DETAILED ACTION
Remarks
This action is in response to the applicant’s response filed 22 December 2025, which is in response to the USPTO office action mailed 4 September 2025. Claims 1-5 and 14 are amended. Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Response to Arguments
With respect to the 35 USC §103 rejections of claims 1-20, the applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but have not been deemed persuasive.
First, the applicant argues “According to the Office Action, the motivation to combine Correa and Selvaggi is to improve the effectiveness of announcements and the ease of making announcements. Paragraph [0049] of Selvaggi is cited for this motivation. Although Selvaggi does discuss improving effectiveness and ease of announcements, paragraph [0049] discusses this motivation in connection with preparing ‘frequent types of announcements.’ This motivation is completely contrary to the automated name calling system of Correa. In Correa, the field of the invention, more specifically column 1, lines 7-13, indicates that the automated name calling system is used for reading a student's name at an event such as a graduation ceremony. This type of special event only happens a few times a year. Further, calling a student's name at a graduation ceremony is certainly not a ‘frequent type of announcement’ as a student will likely only graduate from an institution once. Thus, the motivation provided by paragraph [0049] of Selvaggi as cited in the Office Action is inapplicable to the automated name calling system of Correa.” (Remarks, pg. 6). Respectfully, this argument is not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
In this case, Correa discloses providing a human reader with a name pronunciation via a headset (Correa, [Col. 4 Lines 37-40]). The examiner interprets this reads on “outputting the named user audio via audio playback over an electronic audio speaker” (e.g. claim 1 lines 8-9). As noted in the rejection Correa does not explicitly teach an audio file. However, Selvaggi discloses a database which stores a speech recording of a person speaking a preferred name (Selvaggi, [0046]). The examiner interprets the speech recording stored in the database is an audio file. The combination of Correa with Selvaggi provides the reader with the speech recording of the preferred name in order to assist in the pronunciation. This combination would have been desirable because this both improves the effectiveness of announcements and the ease of making the announcements (Selvaggi, [0049]). Note also, the examiner interprets that, within the context of a graduation ceremony, the calling of student’s names is a “frequent type of announcement” because, in general, many names will be called during the course of the ceremony. Therefore, this argument is not persuasive.
Next, the applicant argues “There is no reason to combine the announcement system of Selvaggi with the automated name calling system of Correa. As explained by column 4, lines 37-40 of Correa, providing the reader with the pronunciation of the student’s name over the headset 68 aids the reader in reading name of the student aloud. In all embodiments of Correa, a human speaker is included such that the speaker reads the name of each student aided by various components of the automated name calling system such as the display 64 and the headset 68. Using an announcement system to play a synthesized speech version of a person’s name, such as that disclosed in Selvaggi, would be contrary to the purpose of Correa. As explained previously, Correa maintains the use of a live speaker during special events and aids that person by helping the speaker improve the pronunciation of student’s names. Eliminating the speaker altogether in favor of outputting an audio file via audio playback over an electronic audio speaker would not have been obvious in view of the cited references. Further, there is no motivation to combine Correa and Selvaggi because one of ordinary skill in the art would not look at an announcement system playing ‘frequent types of announcement(s)’ to modify an aid system provided to a live speaker at a graduation ceremony.” (Remarks, pg. 7).
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
In this case, Correa discloses providing a reader with a name pronunciation via a headset (Correa, [Col. 4 Lines 37-40]). Selvaggi discloses a database which stores a speech recording of a person speaking a preferred name (Selvaggi, [0046]). The combination of Correa with Selvaggi provides the reader with the speech recording of the preferred name via the headset in order to assist in the reader’s pronunciation, rather than eliminating the reader altogether as argued. Accordingly, this argument is not persuasive.
Last, the applicant argues “Accordingly, the proposed modification changes the principle of operation of Correa. Pursuant to MPEP § 2143.01(VI), if the proposed modification of Correa changes the principle of operation thereof, a prima facie case of obviousness has not been established. Here, amended claim 1 is directed to ‘outputting the named user audio file via audio playback over an electronic audio speaker.’ The Office Action proposed modifying an automated name calling system using a human speaker with a public announcement system. However, this combination of references would require ‘substantial reconstruction and redesign of the elements’ of Correa and ‘change the basic principle under which the [Correa] construction was designed to operate.’ In re Ratti, 270 F.2d 810, 813 (C.C.P.A. 1959). As explained previously, Correa was designed to operate via providing aid to a human speaker. Elimination of the human speaker such that an electronic announcement system announces student’s names during a graduation ceremony changes the basic principle of operation and would require substantial redesign of Correa’s automated name calling system.” (Remarks, pg. 7).
