DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Won et al. KR20200012332 published 5 Feb. 2020 as translated by EPO (hereafter Won).
Regarding claim 1, Won teaches an air purifier (Fig 2) comprising:
a first air purification module (lower 100) including a coupling body (250);
a second air purification module (upper 100 in Fig 2) arranged on top of the first air purification module and including a coupling plate (lower portion of module 100 housing surrounding 120 in Fig 2);
a holder (comprising 120) configured to be coupled with the coupling body and arranged between the first air purification module and the second air purification module; and
a rotation member (member comprising 154) configured to be coupled with the coupling plate and arranged between the holder and the first air purification module,
wherein the second air purification module coupled with the rotation member is able to rotate against the first air purification module coupled with the holder (¶7-8).
Regarding claim 2, Won teaches all the limitations of claim 1. Won further teaches wherein the rotation member comprises a rotation body (labeled below) including an opening (labeled below) at a center, and wherein the holder comprises a connection hole (labeled below) connected to the opening, and a holder body (labeled below) enclosing the connection hole and covering a top of the rotation body (as shown in Fig 4).
[AltContent: oval][AltContent: textbox (Holder body)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Opening)][AltContent: textbox (Rotation body)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Connection hole)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
Regarding claim 3, Won teaches all the limitations of claim 2. Won further teaches wherein the rotation member comprises a first circumferential projection (154) protruded upward from the rotation body and extended along circular edges and a second circumferential projection (labeled below) spaced from the first circumferential projection, and wherein the holder comprises a circumferential guider (labeled below) protruded downward from the holder to be inserted between the first circumferential projection and the second circumferential projection.
[AltContent: textbox (Circumferential guider)][AltContent: textbox (Second circumferential projection)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (First circumferential projection)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chu et al. US 2019/0160411 (hereafter Chu).
Regarding claim 1, Chu teaches an air purifier (Fig 2) comprising:
a first air purification module (1) including a coupling body (132);
a second air purification module (2) arranged on top of the first air purification module and including a coupling plate (plate comprising 220 in Fig 10);
a holder (110) configured to be coupled with the coupling body and arranged between the first air purification module and the second air purification module; and
a rotation member (120) configured to be coupled with the coupling plate and arranged between the holder and the first air purification module,
wherein the second air purification module coupled with the rotation member is able to rotate against the first air purification module coupled with the holder (¶95).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 4, the closest prior art is Won KR20200012332 and Chu US 2019/0160411.
Won teaches an air purifier (Fig 2) comprising:
a first air purification module (lower 100) including a coupling body (250);
a second air purification module (upper 100 in Fig 2) arranged on top of the first air purification module and including a coupling plate (lower portion of module 100 housing surrounding 120 in Fig 2);
a holder (comprising 120) configured to be coupled with the coupling body and arranged between the first air purification module and the second air purification module; and
a rotation member (member comprising 154210) configured to be coupled with the coupling plate and arranged between the holder and the first air purification module,
wherein the second air purification module coupled with the rotation member is able to rotate against the first air purification module coupled with the holder (¶7-8).
Chu teaches an air purifier (Fig 2) comprising:
a first air purification module (1) including a coupling body (132);
a second air purification module (2) arranged on top of the first air purification module and including a coupling plate (plate comprising 220 in Fig 10);
a holder (110) configured to be coupled with the coupling body and arranged between the first air purification module and the second air purification module; and
a rotation member (120) configured to be coupled with the coupling plate and arranged between the holder and the first air purification module,
wherein the second air purification module coupled with the rotation member is able to rotate against the first air purification module coupled with the holder (¶95).
The prior art does not teach the rotation member and coupling body as claimed.
Regarding claim 5, the closest prior art is Won KR20200012332 and Chu US 2019/0160411.
Won teaches an air purifier (Fig 2) comprising:
a first air purification module (lower 100) including a coupling body (250);
a second air purification module (upper 100 in Fig 2) arranged on top of the first air purification module and including a coupling plate (lower portion of module 100 housing surrounding 120 in Fig 2);
a holder (comprising 120) configured to be coupled with the coupling body and arranged between the first air purification module and the second air purification module; and
a rotation member (member comprising 154210) configured to be coupled with the coupling plate and arranged between the holder and the first air purification module,
wherein the second air purification module coupled with the rotation member is able to rotate against the first air purification module coupled with the holder (¶7-8).
Chu teaches an air purifier (Fig 2) comprising:
a first air purification module (1) including a coupling body (132);
a second air purification module (2) arranged on top of the first air purification module and including a coupling plate (plate comprising 220 in Fig 10);
a holder (110) configured to be coupled with the coupling body and arranged between the first air purification module and the second air purification module; and
a rotation member (120) configured to be coupled with the coupling plate and arranged between the holder and the first air purification module,
wherein the second air purification module coupled with the rotation member is able to rotate against the first air purification module coupled with the holder (¶95).
The prior art does not teach the rotation member and coupling plate as claimed.
Claims 6-15 depend upon claim 5.
Conclusion
/STEPHEN HOBSON/Examiner, Art Unit 1776