 045]); and
burn the rental NFT ([0108] At step 927, the system will record the “burning” facts. These may include all original transactions involving the NFT, data attached to the NFT, or any other relevant information. At step 928, the system may burn the NFT. Note that this feature may allow NFTs to be updated to new standards as they are available while maintaining the integrity of the asset by never having more than one NFT representing the item at one time.” [0111] “. At step 943, the node may determine whether to burn the original NFT.” [0112] “At step 944, the system may record the “burning” facts (similar to step 927). At step 945, the system may burn the item.” ); and
providing a confirmation of the renting of the rentable item for the first set of time durations to the rent applicant and to the owner of the rentable item ([0125] “At step 1210, all transacting nodes on both sides of a smart contract may agree on smart contract(s) and confirm a transaction.”).
Wells discloses a method and system for registering an asset in a blockchain in order to manage and control access to the asset, such as providing access for renting the asset (039). Wells discloses minting a rental NFT representative of the asset that allows access for a time duration, however fails to disclose mining one or more child rental NFTs related to the asset.
Wells does not explicitly disclose:
a first set of one or more child rental NFTs;
mint a first set of one or more child rental NFTs, each child rental NFT in the first set of child rental NFTs associated with a time duration in the first set of time durations;
mint a second set of one or more child rental NFTs for the rentable item for a second set of time durations in the plurality of time durations, wherein the second time durations other than the first set of time durations; assign the second set of child rental NFTs to the owner of the rentable item.
However, Barlow which is similarly is directed to registering an asset in a blockchain in order to manage such an asset, further teaches:
a first set of one or more child rental NFTs ([076] “Once the parent tokens are generated, the property conversion software can then generate child tokens, which reflect a subset of rights associated with the parent tokens… In the above example, the child tokens could comprise the… right of occupancy for a period of three months, or it may comprise a right to digitally display the property for a limited time or on a specific platform.”)
mint a first set of one or more child rental NFTs, each child rental NFT in the first set of child rental NFTs associated with a time duration in the first set of time durations ([0075] Referring now to FIG. 3B, which is a continuation from FIG. 3A, the property conversion software can then mint or generate a parent token 88 for the rights to be conveyed associated with the parent token. A parent token can be any token that conveys a broad property right, such as, …a right of occupancy on the property or a right to digitally display the property. [0076] Once the parent tokens are generated, the property conversion software can then generate child tokens, which reflect a subset of rights associated with the parent tokens…the child tokens could comprise the… right of occupancy for a period of three months…It will be understood by those of skill in the art that a smart contract is generated at the time the various tokens are minted / generated. [0077] At this point, a property management contract is created 92 that places the property under the control of a governing entity as has been previously discuss in connection with FIGS. 1 and 2. The property management contract is then sent for recordation 96 as previously discussed. [0078] The parent and child tokens can then be listed on the equity conversion computer 12 for public viewing. It should be noted that not all of the minted tokens need to be listed. For example, the seller may only want to offer child tokens for sale.);
mint a second set of one or more child rental NFTs for the rentable item for a second set of time durations in the plurality of time durations, wherein the second time durations other than the first set of time durations; assign the second set of child rental NFTs to the owner of the rentable item ([0075] Referring now to FIG. 3B, which is a continuation from FIG. 3A, the property conversion software can then mint or generate a parent token 88 for the rights to be conveyed associated with the parent token. A parent token can be any token that conveys a broad property right, such as, …a right of occupancy on the property or a right to digitally display the property. [0076] Once the parent tokens are generated, the property conversion software can then generate child tokens, which reflect a subset of rights associated with the parent tokens…the child tokens could comprise the… right of occupancy for a period of three months…It will be understood by those of skill in the art that a smart contract is generated at the time the various tokens are minted / generated. [0077] At this point, a property management contract is created 92 that places the property under the control of a governing entity as has been previously discuss in connection with FIGS. 1 and 2. The property management contract is then sent for recordation 96 as previously discussed. [0078] The parent and child tokens can then be listed on the equity conversion computer 12 for public viewing. It should be noted that not all of the minted tokens need to be listed. For example, the seller may only want to offer child tokens for sale.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filled to modify the system and method in Wells with a first set of one or more child rental NFTs; minting a first set of one or more child rental NFTs, each child rental NFT in the first set of child rental NFTs associated with a time duration in the first set of time durations; and minting a second set of one or more child rental NFTs for the rentable item for a second set of time durations in the plurality of time durations, wherein the second time durations other than the first set of time durations; assign the second set of child rental NFTs to the owner of the rentable item. Since such improvement is a modification of prior art elements previously known in the art that provides the known benefit of allowing the owner of the NFT the advantage of having subset of rights associated with the parent NFT, thereby allowing subsets of rights of occupancy for a specific period of time as disclosed by Barlow [076].
