Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement submitted on 11/29/2024 has been considered by the examiner and made of record in the application file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5,15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. (US 20220141695, hereinafter Zhou)
Regarding claim 1, Zhou discloses a measurement processing method, comprising:
measuring, by a terminal, a first signal (Par. 71: Lines 1-5; A PRS enables timing or ranging measurements of a UE based on signals transmitted by a base station; Par. 71: Lines 13-19; The UE receives a PRS and reports a reference signal time difference (RSTD) based on OTDOA measurements to the base station. The base station then uses the RSTD to calculate the position of the UE); and
sending, by the terminal, a first measurement report to a first device or a serving cell of the terminal, wherein; (Par. 71: Lines 13-19; The UE receives a PRS and reports a reference signal time difference (RSTD) based on OTDOA measurements to the base station. The base station then uses the RSTD to calculate the position of the UE):
a measurement quantity for the terminal to measure the first signal comprises at least one of:
a sensing measurement quantity (Par. 71: Lines 13-19; The UE receives a PRS and reports a reference signal time difference (RSTD) based on OTDOA measurements to the base station. The base station then uses the RSTD to calculate the position of the UE; RSTD (delay) is a sensing measurement quantity),
a sensing performance evaluation index, or
a sensing measurement result,
the first signal comprises at least one:
a sensing signal,
a refence signal,
a synchronization signal or
a data signal sent by the serving cell of the terminal or candidate target cells, and the first device comprises at least one of a sensing network function, a sensing network element or a sensing management function (The remaining limitations were given no patentable weight due to the optional language “or”).
Regarding claim 2 as applied to claim 1, Zhou discloses wherein before the terminal measures the first signal, the method comprises:
receiving, by the terminal, first measurement configuration information (Par. 89: Lines 5-11; The base station transmits one or more measurement configurations for the UE),
wherein the first measurement configuration information comprises at least one of:
a measurement object (Par. 89: Lines 5-11; The base station transmits one or more measurement configurations for the UE; The configuration information may include measurement objects);
measurement report configuration information (Par. 89: Lines 5-11; The base station transmits one or more measurement configurations for the UE; The configuration information may include reporting configurations); or
a measurement identity (Par. 89: Lines 5-11; The base station transmits one or more measurement configurations for the UE; The configuration information may include measurement identities).
Regarding claim 3 as applied to claim 2, Zhou discloses wherein: the measurement report configuration information comprises at least one of a reporting method (Par. 68: Lines 24-28;The reporting configuration/CSI reporting setting specifies the report configuration type (periodic, etc.); Measurement configuration incudes a report configuration. The CSI reporting specifies the reporting configuration type. Therefore, the measurement configuration information comprises measurement report configuration information that includes the claimed reporting method) or a measurement content to be reported by the terminal (No patentable weight give due to the optional language “or”);
the measurement content comprises at least one of: a communication index, a sensing performance evaluation index, a sensing measurement quantity, or a sensing result (No patentable weight given due to the limitation not being relied upon due to optional language “or”);
the reporting method comprises periodic reporting (Par. 68: Lines 24-28;The reporting configuration/CSI reporting setting specifies the report configuration type (periodic, etc.); Measurement configuration incudes a report configuration. The CSI reporting specifies the reporting configuration type. Therefore, the measurement configuration information comprises measurement report configuration information that includes the claimed reporting method) or measurement event triggered reporting (No patentable weight given due to the limitation not being relied upon due to optional language “or”); and
when the reporting method comprises the measurement event triggered reporting, the first measurement configuration information further comprises a first measurement event (No patentable weight given due to the limitation not being relied upon due to optional language “or”).
Regarding claim 4 as applied to claim 3, claim 4 further limits the non-elected conditional branch of claim 3 directed to the reporting method comprising measurement event-triggered reporting. Because no patentable weight is being given to the branch in the rejection of claim 3, claim 4 is being given no patentable weight.
