DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In line 6 of claim 1, the phrase “the second form” should read “a second form”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 7, 8, 10-17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Swartz (US 2677913 A).
Regarding claim 1, Swartz discloses a solid bath agent (see fig) comprising: a water-soluble main body (38); and a secondary part (37) which is enclosed within the main body and partially exposed from the main body (see fig), in a first form before the main body dissolves, wherein the secondary part is configured such that the secondary part becomes entirely exposed in the second form after the main body dissolves (once 38 dissolves, 37 will become entirely exposed).
Regarding claim 7, Swartz discloses the solid bath agent according to claim 1, wherein the secondary part is non-water-soluble (see col 1, lines 9-12).
Regarding claim 8, Swartz discloses the solid bath agent according to claim 1, wherein the secondary part is configured to allow grasping of the part exposed from the main body in the first form (39 can be grasped).
Regarding claim 10, Swartz discloses the solid bath agent according to claim 8, wherein the secondary part in the first form is held by the main body except for the exposed part (see fig).
Regarding claim 11, Swartz discloses the solid bath agent according to claim 8, wherein the exposed part of the secondary part in the first form includes a rod-shaped part (neck portion of 39) and a non-rod-shaped part (head portion of 39).
Regarding claim 12, Swartz discloses the solid bath agent according to claim 1, wherein the main body and the secondary part are, as a whole, shaped to resemble a predetermined form in the first form (see fig; shape is necessarily predetermined).
Regarding claim 13, Swartz discloses the solid bath agent according to claim 12, wherein the secondary part forms a shape of a character independently in the second form (see fig; in the second form, the secondary part forms the shape of a doll).
Regarding claim 14, Swartz discloses the solid bath agent according to claim 13, wherein a portion of the secondary part, which is the character, protrudes from the main body in the first form (see fig; in the first form, 39 protrudes from the main body).
Regarding claim 15, Swartz discloses the solid bath agent according to claim 14, wherein the secondary part is configured such that the volume of the character excluding the portion which protrudes from the main body is larger than the portion which protrudes from the main body (see fig).
Regarding claim 16, Swartz discloses the solid bath agent according to claim 15, wherein the secondary part is the character comprising at least a head, a body, and legs, and a support part is configured to be connected to the legs in the second form (see fig; support part is 40).
Regarding claim 17, Swartz discloses the solid bath agent according to claim 16, wherein the secondary part is configured to self-stand in the second form in a state where the support part is connected to the legs (see fig).
Regarding claim 20, Swartz discloses the solid bath agent according to claim 1, wherein the main body is made of rigid material (bar soap is rigid) in the first form, and the secondary part is made of flexible material (“elastic rubber”; see col 1, lines 9-12) in both the first form and the second form.
Claims 1, 6, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Japanese Patent Document JP H0515945 U, herein referred to as JP ‘945.
Regarding claim 1, JP ‘945 discloses a solid bath agent (1) comprising: a water-soluble main body (2); and a secondary part (6) which is enclosed within the main body and partially exposed from the main body, in a first form before the main body dissolves (see fig 3(c) for the first form in which the secondary part is partially exposed), wherein the secondary part is configured such that the secondary part becomes entirely exposed in the second form (see fig 3(d) for the second form in which the secondary part is entirely exposed) after the main body dissolves.
Regarding claim 6, JP ‘945 discloses the solid bath agent according to claim 1, wherein the main body and the secondary part included in the main body both sink in water in the first form (see fig 3(c)), and the secondary part floats in water in the second form (see fig 3(d)).
Regarding claim 19, JP ‘945 discloses the solid bath agent according to claim 1, wherein the main body is configured so that a maximum diameter thereof is longer than a longest side of the secondary part (see fig 1).
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Duda, III (US 20140162525 A1), herein referred to as Duda.
Regarding claim 1, Duda discloses a solid bath agent (see fig 3) comprising: a water-soluble main body (141); and a secondary part (131, 151) which is enclosed within the main body and partially exposed from the main body (see left portion of fig 3 in which 131 is exposed), in a first form before the main body dissolves, wherein the secondary part is configured such that the secondary part becomes entirely exposed in the second form after the main body dissolves (see right portion of fig 3).
Regarding claim 2, Duda discloses the solid bath agent according to claim 1, wherein the main body is configured to be rollable in the first form (141 is cylindrical which would be rollable), and the secondary part is configured to be non-rolling in the second form (see right portion of fig 3; 131 and 151 are not rollable).
Regarding claim 3, Duda discloses the solid bath agent according to claim 2, wherein the secondary part is configured to be invisible from an outside except for the part exposed from the main body, in the first form (see left portion of fig 3).
Regarding claim 4, Duda discloses the solid bath agent according to claim 2, wherein the secondary part is located approximately at a central part of the main body in the first form (151 is necessarily located at a central part of the main body since 151 would extend through the whole main body in the first form).
Regarding claim 5, Duda discloses the solid bath agent according to claim 2, wherein the secondary part is located in vicinity of an outer surface of the main body in the first form (151 is necessarily located in vicinity of an outer surface of the main body since 151 would extend to each surface of the inside of the main body in the first form).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Swartz (US 2677913 A).
Regarding claim 9, Swartz discloses the solid bath agent according to claim 8, but does not disclose wherein the part of the secondary part is exposed from only a single point of the main body in the first form.
While Swartz recognizes the benefit of being able to rest 38 upright on a base 41 to dry (see col 2, lines 20-23), the solid bath agent would work equally well if soap cake 38 extended to enclose the visible portions of 40 while leaving the flat portion able to rest on base 41. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to extend soap cake 38 to enclose the visible portions of 40 in order to provide more soap for the user, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04. Per this modification, it follows that the part of the secondary part is exposed from only a single point (i.e., 39 is exposed from only a single upper point of 38) of the main body in the first form.
Regarding claim 18, Swartz discloses the solid bath agent according to claim 17, wherein the support part is contained within the main body in the first form, and the support part and the legs are connected to each other in the first form (per rejection of claim 9 above).
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 19/015,803 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 of the reference application anticipates all limitations of claim 1 of the instant application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The examiner notes that the prior art cited on PTO-892 but not relied upon for this rejection discloses solid bath agents relevant in scope and structure to the claimed invention.
/CHRISTINE M MILLS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3675