Regarding claims 2 and 28, Wells discloses:
wherein the rental NFT is a first rental NFT, the method further comprising:
receiving a request from the rent applicant to return a rental NFT; determining that the time duration associated with the rental NFT is not expired and there is at least another rental NFT associated with an unexpired time period; in response to the determination, sending an authorization request to the owner to authorize the return of the rental NFT; receiving an authorization from the owner for the return of the rental NFT; in response to receiving the authorization, causing the distributed ledger system, by the server, to: mint a rental NFT for the duration of the rental NFT; assign the rental NFT to the owner; and burn the NFTs ([0077] At 118, a holding node temporarily allows, grants, and/or transfers to other nodes possession and/or use of an asset NFT electronic asset, e.g., an electronic asset with an associated token, e.g., asset NFT, and assigns permissions and governs use by a smart contract for other nodes, for a set period of time. At process 119, the blockchain encoding system 100 verifies the identity of the holding node and of a receiving node. At 120, the holding node sets permissions for the receiving node for the duration of time the receiving node holds the electronic asset. At 121, the holding node creates or adds a smart contract that dictates terms between the node and the receiving node, tier level of the receiving node in the smart contract, and duration until expiration of the smart contract. At 122, the nodes involved, e.g., the holding node and the receiving node, make a decision whether to accept the terms in the smart contract. If no, at process 122(b), the blockchain encoding system 100 may reset, canceling aforementioned configurations and returning to an initial state, in response to the terms being declined or otherwise not accepted. Else, if yes, at process 122(a)1, the holding node may add or change the status of a token and/or the electronic asset in response to the terms of the smart contract being accepted. At process 122(a)2, the holding node may complete a transfer of the electronic asset to the receiving node. ).
Barlow which is similarly is directed to registering an asset in a blockchain in order to manage such an asset, further teaches:
a first set of one or more child rental NFTs ([076] “Once the parent tokens are generated, the property conversion software can then generate child tokens, which reflect a subset of rights associated with the parent tokens… In the above example, the child tokens could comprise the… right of occupancy for a period of three months, or it may comprise a right to digitally display the property for a limited time or on a specific platform.”)
mint a first set of one or more child rental NFTs, each child rental NFT in the first set of child rental NFTs associated with a time duration in the first set of time durations ([0075] Referring now to FIG. 3B, which is a continuation from FIG. 3A, the property conversion software can then mint or generate a parent token 88 for the rights to be conveyed associated with the parent token. A parent token can be any token that conveys a broad property right, such as, …a right of occupancy on the property or a right to digitally display the property. [0076] Once the parent tokens are generated, the property conversion software can then generate child tokens, which reflect a subset of rights associated with the parent tokens…the child tokens could comprise the… right of occupancy for a period of three months…It will be understood by those of skill in the art that a smart contract is generated at the time the various tokens are minted / generated. [0077] At this point, a property management contract is created 92 that places the property under the control of a governing entity as has been previously discuss in connection with FIGS. 1 and 2. The property management contract is then sent for recordation 96 as previously discussed. [0078] The parent and child tokens can then be listed on the equity conversion computer 12 for public viewing. It should be noted that not all of the minted tokens need to be listed. For example, the seller may only want to offer child tokens for sale.);
mint a second set of one or more child rental NFTs for the rentable item for a second set of time durations in the plurality of time durations, wherein the second time durations other than the first set of time durations; assign the second set of child rental NFTs to the owner of the rentable item ([0075] Referring now to FIG. 3B, which is a continuation from FIG. 3A, the property conversion software can then mint or generate a parent token 88 for the rights to be conveyed associated with the parent token. A parent token can be any token that conveys a broad property right, such as, …a right of occupancy on the property or a right to digitally display the property. [0076] Once the parent tokens are generated, the property conversion software can then generate child tokens, which reflect a subset of rights associated with the parent tokens…the child tokens could comprise the… right of occupancy for a period of three months…It will be understood by those of skill in the art that a smart contract is generated at the time the various tokens are minted / generated. [0077] At this point, a property management contract is created 92 that places the property under the control of a governing entity as has been previously discuss in connection with FIGS. 1 and 2. The property management contract is then sent for recordation 96 as previously discussed. [0078] The parent and child tokens can then be listed on the equity conversion computer 12 for public viewing. It should be noted that not all of the minted tokens need to be listed. For example, the seller may only want to offer child tokens for sale.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filled to modify the system and method in Wells with a first set of one or more child rental NFTs; minting a first set of one or more child rental NFTs, each child rental NFT in the first set of child rental NFTs associated with a time duration in the first set of time durations; and minting a second set of one or more child rental NFTs for the rentable item for a second set of time durations in the plurality of time durations, wherein the second time durations other than the first set of time durations; assign the second set of child rental NFTs to the owner of the rentable item. Since such improvement is a modification of prior art elements previously known in the art that provides the known benefit of allowing the owner of the NFT the advantage of having subset of rights associated with the parent NFT, thereby allowing subsets of rights of occupancy for a specific period of time as disclosed by Barlow [076].