In response to applicant's argument that the proposed modification changes the principle of operation of Correa, the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981).
As noted above, the combination of Correa with Selvaggi provides the reader with the speech recording of the preferred name via the headset in order to assist in the reader’s pronunciation, rather than eliminating the reader altogether as argued. Therefore, the combination of references would not require “substantial reconstruction and redesign of the elements” of Correa nor “change the basic principle under which the [Correa] construction was designed to operate”, because the combination merely plays the speech recording via the headset rather than eliminating the human speaker. Accordingly, this argument is not persuasive.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a user code generation subsystem”, “a named user audio presentation subsystem” and “a named user visual presentation subsystem” in claim 18, “an on-spot interface computer system comprising a named user information entry computer” in claim 19,.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 7 and 9 recite the limitation “and/or” (e.g. claim 7 line 3). It is unclear to the examiner which limitations are required or optional. The claims are rendered indefinite due to this lack of clarity. Note, the dependent claims are also rejected because they do not remedy the deficiencies inherited by their parent claim. Appropriate action is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7-14 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Correa et al., US 10,762,404 B1 (hereinafter “Correa” – as cited in the IDS filed 25 July 2025) in view of SELVAGGI, US 2021/0350784 A1 (hereinafter “Selvaggi”).
Claim 1: Correa teaches a method of outputting audio for one or more named users, comprising carrying out the following steps automatically using an audio presentation system:
receiving a named user code (Correa, [Col. 2 Lines 65-66] note a name calling ceremony such as a graduation, [Col. 3 Lines 24-28] note clothing accessories 28 may further include a QR code 30 which can be scanned by a user's electronic device such as phones, tablets, and the like. When said QR code 30 is scanned by said user, the information stored within RFID tag 26 is made available to said user; i.e. an RFID tag and a QR read on a named user codes, [Fig. 5] note 120, [Col. 4 lines 27-31] note In scanning step 120, said user begins walking to a platform of said name calling ceremony. Before said user walks the platform to have their name called, said user's RFID tag 26 is scanned by an RFID reader 22 in the form of a glove 23 or a stationary reader 21; i.e. scanning reads on receiving);
identifying a named user based on the named user code (Correa, [Col. 3 Line 67]-[Col. 4 Lines 1-2] note Once said RFID tag 26 has been scanned, the information stored within said RFID tag 26 is transferred to said podium assembly 60, [Col. 2 Lines 66-67] note RFID tag 26 contains a user's name and academic information);
retrieving a named user audio for the named user; retrieving named user information for the named user (Correa, [Col. 4 Lines 25-32] note RFID tag 26 contains said user's information such as their name and picture. In scanning step 120, said user begins walking to a platform of said name calling ceremony. Before said user walks the platform to have their name called, said user's RFID tag 26 is scanned by an RFID reader 22 in the form of a glove 23 or a stationary reader 21. RFID reader 22 then collects the data stored within said RFID tag 26); and
outputting the named user audio via audio playback over an electronic audio speaker and the named user information for the named user (Correa, [Col. 4 lines 2-6] note The information is displayed on said display 64 of said podium 62 wherein a reader using said podium 62 may read the name of the student presented on the display 64 for the graduation ceremony, [Col. 4 Lines 37-40] note the reader is provided a headset 68 wherein said headset 68 provides the reader with the pronunciation of the names displayed on display 64 to aid the reader in reading aloud names for a name calling ceremony).
Correa does not explicitly teach audio file.
However, Selvaggi teaches this (Selvaggi, [Fig. 1] note speech recording, [0046] note FIG. 1 shows a representation of a person information database 10 and a table 11 that represents records stored within the database… The records are keyed to a Person ID field and include a given name, family name, residence address, citizenship, phonetic pronunciation of a preferred name, and a speech recording of a person speaking the preferred name, among other possible information, [Fig. 8], [0076] note FIG. 8 shows an example of a web browser window 70, which may be shown on a client device being used by the person, for recording a person's spoken name. It shows the person a message 81 instructing them to record their name, [0078] note When the person is satisfied with their recording, they may activate a Done button 86).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application to combine the name pronunciations of Correa with the speech recordings of Selvaggi according to known methods (i.e. providing a speech recording of a name pronunciation). Motivation for doing so is that this both improves the effectiveness of announcements and the ease of making the announcements (Selvaggi, [0049]).