Regarding claim 5, Zhou discloses a measurement processing method, comprising:
receiving, by a second device, a first measurement report or a second measurement report, wherein the first measurement report is obtained by a terminal measuring a first signal (Par. 71: Lines 13-19; The UE receives a PRS and reports a reference signal time difference (RSTD) based on OTDOA measurements to the base station. The base station then uses the RSTD to calculate the position of the UE), and the second measurement report is obtained by a third device measuring a second signal (No patentable weight given due to optional language “or”),
wherein:
a measurement quantity for the terminal to measure the first signal or a measurement quantity for the third device to measure the second signal comprises at least one of: a sensing measurement quantity (Par. 71: Lines 13-19; The UE receives a PRS and reports a reference signal time difference (RSTD) based on OTDOA measurements to the base station. The base station then uses the RSTD to calculate the position of the UE; RSTD (delay) is a sensing measurement quantity), a sensing performance evaluation index, or a sensing measurement result (No patentable weight given due to optional language “or”);
the first signal comprises at least one of a sensing signal, a reference signal (Par. 71: Lines 13-19; The UE receives a PRS and reports a reference signal time difference (RSTD) based on OTDOA measurements to the base station. The base station then uses the RSTD to calculate the position of the UE; PRS is a reference signal), a synchronization signal, or a data signal sent by a serving cell of the terminal or candidate target cells; or the second signal comprises at least one of a sensing signal, a reference signal, a synchronization signal, or a data signal sent by the terminal (No patentable weight given due to optional language “or”); and
the second device comprises a first device, and the first device comprises at least one of a sensing network function, a sensing network element and a sensing management function (No patentable weight given due to optional language “or”), or the second device is associated with the serving cell of the terminal (Par. 71: Lines 13-19; The UE receives a PRS and reports a reference signal time difference (RSTD) based on OTDOA measurements to the base station. The base station then uses the RSTD to calculate the position of the UE; The second device (base station) is associated with the serving cell of the terminal).
Regarding claim 15 as applied to claim 5, Zhou discloses sending, by the second device, first measurement configuration information (Par. 89: Lines 5-11; The base station transmits one or more measurement configurations for the UE) or second measurement configuration information (No patentable weight given due to optional language “or”),
wherein the first measurement configuration information or the second measurement configuration information comprises at least one of:
a measurement object (Par. 89: Lines 5-11; The base station transmits one or more measurement configurations for the UE; The configuration information may include measurement objects);
measurement report configuration information (Par. 89: Lines 5-11; The base station transmits one or more measurement configurations for the UE; The configuration information may include reporting configurations);
or a measurement identity (Par. 89: Lines 5-11; The base station transmits one or more measurement configurations for the UE; The configuration information may include measurement identities).
Regarding claim 16 as applied to claim 15, the rejection of claim 3 addresses the limitations presented in claim 16. Therefore, the limitations of claim 16 have been addressed.
Regarding claim 17 as applied to claim 16, the rejection of claim 4 addresses the limitations presented in claim 17. Therefore, the limitations of claim 17 have been addressed.
Regarding claim 18 as applied to claim 16, claim 18 further limits the non-elected conditional branch of claim 16 directed to the reporting method comprising measurement event-triggered reporting. Because no patentable weight is being given to the branch in the rejection of claim 16, claim 18 is being given no patentable weight.
Regarding claim 19, the rejection of claim 1 addresses the limitations of claim 19. Therefore, the limitations of claim 19 have been addressed. A device capable of performing the recited function necessarily includes a processor and a memory.
Regarding claim 20 as applied to claim 19, the rejection of claim 2 addresses the limitations presented in claim 20. Therefore, the limitations of claim 20 have been addressed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. (US 20220141695, hereinafter Zhou) in view of Jokela et al. (CN 111727625, hereinafter Jokela)
Regarding claim 6 as applied to claim 4, Zhou does not disclose determining, by the second device, whether to initiate switching according to the first measurement report or the second measurement report; and
determining, by the second device, at least one candidate target cell performing sensing when it is determined to initiate switching.
