1. This communication in response to application filed 11/29/2024.
Priority
2. Foreign priority filed in this application has been verified and acknowledged by the Examiner.
Allowable Subject Matter
3. Claims 6 and 7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 6 recites “wherein the magnetic element is a second planar voice coil substrate, and the second planar voice coil substrate comprising:
a dielectric layer, having a first surface and a second surface opposite each other;
a first patterned conductive layer, having a first helical coil structure embedded on a side of the dielectric layer adjacent to the first surface, wherein two ends of the first helical coil structure respectively have a first endpoint and a second endpoint;
a first magnetic metal, embedded in the dielectric layer, located on a same level as the first patterned conductive layer, and arranged in the first helical coil structure;
a second patterned conductive layer, having a second helical coil structure embedded on a side of the dielectric layer adjacent to the second surface, wherein two ends of the second helical coil structure respectively have a third endpoint and a fourth endpoint, and a fifth endpoint is arranged on a side of the second helical coil structure and opposite the first endpoint;
a second magnetic metal, embedded in the dielectric layer, located on a same level as the second patterned conductive layer, and arranged in the second helical coil structure of the second patterned conductive layer;
a first conductor, connected between the first endpoint and the fifth endpoint; and
a second conductor, connected between the second endpoint and the third endpoint;
wherein the fourth endpoint and the fifth endpoint each are connected to an externally-and-electrically-connected pad exposed from the second surface of the dielectric layer”.
Claim 7 recites “wherein the first magnetic metal and the second magnetic metal are connected as a whole via a third magnetic metal”.
None of the applied prior arts fairly teach or suggest the limitation of claim 6.
For Example, Fu uses hard magnet 51 as the magnetic element opposite the first plane coil. Second substrate 20 merely supports that hard magnet, it is not another planar voice-coil substrate (see [0045]-[0047]). Fu disclosure of multiple planar coils concerns coils in the vibrating membrane, not a second complete coil substrate replacing the opening hard magnet.
Min teaches multilayer coil patterns and their interlayer connections, but not using a second multilayer voice-coil substrate as the opposing magnetic element.
Yan and Chen both teach multilayer magnetic/coil structures and manufacturing features, but not the claimed arrangement in which that structure serves as the magnetic element opposite the diaphragm mounted first substrate.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FU et al. (Pub.No.: 2022/0340409 A1) in view of Min et al. (2018/0295451 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Fu teaches a planar voice coil substrate, comprising:
a dielectric layer, having a first surface and a second surface opposite each other (reads on multilayer vibrating membrane 30 is a dielectric membrane having opposed major surface, see [0018], [0057] and Fig. 4);
a first patterned conductive layer, having a first helical coil structure embedded on a side of the dielectric layer adjacent to the first surface, wherein two ends of the first helical coil structure respectively have a first endpoint and a second endpoint (the first planar coil layer 31A is embedded in the multilayer vibrating membrane 30; the planar coil may have a helical or spiral structure and is series-connected with another coil layer, see [0056]-[0060] and Figs. 3A and 4);
a first magnetic metal, embedded in the dielectric layer, located on a same level as the first patterned conductive layer, and arranged in the first helical coil structure (reads on first soft-magnet layer 41A is embedded in membrane 30, arranged substantially in the same plane as first coil layer 31A, and may be arranged between or along the coil rings, see [0057]-[0059], [0066] and Fig. 4);
a second patterned conductive layer, having a second helical coil structure embedded on a side of the dielectric layer adjacent to the second surface, wherein two ends of the second helical coil structure respectively have a third endpoint and a fourth endpoint, and a fifth endpoint is arranged on a side of the second helical coil structure and opposite the first endpoint (reads on second planar coil layer 31B is embedded in the multilayer vibrating membrane 30 and forms the second layer of the multilayer, series-connected planner coil, see [0057], [0059] and [0060], in addition to Figs. 3A and 4); and
a second magnetic metal, embedded in the dielectric layer, located on a same level as the second patterned conductive layer, and arranged in the second helical coil structure of the second patterned conductive layer (Fu’s second soft-magnet layer 41B is embedded in membrane 30 and arranged substantially in the same plane as second coil layer 31B, see [0057]-[0060], [0066] and Fig. 4).