Claim 2: Correa and Selvaggi teach the method of claim 1, wherein the named user code is a quick response (QR) code or other bar code, and wherein the named user code is provided to the named user as a part of a named user code generation process that is used to generate the QR code or other bar code (Correa, [Col. 3 Lines 24-28] note clothing accessories 28 may further include a QR code 30).
Claim 3: Correa and Selvaggi teach the method of claim 2, wherein the named user code is received by using a named user code reader to read a physical representation of the QR code or other bar code (Correa, [Col. 3 Lines 24-28] note clothing accessories 28 may further include a QR code 30 which can be scanned by a user's electronic device such as phones, tablets, and the like).
Claim 4: Correa and Selvaggi teach the method of claim 3, wherein the physical representation of the QR code or other bar code is a display of the QR code or other bar code on a display screen of a named user device, and wherein the named user device is a smartphone, tablet, or other handheld mobile computer (Correa, [Col. 3 Lines 24-28] note clothing accessories 28 may further include a QR code 30 which can be scanned by a user's electronic device such as phones, tablets, and the like).
Claim 5: Correa and Selvaggi teach the method of claim 3, wherein the physical representation of the QR code or other bar code is a hard copy or print-out of the QR code or other bar code (Correa, [Col. 3 Lines 24-28] note clothing accessories 28 may further include a QR code).
Claim 7: Correa and Selvaggi teach the method of claim 1, wherein the named user audio file is initially obtained and stored prior to receiving the named user code, and wherein the named user audio file is generated by the named user through a voice recording provided by the named user and/or by a text-to-speech (TTS) technique that takes an input configured by the named user (Selvaggi, [Fig. 8], [0076] note FIG. 8 shows an example of a web browser window 70, which may be shown on a client device being used by the person, for recording a person's spoken name. It shows the person a message 81 instructing them to record their name, [0078] note When the person is satisfied with their recording, they may activate a Done button 86, [0085] note the system may map the lexical text to a plurality of possible corresponding phoneme sequences).
Claim 8: Correa and Selvaggi teach the method of claim 7, wherein the named user audio file includes automatically-generated speech, wherein the automatically-generated speech is generated based on a language input provided by the user, and wherein the language input is text or spoken words (Selvaggi, [0067] note Any type of pronunciation hint may be used, depending on the embodiment, but non-limiting examples include a geographic identifier such as a country name, an ethnic group, a religious preference, a gender, and a language associated with the person, [0082] note The system may then use pronunciation information generated from the lexical representation of the person's name as its best attempt at generating the proper name pronunciation).
Claim 9: Correa and Selvaggi teach the method of claim 8, wherein the automatically-generated speech is generated based on a language specified by the named user and/or a dialect specified by the named user (Selvaggi, [0067] note Any type of pronunciation hint may be used, depending on the embodiment, but non-limiting examples include a geographic identifier such as a country name, an ethnic group, a religious preference, a gender, and a language associated with the person, [0082] note The system may then use pronunciation information generated from the lexical representation of the person's name as its best attempt at generating the proper name pronunciation).
Claim 10: Correa and Selvaggi teach the method of claim 1, wherein the named user information is information that is to be presented to at a predetermined social event (Correa, [Col. 2 Lines 65-66] note a name calling ceremony such as a graduation).
Claim 11: Correa and Selvaggi teach the method of claim 10, wherein the named user is one of a plurality of named users and each of the plurality of named users has an associated named user audio file and associated named user information (Selvaggi, [Fig. 1], [0046] note FIG. 1 shows a representation of a person information database 10 and a table 11 that represents records stored within the database, which may be suitable for some embodiments. The records are keyed to a Person ID field and include a given name, family name, residence address, citizenship, phonetic pronunciation of a preferred name, and a speech recording of a person speaking the preferred name, among other possible information),
wherein the associated named user audio file for each of the plurality of named users is output via audio playback at the predetermined social event (Correa, [Col. 4 Lines 37-40] note the reader is provided a headset 68 wherein said headset 68 provides the reader with the pronunciation of the names displayed on display 64 to aid the reader in reading aloud names for a name calling ceremony); and
wherein the associated named user information for each of the plurality of named users is output via visual playback at the predetermined social event (Correa, [Col. 4 lines 2-6] note The information is displayed on said display 64 of said podium 62 wherein a reader using said podium 62 may read the name of the student presented on the display 64 for the graduation ceremony).