Jokela, however, discloses determining, by the second device, whether to initiate switching according to the first measurement report (Page 8: Lines 27-29; The UE sends a measurement report to the serving access node, and the serving access node uses that report to begin the conditional handover procedure by preparing the target cell) or the second measurement report (No patentable weight being given due to the optional language “or”); and
determining, by the second device, at least one candidate target cell when it is determined to initiate switching (Page 8: Lines 27-20 and Lines 36-38; After initiating conditional handover, the service access node defines one or more candidate target cells and sends a conditional handover request to those candidate target cells).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhao in view of the Jokela so that, after receiving the sensing measurement report, the network determines whether to initiate switching and determines one or more candidate target cells for the switching procedure as taught by the Jokela, thereby enabling the sensing operation performed by the source cell to be transferred to the selected target cell during handover, maintaining continuity of the sensing service while reducing interruptions associated with cell switching.
Regarding claim 7 as applied to claim 6, Zhou does not disclose wherein determining, by the second device, at least one candidate target cell performing sensing comprises:
determining, by the second device, at least one candidate target cell performing sensing according to first information,
wherein the first information comprises at least one of:
position information of candidate target cells;
orientation information of antenna panels of candidate target cells;
sensing capability information of candidate target cells;
information of resources of candidate target cells available for sensing at present; or
channel state information of candidate target cells.
Jokela, however, discloses determining, by the second device, at least one candidate target cell performing sensing according to first information,
wherein the first information comprises at least one of:
position information of candidate target cells;
orientation information of antenna panels of candidate target cells;
sensing capability information of candidate target cells;
information of resources of candidate target cells available for sensing at present; or
channel state information of candidate target cells (Page 8: Lines 27-38; The measurement report includes CSI-RS beam information and RS index measurements associated with candidate target cells, and the serving access node forwards RS index measurements for the candidate handover target cell during conditional handover).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to determine the candidate target cells according to CSI-RS beam information and RS index measurements associated with the candidate target cells, as taught by the Jokela, because such information provides channel state information for selecting suitable target cells during conditional handover, thereby improving the reliability and success of the switching procedure.
Regarding claim 8 as applied to claim 7, Zhou discloses Zhou discloses a sensing measurement processing method as detailed in the rejection of the previous claims, including measuring a sensing signal, determining a sensing measurement quantity or sensing measurement result, and transmitting the sensing measurement result in a measurement report. However, Zhou does not disclose sending, by the second device, first request information to at least one candidate target cell, wherein the first request information is used for requesting at least one candidate target cell,
wherein the first request information comprises at least one of:
a soft handover request;
a sensing demand;
a sensing Quality of Service (QoS);
a sensing measurement quantity;
a sensing measurement result;
a sensing condition;
sensing target or sensing area prior information; or
a decision condition for deciding that sensing mode switching succeeds.
Jokela, however, discloses sending, by the second device, first request information to at least one candidate target cell, wherein the first request information is used for requesting at least one candidate target cell (Page 8: Lines 36-38; The serving access node sends a condition switching request message to a candidate handover target cell, wherein the message comprises an RS index measurement for the candidate handover target cell),
wherein the first request information comprises at least one of:
a soft handover request;
a sensing demand;
a sensing Quality of Service (QoS);
a sensing measurement quantity;
a measurement result (Page 8: Lines 36-38; The serving access node sends a condition switching request message to a candidate handover target cell, wherein the message comprises an RS index measurement for the candidate handover target cell; RS index measurements and measurement information contained in the request message are measurement results; The remaining limitations were given no patentable weight due to the optional language “or”);
a sensing condition;
sensing target or sensing area prior information; or
a decision condition for deciding that sensing mode switching succeeds.
Jokela discloses sending first request information to a candidate target cell, wherein the first request information comprises a measurement result but does not disclose sending first request information to a candidate target cell to perform sensing, wherein the first request information comprises a sensing measurement result.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the measurement processing method of Zhou to include the request messaging of Jokela such that sensing measurement information may be included in a request message sent to a candidate target cell. Doing so would enable the candidate target cell to receive measurement information when preparing for a potential handover, thereby improving mobility management while utilizing sensing measurement information within the request.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. (US 20220141695, hereinafter Zhou) in view of Jokela et al. (CN 111727625, hereinafter Jokela) in further view of Zhao et al. (CN 114125816, hereinafter Zhao)
Regarding claim 9 as applied to claim 8, Zhou in view of Jokela discloses sending, by the second device, information to candidate target cells performing sensing, as detailed in the rejection of claim 8. However, Zhou in view of Jokela does not disclose sending, by the second device, first indicator information to the serving cell, wherein the second device is the first device;
or
sending, by the second device, first indicator information to the first device, wherein the second device is associated with the serving cell of the terminal,
wherein the first indicator information is used for indicating that at least one candidate target cell performs sensing.