Fu further teaches that the two planer coil layers are connected in series and that electrical pads are connected to the electrodes of the coil module (see [0060] and [0065]).
However, Fu does not expressly teach the claimed five-endpoint interconnection arrangement such as “a first conductor, connected between the first endpoint and the fifth endpoint; and a second conductor, connected between the second endpoint and the third endpoint; wherein the fourth endpoint and the fifth endpoint each are connected to an externally-and-electrically-connected pad exposed from the second surface of the dielectric layer”, as recited in claim 1.
Min teaches these limitation and specifically Min teaches a first coil pattern 130A having an outer endpoint connected to first outer via 121 and an inner endpoint connected to inner via 123 (see [0036]), second coil pattern 130B having an inner endpoint connected to the same inner via 123 and an outer endpoint via 122 (see [0037]), first outer via 121 also positioned on the second coil layer opposite the corresponding first outer via of the first coil layer, but not connected to second coil pattern130B (reads on the claimed fifth endpoint (see [0037]). Min also teaches vertically aligned first outer vias 121 connected by interlayer conductor 120 (which reads on the claimed first conductor between the first and fifth endpoints, see [0038], [0047] and [0057]), vertically aligned inner vias 123 connected by interlayer conductor 120 (which reads on the claimed second conductor between the second and third endpoints, see [0036]-[0038] and [0057]) and last Min teaches first and second outer vias 121 and 122 connected to external input terminals 151 and 152 through lead wirings 141 and 142 (which corresponds to the externally electrically connected pads, see [0047] and Fig. 5).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fu’s series-connected multilayer planner coil to employ Min’s vertically aligned via and interlayer-conductor arrangement because Min teaches that this arrangement simplifies the electrical connection between stacked voice-coil layers and permits repeatable multilayer coil construction using a limited number of coil-pattern designs (see Min [0038]- [0040]). Note that the resulting arrangement would include the claimed “first-through-fifth endpoints, first and second conductors, and externally accessible terminal pads”.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of FU and Min teaches wherein a material of the first magnetic metal and/or the second magnetic metal is nickel, an iron- nickel alloy, or an iron-cobalt-nickel alloy (Fu expressly identifies Fe, Co, Ni and their alloys. Preferably NiFe, as the soft-magnet material, see [0019] and [0053]).
Regarding claim 4, Fu in view of Min teaches the planar voice coil substrate and its associated structural and electrical limitations for the same reasons discussed above in the rejection of claim 1. For claim 4, Fu further teaches a
a frame, having a sidewall and a base, wherein the sidewall and the base form an opening and an accommodation space (reads on first substrate 10 includes walls supporting the vibrating membrane 30, while second substrate 20 forms the supporting base; together, the substrates and membrane define air chamber 15 and opening 25, see [0045]- [0047] and Fig. 1);
a diaphragm, disposed in the opening and covering the accommodation space (reads on vibrating membrane 30 supported by first substrate 10 and covers air chamber 15, see [0045]-[0046]);
a first planar voice coil substrate, arranged on a side of the diaphragm relative to the accommodation space and combined with each other in a single continuous unit (reads on planar coil 31 and soft magnets 41 are embedded in, form part of, and move with vibrating membrane 30, see [0046]), and
a magnetic element, arranged opposite to the first planar voice coil substrate in the accommodation space and connected to the base (reads on Fu’s hard magnet 51 being supported by second substrate 20 inside air chamber 15 and is positioned directly underneath and opposite planar coil 31, see [0045] and [0047]).
Note that the first planer voice coil substrate recited in claim 4 has the same dielectric, multilayer coil, magnetic-metal, endpoint, conductor, and external-pad arrangement addressed above in regard to claim 1. Thus, the combination of Fu and Min teaches those repeated limitations for the reasons previously stated.
Claim(s) 2 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FU et al. (Pub.No.: 2022/0340409 A1) in view of Min et al. (2018/0295451 A1) and further in view of Yan et al. (2010/0259352 A1).
The combination of Fu and Min does not specifically teach “wherein the first magnetic metal and the second magnetic metal are connected as a whole via a third magnetic metal” as recited in claims 2 and 5.