Claim 12: Correa and Selvaggi teach the method of claim 11, wherein the associated named user audio file and the associated named user information are output for playback at the predetermined social event in a coordinated manner so that the visual playback of the named user information occurs at the same time or within a predetermined amount of time as the audio playback of the named user audio file, and wherein the predetermined amount of time is less than one minute (Correa, [Col. 4 Lines 37-40] note the reader is provided a headset 68 wherein said headset 68 provides the reader with the pronunciation of the names displayed on display 64 to aid the reader in reading aloud names for a name calling ceremony).
Claim 13: Correa and Selvaggi teach the method of claim 10, wherein the named user is one of a plurality of named users and each of the plurality of named users has an associated named user audio file (Selvaggi, [Fig. 1], [0046] note FIG. 1 shows a representation of a person information database 10 and a table 11 that represents records stored within the database, which may be suitable for some embodiments. The records are keyed to a Person ID field and include a given name, family name, residence address, citizenship, phonetic pronunciation of a preferred name, and a speech recording of a person speaking the preferred name, among other possible information), and
wherein the predetermined social event is a graduation ceremony in which each of the plurality of named users has their name read aloud via audio playback of the associated named user audio file (Correa, [Col. 4 Lines 37-40] note the reader is provided a headset 68 wherein said headset 68 provides the reader with the pronunciation of the names displayed on display 64 to aid the reader in reading aloud names for a name calling ceremony).
Claim 14: Correa teaches an automated named user audio presentation system having at least one processor and memory storing computer instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, configure the audio presentation system to carry out the following steps automatically:
receive a named user code (Correa, [Col. 2 Lines 65-66] note a name calling ceremony such as a graduation, [Col. 3 Lines 24-28] note clothing accessories 28 may further include a QR code 30 which can be scanned by a user's electronic device such as phones, tablets, and the like. When said QR code 30 is scanned by said user, the information stored within RFID tag 26 is made available to said user; i.e. an RFID tag and a QR read on a named user codes, [Fig. 5] note 120, [Col. 4 lines 27-31] note In scanning step 120, said user begins walking to a platform of said name calling ceremony. Before said user walks the platform to have their name called, said user's RFID tag 26 is scanned by an RFID reader 22 in the form of a glove 23 or a stationary reader 21; i.e. scanning reads on receiving);
identify a named user based on the named user code (Correa, [Col. 3 Line 67]-[Col. 4 Lines 1-2] note Once said RFID tag 26 has been scanned, the information stored within said RFID tag 26 is transferred to said podium assembly 60, [Col. 2 Lines 66-67] note RFID tag 26 contains a user's name and academic information);
retrieve a named user audio for the named user; retrieve named user information for the named user (Correa, [Col. 4 Lines 25-32] note RFID tag 26 contains said user's information such as their name and picture. In scanning step 120, said user begins walking to a platform of said name calling ceremony. Before said user walks the platform to have their name called, said user's RFID tag 26 is scanned by an RFID reader 22 in the form of a glove 23 or a stationary reader 21. RFID reader 22 then collects the data stored within said RFID tag 26); and
output the named user audio via audio playback over an electronic audio speaker and the named user information for the named user (Correa, [Col. 4 lines 2-6] note The information is displayed on said display 64 of said podium 62 wherein a reader using said podium 62 may read the name of the student presented on the display 64 for the graduation ceremony, [Col. 4 Lines 37-40] note the reader is provided a headset 68 wherein said headset 68 provides the reader with the pronunciation of the names displayed on display 64 to aid the reader in reading aloud names for a name calling ceremony).
Correa does not explicitly teach audio file.
However, Selvaggi teaches this (Selvaggi, [Fig. 1] note speech recording, [0046] note FIG. 1 shows a representation of a person information database 10 and a table 11 that represents records stored within the database… The records are keyed to a Person ID field and include a given name, family name, residence address, citizenship, phonetic pronunciation of a preferred name, and a speech recording of a person speaking the preferred name, among other possible information, [Fig. 8], [0076] note FIG. 8 shows an example of a web browser window 70, which may be shown on a client device being used by the person, for recording a person's spoken name. It shows the person a message 81 instructing them to record their name, [0078] note When the person is satisfied with their recording, they may activate a Done button 86).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application to combine the name pronunciations of Correa with the speech recordings of Selvaggi according to known methods (i.e. providing a speech recording of a name pronunciation). Motivation for doing so is that this both improves the effectiveness of announcements and the ease of making the announcements (Selvaggi, [0049]).