Zhao, however, discloses obtaining a cell capability indication message from system information, wherein the indication message conveys capability information of the cell that is used to determine whether the cell satisfies a desired network operation or switching requirement (Page 5: Lines 13-14; The cell capability indication message determines whether the cell satisfies a switching requirement; Sib2 can be used for cell capability indication).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the measurement processing method of Zhou in view of Jokela to further transmit indicator information conveying the capability or operational status of the candidate target cells, as taught by Zhao, so that the serving device can communicate that the candidate target cells selected for the conditional handover are configured to perform sensing, thereby allowing the receiving entity to identify the sensing-capable candidate target cells while improving coordination during the handover procedure.
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. (US 20220141695, hereinafter Zhou) in view of Jokela et al. (CN 111727625, hereinafter Jokela) in further view of Selvaganapathy et al. (CN 114258701, hereinafter Selva)
Regarding claim 10 as applied to claim 8, Zhou in view of Jokela discloses sending, by the second device, first request information to at least one candidate target cell to perform sensing, as detailed in the rejection of claim 8. However, Zhou in view of Jokela does not disclose receiving, by the second device, first refusal information, wherein the first refusal information is used for indicating that the device which sends the first refusal information does not perform sensing.
Selva, however, discloses receiving, by the second device, first refusal information, wherein the first refusal information is used for indicating that the device which sends the first refusal information does not perform the requested operation (Page 4: Lines 24–26; After receiving the handover preparation request, the target BS sends a reject message to the source BS to reject the handover preparation request; The reject message constitutes refusal information indicating that the target BS declines the requested operation.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the measurement processing method of Zhou in view of Jokela to further receive refusal information from the candidate target cell, as taught by Selva, such that the second device is informed when the requested candidate target cell declines to participate in the requested sensing operation, thereby allowing the second device to select another suitable candidate target cell and improving the reliability of the sensing handover procedure.
Regarding claim 11 as applied to claim 8, Zhou in view of Jokela discloses sending, by the second device, first request information to at least one candidate target cell to perform sensing, as detailed in the rejection of claim 8. However, Zhou in view of Jokela does not disclose receiving, by the second device, first response information, wherein the first response information is used for indicating that the device which sends the first response information agrees to perform sensing.
Selva, however, discloses receiving, by the second device, first response information, wherein the first response information is used for indicating that the device which sends the first response information agrees to perform the requested operation (Page 4: Lines 24–26; After receiving the handover preparation request, the target BS sends an acknowledgement to the source BS to accept the handover preparation request; The acknowledgement constitutes response information indicating that the target BS agrees to perform the requested operation).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the measurement processing method of Zhou in view of Jokela to further receive response information from the candidate target cell, as taught by Selva, such that the second device is informed that the requested candidate target cell agrees to participate in the requested sensing operation, thereby improving coordination and reliability during the sensing handover procedure.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. (US 20220141695, hereinafter Zhou) in view of Jokela et al. (CN 111727625, hereinafter Jokela) in further view of Selvaganapathy et al. (CN 114258701, hereinafter Selva) in further view of Spapis et al. (WO 2022106019, hereinafter Spapis)
Regarding claim 12 as applied to claim 11, Zhou in view of Jokela in further view of Selva discloses receiving, by the second device, first response information indicating that the candidate target cell agrees to perform sensing, as detailed in the rejection of claim 11. However, Zhou in view of Jokela in further view of Selva does not disclose determining, by the second device, at least one target cell of the candidate target cells as a cell performing sensing after switching according to the first response information, and sending, by the second device, a switching command to the target cell, wherein the switching command comprises second parameter configuration information.