Regarding claim 27, Wells discloses a non-transitory computer readable medium storing a program for renting rentable items using non-fungible tokens (NFTs), the program executable by at least one processor of a server in communication with a distributed ledger system via a network (See [095], [007-008] and Fig 6.), the program comprising sets of instructions for:
receiving a request from an owner of a rentable item to list the rentable item for rent for a plurality of time durations ([006] “The method further includes registering the bound representation of the identity and the asset NFT on a blockchain associated with the electronic asset.” [015] “The registration node is configured to register the asset NFT with the attestation of the representation of the identity on a blockchain. The computing node is configured to perform a task involving the electronic asset, and the attestation of the representation of the identity, in response to receiving a task request from the owner node or the authorized user node, and securely control the electronic asset.”, [040] “Such a software application may allow users to share and trade NFTs temporarily for a certain period of time, or, if desired, at regularly scheduled times, giving a party possessing the NFT access to said permissions for a time, at an owner's discretion, through the use of predetermined smart contracts.” Further see [047]) and [0048] Continuing with the vehicle rental/lending embodiment above, the associated smart contract may be configured to enforce various restrictions on use of the vehicle. These may be restrictions based on time, geography, location, financial criteria, behavioral criteria, perquisites and/or amenities relating to the vehicle, and geofencing, etc.);
causing the distributed ledger system to:
mint a rental NFT for the rentable item, the rental NFT defining the plurality of time durations ([006] “The method further includes registering the bound representation of the identity and the asset NFT on a blockchain associated with the electronic asset.” [015] “The registration node is configured to register the asset NFT with the attestation of the representation of the identity on a blockchain. The computing node is configured to perform a task involving the electronic asset, and the attestation of the representation of the identity, in response to receiving a task request from the owner node or the authorized user node, and securely control the electronic asset.”, [040] “Such a software application may allow users to share and trade NFTs temporarily for a certain period of time, or, if desired, at regularly scheduled times, giving a party possessing the NFT access to said permissions for a time, at an owner's discretion, through the use of predetermined smart contracts.” Further see [047]) and [0048] Continuing with the vehicle rental/lending embodiment above, the associated smart contract may be configured to enforce various restrictions on use of the vehicle. These may be restrictions based on time, geography, location, financial criteria, behavioral criteria, perquisites and/or amenities relating to the vehicle, and geofencing, etc.); and
assign the rental NFT to the owner of the rentable item ([0057] Embodiments thus build upon the four-tier paradigm described above by including various features. Such features include the ID NFT, introduced hereinabove, being configured to link with a specific asset NFT to establish accountability for the asset NFT. As such, either the owner or an authorized user (which authorized user may also be a proprietor or a claimant) may be registered as being in control of the asset NFT at a given time. Such features further include the various permissions granted through the software application and being afforded to an authorized user (or claimant, or proprietor, or owner, as the case may be) who has possession of the asset NFT…Such features may further include the asset NFT being configured by the software application to afford the owner full control of an asset NFT, allowing the owner of an asset to revoke or re-assume control of the asset NFT from another authorized user (or claimant, or proprietor) at any time, and to set a schedule or a specific amount of time for which an authorized user (or claimant, or proprietor) may access the asset NFT.” See also [0117]);
listing the rentable item for rent ([0102] At step 901, a node (not shown) may request to import an item into, e.g., system 800 (described hereinabove with respect to FIG. 8), which may be a BES (not shown). At step 902, the system may determine what type of asset is being put into the system. At this point, the system may determine whether the item is, for example, a metaverse object, a non-metaverse digital object, or a physical object. [0125] At step 1201, a receiving node (not shown) may input a description of a desired asset NFT being sought after in a marketplace. See also [0111]);
receiving a request from a rent applicant to rent the rentable item for a first set of one or more time durations in the plurality of time durations ([0125] At step 1201, a receiving node (not shown) may input a description of a desired asset NFT being sought after in a marketplace. At step 1202, the receiving node may set parameters or defined filters, which may be node-defined filters, on preferences of an asset and node specifications they are searching for.);
in response to the request to rent the rentable item, causing the distributed ledger system to:
mint a rental NFTs associated with a time duration in the first set of time durations ([057] “ an asset NFT for a real estate property including such a smart home may be minted by the software application with permissions to enter the home through a smart lock, permissions to use a vehicle charging station that may be present on the property, and other potential smart home features of the property.” Further see [039, 077]);
assign the rental NFTs to the rent applicant ([057] “ In an example from the context of a smart home environment established hereinabove, an asset NFT for a real estate property including such a smart home may be minted by the software application with permissions to enter the home through a smart lock, permissions to use a vehicle charging station that may be present on the property, and other potential smart home features of the property. Such features may further include the asset NFT being configured by the software application to afford the owner full control of an asset NFT, allowing the owner of an asset to revoke or re-assume control of the asset NFT from another authorized user (or claimant, or proprietor) at any time, and to set a schedule or a specific amount of time for which an authorized user (or claimant, or proprietor) may access the asset NFT.” Further see [039, 045]);
burn the rental NFT ([0108] At step 927, the system will record the “burning” facts. These may include all original transactions involving the NFT, data attached to the NFT, or any other relevant information. At step 928, the system may burn the NFT. Note that this feature may allow NFTs to be updated to new standards as they are available while maintaining the integrity of the asset by never having more than one NFT representing the item at one time.” [0111] “. At step 943, the node may determine whether to burn the original NFT.” [0112] “At step 944, the system may record the “burning” facts (similar to step 927). At step 945, the system may burn the item.” ); and
providing a confirmation of the renting of the rentable item for the first set of time durations to the rent applicant and to the owner of the rentable item ([0125] “At step 1210, all transacting nodes on both sides of a smart contract may agree on smart contract(s) and confirm a transaction.”).