Claim 18: Correa teaches an automated named user audio presentation system, comprising:
a user code generation subsystem configured to generate a unique named user code for each of a plurality of named users, wherein the unique named user code is used to individually identify a named user from the plurality of named users (Note, this limitation is interpreted under 35 USC §112(f) as the processor along with the algorithm disclosed in the specification, Correa, [Col. 2 Lines 63-67]-[Col. 3 Lines 1-3] note RFID tag 26 may be configured to hold personal information of an individual such as a person's name and photo. In one embodiment, RFID assembly 20 is used in a name calling ceremony such as a graduation wherein said RFID tag 26 contains a user's name and academic information. Information may be uploaded to said RFID tag 26 by means of a computer 29, [Col. 3 Lines 23-28] note In yet another embodiment, clothing accessories 28 may further include a QR code 30 which can be scanned by a user's electronic device such as phones, tablets, and the like. When said QR code 30 is scanned by said user, the information stored within RFID tag 26 is made available to said user);
a named user audio presentation subsystem having an electronic audio speaker and configured to receive the named user code or other information uniquely identifying an individual, to obtain a named user audio based on the named user code, and to audibly output a name of each of the plurality of named users through audio playback of the named user audio using the electronic audio speaker (Note, this limitation is interpreted under 35 USC §112(f) as the processor along with the algorithm disclosed in the specification, Correa, [Col. 4 Lines 37-40] note the reader is provided a headset 68 wherein said headset 68 provides the reader with the pronunciation of the names displayed on display 64 to aid the reader in reading aloud names for a name calling ceremony); and
a named user visual presentation subsystem having an electronic display and configured to receive information identifying a particular one of the plurality of named users, to obtain named user information for the particular named user, and to visually output the named user information for the particular named user using the electronic display (Note, this limitation is interpreted under 35 USC §112(f) as the processor along with the algorithm disclosed in the specification, Correa, [Col. 4 lines 2-6] note The information is displayed on said display 64 of said podium 62 wherein a reader using said podium 62 may read the name of the student presented on the display 64 for the graduation ceremony).
Correa does not explicitly teach audio file.
However, Selvaggi teaches this (Selvaggi, [Fig. 1] note speech recording, [0046] note FIG. 1 shows a representation of a person information database 10 and a table 11 that represents records stored within the database… The records are keyed to a Person ID field and include a given name, family name, residence address, citizenship, phonetic pronunciation of a preferred name, and a speech recording of a person speaking the preferred name, among other possible information, [Fig. 8], [0076] note FIG. 8 shows an example of a web browser window 70, which may be shown on a client device being used by the person, for recording a person's spoken name. It shows the person a message 81 instructing them to record their name, [0078] note When the person is satisfied with their recording, they may activate a Done button 86).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application to combine the name pronunciations of Correa with the speech recordings of Selvaggi according to known methods (i.e. providing a speech recording of a name pronunciation). Motivation for doing so is that this both improves the effectiveness of announcements and the ease of making the announcements (Selvaggi, [0049]).
Claim 19: Correa and Selvaggi teach the system of claim 18, further comprising an on-spot interface computer system comprising a named user information entry computer configured for receiving a name from a user and causing registration of the user as one of the plurality of named users (Selvaggi, [Fig. 12] note 121, 123, [0065] note Single systems or separate systems using an agreed database format may enroll people in the database by receiving, from people, a lexical text entry of their name).
Claim 20: Correa and Selvaggi teach the system of claim 18, wherein the named user audio presentation subsystem, the named user visual presentation subsystem, and the on-spot interface computer system are co-located at an event space for a social event in which the name of each of the plurality of named users is to be audibly presented (Correa, [Col. 4 lines 2-6] note The information is displayed on said display 64 of said podium 62 wherein a reader using said podium 62 may read the name of the student presented on the display 64 for the graduation ceremony, [Col. 4 Lines 37-40] note the reader is provided a headset 68 wherein said headset 68 provides the reader with the pronunciation of the names displayed on display 64 to aid the reader in reading aloud names for a name calling ceremony), and
wherein the user code generation subsystem is remotely-located from the event space (Selvaggi, [0069] note a client/server architecture may be used with multiple computers to enroll the person. In some embodiments, a user may interact with a client device, such as a desktop computer, laptop computer, tablet, or smartphone, which communicates over a network with a server computer, [Fig. 12], [0092] note database server 123 responds, through the network, to the terminal 121 by sending a preferred name pronunciation).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Correa and Selvaggi in further view of Shablygin et al., US 2013/0208893 A1 (hereinafter “Shablygin”).