Spapis, however, discloses transmitting, by the source base station, a handover request message to a target base station (Par. 127: Lines; The source base station transmits a handover request message to the target base station). The source base station first determines a Conditional Handover (CHO) candidate cell list, wherein "the CHO candidate cell list includes all candidate cells for this CHO handover determined by the source base station" (Par. 127: Lines 1-11; The handover request includes a CHO candidate cell list determined by the source base station). Spapis further discloses transmitting the handover request message to the target base station and receiving a handover request acknowledgment message from the target base station (Par. 118: Lines 7-8; The source base station received the handover acknowledgment from the targe base station). The handover request message further includes the CHO candidate cell list, CHO execution condition(s), and CHO configuration information (Par. 127: Lines 2-6; The handover request message includes a CHO candidate cellist, a CHO execution condition(s), a CHO configuration information and/or a time from the CHO configuration to a latest or immediate handover command (second parameter configuration information)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the measurement processing method of Zhou in view of Jokela, further in view of Selva, to additionally employ the conditional handover procedure of Spapis by determining, from the candidate target cells identified during the switching procedure, the acknowledged target cell according to the received response information and transmitting a handover request containing CHO configuration information to that target cell. Doing so would prepare the selected target cell for the post-switch operation while providing the configuration information needed to complete the handover. Because Zhou teaches that the operation being transferred is the sensing operation, the selected target cell becomes the cell performing sensing after switching, thereby improving continuity and reliability of sensing during mobility procedures.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. (US 20220141695, hereinafter Zhou) in view of Jokela et al. (CN 111727625, hereinafter Jokela) in further view of Selvaganapathy et al. (CN 114258701, hereinafter Selva) in further view of Wang et al. (EP 3592037, hereinafter Wang)
Regarding claim 13 as applied to claim 11, Zhou in view of Jokela in further view of Selva discloses receiving, by the second device, first response information, wherein the first response information is used for indicating that the device which sends the first response information agrees to perform sensing, as detailed in the rejection of claim 11. However, Zhou in view of Jokela in further view of Selva does not disclose wherein the first response information comprises first parameter configuration information, wherein the first parameter configuration information comprises at least one of parameter information of the first signal or the second signal, or resource information of the first signal or the second signal.
Wang, however, discloses wherein the first response information comprises first parameter configuration information, wherein the first parameter configuration information comprises at least one of parameter information of the first signal or the second signal, or resource information of the first signal or the second signal (Col.3: Par. 21-43; The second network device sends a response message to the first network device indicating that it accepts the request of the first request message, wherein the response message includes a configuration parameter used by the second network device to configure a Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) entity of the terminal device and configuration parameters used to configure communication functions corresponding to the second network device).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the measurement processing method of Zhou in view of Jokela and Selva to further include the response message of Wang such that, when the candidate target device accepts the request, the response message also conveys configuration parameter information to the requesting device. Doing so provides the requesting device with the configuration information necessary to prepare the target device for the subsequent communication and sensing operation, thereby improving coordination during the handover procedure
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. (US 20220141695, hereinafter Zhou) in view of Jokela et al. (CN 111727625, hereinafter Jokela) in further view of Selvaganapathy et al. (CN 114258701, hereinafter Selva) in further view of Spapis et al. (WO 2022106019, hereinafter Spapis) in further view of Hu et al. (WO 2022032687, hereinafter Hu)
Regarding claim 14 as applied to claim 12, Zhou in view of Jokela in further view of Selva in further view of Spapis discloses determining a target cell performing sensing after switching and sending a switching command to the target cell, as detailed in the rejection of claim 12. However, Zhou in view of Jokela in further view of Selva in further view of Spapis does not disclose wherein the second information comprises at least one of: part or all of historical sensing measurement quantities, part or all of historical sensing results, or sensing target or sensing area prior information.
Hu, however, wherein the second information comprises historical information (Page 13: Lines 15-16; The source network device carries movement history information of the terminal in the handover request message),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhou in view of Jokela in further view of Selva in further view of Spapis to further include transmitting previously recorded movement history information from the source network device to the target network device during the handover procedure, as taught by Hy, so that historical information associated with the terminal device is preserved and made available to the target network device following handover. Because Zhou already teaches that the transferred operation is a sensing operation, providing previously recorded historical information to the target network device would facilitate continuity of the sensing operation after switching while improving the accuracy and reliability of mobility management.
Conclusion
/FABIAN BOTELLO/Examiner, Art Unit 2648
/WESLEY L KIM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2648