However, Yan teaches a multilayer planar coil structure in which a magnetic core extends above, below, and through the center of the coil layer. Yan’s magnetic material fills vertically aligned openings in the upper dielectric, intermediate coil layer, and lower dielectric, such that the upper and lower magnetic portions form a monolithic magnetic core, see Yan [0017], [0021] and [0027]- [0030], particularly [0030] and Figs.2-4.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the indicator when the command originates from a remote user to connect Fu’s first and second soft-magnetic layers with a through-dielectric magnetic portion, as taught by Yan, to provide a continuous low-profile magnetic path through the multilayer coil structure (note that the resulting intermediate magnetic portion corresponds to the claimed third magnetic metal).
Claim(s) 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FU et al. (Pub.No.: 2022/0340409 A1) in view of Min et al. (2018/0295451 A1) and further in view of Chen et al. (2023/0361058 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Fu teaches a manufacturing method for a planar voice coil substrate (reads on method for manufacturing a MEMS planar voice-coil module having embedded multilayer planar coils and soft-magnetic layers, see [0063]- [0066] and Fig. 5), the manufacturing method comprising:
forming a first dielectric layer on the carrier board (Fu spin-coats and cures a PDMS dielectric membrane layer on an oxide-Cu composite membrane supported by a silicone substrate, see [0064] steps 501-508);
forming a first patterned conductive layer on the first dielectric layer, wherein the first patterned conductive layer has a first helical coil structure, and two ends of the first helical coil structure respectively have a first endpoint and a second endpoint (Fu forms first planar coil layer 31Aas a patterned metal coil embedded in the multilayer dielectric membrane. The planar coil may have a helical or spiral structure and is formed through metal deposition, patterning, etching, photolithography, and electroplating, see [0056]-[0059] and [0064], in addition to Figs. 3A, 4 and 5);
forming a first magnetic metal on the first dielectric layer, wherein the first magnetic metal is arranged in the first helical coil structure (Fu forms first NiFe soft magnet layer 41A adjacent to, between, or along the rings of first planar coil layer 31A and substantially at the same level as coil layer 31A, see [0057]- [0059], [0064] and [0066] and Fig. 4);
forming a second dielectric layer to cover the first patterned conductive layer and the first magnetic metal (Fu forms successive dielectric membrane material over the patterned coil and soft-magnet layers to embed and electrically insulate those layers within the multilayer vibrating membrane 30, see [0057]- [0058], [0064] and [0066] and Fig. 4);
forming a second patterned conductive layer on the second dielectric layer, wherein the second patterned conductive layer has a second helical coil structure, two ends of the second helical coil structure respectively have a third endpoint and a fourth endpoint (Fu forms second planar coil layer 31B as the second patterned layer of the multilayer helical or spiral planar coil, see [0056]-[0060] and Fig. 4),
forming a second magnetic metal on the second dielectric layer, wherein the second magnetic metal is arranged in the second helical coil structure (Fi forms second soft-magnet layer 41B, which corresponds to second coil layer 31B and positioned substantially at the same level as second coil layer 31B, see [0057]- [0060], [0066] and Fig. 4);
forming a third dielectric layer to cover the second patterned conductive layer and the second magnetic metal (Fu embeds coil layer 31B and soft-magnet layer 41B within multilayer dielectric membrane 30 and forms a protective dielectric layer over the coil and magnetic layers, see [0057]-[0058], [0064], [0066] and Fig. 4);
forming, an externally-and-electrically connected pad connected to the electrodes of the planar coil (Fu provides a pad extending through the supporting board and electrically connects the pad to the electrodes of the coil module, see [0065], steps 514-515).
However, Fu does not expressly teach “forming a first conductor connected to the first endpoint and forming a second conductor connected to the second endpoint in the second dielectric layer”, “the third endpoint is connected to the second conductor”, “fifth endpoint is arranged on a side of the second helical coil structure and connected to the first conductor”, “forming, an externally-and-electrically connected pad at, and exposed from, the third dielectric layer with the claimed fourth-and fifth-endpoint connections” and “removing the carrier board”.