Claim 6: Correa and Selvaggi do not explicitly teach the method of claim 1, wherein the named user audio file is stored with an anonymized filename, and wherein the anonymized filename is generated by encrypting a named user identifier of the named user.
However, Shablygin teaches this (Shablygin, [0057] note prior to acceptance of the data for storage, the data is encrypted 33, The data can be encrypted by an algorithm and/or cryptographic key known only to the party using, for example, one or more of the encryption methods described herein, [0376] note service provider agent 3132 updates the file container adding a new entry in the access control list for the second user. The new entry includes the user's public ID and the permissions granted to the user, as well as the encrypted file encryption key).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application to combine the database records of Correa and Selvaggi with the data encryption of Shablygin according to known methods (i.e. encrypting the data records stored in the database). Motivation for doing so is that Requiring the user to be authenticated can provide the advantage of allowing the user to feel confident that his/her identity cannot be mimicked and that the data will be safe from both internal and external threats (Shablygin, [0055]).
Claims 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Correa and Selvaggi in further view of NAKAYAMA et al., US 2024/0275791 A1 (hereinafter “Nakayama”).
Claim 15: Correa and Selvaggi teach the method of claim 1, wherein the method comprises a named user registration process, and wherein the named user registration process includes:
information pertaining to the named user, wherein the information pertaining to the user is a named user identifier (Selvaggi, [Fig. 7] note enrollment through a web browser window 70, [Fig. 8], [0076] note FIG. 8 shows an example of a web browser window 70, which may be shown on a client device being used by the person, for recording a person's spoken name, [0215] note receiving a registration request from the person; associating the person with the person ID).
Correa and Selvaggi do not explicitly teach generating the named user code for the named user, wherein the named user code is generated based on information pertaining to the named user; and providing the named user code to the named user.
However, Nakayama teaches this (Nakayama, [Fig. 7], [0470] note the registration QR code issuer 37 issues (generates) the registration QR codes for the number of persons instructed in the instruction to issue the registration QR code. The number of registration QR codes issued in this way is determined depending on the number of children, which is information belonging to the school 200, and is not a number determined by the household 210 or a number determined by the point management system 11. As described above, the school ID, class ID, and child ID are embedded in the registration QR code, [0245] note when the group as the person 1092 other than the performer is the school, examples of a person who may be the performer 1091 associated with the school may include graduates of the school).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application to combine the QR codes of Correa and Selvaggi with the registration QR codes of Nakayama according to known methods (i.e. providing a QR code registration system). Motivation for doing so is that by specifying a group to which printed materials are to be distributed, it may be configured such that the number of printed materials is automatically identified (Nakayama, [0150]).
Claim 16: Correa, Selvaggi and Nakayama teach the method of claim 15, wherein the method comprises a named user playback process for a predetermined social event, and wherein the named user playback process includes:
receiving the named user code; identifying the named user based on the named user code; retrieving the named user audio file for the named user; retrieving the named user information for the named user; and outputting the named user audio file and the named user information for the named user (Correa, [Col. 4 lines 2-6] note The information is displayed on said display 64 of said podium 62 wherein a reader using said podium 62 may read the name of the student presented on the display 64 for the graduation ceremony, [Col. 4 Lines 25-32] note RFID tag 26 contains said user's information such as their name and picture. In scanning step 120, said user begins walking to a platform of said name calling ceremony. Before said user walks the platform to have their name called, said user's RFID tag 26 is scanned by an RFID reader 22 in the form of a glove 23 or a stationary reader 21. RFID reader 22 then collects the data stored within said RFID tag 26, [Col. 4 Lines 37-40] note the reader is provided a headset 68 wherein said headset 68 provides the reader with the pronunciation of the names displayed on display 64 to aid the reader in reading aloud names for a name calling ceremony).
Claim 17: Correa, Selvaggi and Nakayama teach the method of claim 15, wherein the named user registration process is performed for each of a plurality of named users including the named user before the named user playback process begins for any of the plurality of named users (Selvaggi, [Fig. 7] note enrollment through a web browser window 70, [Fig. 8], [0076] note FIG. 8 shows an example of a web browser window 70, which may be shown on a client device being used by the person, for recording a person's spoken name, [0215] note receiving a registration request from the person; associating the person with the person ID).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GIUSEPPI GIULIANI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2153