Wells discloses a method and system for registering an asset in a blockchain in order to manage and control access to the asset, such as providing access for renting the asset (039). Wells discloses minting a rental NFT representative of the asset that allows access for a time duration, however fails to disclose mining one or more child rental NFTs related to the asset.
Wells does not explicitly disclose:
a first set of one or more child rental NFTs;
mint a first set of one or more child rental NFTs, each child rental NFT in the first set of child rental NFTs associated with a time duration in the first set of time durations;
mint a second set of one or more child rental NFTs for the rentable item for a second set of time durations in the plurality of time durations, wherein the second time durations other than the first set of time durations; assign the second set of child rental NFTs to the owner of the rentable item.
However, Barlow which is similarly is directed to registering an asset in a blockchain in order to manage such an asset, further teaches:
a first set of one or more child rental NFTs ([076] “Once the parent tokens are generated, the property conversion software can then generate child tokens, which reflect a subset of rights associated with the parent tokens… In the above example, the child tokens could comprise the… right of occupancy for a period of three months, or it may comprise a right to digitally display the property for a limited time or on a specific platform.”)
mint a first set of one or more child rental NFTs, each child rental NFT in the first set of child rental NFTs associated with a time duration in the first set of time durations ([0075] Referring now to FIG. 3B, which is a continuation from FIG. 3A, the property conversion software can then mint or generate a parent token 88 for the rights to be conveyed associated with the parent token. A parent token can be any token that conveys a broad property right, such as, …a right of occupancy on the property or a right to digitally display the property. [0076] Once the parent tokens are generated, the property conversion software can then generate child tokens, which reflect a subset of rights associated with the parent tokens…the child tokens could comprise the… right of occupancy for a period of three months…It will be understood by those of skill in the art that a smart contract is generated at the time the various tokens are minted / generated. [0077] At this point, a property management contract is created 92 that places the property under the control of a governing entity as has been previously discuss in connection with FIGS. 1 and 2. The property management contract is then sent for recordation 96 as previously discussed. [0078] The parent and child tokens can then be listed on the equity conversion computer 12 for public viewing. It should be noted that not all of the minted tokens need to be listed. For example, the seller may only want to offer child tokens for sale.);
mint a second set of one or more child rental NFTs for the rentable item for a second set of time durations in the plurality of time durations, wherein the second time durations other than the first set of time durations; assign the second set of child rental NFTs to the owner of the rentable item ([0075] Referring now to FIG. 3B, which is a continuation from FIG. 3A, the property conversion software can then mint or generate a parent token 88 for the rights to be conveyed associated with the parent token. A parent token can be any token that conveys a broad property right, such as, …a right of occupancy on the property or a right to digitally display the property. [0076] Once the parent tokens are generated, the property conversion software can then generate child tokens, which reflect a subset of rights associated with the parent tokens…the child tokens could comprise the… right of occupancy for a period of three months…It will be understood by those of skill in the art that a smart contract is generated at the time the various tokens are minted / generated. [0077] At this point, a property management contract is created 92 that places the property under the control of a governing entity as has been previously discuss in connection with FIGS. 1 and 2. The property management contract is then sent for recordation 96 as previously discussed. [0078] The parent and child tokens can then be listed on the equity conversion computer 12 for public viewing. It should be noted that not all of the minted tokens need to be listed. For example, the seller may only want to offer child tokens for sale.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filled to modify the system and method in Wells with a