Min teaches the missing endpoint and conductor arrangement, specifically teaches a first coil pattern 130A having an outer endpoint connected to first outer via 121 and an inner endpoint connected to inner via 123 (see [0036]), a second coil pattern 130B having an inner endpoint connected to the same inner via 123 and an outer endpoint connected to second outer via 122 (see [0037]), first outer via 121 also positioned at the side of the second coil layer opposite the first coil’s outer endpoint, but not connected to second coil pattern 130B (this corresponds to the claimed fifth endpoint, see [0037])’ interlayer conductor 120 extending through first outer via 121 (this corresponds to the claimed first conductor between the first endpoint and fifth endpoint, see [0038], [0047] and [0057]), interlayer conductor 120 extending through inner via 123 (this corresponds to the claimed second conductor between the second endpoint and third endpoint, see [0036]-[0038] and [0057]), and first and second outer vias 121 and 122 electrically connected to respective external input terminals 151 and 152 (see [0047] and Fig. 5).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the indicator when the command originates from a remote user to employ Min’s aligned-via and interlayer-conductor arrangement in Fu’s series-connected multilayer planar coil because Min teaches that the arrangement simplifies interlayer electrical connections and permits repeatable construction of multilayer voice-coil patterns (see Min [0038]-[0040]).
The combination of Fu and Min does not expressly teach forming the complete multilayer substrate on a removable carrier board.
However, Chen teaches providing a carrier or bearing plate 100 (see [0063]-[0065]); forming a first dielectric layer 500 on the carrier plate (see [0073]-[0075]), forming conductive columns and filling magnetic material within the dialectical layer (see [0066]-[0078]), continuing a sequential buildup that includes additional circuit layers, conductive interconnections, dielectric layers, and embedded magnetic material (see [0079], [0087] and [0092]), forming a third dielectric layer 1400 over the second dielectric layer (see [0097]), removing the carrier plate after completion of the multilayer buildup (see [0098]-[0099]), forming an external circuit layers on the substrate surfaces (see [0100]-[0101]), and forming a window 1800 that exposes the external circuit layer and functions as a pad (see [0102]-[0103] and Fig. 13).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to fabricate the Fu/Min planar voice-coil substrate using Chen’s temporary-carrier buildup process because Chen teaches that synchronously forming the dielectric layers, circuit layers, magnetic material, and conductive interconnections improves alignment accuracy, reduce dimensional tolerance, increases manufacturing yield and facilitates miniaturization (see Chen [0042] and [0105]).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Fu, Min and Chen teaches wherein the first patterned conductive layer or the second patterned conductive layer is formed through photolithography etching and electroplating (note that Fu teaches metal-pattern etching and repeated photolithography and electroplating, see [0058], [0064] and [0066]. Min also teaches lithography and plating for forming the conductive coil patterns, see [0031]).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Fu, Min and Chen teaches wherein the first magnetic metal or the second magnetic metal is formed through photolithography etching and electroplating or sputtering (Fu teaches forming the NiFe soft magnet through repeated photolithography and electroplating and separately teaches sputter deposition in the same multilayer process, see [0064] and [0066]).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FU et al. (Pub.No.: 2022/0340409 A1) in view of Min et al. (2018/0295451 A1) in view of Chen et al. (2023/0361058 A1) and further in view of Yan et al. (2010/0259352 A1).
The features of Fu, Min and Chen already discussed in rejection of claim of independent claim 8. For example, Chen teaches repeatedly forming dielectric layers having embedded magnetic material and conductive connections. However, none of the reference specifically teach “wherein after the second dielectric layer is formed, the further manufacturing method comprises:
forming a third magnetic metal in the second dielectric layer, wherein the third magnetic metal is stacked on the first magnetic metal, and the third magnetic metal and the first magnetic metal are connected as a whole; and
stacking the second magnetic metal on the third magnetic metal when the second magnetic metal is formed on the second dielectric layer, wherein the second magnetic metal and the third magnetic metal are connected as a whole”, as recited in claim 11.
Yet, Yen teaches placing magnetic material in vertically aligned opening above, below, and through an intermediate dielectric/coil layer so that the magnetic portions contact and from a monolithic magnetic core (see [0027]- [0030]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the indicator when the command originates from a remote user to form the successive magnetic regions of the Chen’s buildup in vertical registration and contact, as taught by Yan, to provide a continuous magnetic path through the multilayer structure. This produces a third magnetic portion staked on and connected to the first magnetic portion, followed by a second magnetic portion stacked on and connected to the third magnetic portion.
Conclusion
/RASHA S AL AUBAIDI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2693